Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 0
Average Mileage:
63,793 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Sienna body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 2 of 8)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #122

Jul 152008

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 53,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This concerns me as a safety issue. The dash on my Sienna 2004 has cracks everywhere. In summer 2008 is when I saw the first crack. Four years later they are all over the front dash, in the driver side as well as in the passenger side. I have seen through the web that this is a common problem for this same make and model, so I decided to file this complaint. It concerns me that this cracks can potentially prevent airbags from deploying properly or prematurely and cause injure. I did ask Toyota for a quote to fix this problem since my warranty expired and it was too costly $2000.+. I do like my car and would like to keep it as long as I can but besides the dash looking awful it make me nervous that this might cause an accident. Hope Toyota finds a way to fix this. Thanks

- Ponce, PR, USA

problem #121

Jan 082010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 115,000 miles
I have a 2004 Sienna xle limited that has always been garage kept and very well taken care of. The dash on the passenger side above the airbag has been cracking for sometime now and what once started as a small crack, is now a spiderweb of cracks that extends over the entire passenger side of the dash. When searching on the internet for a used dash I came across the following thread: www.automotiveforums.com/T959673-discuss2004_sienna_cracked_dashboard.html and discovered this is not an isolated incident, that it has, in fact, occurred in many 04 Sienna's. I, along with many others feel this is a safety hazard due to what would happen to the already cracked dash if the airbag were to deploy. I have called Toyota and registered a complaint and was assigned case #: 1207232487. I have also emailed Toyota with a complaint as well. Because of the number of incidents, I believe Toyota should issue a recall. I need a new dash, and because it's obviously a manufacturer's defect.

- Anderson, SC, USA

problem #120

Aug 062009

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
Letter from senator schumer on behalf of constituent re a reimbursement issue with 2004 Toyota Sienna (dot/I# S 2012 187) on August 9, 2009, the spare tire cable had to be replaced due to corrosion. In the spring of 2011, Toyota issued a safety recall. Their notice stated if you have previously paid for the repair, submit the bill and reimbursement consideration would be given. On October 19, 2011, Toyota requested four additional documents. On Feb 8, 2012, the consumer was denied reimbursement, because he was unable to provide the credit card statement that was used to pay for the repair. Updated 08/28/12. Updated 10/25/12.

- Bridgeport, NY, USA

problem #119

Oct 062010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 122,300 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cracks in the dashboard noted over area where airbags are located.

- Murfreesboro, TN, USA

problem #118

May 012007

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
Dashboard defect interference with airbag deployment - due to manufacturer defect the dashboard has many long cracks that extend from the A/C vents and glove box across sections of the dash, including around the airbag. I am fearful that in the event of a crash the airbag would not deploy as designed, due to the defective dashboard. As of yet there has been no recall or manufacturer amends to this problem. It is a serious safety concern to me due to interference with the proper functioning of the airbag.

- Kenner, LA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #117

Oct 012011

Sienna

  • 80,000 miles
Dash board cracks look like done by a very sharp knife everywhere across the dash board. May interfere with proper deployment of air bag and is a safety hazard.

- Arlington, TX, USA

problem #116

Jan 012011

Sienna

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that the dashboard was fractured near the air bag and the contact was concerned that the failure would result in the air bag not deploying in the event of a crash. The dealer advised the contact to replace the entire dashboard. The manufacturer had not been notified of the failure. No repairs were performed. The current mileage was 90,400 and the failure mileage was 80,000.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #115

Jun 012011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
My 2004 Toyota Sienna xle driver door weld is broken. The passenger door window only opens half way and sometimes the door does not open all the way because of the broken weld. At first it was only a popping sound coming from the weld and then the piece broke. Now the door gets jammed occasionally.

- Oxnard, CA, USA

problem #114

Jan 032011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
Dashboard has sustained multiple significant cracks. Not involved in any accident, nor was dashboard cut in any way. Dash material is still soft. Many similar complaints noted online. Very concerned about function of airbags should accident occur. Toyota has been unresponsive to complaints.

- Pembroke Pines, FL, USA

problem #113

Mar 102010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Cracks along the entire dashboard and airbag areas of the front dash. Concern about proper airbag deployment or failure and lack of structural integrity of the dash along with steering control during a vehicle crash. Dash failure and debris from dash may affect the steering control if dash debris is lodged against steering area. Noticed dash cracks at about 60K miles and the cracks continue to grow with each use of vehicle. Currently vehicle has 79K miles. Dealer/manufacturer did not want to fix or replace the dash citing out of warranty issue. However, this issue is on all 04 and up Toyota Sienna's and possibly more vehicles with this type of dashboard material.

- Honolulu, HI, USA

problem #112

Oct 012010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. While the vehicle was parked the contact noticed the dashboard on the passenger side was cracked. The contact was concerned that the air bag would not deploy if a crash occurred. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated the dashboard had to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. The consumer stated the dashboard was cracked in several places and there was a visible yellow material in several places as well. Updated evoq 11/15/11

- Metairie, LA, USA

problem #111

May 012010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 82,500 miles
Cracks in dashboard from door to door.... our Sienna has been garaged for about two years and has about 83K miles on it. A short while ago we noticed that there was a crack line in the dashboard material that was along the line where the material connects to the instruments panel unit, the rnetertianment unit, and the glove box area. Upon closer examination we found the cracks stretch to the dashbaord area that wrpas around to the closed doors on both sides. This material must be defective because this vehicle has been well takn care of and is mostly garaged. I've never had a vehicle do this before.

- Lake Mary, FL, USA

problem #110

May 202011

Sienna

  • 135,000 miles
Both sliding door motor cables have broken on my 2004 Toyota Sienna. One door was stuck in an open position, and the other one could only be opened six inches. I have now paid Toyota dealerships over $4,000 to fix the motor cables for both doors. With one stuck open, I couldn't Transport my children. I live over 30 minutes to the nearest mechanic, so it was very fun driving the car to a dealership. I think that it is a safety issue especially if the doors stick open. The dealership stated that they have never seen this before, but I am now seeing several complaints about this, and that Toyota has a tsb on this problem.

- Lovettsville, VA, USA

problem #109

May 012011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 81,000 miles
Description: Front door check popping noise cause: Spot weld in door check failed controls door when opening and closing safely. Toyota has tsb NV003-07, but has limited warranty. Expired for me.

- Orange, CA, USA

problem #108

May 012011

Sienna

  • 100,000 miles
Rear sliding door power cable on 2004 Toyota Sienna broke. Causing door to be stuck in open position. Toyota has known of defect and issued a tsb (EL004-04) in April of 2004, but did not repair previously manufactured minivans.

- Ellicott City, MD, USA

problem #107

Mar 122011

Sienna

  • 106,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. While the vehicle was parked he noticed that the drivers side door check mount panel was no longer welded in some areas. He stated the door made a lot of noise when opened or closed. The contact noticed the failure a month ago. He called the dealer and was advised that they were aware of the failure and it would be costly to repair to repair the vehicle. He called the manufacturer and filed a complaint. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 106,000 and the current mileage was 107,000.

- Bianbridge Island, WA, USA

problem #106

Sep 302010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 97,563 miles
The rear passenger power sliding door failed. The cable that opens and closes the door snapped and then bound up jamming the door open about 3 inches. My children could not exit the vehicle on that side if there was an accident and I had to dissasemble the door just to close it.

- Pa, PA, USA

problem #105

Jun 012010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 60,000 miles
Driver's door (front) hinge/weld on 2004 Toyota Sienna began with loud creaking noise every time door is open and closed. Then creaking turned into clicking sound every time door is open and closed, and that progressed into a loud popping/snapping sound. Our repair shop (not Toyota) rewelded the hinge (summer 2010 - van had 60,000 miles) but they advised this was not a permanent fix for the problem. On 2/20/11 (van now has 64,000 miles) hinge is now completely not functioning and door is jammed shut. Front driver's door will not open more than 1/2 inch forcing the driver of the vehicle to enter/exit through the passenger side.

- Zeeland, MI, USA

problem #104

Jan 032011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Toyota Sienna 2004, rear liftgate struts are giving our again. We have had this auto since the factory sent it to the dealership. Once replacing the struts due to recall. Now whenever you lift the gate via manually pressing the button on the back of the van, the lift gate only opens halfway. This leaves the operator with the only option of pressing further up on the lift gate. I expect that this issue will now get worse and not stay open at all.

- Silverton, OR, USA

problem #103

Feb 142011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 90,000 miles
We have a 2004 Toyota Sienna with a right side power sliding door and the door that pulls the door broke yesterday, I see that the cable got rotten and it did not have a plastic cover on it..I contacted Toyota offices yesterday and the say to me that I should bring the car to a dealer and pay for inspection ant then they will inform Toyota how and why it got broke...and Toyota rep told me after that we will investigate if is an isolated case or many people have this problem..now this whole repair will cost $1800 just for a cable that got rotten because no plastic cover..I hope you can take of this..please we need your help..thanks a lot.

- Paterson, NJ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?