Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.5

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
58,823 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Sequoia electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Sequoia:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Sequoia Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Jul 162015

Sequoia

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My engine light comes on then the vsc and trac control light. I clear codes but they return. I'm afraid to drive this vehicle since we use it mainly to pull our boat.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #28

Nov 162014

Sequoia

  • 116,300 miles
The drivers side rear sliding door stuck in the open position due to the electrical system. There was no way to close the door once opened. The wife had to drive to dealership with door stuck wide open in the dark. This was not safe for various reasons... I read where other vehicles had the same problems but do not see a recall yet by Toyota. We will have the dealer break the cable and render the doors electrical system useless for that door. This really causes issues for a person with a disability and a special needs child. Hopefully Toyota will step up and recall these vehicles and correct this problem.

- Gretna, LA, USA

problem #27

Oct 012007

Sequoia

  • miles
This appears to be exceptionally common. The vsc trac, vsc off and ABS and parking brake lights come on, the brakes are degraded and the front end vibrates as the brakes appear to be pulsing. This has happens spare-attic ally over the years. At first we thought it was the emergency brake and we had the tightened, since it seemed that there might be something loose and it was engaging as we drove. That wasn't it, obviously and it continues to occur. With such a heavy, large truck, we have nearly rear-ended others, but got lucky. Each time the car pulls to one side sharply and you have to stop and restart the car to get all the lights to turn off and come back to normal. I have had the brakes done and redone several times and this still occurs.. on each occasion we could get out of it, but its only a matter of time before someone gets hurt. Toyota has obviously ignored this..I have download the complaints and there are >500 on this very topic. As I read through all these, the similarity between them is beyond coincidence and it appears that nothing actually fixes this. As of right now.

- Addison, TX, USA

problem #26

Jun 012014

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 93,243 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Yes, we just purchased this used 04 Sequoia from a private party seller and everything was fine the first month we drove it then the vsc light and the trac off light came on. Now the check engine light is on and we had it tested at autozone for free. The testing showed a bad O2 sensor. The car still drives fine its just the lights are on. Its really irritating. I googled it and read a bunch of customer complaints about this same issue. I read that the 03 Sequoias were recalled for these issues.

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #25

Dec 202006

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 48,000 miles
We purchased our Sequoia in July of 2004. On Dec. 20, 2006 the vsc off and vsc trac lights came on. We took the car in to our Toyota dealer on Jan. 3, 2007 (48,127 mi) to have them take a look at it. We were told the lights were on because of a charcoal canister that needed replacing. We replaced the canister on Aug. 8, 2007 (58,184 mi.) at a cost of approx. $425. We believe this cost should have been covered under the emission system's warranty but the dealer said 'no' and we reluctantly paid it. On a trip to ca, the oil pressure gauge quit working. We went to a Toyota dealer in victorville, ca on Dec.3, 2007 (66,587 mi.) we were told the oil pressure was fine but the 'combo meter' needed replacing at an estimated cost of $900. We declined the service. At some point after that, the vsc off and vsc trac lights came back on. On April 1, 2009 (87,456 mi.) we took the car in to the Toyota dealer to have them check on the lights. We were told the 'skid control ECU' needed replacing at an estimated cost of $1400. We declined the service. The lights are still on to this day at 165,977 miles. In Dec. 2011, after a snowy day, we were traveling about 25 mph when the car broke traction and sent us spinning 180* out-of-control. If it wasn't for a snow berm we would have rolled down a hill into a pond. This vehicle is unsafe!! I'm sure we have paid dearly for the stability control feature in this car but it has been inoperable for most of time we've owned it. This is definitely a manufacturer's defect that should be recalled and made right. We don't believe we should have to bear the cost of fixing this problem ourselves.

- Ozark, MO, USA

problem #24

Jul 272013

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
My vsc, vsc trac off, and brake light indicators are staying on and won't turn off.

- Dothan, AL, USA

problem #23

Jun 032013

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The liftgate handle broke and was replaced with an original equipment plastic part. According to other's complaints, I expect it to happen again very soon. Then the handle stopped opening the liftgate altogether. I finally got the gate open and replaced the pull cable but it did no good. Once while driving, the gate opened by itself and lifted up when I went over a small bump. I can't get the gate open in case of an emergency or to access the spare tire and sometimes it opens by itself. Certainly this is a major safety issue that Toyota should address.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #22

Jan 222013

Sequoia

  • miles
After making a left turn the vsc trac, slip indicator skid, and malfunction indicator lamp lights came on and have remained on. Today the brake warning light has come on and remained on. Concerned with the large number of complaints from other 2004 owners and Toyota lack of interest to resolve the problem in timely and fair manner. It appears this problem has been known for many years, changing owners many expensive repair bills and vehicles remain unfixed. Toyota owners relying on Toyota to provide a quality product and stand behind the that product when a problem like this occurs.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #21

Aug 212009

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 73,615 miles
Rear window works at random and will not go down.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #20

Oct 102008

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 61,725 miles
Brake light is coming on and staying on for no reason while vehicle is running and moving. Toyota service unable to duplicate or diag problem. Brake light has been comes on randomly for years.

- Beavercreek, OH, USA

problem #19

Aug 022012

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 49,160 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Vehicle had been driven approx 30 miles when brake, vsc off, vsc trac warning lights came on will not go off...just purchased this vehicle on 7/28/2012 from berglund, Chrysler, Jeep, Dodge Ram in roanoke, va.

- Boones Mill, VA, USA

problem #18

Mar 032012

Sequoia

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5-10 mph, the brakes failed the contact noticed a loud grinding noise. In addition, the steering wheel became extremely difficult to maneuver. The vehicle stability control warning light was illuminated as the failure occurred. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where they advised the contact that the skid control computer needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure and current mileages were approximately 80,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Oregon City, OR, USA

problem #17

Jul 062011

Sequoia

  • 138,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated that the traction and brake lights would illuminate intermittently. The vehicle would also jerk violently. The dealer replaced the computer that controlled the braking unit but the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure and current mileage was 138,000.

- Houston, CA, USA

problem #16

Oct 012010

Sequoia 8-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
2004 Toyota Sequoia anti skid electronic component sensor light comes on then engine shuts down in turns when not needed and on dry roads. Extremely dangerous!

- Londonderry , NH, USA

problem #15

Aug 032010

Sequoia

  • 102,247 miles
Sporadically, on downhill with speed when applying brakes a crunching sound made, audible warning sound and warning light appear. Release and reapplying brakes reset warnings lights and sound. Last week, on a flat surface the same sound was made, the warning light sounded and lights (vsc trac and brake) appeared. Took vehicle to dealer as noted in owners manual. The skid control ECU is diagnosed as needing replaced. Dealer replaced computer module and I will see if this correct problem. Concerned as the vehicle pulls a trailer and the brake problem described has happened while towing.

- Visalia, CA, USA

problem #14

Jun 012010

Sequoia

  • 90,000 miles
2004 Toyota Sequoia. Emergency brake, traction control system, and traction control system off dashboard lights come on randomly during vehicle operation leading the operator to believe the emergency brake is activated and/or the traction control system is malfunctioning. Problem occurs randomly (every few minutes) during vehicle operation. No repair completed. Numerous reports of same failure are cited on several internet websites.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #13

Aug 052010

Sequoia

  • 58,009 miles
Vsc trac light and trac off light staying on on my 2004 Sequoia.

- Grapevine, TX, USA

problem #12

Jul 262010

Sequoia

  • 145,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sequoia. The contact stated while reversing from a residential driveway, the vehicle abruptly stopped as if the brakes had independently engaged. The dealer advised that the skid control computer could possibly have malfunctioned and caused the vehicle to stop. A diagnostic test was not performed on the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact was concerned that the vehicle skid control would engage while in traffic and could potentially cause a crash. The failure mileage was 145,000 and the current was unknown.

- Wayzata, MN, USA

problem #11

Jun 152007

Sequoia

  • 71,000 miles
I have a 2004 Toyota Sequoia VIN number [xxx]. on 6/15/10 I experienced loss of vehicle control related to the vehicle stabilization and braking system computer. Three lights lit up on the dash (vsc, trac, and brake) and then upon braking there was a grab release sensation that I was unable to control. I was driving approximately 30 mph when this occurred. I was forced to pull over and shut the vehicle down to reset the computer. This has happened 5 times in the last year, but none as severe as on 6/15/10. Other experiences were at lower speeds. I have reported the incident to Toyota ( conf# [xxx]) but am dissatisfied that this is not a recall. This is a true safety concern for me as I have a newborn child that rides in this car often. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Tallahassee, FL, USA

problem #10

Oct 102009

Sequoia

  • 59,000 miles
When turning right, my vehicle will cut off, the yaw sensor comes on and suggests that the vehicle is turning over; however, I am only going 5-10 miles an hour.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?