Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

4.2

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
27,742 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Sienna wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #24

Feb 082011

Sienna

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna equipped with dunlop sp sport 4000T dsst tires, size P225/60/R17. The contact stated that while driving approximately 30 mph, he noticed that the vehicle was pulling to the left and having a vibrating feeling. After inspecting the vehicle, he noticed the front passenger tire tread had separated and slowly drove to the nearest service station. The vehicle was repaired and they advised him to contact the manufacturer. The manufacturer was contacted but offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 21,000.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #23

Feb 082011

Sienna

  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna equipped with dunlop SP4000 tires, tire size 225/60/17. The dot number was unknown. While the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed that all four tires exhibited significant tread separation. The four tires were replaced with new tires. The failure mileage was 85,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Green Lake, WI, USA

problem #22

Oct 162010

Sienna

  • 35,600 miles
Toyota Sienna had a recall of spare tire and placed the spare tire in the back of the van without securing it. The tire has not been secured and is a security risk in hard braking for the passengers in the backseat with one seat folded down. Toyota refused to address the issue. They asked me to file arbitration and also told me that they do not have a plan to harness the tire.

- Plainsboro, NJ, USA

problem #21

Aug 302007

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2006 Toyota Sienna. Consumer writes regarding problems with run- flat dunlop tires the consumer stated while driving on the interstate, she experienced a tire blow out on the right front passenger side. The vehicle had to be towed, because it did not come equipped with a spare tire. The next day, the consumer was informed the blown out tire as well as the front driver's side tire would have to be replaced. Prior to the blow out on May 12, 2010, the consumer experienced a blow out on April 6, 2007 and again on August 30, 2007.

- Baldwinsville, NY, USA

problem #20

Aug 282010

Sienna

  • 29,000 miles
I had a failure of a Goodyear integrity tire with only 29,000 miles it. It had uneven tread wear and the wire strands poking out from a broken steel belt. This tire was on the right rear position of my 2006 Toyota Sienna this defective tire caused my Sienna to wobble violently with speeds above 35mph. This violent wobble also caused abnormal tread wear on the inside surface of all four tires on the vehicle. This tire was one of two Goodyear integrity tires I purchased from fox river tire and supply on 5/10/08, when the vehicle mileage was 21,059 miles. These two tires were on the front axle until I purchased two more Goodyear integrity tires at abe and doc" S service, Inc. On 7/16/09 at a mileage of 35,247. At this time the subject tire was moved to right rear position. When the mileage on the 2006 Sienna reached 50,793 the vehicle started wobbling violently over 35 mph. The vehicle was taken to abe and doc? S service, Inc. To diagnose the problem. I was told that improper wheel alignment had caused all the tires to wear on the inside surface and that wire strands were exposed on the right rear tire. I asked if the tire had a ?pro-rated " warranty and was told, no! it was suggested I purchase two new Goodyear integrity tires at $165 each and a wheel alignment. Instead I took the Sienna to St. Charles Toyota for service, where I purchased two Michelin tires and a wheel alignment. The Toyota technician stated the alignment was good (receipt and computer alignment report attached). The Toyota dealer advised us to report this defect to Goodyear.

- Batavia, IL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #19

Jun 062010

Sienna

  • 61,491 miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6) I purchased four Firestone FR710 tires on August 27, 2009 from a local Firestone dealer for my 2006 Toyota Sienna. Recently we noticed that the front right tire's tread was delaminating all around the perimeter of the tire where the tread meets the sidewall. In some places there was 1/2" of separation. Upon closer inspection it was found that two of the other tires were also starting to separate. This was evident due to small hairline separations running around the perimeter of the tires in the same region as the worst tire. These tires were all made within a week of each other with date codes of 1909 and 2009 (19th and 20th week of 2009). The dot number is W56V710. The VIN of the vehicle is [xxx]. the mileage at purchase was 49,328 and the current mileage is 61,491. Photos of the tires are available.

- Boynton Beach, FL, USA

problem #18

Mar 262010

(reported on)

Sienna

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

S10 appropriate handling re Toyota vehicles recall problem, owner of a 2006 Toyota Sienna xle mininvan experienced vehicle shaking due to tires run-flat. The consumer was informed the that the rim was bent which was replaced for $300, however the shaking continued. The consumer went back to the dealer and was told the tires were not right; instead of having a tire size of 215/65/R16, the consumer had a tire size of 215/60/R16 on the vehicle. The tires were then replaced. The consumer stated the tires then started loosing pressure after driving a from a long trip. The consumer stated a reputable organization sold him the wrong size tires. The consumer stated once he had the correct size tires installed on the vehicle, the shaking stopped.

- Clementon, NJ, USA

problem #17

Jan 092010

Sienna

  • 36,413 miles
I would like to file a claim on defective run flat Bridgestone tires on the 2006 Toyota Sienna AWD. Premature wear. Tires lasted less than 10,900 miles and 12 months.

- Bridgeville, PA, USA

problem #16

Nov 112009

Sienna

  • miles
I have had 4 of 7 toyo observe snow tires experience tread separation over the last three years. I am wondering if other people are having the same problems.

- Lewiston, ID, USA

problem #15

Apr 072009

Sienna

  • 61,000 miles
I want to report what I believe to be a safety/product defect with the following tire: Dunlop P225/60R17, 98T, M+S, sp4000T, dsst ctt this is a so-called run-flat tire (installed approximately 12,000 miles ago) per original equipment specifications on my 2006 Toyota Sienna AWD minivan. Within the past six weeks, (3) of these tires ruptured so badly that they had to be replaced. With the first blowout, I surmised that the problem might be due to Michigan's notorious road pot holes. I was even willing to concede this might still be the reason after the second blowout. But when the third occurred two days ago, I concluded that a serious defect was at fault. Note that the tires were properly-inflated according to the sticker on the driver's door jam sticker (35 psi). Though it was possible to drive slowly on these ruptured tires to a dealer for replacement, the cost for new ones is very high (~$250 each, installed). As a consequenceżafter the third blowoutżI installed (4) conventional tires. My total tire replacement costs are now > $1000. I would appreciate your contacting me about the status of this problem.

- Dexter, MI, USA

problem #14

Mar 202009

Sienna

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I contacted Toyota customer service on 01/16/2007 (file #200701190685) about vehicle defects of my newly purchased 2006 Toyota Sienna but didn't receive any response except the notice of reception of my complain. Problem: Run on low tire pressure (22 psi instead of indicated 35 psi) for one year from the time I purchased this vehicle from the dealer till that I found out the problem. Reason: The dealer (universal Toyota san antonio) admitted that they needed to lower the tire pressure of the vehicle during transportation from factory to dealership but someone forgot to set it back before it was handed out to customer. The maintenance dealership (cavender san antonio) also didn't do their job to check the tire pressure until one year later I asked them to do so. Toyota solution for this problem: The manager of cavender san antonio promised to give me a free tank of gas and a free maintenance next time. I accepted. However, I asked the dealership to replace the four tires because they were damaged, but they didn't agree, arguing that even under low pressure, these tires should be fine. Consequences: Three of four tires on this vehicle were deflated on highway in less than one year (3/22/2008, 9/6/2008, 3/20/2009). The last tire deflation was terrible and almost caused five lives on the vehicle because it was sudden and the vehicle was lost of control. The tire pressure alert didn't even light up at the beginning. After this accident, I decided that I can't take any chance with these tires and replaced all four tires. I kept all these receipts. My requests: Compensate the cost of these tires, the damage to my vehicle and Toyota's neglect for so long until it became a big problem.

- Mississippi State, MS, USA

problem #13

Oct 202008

Sienna

  • 24,804 miles
Toyota equips and sells their Sienna AWD vans with dunlop sp sport 4000 P225/60R17 dsst run flat tires and fails to inform you that you will be lucky to get 20-25,000 miles on the tires. I had my van serviced and tires rotated every 5,000 miles and not once was I informed that my tires were wearing out. At 25K I had to get 4 new tires. Toyota did pay for 2 of the 4 but it still cost me $558. My van was manufactured after 09/05 so I was not eligible for total replacement per a class action law suite.

- East Winthrop, ME, USA

problem #12

Dec 012008

Sienna

  • 38,000 miles
Run flat tires needing replacement only after 2 years of owning the car. 2 blowouts on the freeway due to no direct tire pressure sensor to alert us of the flat tire. The light only goes on after the tire is blown. The first blow out, I drove it directly to the dealer. Total cost of replacement $350 for tire. I then had problems with the "indirect" tire sensor light coming on. I called the dealer back, he told me to ignore the light because the cold outside was causing it to go on. I drove it back anyway, they checked the tire pressure, put some more air in and sent me home with my sensor light still lit. I took it back to the dealer a few weeks later, they said it was a leaky valve. They replaced the valve, filled the tire with air and sent me home. Less than 5 days later, another blowout on the freeway. I drove it to the nearest tire store. They could not do the repair because the tire would ruin their machine. "it's harder to break down" and take off. I was sent to another tire store. They were able to remove the tire and replace them with regular tires. Now, I don't have run flats anymore, but I don't have the excessive cost to keep replacing these expensive tires. The dealer told me at the time of the purchase that it was a "dream" for mom's transporting kids because I wouldn't have to change to a spare if the tire went flat. That the care was safer than safe. The manager of the service department also told me I was lucky that I got 40,000 miles out of them. Both tires blew out on the freeway, I rolled the car in at 25 miles per hour, on the rim, with my kids in the car. I did it safely with my driving, not because of the run-flat tires. I will never purchase another car with run-flat tires. They didn't tell me how expensive they were to replace and that I would need to replace them so frequently. Also that the tire sensor is indirect. I didn't even know when the tires were just getting low, only when completely flat.

- Cedar Hills, UT, USA

problem #11

Sep 242006

Sienna

  • 29,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. While driving approximately 40 mph, all four tires blew out without warning. The dealer replaced all four tires, but did not identify the cause of the failure. The tire information was unknown. The failure mileage was 29,000 and current mileage was 36,000. Updated 01-26-09

- Corpus Christ, TX, USA

problem #10

Feb 022008

Sienna

  • 5,400 miles
Ever since I bought this Sienna 2006, I have noticed both of my back dunlop tires are leaking air frequently starting on Feb 2008. The mileage as of today is only 5400. The right side of the back tire popped and I have to replaced with the Michelin. As for the left side, every week, it dropped to 20psi. I have to pump it back up to 35-40psi every week. Took it to the dealer, no holes or any problem found on the dunlop. They refused to replace the tire. I ask them why it didn't happen to the front tire then, why only the back tires? I told them it must be the manufacturer problem and they have to replace. No comments from them and they said I have to purchase a new one to replace it. Stupid idiot solution from them.

- Alhambra, CA, USA

problem #9

Oct 272008

Sienna

  • 24,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Sienna. The vehicle has dunlop tires, size LT215/85R16 LT5 E. while the vehicle was being serviced, the mechanic noticed a hole in the tire and discovered a wheel alignment issue. Initially, the dealer did not want to replace the tires due to the failure; however, they later stated that they would. The contact was never informed of an alignment issue until the tires went bad. The dealer changed their mind about replacing the tires due to the amount of paperwork involved. The dot number was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 24,000.

- Sun City, CA, USA

problem #8

Jul 152008

Sienna

  • 15,000 miles
Premature wearing of both front brakes and tires (both needed to be replaced by 15,000 miles).

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #7

Aug 012008

Sienna

  • 30,000 miles
I purchased a new Toyota Sienna limited van back in 2006 and started to notice that the van was shaking while going down the road. Had the tires inspected and had to have them replaced already, the van has 30,000 miles on it. I went on the internet to see if any other complaints, and low and behold, I am not the only one. I also had to get my van aligned properly. This is a serious problem. I paid big bucks for my van and these tires should not need to be replace so soon. Someone needs to investigate this!!!!!!!!! this could lead into some pretty serious car accidents with bare tires and cost the consumers dollars, dollars, and dollars!

- Flora, IL, USA

problem #6

Feb 072008

Sienna

  • 24,000 miles
Toyota Sienna 2006 AWD run flat tires. 24,000 miles on tires and have abnormal wear and had to replace them. Toyota should recall these tires.

- Clayton, OH, USA

problem #5

Jul 242008

Sienna

  • 29,000 miles
Toyota Sienna 2006 AWD run flat tires..only 29,000 miles on tires and have abnormal wear and need to replace them. Toyota should recall these tires as they are showing to be a real problem with consumers.

- Bernardston, MA, USA

Read the next 4 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?