Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
40,713 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Sequoia brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments

problem #19

Oct 012006


  • 30,000 miles


The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated while driving the vehicle his vsc light andthe ABS light would come on. The contact stated that it does not matter how fast he is going for this to happen. He contacted the dealer and they told him it was a computer malfunction. The failure mileagewas 30,000 and the current mileage was 90,000. The VIN was not available.

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #18

Aug 012009


  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns 2003 Toyota Sequoia. While driving approximately 25 mph on normal road conditions and applying pressure to the brake pedal there was a grinding noise and the vehicle began shaking. The vehicle began pulling to the right and failed to slow down. The entire warning light indicator illuminated on the instrument panel. The driver applied continuous force to the brake pedal in order to decrease the speed of the vehicle. An authorized dealer stated that the failure was contributed to the anti-lock brake system. The vehicle has not been repaired for the malfunction. The contact had concerns of the safety hazard. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 110,000. The current mileage was 116,000.

- Myrtle Beach , SC, USA

problem #17

Jan 102008

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
On going problems with vsc. 2003 (41,000 miles) Toyota Sequoia has been to the dealership 3 times now for the vsc activating and brakes engaging while turning a corner in normal, dry conditions. From 3 mph to more than 15+ mph the vsc engages and brakes are applied. Very dangerous! dealership has fixed problem each of the 3 times. Car warranty is now over and problem persists. Dealership says for $1500. They will replace the vsc computer...utter non-sense!!! very upset that Toyota continues to hide from this problem. While researching on line I have easily found hundreds of similar cases and complaints.....please do something!!!!!!

- Greenville, SC, USA

problem #16

Sep 272007

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 69,788 miles


ABS brake system failure. 2003 Toyota Sequoia.

- Grant, FL, USA

problem #15

Sep 252007

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 53,500 miles
Vsc/ABS skid control ECU failure. The dealership is saying that my 2003 Toyota Sequoia limited 2 wd 53,500 miles needs a new ABS computer at a cost of $3,600. Approximately 2 years ago I had the exact same thing happen, the car actually froze up and the dealership had it towed to their location to fix it, they said it was the third member and replaced that. Now the same thing is happening and they won't do anything.

- Oakley, CA, USA

problem #14

Jan 012006

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that the instrument panel lights remained illuminated. The dealer stated that the skid control ECU for the ABS malfunctioned and they made the replacement. Approximately one year and seven months later, the failure recurred. The dealer repeated the repair and charged half the cost. The failure mileage was 38,000 and current mileage was 59,000. Updated 01/09/08. Updated 12/12/07

- Cave Creek, AZ, USA

problem #13

Jul 292007

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,265 miles


I was driving my car as usual to church on Sunday 7/29/2007 when I noticed my check engine light, the trac off light and the vsc lights were on after reading the owners manual I determined that the car needed to be taken to Toyota. I took the car in and was told that the repair was not covered and it would cost me almost $2500 to repair. When talking to the associate, he explained to me that the systems that had gone bad had to do with the way the vehicle will be controlled while driving and the anti-lock brakes. When I questioned him about the safety of driving the vehicle he told me that people had been driving without those units for years and my breaks may lock up but don't try to stop while going fast. I informed him that Toyota had replaced the computer board for my breaks earlier (brake lights still coming on) and asked if it was possible that these things were going bad at the same time. He said it was not. I feel that this is a safety hazard to me and my family and should be taken care of. In trying to find some kind of solution to this problem, I read on Tundra solutions where others have had this same problem. I was also told that both will need to be replaced at the same time. $2500 is a lot of money for a single parent. Nothing was done to correct this problem. What do I do?

- Garden City, GA, USA

problem #12

Jun 302007

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2003 Toyota Sequoia with 64000 miles. Vsc/abd lights came on and did come off. The brakes failed on one occasion and quickly came back, but made metal grinding noise. Car was brought to dealer, and was out of warranty. I wa S being told O replace the computer system. They said since there was a tsb, that they might be able to cover 1/2 the cost. There should be a recall on this problem.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #11

Mar 012007

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
2003 Sequoia limited vsc / trac control lights have been on almost continuously since 3/1/2007, indicating that the stability control and traction control were not functioning. At various times the ABS kicked in even though the brakes were not applied. In wet conditions on 3/17/07, the SUV did not properly respond to brake or steering, causing the SUV to drift into the oncoming lane. Fortunately, there was no traffic in the lane at the time. This was a huge safety issue. At the dealer, codes C1241, C1231, C1223, and C1203 came up. Diagnosis - translate and skid control computers needed to be replaced. Toyota tsbs BR002-03 and BR003-03 appeared to be related, and lead me to believe there was a known flaw in computer logic.

- Auburn, MA, USA

problem #10

Feb 262007

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 15,000 miles
The vsc & trac lights are on constantly on my 2003 Sequoia. My wife seems to lose control of the car when the brakes lock up at about 2-3 mph, especially when trying to make a right turn. This is extremely dangerous and I am concerned for her and my children (3) in the car should the accident occur due to this problem. I will take action in court against Toyota should they not fix it.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #9

Jan 252007

Sequoia 4WD

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,000 miles


Vsc off ad vsc trac warning lights come on unexpectedly in 2003 Toyota Sequoia. Car often feels unstable for a moment when this happens. Dealer has looked at the problem several times and has been unable to identify or repair cause. Problem dates back to 2003.

- Bridgewater, CT, USA

problem #8

Dec 182006

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 44,000 miles
The vsc and trac trouble lights are coming on. The car occasionally thinks that we are skidding out of control and begins pulsating the brakes. This is very dangerous. The failure codes in the computer indicate that the skid control ECU needs to be replaced. This is expensive and not covered by warranty, but should be covered by Toyota via a safety recall with an improved version. I have found a lot of complaints on the internet by owners having the same problem.

- Russellville, AR, USA

problem #7

May 012006

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 23,000 miles
Vsc/ABS skid control ECU failure is a know issue by every Toyota Sequoia owner, but Toyota claims that it's not an issue. This failure requires that vsc/ABS skid control ECU be replaced. While vehicle is under warranty, Toyota will try to do anything and everything possible not to replace the part, but once the warranty expires and you bring the car for repairs, first thing they tell you is that you need a new ECU costing close to $3000.

- Reisterstown, MD, USA

problem #6

Aug 012006

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
: the contact stated the ABS light illuminated constantly. Also, while driving at 30 mph on wet roads, the vehicle skidded when the brake pedal was depressed. The vehicle was taken to a service dealer who determined that the vehicle stability control was defective. Updated 9/13/2006 - the deceleration sensor was replaced. The vehicle extended warranty did not cover the cost of the replacement.

- Congers, NY, USA

problem #5

Feb 042006

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 31,000 miles
: the contact stated while driving 15 mph and slowing to a stop, the antilock brakes failed causing the check engine and vsc traction light to illuminate. This occurred while attempting to apply brake pressure during normal braking on normal and snow covered roads. The vehicle has been to the dealership four times for inspection due to the antilock brakes. Upon inspections, the dealership reset the computer to make the lights go off. The manufacturer was notified, however no repairs were made. Updated 3/9/2006 -

- Grand Junction, CO, USA

problem #4

Oct 252005

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 39,000 miles
Vehicle makes a loud grinding noise from the front of the car when put in to gear. Vsc trac and vsc off lights light up and buzzer sounds. Once the lights and buzzer go off the grinding stops but the lights remain on. When driving the car feels very loose, like it is going to lose control. I brought the vehicle in to the dealership and they said that 2 computers, the vsc computer and the translator computer, failed. The dealership said that there have been many instances of this occurrence, and that the software used in the computers was bad. All of this happened at 39K miles and the warranty was up at 36K. Toyota has been negligent in the fact that this is a known manufacturers defect and there is no recall or warranty for these defects. I am not sure if this issue can cause injuries or death, or possibly re-occur.

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 092004

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
Brake system will grab and throw car into skid, but parts are failing intermittently. The switch on the dashboard does not shut it off. Consumer had no control of vehicle. It has been in the repair shop, and found out steering angle sensor was bad, and replaced it. Also, computer was defective. The vehicle's computer was replaced also. The technician could not confirm what failed first, why either failed, or why he could not find any trouble over one year ago, when consumer noticed blinding lights on the dashboard. The consumer feels that this is a safety hazard because drivers do not have control over this active 4 wheel drive system. Also the dash control will not shut off vsc (vehicle skid control), nor any other fuse, switch, wire, or other vsc's.

- Spanaway, WA, USA

problem #2

Sep 102004

Sequoia 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
While consumer was driving the check engine light/trac light, and ABS braking light appeared on the dashboard and remained on. Then, vehicle stalled. Consumer was unable to restart vehicle, and had vehicle towed to dealer for inspection. Mechanic determined that the battery needed to be replaced. Consumer informed mechanic that this problem recurred and had not been resolved.

- Lewisville, TX, USA

problem #1

May 192003

(reported on)


  • miles
The anti-skid control engaged when the consumer was driving on dry pavement under 25 mph

- Berkeley, CA, USA

Not what you are looking for?