Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.2

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
69,661 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Sequoia brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #19

Jun 112009

Sequoia

  • 84,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Failure of the ABS skid contol system on a 2002 toyata Sequoia.

- Cary, NC, USA

problem #18

Oct 152007

Sequoia

  • 55,000 miles
I have to have the brake system serviced every 2000 miles because of the vibrating when braking. The Toyota dealer said "they all do this and you have no warranty coverage or recall notice, it is your responsibility". seems the brake system is not proper for the size of the vehicle.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #17

Mar 292009

Sequoia

  • 90,000 miles
While driving a 2002 Toyota Sequoia SR5 2 wheel drive SUV near the end of March 2009, the trac off, vsc trac, brake and ABS warning lights simultaneously came on. I was traveling approximately 55 mph on a dry road at night in heavy traffic. I moved off the highway to check the manual which emphasized the possible seriousness of each light. It said to contact a Toyota dealer. I called earnhardt Toyota in mesa Arizona who finally worked on the vehicle several days later for the vsc/trac/brake/ABS problem, and a front brake vibration/pulsation. No help on the pulsation problem since I was told I needed to turn the rotors again. On the vehicle stability control/traction control/anti-lock braking system/brake warning lights, the service associate offered that it was a "common" problem, could be caused by a loose gas cap or an expensive computer (in the thousands of dollars). He sated that no "codes" were set other than a "low voltage" which could be caused by a bad battery or corroded connection. I cleaned the battery terminals completely, checked the battery, and made sure the gas cap was tight. The warning lights now come on at some point every time I drive the Sequoia. Earnhardt Toyota told me it should not affect the actual braking systems. How do they know that" being told of a false continuous or intermittent safety warning light can lull one into a questionable sense of safety. These lights and safety systems need to work reliably without having Toyota just say they know about this common problem. Does it affect actual vehicle stability control and emergency braking? on numerous internet sites, I find this same problem is mentioned frequently. Also a large number of complaints are on file now with the NHTSA. I rely on the warning lights and their underlying systems to work as advertised, but Toyota now makes me doubt that reliance. Does there have to be a large "body count" for NHTSA to order a recall to fix this well known safety problem"

- Sioux Falls, SD, USA

problem #16

Feb 032009

Sequoia

  • 64,694 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

When braking at high speeds, you can feel front brake vibrate. I took the car to dealership, they stated that there is a technical service bulletin for this issue, but it is not a recall. They are aware that the brake system is too small to handle the load of the vehicle and will only rectify (by upgrading entire braking system) if it is still under manufacturer's warranty. My rotors are warped because of this and I can't afford $4800 to fix their poor workmanship (design). Help me hold them responsible for this potential safety issue!

- Gardena, CA, USA

problem #15

Dec 242008

Sequoia

  • 107,940 miles
On 12/24/08 went to Toyota dealer. When applying brakes vehicle vibrates. Rotors replaced, vibration stopped. 1/2/09 back to dealer, check engine light on, vsc trac, and trac off lights on. Back to dealer on 1/12/09. As of 1/21/09 lights mentioned, back on. Brakes lights came on this morning also.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #14

Aug 252008

Sequoia

  • 72,500 miles
Defective vsc computer in 2002 which controls anti-lock & skid control. Toyota refuses to acknowledge problem and repair under warranty.

- Belmont, MA, USA

problem #13

Sep 202008

Sequoia

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vsc, traction control, anti-lock brake, and parking brake lights on the dash illuminated while driving. So, our vehicle has no antilock braking capability, traction control or skid control. Mechanic reports that the skid control ECU needs to be replaced--at a cost of $2200. Seems to be a common issue with this vehicle and Toyota needs to remedy it.

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 082008

Sequoia

  • 130,000 miles
1. while driving along, there was suddenly a loud grinding noise and the vsc trac and the trac off lights came on and stayed on. 2. this incident was the second time it has happened in the last few weeks. As a consequence, I dare not drive my vehicle now. 3. I cannot afford an expensive repair right now, so I must now ride my bike or the bus anywhere I need to go.

- Dunedin, FL, USA

problem #11

Oct 012007

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
(1) the dashboard lights for ABS, vsc, & traction control flickered, and then remained on permanently. (2) the ABS and vsc have malfunctioned which seriously affects the braking & stability control of the vehicle in emergency handling situations, endangering person(s) in vehicle. (3) technician at marin Toyota in san rafael, ca stated this was a common failure of the 2002 Sequoia. (4) searching online forums and the NHTSA complaint database also show this a common problem. (5) our family needs to be safe in this car. I hope something can be done.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #10

Aug 082005

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. While driving 40 mph, the steering wheel vibrated. The dealer replaced the brakes, rotors, and calipers. The dealer stated that the vehicle had 45% brake functionality. The current mileage was 76,639 and failure mileage was 45,000.

- Livingston Manner , NY, USA

problem #9

Jan 172007

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brake light started to come on and go off when driving, but my manual said this is okay. Then the vsc and trac off lights started to come on and stay on but it did not happen every time I drove the car, only half the time.

- Powder Springs, GA, USA

problem #8

Dec 222006

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,800 miles
"vsc/trac" warning lights come on and stay on, and car tries to go back/forward at the same time. I bought this car used with 66,000 miles on it, and problem is chronic. Dealer says they can't recreate the problem. I looked online and there are lots of problems with this in Toyota Sequoias. Date of most recent incident is recorded below.

- Gold River, CA, USA

problem #7

Oct 202006

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
During the past few months 'vsc trac","vsc off","slip or skid","ABS",lights is going off while driving at low speeds like making turns and trying to accelerate from stop, even though the pavement is dry this happens every time ever since, brakes automatically apply causing the car to cut off or prevent the car from accelerating thus results in not able to control the car, there were instances that making turns is very dangerous due to the fact that the vehicle behind you can hit you due to the fact that failure to accelerate when needed because the ABS/vsc systems override you from accelerating by pressing the gas pedal, this seems to be a common complaint in online forums like edmunds.com tudrasolutions.com, and there was a discussion in there that someone's car with the vsc failure caught on fire, pls investigate.

- W Covina, CA, USA

problem #6

Jun 242006

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,754 miles
I have a 2002 Toyota Sequoia SR5 4X4 and my ABS, brake, vcs, trac lights on my dashboard remain on. I have researched this problem on www.edmunds.com and on www.tundrasolutions.com and appears to a common problem for owners of 2000-2003 Sequoia models. My 2002 has had several recalls that dealt with brakes and suspension. It appears that when the brake recall was conducted they did not upgrade other parts of the braking system including computer sensors/modules. I believe this is a safety related defect to these model years that should be covered by Toyota. What I read on the above websites is that Toyota has charged owners thousands of dollars to repair this defect when it should be a free repair.

- Chino Hills, CA, USA

problem #5

May 132002

Sequoia 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 158 miles
Driveshaft was defective. After coming to a complete stop if felt as if consumer had been rear ended. Vehicle was serviced seventeen times, and the dealer stated it was normal. There is also a thumping noise and vehicle lurches forward associated with a hard start condition. Brakes grab at times. Rear speakers inoperative 3rd row. Sunroof rattle. Water inside marker light covers when raining. Rubbng noise from rear wheels. Center wheel cap was tightened.

- Centerport, NY, USA

problem #4

Jul 212004

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles
2002 Toyota Sequoia with severe front end vibration on braking while vehicle had approximately 35000 miles. Dealer found rotor warping and changed disc brake pads and "turned"rotor. Problem recurred in vehicle now with 56000 miles and had to replace disc pads again and turned rotor to minimum safety standard. First occurrence at 35000 miles covered by warranty, this most recent episode had to pay for. Was told the vehicle is a very heavy one and not unusual to require frequent brake pad replacement and rotor replacement. I feel this is a safety hazard as the vibration can come on unexpectedly and initially was very severe during the 35000 mile dealer service but noticed a very slight vibration most recently and therefore brought into dealership before the problem was overt. I also believe this is an engineering flaw in which brake pads/rotor mismatch causes premature wear and potential safety and handling problems during sudden braking. Have contacted manufacturer who has filed a complaint number but was told to not expect any response.

- Sacramento, CA, USA

problem #3

Aug 212002

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 21,709 miles
We have a 2002 Sequoia, not long after we bought it the vsc and trac off light started coming on, and the booster assy was replaced by our local Toyota dealer. We have had to replace the brakes or parts of the brakes three times, 8/21/02, 3/11/03, and 5/3/03, costing some where close to $1000. On June 6th, I took the Sequoia into Toyota for a service check and was told that everything was fine. 3 weeks later we felt that there was something wrong with the brakes again, and called Toyota motor Corp. They notified the local dealership, and the brakes were replaced for free. Now today my vsc and trac off light started coming on again.

- Chandler, AZ, USA

problem #2

May 012003

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I have a 2002 Toyota Sequoia. When I brake the front end vibrates almost until a complete stop. The problem is persistent and I'm concerned because it ultimately results in longer time to stop and reduced braking ability.

- Mckinney, TX, USA

problem #1

Mar 012003

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,000 miles
I own a 2002 Toyota Sequoia limited with serious front brake problems. I purchased the 2002 Sequoia truck new in October of 2001. At 12,000-14,000 miles, the front brakes would vibrate and grind very badly. The vsc almost caused an accident due to it would activate for no reason and I was unable to accelerate into oncoming traffic. The dealer new about the brake problem and replaced the front rotors and pads. Front brakes worked great after replacing the parts. Currently I am at 30,000 miles, the same brake problem again. I took the truck to a mechanic just for an inspection and the pads look new and the rotors now have gouges in them. The brakes squeal very loud and the metal grinding vibration is back again. My sister has the same exact model and year, her brakes are doing the exact same thing.

- Sterling, VA, USA

Not what you are looking for?