Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
11 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
13 / 0
Average Mileage:
62,014 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Sienna seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 12 of 13)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #32

Dec 012010

Sienna

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2006 Sienna with 90K+ miles, I'm out of warranty, although I have platinum extended warranty my repair was not totally covered. I took my van in to dealer because my airbag light was flashing, after diagnosed I was told 1 of the seat airbags was bad and also the entire airbag wire harness was bad. Service manager at dealer contacted Toyota headquarters to help me out, which he did, they will pay for parts and I will pay for repair, $1327. I contacted Toyota headquarters myself, I was told that in fact my airbag system was defective and that since I was out of warranty, them paying for the parts was the best they could do. I was then contacted by a Toyota parts specialist who advised me that the wire harness for my van was on order, expected to arrive at the repairing dealer approximately 12/15. The repairing dealer contacted me as well and told me that the wire harness was placed on order expected to arrive on 12/15, and that they had put in as a rush. On 12/15 the same Toyota parts specialist left me a voicemail on my cellphone advising me that in fact the part (wire harness) showed as shipped to dealer in their database, however this was not accurate he said "the part (wire harness) has not been even manufactured yet". although Toyota has put me on a rental car, it is very concerning to me and my family that Toyota has not been able to come up with a fix involving a safety issue, with a malfunctioning wire harness the airbags are inoperable. I think that Toyota shouldn't be bragging about safety and security as in my case, they have a malfunctioning part which has never been used and cannot be used, worst yet they can't fix.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #31

Nov 112010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
The air bag light keeps coming on, I have taken the vehicle to the dealer on several occasions and as of today the light is still going on. Is my air bag working? no one has been able to answer that question. The dealer has re-set the light and from what I understand changed the air bag, this has been and on-going problem.

- Wasilla, AK, USA

problem #30

Oct 022010

Sienna

  • 105,930 miles
Started my van, the airbag light came on and started to flash. Drove home and light continued to flash. I parked, turned off the van and waited for a minute then restarted to see if the light would go out. No luck, the light continued to flash.

- Lynnwood, WA, USA

problem #29

Nov 102010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Airbag light came on in my 2006 Toyota Sienna w/ approx 80,000 mi. Dealer informed me that the passenger side airbag and harness need replacement, but the harness will not be available until March 2011. They offered to replace just the air bag, but would not guarantee that this will solve the problem. I am forced to either take a chance and spend money on just the air bag, not knowing whether it will work, or take a chance to drive the vehicle for 4 months with an inoperative airbag and hope that I never am in a situation where I need it. I am uncomfortable with both choices. I am very concerned that Toyota does not have the part available. If so many people are needing this part, would this not necessitate a recall?

- Flint, TX, USA

problem #28

Nov 082010

Sienna

  • 77,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that while driving at various speeds, the air bag warning light illuminated on the instrument panel. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where the contact was informed that the entire harness system needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 77,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Attleboro Falls, MA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #27

Oct 262010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 70,000 miles
I have had this problem on and off since I have owned my car. Periodically...and for no apparent reason...my airbag warning light will flash on and off. After a week or two...it will go out. Then after a month...on again. It's impossible to get to the dealer when it's acting up. I have read or numerous others having similar issues with their 2006 Siennas.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #26

Oct 152010

Sienna

  • 66,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

On Oct 15, the airbag warning light began flashing in my 2006 Toyota Sienna. I took it into the dealer and was told my airbags are defective and the squib and harness would need to be replaced. They called Toyota to see if they would cover it since my warranty was 6000 miles over, and they said they wouldn't. said it could cost around $3000 for me to replace. This needs to be included in a recall.

- Springville, UT, USA

problem #25

Oct 172010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 62,000 miles
My airbag light began blinking on Sunday, 10/17/10. My vehicle is a 2006 Toyota Sienna. I took it to a local mechanic on 10/20/10 and was told the center squib needed replaced...upon replacing on 10/22, was told that another error code was displayed indicating airbag replacement needed by a Toyota dealer. My car has just went over the warranty period at 62,000 miles. I am unhappy that not even 4 years after buying this vehicle in December 06, I am faced with repair costs that are large for a major safety problem that has been recurring from what I have read online with others driving an 06 Sienna. And as a mother of 3, I am unable to use my vehicle safely until this problem is fixed. I see a service bulletin for this but no recall..which it seems there should be for such a major safety problem.

- Ringgold, GA, USA

problem #24

Sep 142010

Sienna

  • 105,450 miles
The airbag light on my 2006 Toyota Sienna went off. When the van was less than 6,000 miles over my warranty. The dealer says there is a short in the wiring harness of the airbag under the driver's seat. This disarms all the airbags. I have been waiting 5 weeks for the replacement part. The repair costs $3200, but the dealer discounted it to $1,900. They say the wait is because there is such a demand for the wiring harness! many drivers are driving without their airbags! this seems to me should be a recall, as it is a safety issue and an undue expense to owners.

- Mclean, VA, USA

problem #23

Sep 202010

Sienna

  • 76,000 miles
The SRS indicator light began flashing on my 2006 Toyota Sienna on 09/20/10. The owner's manual states if this occurs, to take the vehicle to the dealership immediately. I was recently advised by cobb county Toyota that my airbag is defective and needs to be replaced for $2400. Since my 2006 Sienna has 76K miles on it, Toyota wouldn't cover it under the warranty. I asked how an unused airbag could be defective, I was told that it is an electrical component. That was the complete answer. So, I checked online. And, sure enough, hundreds of people all over the country are facing the same problem with their 2006 Sienna. And, no one has been able to explain the reason. I called the Toyota corporate office and the (no) customer service rep said that all she could do was document my concern. No manager could call or assist me. No one could send me a letter stating why an unused airbag is suddenly defective after only 4 years.

- Kennesaw, GA, USA

problem #22

Sep 142010

Sienna

  • 85,062 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2006 Toyota Sienna that has an airbag light that comes on. This vehicle has 85, 062 miles and wheeler Toyota in grants pass, or said that a tech bulletin # 0162-10 requires to replace right side fold flat air bag assy. And replace right side floor wire harness assy. Approx. $2238.36 for repairs. They stated that the warranty expired at 60,000 miles. Shouldn't this be covered under a recall?

- Cave Junction, OR, USA

problem #21

Jun 212008

Sienna

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that the air bag light illuminated. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where the contact was informed that both the driver side and passenger side air bags were inoperative and needed to be replaced. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The contact called the manufacturer who stated that there was no documentation on her experiencing the problem and her vehicle was outside the warranty. The current mileage was approximately 73,800. The failure mileage was approximately 9,000.

- Miami, FL, USA

problem #20

Aug 282010

Sienna

  • 61,500 miles
2006 Toyota Sienna van airbag light stays on full time or sometimes when car is started the airbag light flashes on and off.

- St Paul, MN, USA

problem #19

Sep 012007

Sienna

  • 30,000 miles
Air bag light has been on and off for the entire time I have owned my 2006 Toyota Sienna. It has been taken to the dealer five times and they have finally recommended a replacement after 90,000 but won't cover it even though the initial problem occurred in my vehicle and many others that I have read about, before the initial warranty period was over.

- Laurel, MD, USA

problem #18

Jun 012010

Sienna

  • 29,899 miles
Around June of 2010, after starting my 2006 Toyota Sienna, I noticed the airbag sensor light was blinking, I turned the van off and restarted, the light kept blinking. This continue while driving and after a few days, it stopped. Again in July of 2010, same problem for almost 9 or 10 days everytime I drove. Then it stopped. Two days ago, August 15, the airbag sensor light came on again and is still blinking everytime I get in and drive.

- Hobbs, NM, USA

problem #17

May 152010

Sienna

  • 28,100 miles
Own 2006 Sienna Toyota, with 29,000 miles. Air bag sensor light began coming on about a month ago, blinking on when driving van. After about 2 days, the sensor light quit blinking and did not come on while driving again for about 3 weeks. Approximately about 1 week ago, the light begin blinking on again when driving and still is coming on each time I am driving. Warranty has expired due to 3 year warranty even though I have less than 30,000 miles. Going in for scheduled oil change next week and will ask maintenance dept about the sensor light.

- Hobbs, NM, USA

problem #16

Jul 062010

Sienna

  • 70,000 miles
I have a 2006 Toyota Sienna with 73,000 miles. The vehicle was purchased brand new from koons Toyota in westminster, md. Air bag warning light has been checked and reset twice within the past two months because it keeps flashing. Toyota recommends that I replace both airbags and the wiring harness to ensure the problem does not persist. Total cost = $2,800. This is a major problem for me and my family and I don't feel safe driving this vehicle. Others seem to be having the same issue.

- Mount Airy, MD, USA

problem #15

Mar 262010

Sienna

  • 29,000 miles
I have Toyota Sienna 2006 bought from koons in October 2006. This car air bag light is blinking and I heard that air bag will not work if this light is on. I just had about 30,000 miles on my car without any accident. This is smooth driven car and the air bag should work after about 3 years.

- Ashburn, VA, USA

problem #14

Jun 032010

Sienna

  • 66,665 miles
Yesterday, waiting in the stop light I have an accident when somebody hit me in the rear bumper at great speed and I hit another car at the front. My airbags never works, the car that hit my rear bumper open all of them. My car is a Toyota Sienna 2006. I'm [xxx] and I live in [xxx]. my E-mail is [xxx] and my phone number is [xxx]. thanks. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (foe), 5 552(B)(6).

- Dumfries, VA, USA

problem #13

May 012010

Sienna

  • miles
I have 2006 Sienna le. Airbags signal is on and off in the dashboard. Its just under 30000 miles and 3+ years. Its really frustrating and after deep research it looks like all the owners have similar problems. Toyota should recall this asap.

- Columbia, MD, USA

Read the next 12 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?