Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
71,683 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Sienna electrical problems

electrical problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #67

Aug 182016


  • 950,000 miles


The passenger side power auto sliding door suddenly can't close ( closed in half way then stuck ), we must use wire tied with the B bar to secure the door. It's very shock why this door is malfunction without notice, made the passengers in dangerous situation while driving on a city street. With a warning light flash and driving slowly to back home, then have Toyota dealer check the problems. Toyota said the cable and motor jam together and just pass extend warranty ( 9 years or 120000 mile when which coming first ) I have pay for expensive repair ($1800). I would say the auto sliding door must have some method to make it close by manual to ensure customer safety.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #66

Jun 092015


  • 110,000 miles
The airbag sensor light comes on and flashes. It will shut off and turn on randomly. The wire harness under the seat becomes loose or damaged as the seats are moved and airbags are not detected. The light stays flashing and airbags are non-functional. Toyota knows about this but tries to charge thousands of dollars for them to replace their faulty wires.

- Windsor, CA, USA

problem #65

May 012016


  • miles
Drivers sliding door will not work automatically.

- Morgantown, KY, USA

problem #64

May 012016


  • miles


The drivers side sliding door does not work manually. When I push the button I hear the motor trying to open it, but it doesn't open at all.

- Morgantown,, KY, USA

problem #63

Jan 082016


  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. While attempting to open the passenger side rear sliding door automatically, it would not open. The door had to be opened manually. The vehicle was not diagnosed nor repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 89,000.

- Hicksville, NY, USA

problem #62

May 162013


  • 99,000 miles
Sliding door quit working. Door would get stuck midway through operation and jam. Cables exposed outside of vehicle. Toyota stated there was no type of coverage or recall outside of regular warranty. Entire motor and cables need to be replaced for approximately $1400 or they recommended going to a manual override. Children have been nearly caught in manual door closing because of rapid closing, worse on a slope. Online research reveals that many Sienna's have same problem.

- Billings, MT, USA

problem #61

Feb 132016


  • 160,000 miles


Driver's side power sliding door won't close. It tries to close when you press any of the buttons or handle but it gets stuck and remains open.

- Covington, WA, USA

problem #60

Oct 232015


  • 126,123 miles
Driver's side power window stopped working. Mileage approx. 126,123. Toyota dealer said window regulator assembly and motor needed to be replaced. I specifically asked if the master power window switch was involved, because Toyota just sent out recall 15V689000 saying the master power window switch in some Toyota vehicles could melt or overheat. Toyota assured me that no, the switch was not involved. I took the van to another shop for repair. They replaced the window regulator assembly and motor, as per Toyota diagnosis. The window still did not work! and when the master switch was depressed, the control panel began to visibly smoke! to further test, the shop supplied separate power to my original window regulator assembly and motor - and they worked fine. The shop then re-installed my original window regulator assembly and motor, and replaced the master switch. The window now works. Toyota clearly missed the boat on this one. The switch failed and the fact that it visibly smoked means that it does, indeed, fall under the recall. This repair should be covered or reimbursed under the Toyota recall. And yes, the Sienna is affected.

- Palm City, FL, USA

problem #59

Jul 012014


  • 55,000 miles
VIN: 5tdza23C66S558835 year: 2006 make: Toyota model: Sienna number of open recalls: 1+ recall for instrument panel NHTSA recall number: Opens new window takes away from VIN lookup section> 14V273 recall date: May 22, 2014 manufacturer recall number: E1S the dealer (kings Toyota, kings mall) and manufacturer are not repairing the vehicle after several requests and after sending recall notices. As a result I still have same defective spare tire carrier and instrument panel (crack appeared already). They keep saying that they will revert with no response there after.

- Mason, OH, USA

problem #58

Aug 132013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 79,850 miles
1) August 2013 during an oil change the dealer technician notified me the steering rack needed replacing due to oil leaks from the rack and pinion ($1000 repairs). 2) September 2014 asked dealer to check air conditioning ac right center console blower. After recharging the system with dye, found the ac lines to the rear cabin corroded under the wheel wells -- recommended $1500 to replace entire lines (I declined pending further inspection summer 2015). 3) February 2015 noticed right side power sliding door stopped working electronically, with key fob, interior switches, etc., and would only work when pulling open/closing manually by hand. Actuators still worked to "lock" the door during the last inch closing/opening. Noticed black cable sheathing frayed and bare in spots, showing steel cable inside, but cable still intact. Found online forums stating many having similar issues. Located my extension to warranty enhancement notice from Toyota mailing stating "certain 2004-2007 model year Sienna rear sliding door latch assemblies and power sliding door cable assemblies" may be covered (up to 120K or 9 years from original date of purchase, whichever came first), via the Toyota customer support program. However, this "enhancement" does not cover door motor assembly failures, which my dealer technician identified as the probable main cause of the door not working properly (after having removed part of the door for inspection). I declined the $1000 labor + $1200 parts ($2200 total) motor, but accepted the free cable assembly warranty coverage. Am now using the door in manual mode only. My concerns: These parts are wearing out prematurely under normal use/wear and tear.

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #57

Nov 032014


  • 155,000 miles


The air bag warning light started flashing.

- Kendall Park, NJ, USA

problem #56

Oct 132013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
The power sliding door would not close completely, leaving the operation of the vehicle on the road unsafe. Upon inspecting the door, the power cord making the door open and closed looked frayed and knotted and off its tracks. The only way to get the door to completely close was to cut the cord. The door now operates manually. They passenger side cord plastic coating looks to be cracked and could eventually could become not operable as the driver side. Contacted the Toyota of des moines, they said there is an extended warranty of the power sliding door cords and its parts for 9 years and 120,000 miles, which ever comes first. Cannot fix my Toyota Sienna under the extended warranty because it was over 120,000 miles. I bought the vehicle when it was 127,000 miles. The previous owners did not get it fixed nor Honda of ames, the dealership where I bought the vehicle. I think Toyota did not do enough to get the word out to the previous owners of the extended warranty or the dealerships. I looked on the Toyota website, entered my VIN, they was nothing about extended warranties on this vehicle. This should be a recall, due to defective parts from Toyota and the potential unsafe situation this could of caused to people, especially young children. They are the target market for Toyota Sienna minivans-families with young children. If I bought a minivan with power doors, I expect to be able to use the power sliding doors as it was intended. I am very concerned about the safety of my three children who are all under 5 years old.

- Bondurant, IA, USA

problem #55

Dec 172008

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 41,919 miles
Original recall for back door stay kit, covered under warranty 12/17/08-dealership replaced rear hatch stays. Door continues to be faulty. When you press the button to close, it responds temporarily, than begins to lift.

- Oak Lawn, IL, USA

problem #54

Dec 122013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Two issues: (1) since 2012, the front passenger's door has made a loud popping, cracking sound every time it is opened or closed. Toyota dealer informed me the door weld is cracked and the entire door must be removed for a new weld and paint job at a body shop. Dealer also showed me a Toyota warranty coverage enhancement for this problem (the "door check mounting panel, " pol07-04, issued 10/22/07), which extends up to 5 years or 100,000 miles. I never received notice of this in the mail, and it does not appear under the tsbs on the NHTSA site. My van is no longer covered at 110,000 miles. Note: I had this same problem on my driver's side door at only 32,000 miles, which was repaired under warranty. That means both my front doors have had failed welds. This clearly is a manufacturing defect which Toyota should cover, regardless of mileage. (2) power sliding door will not operate when interior buttons or key fob buttons are pushed. It will open manually, but it sticks and requires a hard pull. Dealer advises cabling is malfunctioning and the motor in the main control board is bad. I was told the warranty enhancement for the rear sliding door assemblies and power sliding door assemblies will cover the cables and latch, but does not cover the motor, the main control board, or the lock! this is a very costly repair. These components are defective and should be included in the warranty enhancement.

- Palm City, FL, USA

problem #53

Aug 012006


  • 5,000 miles
The airbag light comes on even though the airbags have never been deployed. It goes off for a while then will come back on. Toyota will do nothing about it.

- Sandy, UT, USA

problem #52

Dec 162013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 23,000 miles
Last week, the airbag warning light started flashing constantly while the car is running. A quick read of the owner's manual indicates a problem with the side or curtain airbags. More research on the internet indicates that this is a common problem with Siennas from 2006. This is a safety issue, and should be addressed by Toyota on a wide scale basis. My car is like new, not used much, never been in an accident and has 23000 miles. It is inexcusable for this to happen, and more inexcusable for the consumer to have to pay to fix it, considering that this appears to be a common safety issue with these cars. Please force Toyota to issue a recall, to deal with this problem fairly, for affected owners.

- Woodmere, NY, USA

problem #51

Feb 252012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
On February 25, 2012, the passenger side power sliding door on my 2006 Toyota Sienna would not close unless I applied force. For months this issue did not resolve and became worse to the point where we could no longer use the door. This became a safety issue as my three young children could only exit through the driver side door into the street side. This put my children and me in danger of being hit by passing motorists. Furthermore, in the event of an emergency, this exit point would not be available to us. After receiving the warranty enhancement notice we took the vehicle in for repair in July 2012, but were informed the part needing replacement, identified as "R/sliding door rear support latch and cable assy" was not covered even though the warranty enhancement notice clearly stated "rear sliding door latch assemblies" and "power sliding door cable assembly" were covered. I was told the part numbers did not match. In July 2013, I opened a case with Toyota customer service. They again informed me the parts would not be covered under the enhancement warranty. I expressed my complete disappointment for the lack of regard for my family's safety. Shortly after, I received a surprising call from the dealership explaining that the part in question was actually covered. Their error was upsetting. I had to take my vehicle in twice to finally have the door repaired and had to pay for an additional part, a hinge that caused the door to sag and drag against the body of the vehicle which contributed to the safety issue and also caused visible damage to the exterior. I'm thankful the door is finally repaired, but worry that this issue has great potential for recurrence. I hope the NHTSA investigates the doors as I see many others have voiced similar complaints. Although the warranty enhancement has been Toyota's solution, it does not seem to be fixing the problem.

- Cypress, CA, USA

problem #50

Apr 102013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
SRS light start blinking then stay on while driving. Checked both SRS electrical connectors under front seats and both appears properly connected. Pulled out both connectors and pushed them back in, yet SRS light still stay on.

- Chesapeake, VA, USA

problem #49

Oct 292010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
Both power sliding doors have become inoperable. It is a safety issue because my children cannot open the doors from the inside of the vehicle. Toyota will not stand behind their product.

- North East, MD, USA

problem #48

Sep 032012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 72,000 miles
1) airbags: Blinking airbag light. Toyota service bulletin - $1200 repair. Unsure of safety implications. 2) suspension, steering rack. Leaking power steering fluid. Needs replacement of entire rack. $1200 repair. 3) electrical: Power sliding rear door will only function in manual mode. Toyota customer service informs me of a customer support program for problem. Dealer failed to tell me about it. $1400 for repair. Dealer estimated trade in value for van: $6000.

- Fairfax, VA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?