Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 2
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,540 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Sienna seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #14

Jun 062011


  • 80,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that the air bag warning light was illuminated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who performed a diagnostic that located the failure at the air bag wiring harness. The was contacted and denied assistance with the repair because the vehicle was no longer under factory warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 80,000.

- El Paso , TX, USA

problem #13

Feb 072008


  • 37,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Sienna. The contact was driving approximately 45 mph when the SRS air bag warning indicator illuminated intermittently. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the front passenger seat was replaced to correct the defect. The failure persisted after the replacement of the seat. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer and they informed that the entire SRS air bag system would need to be rewired. Also, the technician advised that the entire air bags in the vehicle were inoperable. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The failure was approximately 37,000.

- Bolton, CT, USA

problem #12

Apr 062011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 97,249 miles
Our 2005 Toyota Sienna had a SRS light come on this week intermittently. We took it to our local dealership and found that there is a passenger side airbag harness defect code BO111 that will cost us $2500 dollars to repair. We have less than 100,000 miles on our van. It has not been in any accidents and we have been current on all our services and check up. Now we are questioning the safety of the airbags in this vehicle.

- Rancho Cordova, CA, USA

problem #11

Feb 232011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 100,401 miles


Air bag on left front failed in April 2009. Replaced airbag at owner's cost of $700. Then about 6 months later the airbag warning light on dash started blinking and would not turn off. Took to Toyota dealer on 2/23/11 and dealer stated that code in computer shows short in floor harness. At 100,401 miles Toyota will not stand behind failure and my cost would be $1900 to repair. Airbag system will not deploy in an accident is my understanding...can't believe Toyota will recall a problem for floorboards affecting the accelerator and will not recall a problem affecting the entire airbag system.

- Corinth, TX, USA

problem #10

Dec 292010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
2005 Toyota Sienna le airbag (SRS) light with error code: B0111 "open in side squib (rh) circuit" Toyota dealer service dept. Referred to technical service bulletin of 2/27/08 (EL001-08) advising replacement of 3 airbag assemblies & 2 wiring harnesses for a total bill of $5400. Vehicle has 100,000 miles: Warranty ended at 60,000. From what I've read on this thread and on this subject, there should be a total recall on this SRS system for these vehicles. (the tech. Bulletin is for Sienna model years 2004-2008...that's a lot of mini-vans running around with potentially inoperable or defective SRS systems, folks!).

- Tampa, FL, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #9

Dec 292010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 43,000 miles
I own a 2005 Toyota Sienna with only 43,000 miles, and the passenger air bag light is on all the time, it doesn't matter if someone is sitting in the seat. Today I took my van to the dealership to have the spare tire chain replaced, another Toyota recall, and asked them to check out the passenger air bag light. I was told the air bag and wiring harness needed to be replaced at a cost of $2148. I was very surprised when I was told this. I bought the van new; and the air bags have never been deployed. This doesn't sound like something that should need to be replaced as regular maintenance. I have never heard of someone having to replace their air bags and wiring when they haven't been in an accident. I'm concerned for the safety of my family, will the air bags still work or do I have no choice but to pay for something that was a faulty design.

- Council Bluffs, IA, USA

problem #8

Jan 012008


  • 3,500 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Sienna le. The contact stated that the front driver and passenger seat belts were inoperative. The electrical passenger sliding door had also failed to function, she had to manually close the door. The air bag warning light also illuminated on the instrumental panel for at least two years. The vehicle was inspected by a dealer who informed the contact that they were unable to assist her due to the vehicle not being under warranty. The manufacturer was contacted and offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 3500.

- Murrieta, CA, USA

problem #7

Nov 042008

Sienna 6-cyl Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 71,000 miles
The contact owns 2005 Toyota Sienna. The passenger side air bag was not functioning properly. The air bag light illuminated constantly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that they had to replace the entire passenger side air bag for $1500. There are no recalls or warranties. The manufacturer was called and stated that there were no warranties; they agreed to pay half of the cost if he decided to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was 71,000. Updated 01/13/11 updated 03/30/11

- Freehold, NJ, USA

problem #6

Sep 082009


  • 78,800 miles
Vehicle was a 2005 Toyota Sienna van. Vehicle has always been serviced by Toyota dealers.on 8/29/09, I had rear brakes replaced by local Toyota dealer with 77,410 miles on the vehicle. 10 days later, on 9/8/09, my roommate was picking up children at school. Driving on a 4 lane road in town going 35-40mph. Two H.S. students abruptly stopped in her lane. My roommate stated she applied brakes but could tell vehicle was not stopping or slowing. Ran into rear end of a Toyota Tacoma P/U which in turn rear-ended a Honda CRV. No injuries in any involved vehicle. However, due to the extent of damage, my Sienna van was a total loss. Airbags did deploy on impact. My roommate stated from the beginning that she had applied the brake to the floor and the van did not brake or slow down. There were no braking/skid marks on the pavement at area of accident. Either the brake system totally failed or there was faulty work done during brake replacement 10 days earlier.

- Canton, GA, USA

problem #5

Nov 022009


  • 75,000 miles
I have a 2005 Toyota Sienna. The airbag system light flashes on and off, not consistently. I can drive for a while and the light is off, then, out of the blue, it will begin flashing again. I took the car to the dealer (fitzgerald Toyota) and spent approximately $100 for the dealer to research the problem. I was told that there is a problem with the airbag system, but, they could not begin to fully diagnose or resolve the problem until I pay $873 to have the passenger front seat removed. This includes the purchase of a new seat. The passenger seat is rarely used, so the seat itself should not be defective. I was told that the airbag system component is located under the passenger seat and the problem could be as simple as a loose wire or something more severe. Most importantly, I was told that if the airbag symbol is on, the entire airbag system shuts down and does not work!!! how can a system so vital to safety be programmed to completely shut down because of a loose wire? obviously there is an electrical problem as well as a design flaw. My safety and that of my family is completely compromised. I feel as though I am taking my chances every time I step into my vehicle. Further, I was told that it would have been possible that Toyota might have paid for the repair if I had under 60,000 miles. However, I believe that because airbag deployment can save lives in a crash and because this light flashing/system shut-down is possibly an electrical design flaw issue, and definitley a safety issue, this matter should be covered under warranty for at least 100,000 miles. If investigated, I am sure ntsa will find others who own my Sienna model year, as well as other Sienna years and other Toyota products have the same problem. I did not realize I could file a complaint until the recent issues with the prius, etc. Came to light. Thank you for looking into the safety of our vehicles!

- Silver Spring, MD, USA

problem #4

Apr 282008


  • 61,000 miles


The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Sienna. While driving 60 mph in heavy rain, the contact attempted to change lanes to exit the highway. She lost control of her vehicle and crashed into a tractor trailer. The vehicle spun off of the tractor and traveled back to the left of the highway. The air bags failed to deploy and the vehicle was destroyed. The police and ems were called to the scene, and the contact was the only person transported to a local area hospital for minor to moderate cuts, bruises, neck, and back pain. A police report was filed. The failure mileage was 61,000.

- Glen Rock, NJ, USA

problem #3

Jun 212005

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I bought a brand new Toyota Sienna from piercey Toyota located at 2108 N. first street san jose, ca 95131 on June 21, 2005. The air bag light was flashing at the first time we drove it home. I took the car back to the dealer on June 22, 2005 and they fixed it. They replaced my car's ECU with a new one. I have not had a problem with the air bag light since then. However, my question is how can they delivered a brand new car with air bag problem.

- Fremont, CA, USA

problem #2

Apr 262005

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,200 miles
Dt contact states he was driving the vehicle approximately 60 mph when the vehicle struck another vehicle, the air bags did not deploy.

- Annahein, CA, USA

problem #1

Feb 032005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 3,500 miles
Vehicle was turning into an intersection going left. An on coming vehicle going about 45 mph and hit vehicle "a" on the driver side front quarter panel. The air bags failed to deploy. Vehicle was towed by the local police department. Provide further details.

- Sandy, UT, USA

Not what you are looking for?