Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,426 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Sequoia brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments (Page 4 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #89

Mar 172003

Sequoia

  • 110,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Toyota Sequoia 2003 is having ABS lights, brake light and vsc/trac lights on problem. Bought it brand new at the Toyota dealer in hayward, California. Vsc/trac light came on when I first bought the car(brand new from the lot); they replaced the steering angle sensor. These lights are on and off through out the years. Found out the there is a recall last year, 2010, but I did not get any notice. Took the car to the dealer June 30, 2011, paid for the check up, initiated the flashing of ECU to correct trouble code C1247, and they said that ECU needs to be replaced and would cost me $1500 minimum, maybe more to fix the vsc/trac/ABS/brake lights problems. My car is now 110.000 miles and according to Toyota -tim howe of 1800 331-4331 hot line number, they can not give any free service and parts due to over 100K miles on the car. This is not my fault, there were 50,000 2003 Toyota Sequoia have been affected with this kind of problem. The fact that I did not received any recall notice to them, it is just fair, Toyota should cover the repair whether the miles is less or over 100K miles. I maintain my car to the fullest best, just to name one record, I spent $2000 for valves adjustments and belts replacements at the same dealer. I think Toyota should cover this repair as per the recall issued on April 2010. This repair is a big amount of money on my part, considering my job is only temporary. Any assistance to give pressure to Toyota will be highly appreciated.

- Hayward, CA, USA

problem #88

May 012011

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 133,750 miles
Vehicle violently stops or decelerates without driver hitting brakes

- Pacific Palisades, CA, USA

problem #87

Aug 202010

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
2003 Sequoia. Vsc/trac lights come on just driving down the road. Plus parking brake light. Have to shut car off to reset. The dealer said my computer is not part of the recall so I must pay out of pocket. Looked on-line and found dozens of sites and thousands of people with the same problem.

- Wichita, KS, USA

problem #86

Dec 172010

Sequoia

  • 18,740 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My wife and I own a 2003 Toyota Sequoia, which we purchased new in 2003. We use it sparingly, so it only had 18,743 original miles on it as of December 23, 2010 (a date referred to again below). The vehicle has been regularly maintained by copeland Toyota, brockton, MA, and was trouble-free until recently. On November 23, 2010, I was pulling into a parking space with my wife in the vehicle. I had come to almost a complete stop in the parking space with my foot on the brake pedal, when the engine revved and the vehicle lurched forward into the next parking space in front of me (fortunately unoccupied). On December 17, 2010, again with my wife in the vehicle, I had backed out of my driveway onto the street and had the vehicle at almost a complete stop with my foot on the brake pedal when the engine revved and the vehicle lurched backwards up a hill behind me. On both occasions I was able to apply pressure on the brake pedal to finally stop the vehicle. I checked the floor mat, as did the Toyota dealer, and found no problem with it. I took the vehicle to the Toyota dealer on December 20, 2010. The service advisor professed to not knowing what caused the lurching, said there was no related recall on this particular vehicle, and told me that their diagnostic computer showed codes in the system indicating a faulty vehicle stability control engine control unit (vsc ECU). It took the dealer four days to get Toyota to "release" a replacement ECU, which was installed on December 23, 2010 at a cost (materials and labor) of $650. This was clearly a dangerous situation; we were fortunate that it occurred where it did.

- Stoughton, MA, USA

problem #85

Dec 152010

Sequoia

  • 65,747 miles
Skid control activated at low speed with grinding noise, mileage 66,000; warning lights for traction control, ABS, parking brake, stability control all activated. Took into dealer where supposedly repaired, drove 5 miles and happened again. Back at the dealer now, waiting to see who pays. This happened in 2004 at very low mileage and the faulty skid control ECU unit was replaced, not reprogrammed, at my insistence, having been aware of the factory service bulletin.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #84

Dec 022010

Sequoia

  • 104,000 miles
After years of intermittent problems with the ABS/vsc/trac lights coming on, I brought my car in for the recall requiring a software update. The update was preformed, and then the dealer says the yaw sensor needs to be replaced or the lights will not go off. After researching this online, it appears that thousands of Sequoia owners have this problem. Unless I submit to the dealer's extortion of $700, I have a faulty ABS system because of the yaw sensor that has a high failure rate. This should be recalled.

- El Dorado Hills, CA, USA

problem #83

Oct 252010

Sequoia

  • 89,250 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Brought my 2003 Toyota Sequoia into the dealership to address a safety recall to upgrade program logic in its vehicle stability control (vsc) system. After the work was completed, the car was returned to me with both my vsc lights and the ABS light permanently illuminated. The dealer put it back on the testing station and determined that now my deceleration sensor (yaw rate sensor) is faulty and needs to be replaced. This component is an integral part of the entire vsc system, and is a very expensive repair. I am now facing a huge bill which amounted from bringing in the car to address a safety recall. Dealer is not willing to assume any responsibility. Toyota customer service says there is nothing they will do about the situation, and I need to resolve it with the dealer. The vehicle skid control system helps provide integrated control of the systems such as anti-lock brake system, traction control, engine control, etc. This system automatically controls the brakes and engine to help prevent the vehicle from skidding when cornering on a slippery road or surface or operating steering wheel abruptly. Mine is faulty, and neither Toyota nor the dealership care.

- Glen Cove, NY, USA

problem #82

Aug 172010

Sequoia

  • 76,000 miles
I purchased this vehicle in 2007 with 43,000 miles. Since then I have driven 30,000 miles in 4 years. When I first pick this car it looked great. The day I picked it up it had a dent in the back, and the dvd player didn't work and was replaced. There was a water leak that Toyota had to repair and remove an odor associated with it. Later, I brought it in to have my gas tank level indicator repaired but was told that it was time consuming and basically was advised that the dashboard had to be taken out so, I didn't get it done. I replaced my battery, constantly had my oil changed, as the paint started to peel on my left front fender. Tie rods were replaced that had broken, which was covered by the platinum coverage that I purchased for $1000. I've had a vsc logic relay replaced and trim repaired that was lifting off. Now my coverage on the platinum plan was over 4-10-2010 on the 17th of August my rear window would not go down, about three days later the brake light came on. On the 19th the 4 wheel drive control initiated and when it's initiated to go off the center will continue to be engaged, blinking. Even till today when the vehicle is started up you have to dis-engage the 4 wheel drive. So I took it to Toyota. That's when this final horror began. I had my oil changed (Sunday), and the next day (Monday) I took it back for service. After they ran a diagnostic trend here's what I was told: The rear window motor was bad and needed replacing even though they know of the problems associated with the rear windows. $690 master cylinder assembly………………………….1165.00 ccnter differential………………………………….2134.00 serpentine belt and tensioner……………………….492.00

- Wilmington, DE, USA

problem #81

Oct 012010

Sequoia

  • 97,000 miles
I have a 2003 Toyota Sequoia. Recently, the ABS, vsc and vsc trak lights have come on the dash and stay on. These systems are safety-related in that they control the braking and vehicle control when in an emergency situation. In the event of slippery conditions, the failure of this system would make a bad situation worse, by not allowing the driver to maintain control of the vehicle.

- Erie, CO, USA

problem #80

Aug 052010

Sequoia

  • 71,000 miles
I had my brakes looked at by dealer due to pulsating and not feeling like they should. They said nothing was wrong. A few months later, the vsc, ABS, trac light goes on and stays on. Safety recall A0G reflects problems with the vsc/ECU which also works simultaneously with the deceleration sensor/circuit. The dealer "pederson Toyota" has told me that I needed to replace the deceleration sensor costing $99.50 - diagnostic, $445 - part, and $99.50 - labor. I feel that Toyota has had so many complaints regarding this exact issue, they need to do something about this. Deceleration is a huge safety issue and my vehicle does not stop as it should. Also, the decelerations sensor/circuit they are telling me needs to be changed is part of the vsc/ECU that is recalled. All three parts work together and not one of them can do their job without the other. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Windsor, CO, USA

problem #79

Aug 032010

(reported on)

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2003 Toyota Sequoia. Consumer states extreme shaking and vibrations the consumer stated there are four active recalls on the vehicle. He took the vehicle to the dealer for the front suspension recall, but he believes the problem still exists as there is an extreme shaking and vibration coming from the vehicle. Also, the vehicle was taken to a different dealer for the traction control recall, but the trac off, vsc trac and ABS lights are still on, the consumer was told it could be a myriad of things which could have caused the lights to remain on.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #78

Jul 302010

Sequoia

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Sequoia unlimited. While the contact started the ignition, the vehicle stability control, vehicle stability control trac and check engine warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel. The warning lights remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The brake pedal became spongy during application after the illumination of the warning lights failure. The failure would occur whenever the vehicle was in operation. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V176000 (electronic stability control). The VIN was excluded from the recall defect. The vehicle was not inspected at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 11/05/10.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #77

Jul 302010

Sequoia

  • 48,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Sequoia unlimited. The contact stated the vehicle stability control, vehicle stability control trac and check engine warning lights illuminated on the instrument panel when first starting the vehicle. The warning lights remained illuminated until the engine was turned off. The brake pedal was spongy during application after the warning light illumination occurrences. The failures occurred whenever the vehicle was in operation. There was a recall under NHTSA campaign id number: 10V176000 (electronic stability control). The VIN was excluded from the recall defect. The vehicle had not been inspected at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 48,000. Updated 11/05/10.

- Westerville, OH, USA

problem #76

Jan 202010

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated while driving at 15 mph, the vehicle began to independently decrease in speed. The contact depressed the accelerator pedal but the vehicle would not pick up speed. The dealer advised there were no recalls on the vehicle and any repairs would be at the contacts expense. The vehicle was neither diagnosed for the failure or repaired. The failure mileage was 82,000 and the current mileage was 90,000. Updated 09/28/10 the consumer stated he experienced problems with the skid control. The consumer stated the vsc, ABS and traction control lights illuminated and have been on for quite some time now. On a few occasions, the vehicle lost power or braked unexpectedly while going into slow turns. The Toyota recall center assured the consumer his vehicle was a part of the recall. However, when he arrived at the dealership, he was informed his vehicle was not a part of the recall, because his vehicle was produced with the updated ECU. Updated 10/04/10

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #75

May 202010

Sequoia

  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign id number: 10V176000 electronic stability control system was valid for one year; however, his VIN was not included. The contact stated that the vsc warning light illuminated and the vehicle was repaired by the dealer. The dealer replaced the computer skid seal, part#B9541-0C062 and the computer assembly, part#B9630-0C011. The failure was corrected when the vehicle was repaired. The contact was concerned that his VIN was not included in the recall. The failure and current mileages were approximately 83,000.

- Marble Falls , TX, USA

problem #74

Jun 232010

Sequoia

  • 114,000 miles
I have a 2003 Toyota Sequoia. Currently, the vsc trac, vsc, ABS and emergency handbrake lights are on. After many visits to the dealer and repair shops, the problem cannot be resolved. Everyone seems to think this issue is not related to a mechanical issue, but to an electronic sensor. Unfortunately, only the manufacturer/dealership can remedy this problem. Because this is a Toyota-fix-only, we cannot simply afford to get this fix. We have been quoted almost $700 to fix this issue. This is a difficult amount to digest, especially with a family with multiple kids.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #73

Jun 182010

Sequoia

  • 80,000 miles
2003 Toyota Sequoia, vsc and ABS lights came on and off several times @ 20K miles and now @ 80K miles. First time @ 20 K miles, dealer didn't find any problem so they said I might forget to tighten the gas cap...but now after 5 years, the vsc and ABS light started popping up again when I was driving 60 mile/hour, I have brought the ca to dealer and this time they have charged me almost $ 500 to get these lights came off including a series of unnecessary parts replacing and tune up. Less than one month, these lights - vsc and ABS came on again, brought back to dealer, they said it failed for another code which require another $ 500 to get it fixed. I was frustrated so I took the car back home, but I still feel unsafe when driving it. I think Toyota should consider this issue and recall since so many customers have reported a similar issue - vsc and ABS light intermittent issue.

- Humble, TX, USA

problem #72

Dec 012006

Sequoia

  • 30,000 miles
Throughout the time period I have owned my 2003 Toyota Sequoia, I have experienced dangerous low speed vehicle control issues, when traveling on slippery surfaces, relating to the vehicle's stability control system. At speeds between a few miles per hour and perhaps as much as 15 miles per hour, on muddy or icy roads, the vehicle stability control system will kick in, probably as it should, while braking or initiating a turn, as indicated by a vsc warning light illuminating in the drivers control console. However, while it may be appropriate for the vsc system to respond, the vsc in the Toyota Sequoia responds in a dangerous manner which is much less effective and appropriate than the vsc systems in all other vehicles I own or have driven. When the vsc system is activated, as indicated by the vsc light coming on, power is lost to all wheels in the vehicle and vehicle handling changes abruptly. The change in handling results in severe understeer, as compared to when power is being delivered to all four wheels, and the vehicle significantly overshoots any corner the driver is trying to maneuver the vehicle around. Whereas I am a careful driver and plan for such issue, I have not so far experienced an accident as a result of this issue, but should the vsc issue arise at an inappropriate time, when there is less room for maneuvering, such as during an emergency maneuver, the sudden severe understeer could definitely result in an accident.

- Calgary, Alberta, Canada, 00, USA

problem #71

Jun 022010

Sequoia

  • 33,000 miles
I have a 2003 Toyota Sequoia that has a faulty skid control unit and needs the ECU replaced. Although Toyota has issued a recall notice for 2003 Sequoias for this problem, I was told that my car is not included on that list since they are only targeting certain cars from that year, not all cars with this problem. I was told by the dealership that it will cost me close to $3,000 to fix my car, which I cannot afford. I have only 35,000 miles on this vehicle. I have two young children that I drive in this car and have had some very close calls due to the car not functioning properly due to the faulty vsc. I feel that our safety is in jeopardy due to Toyota's refusal to fix a problem that they know about and are indeed recalling for. My 2003 Toyota Sequoia should be included in the recall list and fixed like all of the other 2003 Sequoias with this problem. Thank you for your help.

- Aliso Viejo, CA, USA

problem #70

Feb 282005

Sequoia

  • 103,300 miles
I had filled a complaint because of my 2003 Toyota Sequoia. The vsc trac light/vsc light/ABS light stays on as a result of attempting to apply the switch. I contacted Toyota and they are telling me that my VIN # is not one for recall and that they are still investigating the issues. On this site it states that the issue is closed and Toyota is recalling them. What is the status? thanks

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?