Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
7 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
4 / 1
Average Mileage:
129,823 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Toyota Sequoia engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #94

May 012016

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 156,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Sequoia, suddenly showing the vsc lights and brake lights at the same time! there is a very rough feeling when I'm driving the car like something in the undercarriage is very wrong. There is a twice beep and the car, will suddenly pull to the left momentarily and then release itself but the lights never go out unless car is off. I can feel the brakes like shaking.I S scary and this happen like 4 times.the last is in the highway.is make a noise like a scratch metal.I know I'm not the first one.please Toyota fix the problem.

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #93

Sep 162016

Sequoia

  • 163,000 miles
My complaint stems from the vehicle stability control (vsc) issue that commonly plagues the 2001-2001 Toyota Sequoia. As many others have filed complaints over this vsc issue, mine is no different. My Sequoia, a 4X4 SR5 with 160K miles, works flawlessly other than the vsc lights being constantly illuminated while driving. The results of the malfunction, possibly from the yaw rate sensor, present a momentarily loss of power and random unexplained steering events. The only way to temporary clear the vsc lights and the effects of the malfunction is to completely stop the vehicle, turn off the ignition and restart the vehicle. I fear a loss of control of the vehicle while my wife and kids are driving at highway speeds. I would like to see Toyota issue a formal recall or pay for a new yaw rate sensor and the consumer pays the labor. Other than the vsc issue, the Sequoia is a great vehicle overall.

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #92

Aug 172016

Sequoia

  • 188,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Sequoia. While driving 35 mph, the traction control and vsc warning lights illuminated. Also, the front passenger side wheel seized and the vehicle started pulling to the right. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic to be diagnosed. The contact was informed that the yaw sensor failed and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 188,000.

- Livingston, TN, USA

problem #91

May 312016

Sequoia

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Traction control malfunction. When in motion the car engages the brakes for no reason, intermittently applying the brakes causing the car to pull & swerve, and shudder. This happens when going straight, turning, or just driving down the road.

- El Cajon, CA, USA

problem #90

Jan 272016

Sequoia

  • 210,000 miles
When operating at speed, the vehicle will suddenly shutter briefly, and pull to right. Seemingly a wheel locked up. Control of steering is lost. Vsc light comes on, and cannot be rest until restating the engine.

- Valley Springs, CA, USA

problem #89

Aug 312015

Sequoia

  • 159,300 miles
The vehicle skid control randomly engages for no reason. It causes lost of power and braking, causing steering to be very difficult.

- Cincinnati , OH, USA

problem #88

May 202015

Sequoia

  • 297,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 2001 Sequoia was in an accident in November 2014. It was totaled but I decided to have it repaired as it was in great running condition prior to accident. It had been running fine to around may when the vsc went off while I was driving around a curve making me almost lose control of the car. The same thing would happen intermittently with a slight jerk of the car to the left. On June 25th there was a very violent jerk to the left while I was driving with my boys. Took it to a dealership on 6/27/15 and was told it was the yaw rate sensor. Dealership re-calibrated and it ran fine for 2 days. On 6/29/15 there was another violent jerk of the truck with the vsc lights coming on. I called the dealership and they instructed me to bring it back in. Took truck in on 6/30/15 and was told I would need to repair the yaw rate sensor since the recalibration did not work. I was given an estimate of $746.29 for replacement and this was taking into account the $108 I spent on 6/27/15. Told the repairman I would investigate further and would get back with him. As I was pulling out of the dealership going less than 5 mph, the truck jerked violently again almost slamming me into the car in the left lane. With the high mileage of the truck I do not want to spend an absorbent amount of money for repairs. As these sensors have reportedly had reports of multiple malfunctions in the past based on my research, I am not even sure that having it replaced would even fix the problem and if it did, would I be faced with the same problem a few months down the road when the new sensor goes bad. I can not believe that Toyota or the government would allow this type of malfunction which is life-threatening to go on unresolved. Is it really going to take the loss of lives as in the case of the airbags before something is done? help!

- Waxhaw, NC, USA

problem #87

May 022015

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 179,000 miles
My 2001 Toyota Sequoia violently experienced a vsc trac error when driving next to a semi on the freeway. It almost pulled my car into the semi, and then off the road as the wheel jerked, brakes and engine response cut significantly. This highway issue happened last month, and just this week, the problem has become more frequent, occurring on neighborhood streets with absolutely no triggers. The steering wheel sometime shakes, and sometime pulls suddenly. It occurs sometimes during a slow turn, but is also happening just driving at 25 miles an hour down a straight road.....updated 11/13/15 updated 12/28/2015

- Round Rock, TX, USA

problem #86

Mar 122014

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • 218,645 miles
A loud noise driver side, vsc light on and ABS.

- Baton Rouge, LA, USA

problem #85

Mar 132015

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 290,000 miles
When the gas peddle is depressed the car will not go! I've almost been in 2 accidents due to it!

- Paulden, AZ, USA

problem #84

Feb 032014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 91,548 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My vsc trac, vsc off, brake, & ABS lights won't turn off.

- Brooklyn, NY, USA

problem #83

Mar 032014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 93,400 miles
On multiple occasions, my 2001 Toyota Sequoia has shown random activation of the vehicle stability control system at highway speeds on dry, smooth pavement. Each incident the same thing happens: The activation of a brief audible warning beep, the vsc indicator light flashes along with the slippery surface light (two squiggly lines) and the vehicle suddenly begins randomly applying hard ABS braking to the right front wheel, accompanied with a loud grinding noise that sounds like it coming from the braking system. The brakes feel as if they are pulsating during each of these incidents, it is almost impossible to control the vehicle. It jerks and swerves from side to side and shakes violently. The only way to regain control is to reduce the speed and pull to the side of the road as quickly and safely as possible. The lights stay on until the vehicle is cut off. Once the car is turned off the lights will go out. After the car sits for about 30 minutes or more or over night the lights will no longer be lgo out. I have had the truck diagnosed with the yaw rate censor code by one repair shop and one autoparts store. Over the past year, this serious problem has recurred at least four times without warning and there is not a predictable set of circumstances that seems to cause an occurrence. My wife now refuses to drive this vehicle and I have dramatically reduced the usage this SUV for fear that another incident may result in a serious accident!!! it is a very frightening experience for me and my family. I have 98,200 mile on the vehicle.

- Debary, FL, USA

problem #82

Dec 292014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 147,880 miles
At highway speed going down hill fully loaded at night in Sierra with temps in low 30S and no snow in the area where the incident happened, my 01 toy Sequoia pulled to the left within seconds both trac off/vsc trac lights came on. All of my mud and snow tires have good tread. Luckily, I had both hands firmly on the steering wheel when it happened. Able to get home safely at normal highway speed. These lights are still on until to date (1/17/16) because I have not taken in to toy dealerships; guess many third parties don't want to mess around with this issue. Many complaints have been posted in regards to vsc issue. Toy need to recall this model now.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #81

Sep 222013

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 112,500 miles
On multiple occasions, the vehicle has exhibited random activation of the vehicle stability control system at highway speeds on dry, smooth pavement. Each incident is characterized by: The activation of a brief audible warning beep, the vsc indicator light flashes along with the slippery surface light (two squiggly lines) and the vehicle suddenly begins randomly applying hard ABS braking to the wheels intermittently shifting from side to side, back to front, accompanied with a loud grinding noise that appears to emanate from the braking system. During these incidents, it is almost impossible to control the vehicle as it jerks from side to side and shakes violently. The only viable response is to reduce speed and pull to the side of the road as quickly as possible. To recover control, the vehicle ignition must be turned off and the vehicle restarted. Over the past year, this serious problem has recurred at least four times without warning and there is not predictable set of circumstances that seems to initiate an occurrence. My wife now refuses to drive this vehicle and I have dramatically reduced the usage this SUV for fear that another incident may result in a serious accident!

- Bradbury, CA, USA

problem #80

Jun 052014

Sequoia

  • 101,234 miles
While driving at 60 mph the vehicle pulled sharply to the right and its trac/vcs control lights began to blink and the warning sound came on as well. The vehicle made a grinding sound and I pulled over to the side of the road. I shut the car off and waited a few minutes. I turned on the vehicle and the indicator lights were off and it drove normal. This same incident continues to happen even after I took it in to get diagnosed. I was told by a Toyota technician that he could not find the problem.

- Catheys Valley , CA, USA

problem #79

Apr 242014

Sequoia 6-cyl

  • 173,000 miles
Vsc trac, vsc off, trac, emergency brake & ABS lights are all illuminated. Seems like every Sequoia 2001 - 2005 has this problem. After lots of research it seems like it's a fault with the vsc computer and ECU computer which dealers want $2000 and up! these malfunctions in computers affect the vehicles ABS brakes, and stability control system which poses a threat to safety of driver and passengers.

- Vancouver, WA, USA

problem #78

Sep 242014

Sequoia

  • 96,000 miles
While driving along at ~40mph, car jeered to the right and made a noise as if the anti-lock brakes were pumping on the right side of the vehicle. The vsc & trac lights came on. Vehicle then drove normally until the ignition was turned off. Once the vehicle was started, the same incident occurred repeatedly making it unsafe to operate. Took vehicle to the Toyota dealership and was told I needed a new yaw sensor - $558.

- Bluffton, SC, USA

problem #77

Sep 092014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 230,000 miles
Vehicle's traction control system malfunctioned while driving on dry flat pavement. Skid light and sound came on followed by vsc and trac control lights. Vehicle pulled hard to the right, made loud grinding noise, and was extremely difficult to control steering and braking. This continued for approximately one minute, stopped, and then did it again. This is a very dangerous situation which could potentially lead to fatal accident if it occurs at higher speeds. It happened few times, took it to dealer can not find issue but appears to be a very common problem with this make/model. I would like to see a recall.

- Frankfort , IL, USA

problem #76

Sep 272009

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Appears cars stability system came on with application of brakes, noise on the brakes. Weather was clear. Vsc, track light came on. Happens every few weeks.

- Milpitas , CA, USA

problem #75

Sep 042014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 170,700 miles
It feels like its slipping and the warning siren goes off, trac & vcs lights start flashing and vehicle starts grinding sounds like metal on metal and loose control of car, can't brake, can't steer just have to wait for it to pass as you are rolling away. Very very scary - what if I was on a highway"?" not a happy Toyota owner right now!!!!there needs to be a recall on this, I see several complaints that sound just like mine on the internet and can't believe that Toyota hasn't done anything about it - are they waiting for some fatalities to happen. This is my 1st Toyota and I'm the original owner and up until now this has been an excellent vehicle to drive (14years). Now I'm afraid for my life...

- Frisco, TX, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?