Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
9 / 0
Average Mileage:
125,371 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Sequoia brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments (Page 6 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #45

Dec 022011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 45 miles


I have a Sequoia 2002. No previous history of big mechanical or electrical problems. Recently I experience an incident were I lost control of the vehicle while driving in the highway. The mechanic told me I have a problem with the yaw rate sensor and that it was very costly to repair. I have found out that this is a common problem that many Sequoia owners have experience. I understand my vehicle is way past warranty period but let me tell you, in security issues warranties does not expires and Toyota should provide for repairs or recall or whatever resources they have to correct this problem.

- Caguas, PR, USA

problem #44

Dec 092011


  • 188,750 miles
Vsc light, trac off light and check engine light all came on at the same time. I took vehicle to autozone and they checked the computer with the result error 5 cylinder misfire, for the check engine light, the other 2 warning lights they could not give me any advice on.

- Columbus, OH, USA

problem #43

Oct 102011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 96,500 miles
In stop and go traffic at launch vehicle ABS engaged without warning repeatedly with loud grinding noises and the ABS light, traction light and vehicle stability control light all came up. Stopped vehicle, turned off engine, waited a few minutes and all lights were gone upon restart. However this problem worsened considerably and more often through the October and November 2011 months, to the point of occurring every time the vehicle is driven as the date of this writing, December 3rd 2011. New worsened symptoms now include flashing vsc (vehicle stability control) at launch from a stop, which cuts engine power and compromises accurate steering. Sometimes the ABS, trac and vsc lights come up immediately, sometimes only after repeated intrusive activations of ABS/trac/vsc. All these warning lights also stayed on once for two entire days after leaving the vehicle rest overnight. All these dangerous random interventions of the ABS/trac/vsc electronics started after the front rotors and pads were changed by a professional mechanic (A1-unity body, 1420 howe St in vancouver, bc, Canada). The vehicle was federally and provincially inspected for Canadian importation by the same mechanic before these problems started to happen. It was deemed to be in exceptional mechanical and working condition for its age and mileage. However the vehicle is now longer safe to drive because of this ABS/trac/vsc defect, despite it being otherwise perfectly drivable. Toyota must issue the same recalls that they posted for defective trac and vsc for the 2003 year Sequoia models for the 2002 Sequoia models. Sequoia vehicles haven't received any hardware or software updates as far as ABS/trac/vsc systems are concerned between 2001 and 2003, proof being that subsequent model years from 2001 all experience the same defects for the same reasons. 2001-2002 Sequoia vsc recalls need to be issued now!

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #42

Nov 012010

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 285,000 miles


Vsc/ABS/skid light comes on intermittently, at differing speeds, at random intervals, accompanied by grinding noise and braking action. During some of these random occurrences, especially when driving at highway speeds, the action can pull the car quickly and forcefully to the right and on a few occasions this has almost resulted in loss of control. I read on and other sites (including that this is a well-known, and well documented problem! why haven't you mandated a recall for this dangerous situation"???!!! I'm concerned that my wife may be driving down the interstate and the problem will suddenly and violently pull the car to the right, and she will hit another car or lose control and crash. How many crashes, injuries, and, heaven forbid, deaths, will have to happen before you act"

- Spotsylvania, VA, USA

problem #41

Jul 142011


  • 108,000 miles
The vehicle is a Toyota Sequoia 2002 2 wheel drive, and I have had three incidents so far. The first time was driving in the high way at a steady speed of 65 mph when the car all of the sudden jerked to the left and a beeping went off and the track off and vsc track came on. The problem is that there is no warning at all and it just happen in a matter of seconds. My concern is that I use this vehicle just when my family is with me. I wonder if accidents with fatalities need to occur before somebody do something about it.

- Killeen, TX, USA

problem #40

Jul 222011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 117,000 miles
Same problem like everyone else, traction control, vsc, brake light, and ABS light on. Dealership says no recall but they recalled all 2003 models for the same issue. ABS computer module. Part# 89541-0C050. Vehicle lights are off when vehicle is started, after 2-3 miles all the lights come on then the car is hard to handle due to traction control making the car unstabable. Also with ABS light on, braking is very bad. Constant fight to keep the vehicle straight during braking.

- Ocala, FL, USA

problem #39

Jun 272010

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 128,000 miles


2002 Toyota Sequoia vsc/ traction control system started to malfunction in June 2011 vehicle has 128,000 miles. Took it to the dealership and they said that it needs a new yaw rate sensor @800.00dollars. Also that there is a chance that this doesn't fix the problem the SUV may need an ECU at a cost of an additional $900. That's crazy!!!! this has happened at all different range of speeds. Happening more often lately and seems very dangerous when activates and makes the vehicle unstable.

- Grovetown, GA, USA

problem #38

Jun 082011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
I have experienced chilling and dangerous malfunctions of the ABS, vsc/track system in my (owned since new) 2002 Sequoia. The "vsc/vsc track" lights illuminate and a disconnect alarm (beeping tone) is initiated. The system failure pulls the car abruptly off course. Immediate correction must be made to stay on the road. This has happened several times within the past 6 months with the system automatically re-setting itself after turning off the key and re-starting the engine. Today's incident was the most violent and the system does not re-set. Probably a good thing. Looking at user complaints on the internet causes one to wonder why the public has not been protected by the NHTSA requiring a recall. My experience has been Toyota dealerships are turning their backs on this issue. For safety sake, this should not be ignored!! I find it hard to believe that we can spend time and money to preserve a salamander in this country and yet ignore a highway safety issue such as this. The complaints on this issue have been many and around for a while. So many of us out here are reaching out to you for help. Please help by considering a recall on these vehicles. Very truly yours, experienced auto mechanic, licensed and experienced (a&P) aircraft mechanic, gulfstream 550 safety & standards Pilot.

- The Woodlands, TX, USA

problem #37

Dec 152002

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • 50 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. While driving at an unknown speed the vehicle stability control activated at a low speed for a few seconds. He stated that his vehicle would not accelerate as quickly as he thought which increased the risk of a crash. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for the failure. He was advised that his vehicle was not covered under warranty nor were there any related recalls. He was also informed that the vehicle was performing as normal. The contact referenced recall NHTSA campaign id number: 10V176000, traction control system that was a recall for the 2003 vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 50 and the current mileage was 130,000. Updated 3/7/11 updated 03/141//

- Olympia, WA, USA

problem #36

Jan 022011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 98,900 miles
I have owned my 2002 Toyota Sequoia since January of 2002. Since then we have had numerous problems with the brakes and now the vsc/ABS skid control. For starters the front brake pads and rotors had to be changed and re-surfaced with approximately 30,000 miles on the vehicle. Then the same thing again with approximately 60,000 miles. Before the second repair I did some research and saw there was a tsb for larger calipers and rotors on the vehicle. This is a classic case of cost cutting and under-engineering to increase profit margins. I went to my local Toyota dealership and ask for the repair to be done by Toyota at their expense. They would not do this for me. Now with approximately 99,000 miles on the car I have a failure of the vsc/ABS skid control. This is going to be a very expensive repair. I want Toyota to finally own up to my situation. The vsc/ABS problem is very frequent among my year model and deserves a recall. Once this system is de-activated by failure the Sequoia becomes less manuverable and more dangerous to its occupants and all those cars it shares the road with. Please join me and do what you can to make Toyota make both the underpowered rotors and calipers and the ABS skid control system mandatory recall items for the 02 Sequoia.

- Bedford, TX, USA

problem #35

Oct 202004

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles


The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. The contact noticed that the stc light and the vsc tract sensor light illuminated and the front end of the vehicle shook violently when he was driving 70 mph. The contact pulled over and could find nothing wrong. When he turned the vehicle back on, the lights were still on although it no longer shook. When he got out and came back a couple hours later, the lights had turned off. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership but the dealer could not find anything wrong. Recently, the lights illuminated more frequently and sometimes the vehicle shook and other times, it did not. The vehicle was taken back to the dealership but the dealer still could not find anything wrong. The failure continued. The vehicle was taken back to the dealership where the contact was informed that the yaw sensor was defective and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired at the dealership. The manufacturer had not been notified. The current mileage was approximately 142,000. The failure mileage was approximately 30,000. Updated 01/26/11 updated 04/13/11

- Middleburg, FL, USA

problem #34

Aug 202010


  • 129,000 miles
2002 Toyota Sequoia while driving at moderate speeds (40 - 50mph) abruptly pulls to the right, vsc traction lights come on, hear a grinding noise. After about 3 seconds the grinding noise stopped on 2 occasions and the pull to the right stops and seems fine. Vsc traction lights stay on. Dealer diagnosed the problem as the skid control computer or ECU - $650 and the yaw rate sensor $401. Has occurred 4 times in the last 2 weeks. There is a recall on the 2003 Sequoia electronic stability control system but not the 2002. There appear to be quite a few complaints about both of the parts that are mentioned above. Very dangerous driving situation when it occurs.

- Hampton Cove, AL, USA

problem #33

May 072009


  • 166,990 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that the variable speed control came on and caused the vehicle to shake. The failure occurred at various speeds. The failure caused the vehicle to slow down dramatically and vehicles following behind him have no warning. The contact scheduled an appointment with the dealer. The contact stated the failure was identical to recall campaign 10V176000, electronic stability control for the 2003 Toyota Sequoia. The contact was not aware of the failure mileage. The current mileage was 166990.

- Basking Ridge, NJ, USA

problem #32

Jul 202010


  • 21,469 miles
Toyota Sequoia 2002 SR5(21,000mls) while accelerating onto the highway from a rolling position the vehicle develops a bucking and will not accelerate tracking light comes on and the wheels seem to be binding you are now creating a safety issue, you are now on the highway everyone is braking trying to avoid crashing into you, after a few seconds it stops as if it never happened, but the tracking light stays on. To get it off you have to stop switch off the vehicle then start again. This problem occurs never when you are traveling over 30 mls per hr. But often from a slow to a higher speed which is very dangerous when entering the highway I become very nervous.

- Plantation, FL, USA

problem #31

Jul 202010

(reported on)


  • miles
2002 Toyota Sequoia. Consumer states failed vehicle skid control and anti-lock brake system the consumer stated a recall was issued for the 2003 model manufactured between April 1, 2002 through April 17, 2003. The consumer stated his vehicle was manufactured in July 2002 and it also has the same part number as the 2003 model. The consumer stated when he attempted to accelerate into traffic from a stop, the vehicle would start to move, then it would suddenly stop accelerating which left him in traffic at 10-15 mph, then a series of loud noises emitted from under the hood and the vehicle would accelerate again. The consumer stated it would happen every time he came to a stop and subsequent attempt to accelerate again. When the vehicle was in motion, the vsc and ABS lights on the dash indicated the systems were off. In turn, the vehicle would just have traditional brakes without the safety of the ABS and vsc. Which was very evident during a rainy day while braking, because the rear end of the truck went into a skid side ways.

- Nixa, MO, USA

problem #30

May 232010


  • 67,786 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. While driving at approximately 30 mph, the vehicle began to veer to the right and made a growling noise. The vsc and the traction control lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The contact pulled over and read the owner's manual which indicated that it was fine to continue driving. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that the vsc, ECU and an unknown sensor needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 67,786. The current mileage was approximately 68,200.

- Temple, TX, USA

problem #29

Jun 122010


  • 120,000 miles
Trac light/vsc lights came on while driving down the road. Then the car pulled to the right and a grinding noise sounding like the anti-locking brake mechanism is activating. This is an extremely dangerous malfunction. I've seen that the 2003 model has a recall out for the same thing, and after seeing many others having this same occurrence with the 2002 model, they should expand the date range to cover the 2002 as well! it happened twice this weekend and it's happened 4-5 times previous to this recent incident (one earlier incident had my stepdaughter driving the Sequoia and the power shut completely off while driving!). the mechanics told us they couldn't pull any related codes the first time we took it in. We need to take this in again immediately, but why should I have to pay the full price when this is obviously a defective part they've created? I was traveling at 70 mph on interstate-10 the first time it happened this past weekend and in-town at a slower speed (40 mph) the second incident. Luckily nobody was in the lane next to me or I'd have hit them for sure!

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #28

Feb 012010

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
Vsc, seat belt and check engine light randomly started coming on about 130,000 mi. Tansky Toyota service did brake work, the lights were off for several weeks but then would come off and on. We ignored it because we had just had it in to the dealer, it seemed to be a nuisance in an older vehicle but not dangerous. About 165,000 miles the vehicle developed a sudden loss of power in traffic. We speculated it was the lever that shifts from 4WD to 2wd. The dealer replaced that for $400, the lights were off for 3 days, then back on. Now, we have had maybe five instances of sudden loss of power. This total loss of power usually occurs after driving 10 minutes locally, and after stopping at a light. Turning the ignition off, and restarting fixes the issue. Tansky Toyota acts like they have never heard of such a thing, but when I look online every Toyota blog is full of people just like me. I know it is an old vehicle. I just want to know how much will it cost me to really fix this problem. We have started only using this vehicle for non-critical driving locally.

- Powell, OH, USA

problem #27

Mar 242010


  • 29,500 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. While driving at 50 mph, the vehicle began to jerk to the right and the vsc track service light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership for repair at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 29,500. The current mileage was approximately 30,000.

- Pineville, KY, USA

problem #26

Apr 222010

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • 29,000 miles
About a year ago, I started to experience problems that's related to the vehicle stability control (vsc) system on my 2002 Toyota Sequoia. The problem occurs intermittently and when it does occurs, it happens during initial acceleration. During this time, the vsc light would start blinking and I would not be able to accelerate. Braking would require tremendous force applied to activate it. There was at least one incident where the vsc activated during highway driving, but that incident lasted approximately 5 or so seconds. However, it did require that I suddenly apply the brake and started pumping it for the vsc to de-activate. Due to the intermittent nature, I took the vehicle to a local repair shop for diagnostic and they did find that error codes were present relating to the vsc. Though the problem could not be pinpointed on the initial visit to the repair shop. Subsequent occurrences prompted me to bring the vehicle back to the repair shop for further diagnostic. Eventually it was recommended to me to replace the "speed sensors" which I authorized. After the replacement, the problem tend to have gone away. Recently, I started to intermittently experience a similar problem with vsc light blinking briefly whenever I pull out of a drive way performing at least an 80 degree turn. This time around the problem isn't as severe and is very infrequent. I would say in a week of commuting, I would experience it maybe once or twice. Of course this is compared to previous incidents where I was experiencing the vsc problem almost half the time. Earlier this week, I read there was a 2003 Toyota Sequoia recall which has the exact symptom and problem I've been experiencing on my 2002 Sequoia. I strongly urge the NHTSA to recommend Toyota to include the recall for 2002 Sequoia model year as well. Thank you for your attention and time!

- San Jose, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?