Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
80,069 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2003 Toyota Sequoia brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2003 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2003 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #30

May 262007


  • 60,000 miles


2003 Toyota sequioa vsc/trac saftey problem. Starts with the dash lights appearing and then can turn SUV off and/or turn brake lights off. A definite safety problem. Toyota really should recall.

- Forked River, NJ, USA

problem #29

Apr 192008


  • 87,000 miles
Vsc/trac and ABS lights came on and despite this being a common failure Toyota says I must pay $600+ to have a yaw sensor replaced. Toyota needs to step up to the plate and fix this problem.

- Cocoa, FL, USA

problem #28

Aug 052010


  • 71,000 miles
I had my brakes looked at by dealer due to pulsating and not feeling like they should. They said nothing was wrong. A few months later, the vsc, ABS, trac light goes on and stays on. Safety recall A0G reflects problems with the vsc/ECU which also works simultaneously with the deceleration sensor/circuit. The dealer "pederson Toyota" has told me that I needed to replace the deceleration sensor costing $99.50 - diagnostic, $445 - part, and $99.50 - labor. I feel that Toyota has had so many complaints regarding this exact issue, they need to do something about this. Deceleration is a huge safety issue and my vehicle does not stop as it should. Also, the decelerations sensor/circuit they are telling me needs to be changed is part of the vsc/ECU that is recalled. All three parts work together and not one of them can do their job without the other. [xxx] information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Windsor, CO, USA

problem #27

Aug 032010

(reported on)

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • miles


2003 Toyota Sequoia. Consumer states extreme shaking and vibrations the consumer stated there are four active recalls on the vehicle. He took the vehicle to the dealer for the front suspension recall, but he believes the problem still exists as there is an extreme shaking and vibration coming from the vehicle. Also, the vehicle was taken to a different dealer for the traction control recall, but the trac off, vsc trac and ABS lights are still on, the consumer was told it could be a myriad of things which could have caused the lights to remain on.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #26

Jan 202010

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 82,000 miles
The contact owns a 2003 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated while driving at 15 mph, the vehicle began to independently decrease in speed. The contact depressed the accelerator pedal but the vehicle would not pick up speed. The dealer advised there were no recalls on the vehicle and any repairs would be at the contacts expense. The vehicle was neither diagnosed for the failure or repaired. The failure mileage was 82,000 and the current mileage was 90,000. Updated 09/28/10 the consumer stated he experienced problems with the skid control. The consumer stated the vsc, ABS and traction control lights illuminated and have been on for quite some time now. On a few occasions, the vehicle lost power or braked unexpectedly while going into slow turns. The Toyota recall center assured the consumer his vehicle was a part of the recall. However, when he arrived at the dealership, he was informed his vehicle was not a part of the recall, because his vehicle was produced with the updated ECU. Updated 10/04/10

- Kingwood, TX, USA

problem #25

Jun 092005


  • 49,000 miles
Toyota Sequoia 03 -- brake light has been coming on starting about 50,000 miles, it stays on for weeks then goes out, then comes on again. Both the vsc tracking light come on and off, now mostly on all the time and now the vehicle shakes and acts like the breaks are on without warning when driving. We have had it to the dealer and they have reset the light numerous times, but it never really lasts for long. I think there should be a recall on this, I know we can't be the first to complain about this. It is now becoming unsafe to drive because of the shaking and lack of steering control.

- O Fallon, MO, USA

problem #24

Mar 072010


  • miles


On several occasions after backing out of the driveway and beginning to accelerate the vsc light comes on and a strange sound is heard from under the truck. The tires are either slipping on snow at the time or loose gravel leftover from the snow. Toyota dealership said we need to replace the ECU unite for $1000 because it's not covered in the May 2010 recall based on our VIN number.

- Omaha, NE, USA

problem #23

Feb 282005


  • 103,300 miles
I had filled a complaint because of my 2003 Toyota Sequoia. The vsc trac light/vsc light/ABS light stays on as a result of attempting to apply the switch. I contacted Toyota and they are telling me that my VIN # is not one for recall and that they are still investigating the issues. On this site it states that the issue is closed and Toyota is recalling them. What is the status? thanks

- Woodbridge, VA, USA

problem #22

Apr 192010


  • 91,250 miles
Vsc and ABS lights come on in 2003 Toyota Sequoia. Dealers request that the sensor or ECU be replaced out-of-pocket ($700 - $2000). A lot of complaints have been filed by 2001-2003 Sequoia and Tundra customers but Toyota refuses to issue a recall.

- Calgary, 00, USA

problem #21

Apr 082010


  • 100,000 miles
Vsc trac and vsc and brake lights come on and sometimes can be reset by turning the car off and then on. Loss of power when this happens sometimes. Lately this has been happening on a regular basis.

- Oakton, VA, USA

problem #20

Aug 212005


  • 60,000 miles


Inside door handles have broken off on three of the doors. The only door that still works is the driver's side. I have to get out of the car and walk around opening everyone else's door so they can get out of the car. This is obviously not safe in the case of an accident, fire, etc where I might not be able to open all the doors in time. I am thoroughly disappointed by the design flaw that lead to this situation. Toyota wants over 200 per door to fix a problem that should never have happened. Anytime a passenger is trapped inside a car it can become a dangerous situation very quickly. The second problem that I have with the Sequoia involves the traction control system. It was fixed one time under a tsb, however, the problem has since returned. I do not feel like spending 100 for a diagnosis to tell me what I already know is wrong with the truck.

- Hershey, PA, USA

problem #19

Mar 012010


  • 86,120 miles
Vsc and trac off lights came on at the same time without warning and the 2003 Toyota Sequoia jerked to a slower speed while making a loud and grinding sound. It was while the vehicle was moving forward and the car behind me was lucky to avoid running into me.

- Wilmington, NC, USA

problem #18

Dec 182009


  • 85,000 miles
My complaint is the ABS/trac control system in my Toyota Sequoia. It engaged without any reason and I lost power when I was driving in a hot day on the freeway. I had to pull over. There are many other owners who are reporting this issue on many websites. Does someone have to die for you guys to take any actions.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #17

May 152009


  • 25,253 miles
My 2003 Toyota Sequoia has an issue with the vehicle stability control (traction control system). The vsc computer continues to break leaving the car with no traction control. On snowy and icy roads the car will spin out of control due to the size of the vehicle and no assistance from the vsc to slow the car down. I have to keep the car in 4WD all the time to keep it from sliding on snowy or wet streets. This is a known problem with the Toyota Sequoia and Toyota refuses to take responsibility for the issue. There are pages upon pages of complaints all over the internet describing the same issue. Toyota refuses to warranty the problem or conduct a recall. The part itself is approximately $1600. I have already had the vsc computer replaced once on the vehicle and now the new computer is broken again. It was first replaced on 1/24/07 when the vehicle had 25,253 miles on it. It broke again on 5/19/09 with 38,995 miles on it. The vehicle now has 43,000 miles on it and the vsc is still inoperable. I don't trust driving the car with my wife or child. But unfortunately I have to spend $2K to fix a vehicle just to trade it in. I have filed a complaint with Toyota North America. They refuse to acknowledge there is a problem and have told me I have to accept responsibility for the vehicle no longer being on warranty. Even though it only has 43,000 miles and they vsc has broken twice. I have grown increasing concerned about safety especially since I live in the midwest. Nothing has been done to resolve the problem. That is my issue.

- Park Ridge, IL, USA

problem #16

Nov 112009


  • 89,500 miles
Took vehicle to get a calif. Smog check. Smog test was performed and after test passed, vehicle kept reporting trak control on console display and grinding sounds clicking sounds and short "shaking" on the steering wheel for ~15 seconds. Took vehicle to Toyota dealer and had it repaired. Traction control system computer had to be replaced.

- Torrance, CA, USA

problem #15

Jul 102009


  • 92,575 miles
The vehicle took off while trying to park in front of my residence hitting a park vehicle causing damage to my vehicle and the park one the accelerator just engaged itself the ABS, traction and vsc lights car making strange noises on the left front wheel slight vibration on steering wheel left.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #14

Nov 202009


  • 73,100 miles
ABS, vsc/trac lights are "on" all came up at the same time. It was a rainy day in houston, tx. Had to run 55mph at 65mph speed limit due to rain for safety pre-caution. At the time I reached my work place (approx 10miles from my residence), all 3-lights (ABS, vsc, trac) turned on. I am the 2nd owner of this vehicle, acquired it from Toyota dealer 15 October 2009. With this incident, got curious of any recalls, complaints or issues with 2003 Sequoia. Unfortunately, I just realized that I am among owners having the same issues.

- Sugar Land, TX, USA

problem #13

Jul 032009


  • 85,000 miles
The skid and traction control system lights turn on for no reason and then the system is disabled all together. I spent a $1000 on it and it came back again. As an electrical engr with 30 years of experience, I am certain it is a marginal design and Toyota is wasting people's time and money.

- Vista, CA, USA

problem #12

Oct 232009


  • 82,450 miles
Vech. Skid control alarm and reaction takes place without warning or justification. Vehicle brakes come on with warning and car shakes because the brakes which are automatically being applied and brake anti skid system is activated. This happened when traveling approx 45 mph. Thought I was going to die because of the violent reaction of the vech. This has happen more than five times and Toyota wants me to pay $2,100 to correct their engineering error. Should I submit a bill for mental anguish?

- Warsaw, IN, USA

problem #11

Aug 102009


  • 80,000 miles
My 2003 Toyota Sequoia's trac system is failing which is causing my car to brake automatically without warning. The car has been reliable until now. We were driving at about 35-40mph on a highway when suddenly the car just braked by itself without me stepping on the brakes. Soon after I noticed that the trac and ABS lights were all on inside my dash. I was able to make it home but my family was terrified because we were almost struck from behind. The vehicle is not safe to drive under this condition. I have not been driving it because I can't afford to fix the problem and I don't want to get killed driving it. I am being told that it's $2000-3000 job. I bought the car because I wanted a safe and reliable car but it has now become an unsafe car and a headache. I am being told that I need a skid booster, brake booster and brake module. I think it's all part of the ABS pump assembly. My mfg warranty has expired and my vehicle does have about 78K miles on it which puts me in a bad spot. Please help!

- Hacienda Heights , CA, USA

Read the next 10 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?