Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
74,552 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Sienna body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 8 of 18)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #212

Sep 052010


  • 89,468 miles


The night of September 5th, the righthand power sliding door on the minivan jammed in a halfway open, halfway closed position while the vehicle was parked. Switching to manual override did not release the door and allow it to close; the door could not be closed until a mechanic replaced the power door motor and regulator assembly. Uncertain if replaced parts are still available. Our mechanic noted that he'd never seen another power door design where the door could not be closed in the event of a motor failure.

- Alpharetta, GA, USA

problem #211

Jul 152008

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns 2004 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that the cables on the rear sliding passenger doors were covered with rust and broken and prevented the contact from opening or closing the door. The failure occurred to both rear sliding doors. The dealer stated that this was a known problem, but the cable was not covered under warranty and there were no recalls. The failure mileage was 80000 and the current mileage was 101000. Updated 12/30/10 updated 01/10/11

- Depauw, IN, USA

problem #210

Aug 252010


  • 90,000 miles
2004 Toyota Sienna minivan. Toyota has recognized that there was a safety issue with the driver's door mechanism in 2007 and an extended warranty was issued to repair the problem and it included my vehicle model specifically. I however, did not get any mail regarding the issue. The only time I was made aware of it is when I mentioned it to my personal mechanic and he is the one that printed the letter for me on May 07, 2010 from an internet site. I took my car in for repair of the problem today on August 25, 2010 and the Toyota dealership charles maund Toyota in austin Texas failed to honor and repair the problem on today's date stating because of some technicality they will not honor the repair it at no cost to me anymore, and do not consider it a safety issue anymore. The door still has the potential of breaking off, the hinges that hold it are defective and broken and make a loud noise every time one opens or closes the driver's door. It is actually a true safety issue if the door falls off and no one can drive the vehicle. It is a manufacturer's defect and it has to be repaired at no cost to the consumer even if it is out of this arbitrary time frame that the company had created. The manufacturers are responsible for their work and honoring their products' safety. Toyota's position is just unacceptable to create that are unsafe and not stand behind them and repair them when necessary.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #209

Jul 152009


  • 140,000 miles


We own a 2004 Toyota Sienna xle and have owned it for 5 years. Last year, our automatic sliding door (passenger side) cable snapped, making the door unable to open automatically. We had been using it just as a manual door, and have recently been having problems with both sliding doors unable to open at all, even manually. It seems to have something to do with the locking mechanism. It is as if the doors are still locked even though they are not. This is a dangerous problem, and after some research I have found that this is not an isolated incident, but rather that this is an inherent problem with this particular vehicle. With so many owners having these same problems, I think Toyota should issue a recall instead of making money on having them have to fix it themselves. They are very costly repairs.

- Roseau, MN, USA

problem #208

Jul 202010


  • 46,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. The contact was opening one of the vehicle doors when she heard a loud pop near the door hinge. The noise would occur whenever the door was opened or closed. The dealer advised that the door would need to be replaced to correct the noise. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 46,000 and the current mileage was 46,500.

- Cerritos, CA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #207

Apr 172010


  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that the passenger rear sliding door cable casing broke and the cable completely rusted and broke off as well which made it impossible for the door to open fully. After inspecting the drivers rear sliding door, the contact noticed that it was starting to display the same symptoms. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer while the vehicle was covered by the warranty but the dealer stated that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. After the vehicle was no longer under warranty, the vehicle was taken back to the dealer acknowledged the problem but would not offer any assistance. The contact had not spoken with the manufacturer when the complaint was filed. The vehicle was not repaired. The current mileage was approximately 109,000. The failure mileage was approximately 104,000.

- Taneytown, MD, USA

problem #206

May 042010


  • 85,000 miles


2004 Toyota Sienna. Approx. 85,000 miles. Cable which controls the right-side sliding door rusted and broke. Dealer wanted $1,700 to fix it. I was forced to have the dealer remove the entire assembly, and the door is now operated manually.

- Syracuse, NY, USA

problem #205

Jul 262010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100,006 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated as she attempted to open the passenger's side automatic door, there was a grinding sound. The door would regularly open smoothly but the door then began to open and shut sporadically. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing and/or repairs. The contact stated the door was no longer being utilized. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 100,006. Updated 10/21/10. The consumer stated the dealer refused to repair the vehicle. Uddated 10/26/10

- Elkridge, MD, USA

problem #204

Jul 202010


  • 133,000 miles
I have a 2004 Toyota Sienna (le), both my sliding doors will not open from inside or outside, I contacted the dealer and they said they could fix the problem for approximately $2200. This is a serious safety concern of mine and I need to know if their is any type of recall on the on the sliding doors, or what course of action can I take besides paying the dealer $2200 to correct this problem. I've read online numerous complaints on this similar situation with these sliding doors, and the dealers are telling its customers the same thing as they told me. Again, I personally feel this is a serious safety concern for a life when you cannot open these doors to safety.

- Jacksonville, NC, USA

problem #203

Jul 212010


  • 109,200 miles
Regarding a 2004 Toyota Sienna xle. Sliding door on driver side door will not open properly. Sliding door cable snapped under normal usage -- opened the door up this morning and it snapped. Toyota has tsb EL004-004 for the issue, but no recall. The tsb is valid for 3 yrs/36K miles. My vehicle has over 100K miles. Called Toyota customer support and recorded a complaint. Toyota will not offer an financial assistance for this repair which will cost $1500-2000.

- Lake In The Hills, IL, USA

problem #202

Jul 182010


  • 79,500 miles


2004 Toyota Sienna xle ltd passenger sliding door came off sliding door track after cable, and as I was told, sliding door motor failed. Door was hanging open and was unable to be moved from this open position this was in parking lot close to home with children in the rear seats. After many hours I was able to free the door by dismantling several components and dis-connecting the cable assembly and moving the door to the closed position (but still unattached by the cable or slide rollers). I then had to duct tape and rope the door and car closed and "limped" home (a few miles) where it was towed to dealership. Van had to be further duct taped and flatbed towed to dealership were I was told Toyota only warranties/guarantees doors and other items for 36,000 miles. The charge would be $1500-$1600. This is a huge defect and safety issue that upon some investigation is not at all uncommon with the Sienna.

- Summerfield, NC, USA

problem #201

Jul 142010


  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. While the vehicle was parked, the contact activated the opening of the passenger side automatic sliding door and heard a crackling noise coming from the door area. The door failed to close when engaging the automatic door mechanism. The door was closed manually. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the technician informed that the automatic door motor would need to be replaced at the cost of $2,000. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Waukesha, WI, USA

problem #200

May 152008


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Sienna. When the contact started the vehicle, the passenger side sliding door would not operate. He stated that the motor failed twice. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the repair cost was approximately $1,500. The dealer referred him to the manufacturer who stated that they would not provide any assistance due to the age of the vehicle. When the failure previously occurred, the manufacturer paid half of the repair cost for the identical failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 70,000 and the current mileage was 113,000.

- Springfield, MA, USA

problem #199

Jul 022010


  • 101,216 miles
Driver side power passenger sliding door will not open. Able to partially force open the door approximately 6 inches. Door appears to be snagging on internal mechanism. Infant child car seat is positioned in rear driver's side passenger seat. If there had been an emergency that required the removal of child, it would have been impossible to get the child out through that door. No signs of impending failure. Took to Toyota dealership and they said that a cable had broken causing the door to lock. They provided a cause of failure as C/S driver sliding door cable is broken. Motor and clutch assembly is bad, disconnected motor assy/driver slide door is manual (est $1700).

- Havelock, NC, USA

problem #198

Jun 062010


  • 115,000 miles
2004 Toyota Sienna. The lock on the power sliding door has failed and we are unable to unlock or open the door. It can not be used to exit the vehicle in the case of an emergency as the door is basically non-functional.

- Davenport, FL, USA

problem #197

Jun 282010


  • 120,000 miles
2004 Toyota Sienna automatic sliding door cable broke and door can not open anymore.

- Merrimack, NH, USA

problem #196

Jun 232010


  • 90,000 miles
Driver's door detent weld failure. I have an '04 Toyota Sienna that on the driver's side door uses a detent strap to hold the door open at certain points. Where the strap is held at, on the door, there are two spot welds that attach the bracket to the door. The strap is bolted to the bracket. The problem seems to be that two spot welds are not strong enough to hold this bracket. After I found out there was a problem with the door, I contacted my local Toyota dealer, and the service person was ware of this condition. They said it is too far gone to weld and repair and that they would have to put on a new door. After discussing it with this person and the service manager the dealerships position was that it was out of warranty and that the tsb that extended the warranty was expired due to both my mileage and to the timing of my request. So, I want to know what it takes to make this or anything a"recall and how to force Toyota to pay for the repair.

- Allison Park, PA, USA

problem #195

May 152010


  • 100,000 miles
Our 2004 Toyota Sienna has recently been having severe issues with the power sliding door. It would shut and then immediately open again. Could not open the door manually. Now the sliding door on the driver's side will not open either. A definite safety hazard for two rear doors that we can not operate.

- Hamilton, OH, USA

problem #194

Jun 092010


  • 118,297 miles
My 04 Sienna minivan right power sliding door failed open. The cable in the track below the rear window separated and jammed the mechanism in the rear hinge. This is a significant safety problem. The design of the power sliding door is flawed. The cable appears to have inadequate protection from the environment. After the metal core of the cable is compromised, it can fail in a way to jam the door open which is what happened to my Sienna. If the cable were to break completely, the door would move unrestrained until full open or closed. Sienna minivans with this design should be recalled. The power door had only had what I consider normal usage. It's a minivan so it has transported kids which require sliding door usage. I was fortunate that my door failed open at home so I wife and kids didn't have to drive with the door open. I had to drive to the dealer with the door open. It is inconceivable that Toyota would design a door actuation system where a single broken cable requires the entire power door assembly to be replaced.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #193

Nov 232009


  • 55,000 miles
No events leading to failure. Oct. 2008: Passenger side power door cable came off track not allowing for door to be opened. Repaired Nov. 2008- cable replaced but old part not avail. Very expensive to repair (over $1000-$1700 est. From Toyota) Nov. 2009-driver side power door cable came off track having same problem. Have not yet repaired. This is very unsafe. Should there be an emergency I am unable to retrieve 4 children in carseats (ages 3-6) from rear of car on driver side. I cannot afford this repair every year. [xxx] we are only owners of this vehicle. Purchased new in 2004. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lake Oswego, OR, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?