Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
107,423 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Sequoia brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Jul 202010

(reported on)

Sequoia

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Toyota Sequoia. Consumer states failed vehicle skid control and anti-lock brake system the consumer stated a recall was issued for the 2003 model manufactured between April 1, 2002 through April 17, 2003. The consumer stated his vehicle was manufactured in July 2002 and it also has the same part number as the 2003 model. The consumer stated when he attempted to accelerate into traffic from a stop, the vehicle would start to move, then it would suddenly stop accelerating which left him in traffic at 10-15 mph, then a series of loud noises emitted from under the hood and the vehicle would accelerate again. The consumer stated it would happen every time he came to a stop and subsequent attempt to accelerate again. When the vehicle was in motion, the vsc and ABS lights on the dash indicated the systems were off. In turn, the vehicle would just have traditional brakes without the safety of the ABS and vsc. Which was very evident during a rainy day while braking, because the rear end of the truck went into a skid side ways.

- Nixa, MO, USA

problem #23

Jun 152010

Sequoia

  • 109,000 miles
While driving my 2002 Toyota Sequoia, I pulled into traffic and all of a sudden the truck lost power as cars swerved around me and a violent grinding noise started. A skid control light started flashing. I could feel the grinding on the brake pedal. After a few seconds, the truck beeped and 2 more lights came on. The "trac off" and "vsc" came on. After that the truck drove normal. The next time it happened that day was while I pressed on the brake pedal as I was trying to make a right turn into a gas station. This has happened multiple times now! I no longer feel safe on the road as this seems to happen at any moment. I have read all about this problem on the internet. Many Sequoia owners have had these same problems. Why will Toyota not fix these problems"?? what has to happen for them to feel responsible?"

- Orlando, FL, USA

problem #22

Jun 122010

Sequoia

  • 120,000 miles
Trac light/vsc lights came on while driving down the road. Then the car pulled to the right and a grinding noise sounding like the anti-locking brake mechanism is activating. This is an extremely dangerous malfunction. I've seen that the 2003 model has a recall out for the same thing, and after seeing many others having this same occurrence with the 2002 model, they should expand the date range to cover the 2002 as well! it happened twice this weekend and it's happened 4-5 times previous to this recent incident (one earlier incident had my stepdaughter driving the Sequoia and the power shut completely off while driving!). the mechanics told us they couldn't pull any related codes the first time we took it in. We need to take this in again immediately, but why should I have to pay the full price when this is obviously a defective part they've created? I was traveling at 70 mph on interstate-10 the first time it happened this past weekend and in-town at a slower speed (40 mph) the second incident. Luckily nobody was in the lane next to me or I'd have hit them for sure!

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #21

May 262010

Sequoia

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2002 Toyota Sequoia vsc traction control system problems. Will come on intermittently on dry pavement, causing vehicle to loose power, with no operator control. I am unable to correct the problem. Toyota is not able to adequately diagnose, and recommends replacing skid control computer, and brake booster system.

- Culpeper, VA, USA

problem #20

Aug 072009

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
First occurrence on 8/7/2009 while driving on interstate at approx 75 mph on a clear day and smooth road: Single loud warning beep coming from dashboard, trac off/vsc off lights lit up on instrument panel, accompanied by slight hesitation from front tires. Trac off lights/vsc off indicators turned off after turning engine off. Second occurrence on 9/26/2009 while accelerating up a small hill at approx 40 mph: Loud warning beep, trac off/vsc off lights were lit and was unable to control front tires for a few seconds (felt vehicle shift left and right). Trac off/vsc off indicators stayed lit up even after restarting vehicle. Took vehicle to dealership and was informed that traction control sensor needed to be replaced - yaw rate sensor. After repairs, the trac off/vsc off indicators continue to light up periodically while driving over smooth dry roads. Updated 06/22/10 updated 06/25/10.

- Mobile, AL, USA

problem #19

May 122010

Sequoia

  • 88,000 miles
2002 Toyota Sequoia traction control system malfunctions. Getting more frequent and starting to activate braking and acceleration. Becoming a concern when driving.

- Birmingham, AL, USA

problem #18

Jan 062008

Sequoia

  • 65,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Gas pedal hesitates and won't pick up speed when applied. This causes me to have to pull over to the side of the road and slowly drive until the speed picks up. This almost cause an accident when I was trying to merge on to the interstate in heavy traffic.

- Memphis, TN, USA

problem #17

Mar 092010

Sequoia

  • 85,000 miles
2002 Toyota Sequoia ABS and vehicle skid control (vsc) computer failure that causes safety concern in operating the vehicle (ABS, vsc, parking brake lights stay on). In slippery road conditions, applying brakes or accelerating causes the vehicle to skid and slide easily. 2003 models have been recalled for similar issue with ABS and vsc computer. Please look into poor Toyota's design or production quality of these vehicles before we get injured or worse...

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #16

Jan 052010

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
I have a 2002 Toyota Sequoia limited that has an error message on safety equipment. Vehicle stability control (vsc) and ABS (anti-lock-brake) system lights are constantly on, causing me concern. I see Toyota initiated a recall on the 2003 model for this concern, yet not on my model year? I see numerous blogs with this concern as I search for solutions. This was a very expensive vehicle that I purchased due to the reputation of this company for building safe automobiles, I am disappointed in Toyota's lack of response. Please help if you have the ability/authority. Thank you

- Bentonville, AR, USA

problem #15

Dec 072008

Sequoia

  • 96,000 miles
Vsc traction control system. Indicator light goes on and vehicle starts to apply brakes. Happened about once a month for a few months. Happens at low and high speeds. Very dangerous when the car starts to apply brakes and veer to the right on the highway at 70mph. I complained in writing to Toyota both locally and at us headquarters. They said it was out of warranty and not a recall. I paid $2,300 to have the ECU replaced. I see this exact complaint has been reported to NHTSA by many 2002 Sequoia owners. The recent recall should be expanded to 2002 model year. This is a very dangerous defect in this model.

- Maitland , FL, USA

problem #14

Apr 242010

Sequoia

  • 137,102 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Hello, I'm in the military and my wife and kids were driving in our 2002 Sequoia 4X4, she called me at work crying and said that her and the kids had almost hit a 18 wheeler head on. She said she was going around a turn and the truck jerked her into on coming traffic, she applied the brakes hard, and pulled the truck back into flow of traffic. She pulled off the road and I had it towed home. After further research, there are hundreds of complaints on the internet for this same exact issue. Almost verbatim of my same issue. After that the vsc, or vehicle skid control light flashes, and it causes my truck to brake one wheel at a time. It also will not allow us to accelerate. I took it to the dealer yesterday and they called me and told me the ECU was bad and that this was a known problem for this model and year of truck, which is visible on the internet. Little did I know that the part is $650 dollars, and the labor is close to $250. Could you please assist, I getting ready to deploy to iraq again. I need to know my family is well taken care of while I'm gone. Can you please provide me assistance with this issue? my question is, if there is so many issues with the same problem, why hasn't there been a recall. Reminds me of Toyota's gas pedal issues. This is just as bad when it comes down to it. Something needs to be done asap. Once again, please provide me assistance. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Wakefield, KS, USA

problem #13

Dec 151999

Sequoia

  • miles
We own a 2002 Toyota Sequoia in which the vsc traction control lights have come on the dash along with the brake light and check engine light. The traction control has been unpredictable seemingly coming on and off in conditions when not necessarily needed. This has only been a problem within the last two/three months. Have taken it in to the dealership three times now and the code from the check engine light says that its an 02 sensor. I have been reassured by the dealership service department that replacing the 02 sensor will also reset and extinguish the vsc trac and brake lights that come on. This has not been the case. The lights stay off until I get the vehicle almost home then all the lights come back on again, the traction control remains unpredictable. I have listened to the dealership long enough and have spent approximately $800 and still have the same problem. I have expressed my disbelief on how replacing 02 sensor ( twice now) can fix a problem with the vsc traction control but they have informed me that it takes care of it. It obviously hasn't. they now want me to bring the vehicle back in. After researching this problem online this seems to be a common and potentially dangerous problem with the 2002-2004 Sequoia's. the problem being with the vsc traction control. I am sure that if I bring it back now they will tell me that it needs a new traction control computer to the tune of $1700-$2400 and from reading what others have experienced this does not fix the problem. No one has been able to really find the source of the problem and how to fix it. I am normally not a complainer as I realize all mechanical parts wear out. However when researching this problem I was shocked to find the number of Sequoia owners who were able to describe in detail the exact same problem I am having. I feel that this is a big enough defect to require a recall.

- Georgetown , KY, USA

problem #12

Feb 242010

Sequoia

  • 115,000 miles
My Toyota Sequoia vehicle skid control lights light up at various times. I also hear a grinding sound periodically and lose all acceleration. I have researched this and there appears to be a trend with these vehicles. I am concerned with the safety of the vehicle and acceleration/braking.

- Gulf Breeze, FL, USA

problem #11

Mar 012010

Sequoia

  • 91,078 miles
The check engine light, track, vsc, ABS light are all on. The dealership found a code of C1241 which was the skid control ECU had shorted internally and it was necessary to replace skid control ECU and recalibrate also bleed brake system. As you know the vehicle skid control system helps provide integrated control of the systems such as anti-lock brake system, traction control, engine control, etc. This system automatically controls the brakes and engine to help prevent the vehicle from skidding when cornering on a slippery road or surface or operating steering wheel abruptly. I am looking for some assistance as the charge from the dealer was quoted at $2714.12. This issue seems like a recall feature.

- Signal Hill, CA, USA

problem #10

May 162009

Sequoia

  • 98,384 miles
2002 Toyota Sequoia electrical issues-air conditioning comes on spontaneously without initiation by driver, back window always failing to operate properly, not opening or closing @ times, now stuck closed, tracking device comes on for long periods with used & new tires, even after numerous professional alignments, and proper driving, engine light always on. All of these issues have been bought to the attention of Toyota service dept, the SUV has been inspected by Toyota on numerous occasions, and parts have reportedly been replaced, however, these issues continue, there are also no devices in place to keep the driver's mat from curling over the accelerator and brake pedals.

- Hialeah, FL, USA

problem #9

Jan 292010

Sequoia

  • 98,000 miles
My 2002 Sequoia has had a problem with the vsc lights going on and off. Today January 30, 2010 I smelled something burning. I think it is brake fluid burning on the engine. I parked the SUV and will call the dealer. It has 98,000 miles and does not have any warranty left.

- Cora, WY, USA

problem #8

Jul 152008

Sequoia

  • 103,000 miles
Our vsc started acting up when we purchased the vehicle 2-1/2 years ago from carmax. After owning it for not more than 2 months the vsc lights and brake light would come on and stay on until we would turn the vehicle off. Then the computer would reset itself. Then our back passenger side wheel bearing went bad and we had Toyota fix the wheel bearing problem. Toyota stated that after they fixed the bearing the vsc computer wouldn't communicate with the wheel that was fixed. They knew the vsc computer went bad and told us they wouldn't fix it for free. It would cost $900 to fix the faulty vsc computer. We needed an inspection sticker and they passed the vehicle with all the vsc lights and red brake light on. This means that the vehicle is very unstable to drive. Our son has leukemia so we haven't had the money to fix the issue and the vehicle needs an inspection sticker. The local inspection place in Texas said that they will not pass this vehicle if the red brake light is on. Toyota knows there is an issue with this vsc computer in this 2002 Toyota Sequoia.

- Kyle, TX, USA

problem #7

Nov 222009

Sequoia

  • 51,200 miles
Wreck avoided by good driving, but this is the complaint: Trac light/vsc lights come on while driving down the road. Without warning the car jerks to the right and a grinding noise sounding like the car is locked up. The jerking took me across the line in the road just missing another vehicle. I was able to regain control before hitting other car. This is a dangerous malfunction and I cannot believe there is no recalls for this, after seeing that there are many others having this same occurrence. It happened 3 times this weekend, twice while going at a slow rate, but this one mentioned above I was traveling the speed limit of 70 on the turnpike.

- Palm Beach Gardens, FL, USA

problem #6

May 212009

Sequoia

  • 60,000 miles
All brake related lights (vsc, brake, skid control etc.) on the dash of my 2002 Toyota Sequoia just came on. Two mechanics weren't sure what the cause was, the local Toyota dealer today said the cost to repair the ECU skid control computer (or chip) would be $2400. No braking problems as yet. Many comments on chat rooms have stated that this is a common complaint, very expensive to repair, that Toyota has knowledge of this defect, and that it can have dangerous consequences.

- Trumbull, CT, USA

problem #5

Jun 202009

Sequoia

  • 90,000 miles
The vsc/trac light on my 2002 Toyota Sequoia comes on at very random times. Sometimes it is within seconds of starting the vehicle, other times it isn't until it has been driven for 30 minutes or longer. When this occurs the vehicle goes into anti lock mode, making a severe grinding noise, and pulling significantly to the side. Once the vsc warning lights come on the vehicle drives normally, but the lights do stay on until the vehicle is restarted.

- Homosassa, FL, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?