Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
23,197 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Sienna body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments

problem #16

Apr 012016

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles


2007 Toyota Sienna. Consumer writes in regards to local dealerships failure or unable to remedy vehicle defect even after three recall notifications. The dealer and Toyota refused to replace the spare tire. However, the dealer did replace the cable.

- West Seneca, NY, USA

problem #15

Aug 052014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 10V160000 (structure); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure....updated 07/30/15 the vehicle was repaired. Updated 9/24/15

- Inwood, NY, USA

problem #14

Mar 022015


  • miles
Recall over a year ago to have cable holding spare tire replaced. Called dealer over three times, called Toyota and ntsb, no one seems to care, but spare tire is not installed back in its proper place after a year.

- Troy, NY, USA

problem #13

Aug 012012


  • 92,000 miles


In approximately the summer of 2012 (I do not recall the exact date),Toyota recalled the spare tire suspension cable, but did not have a repair at the time. I was inconvenienced for months with the spare tire in the back of my van. The repair was eventually completed, however, a recall for the repair was issued in the summer of 2014. The spare tire was removed and again placed in the back of my van. Toyota is now stating that there will be no repair available until the summer of 2015. This is completely unacceptable and not understandable. It is simply an attachment for the spare tire. An official complaint has been filed with Toyota, as well. I need the space where the spare tire currently has to be, however, I do not feel safe without it in my vehicle.

- Owego, NY, USA

problem #12

Jul 012014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (structure); however, the parts needed to repair the recall were not available. After contacting the dealer and the manufacturer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time to receiving the parts could be provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN was not available.

- Princton, WV, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Mar 072013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
Melting dash board.

- Beverly Hills , FL, USA

problem #10

Jul 012013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles


The dashboard seems to be breaking down, melting and/or sticky to a degree it is now shiny and reflects lights back into the driver/passenger compartment on sunny days. This creates a glare making it difficult to see out when operating this van. At times, it becomes hard to see cars, stop lights and pedestrians. A local channel here in houston ran a story on this particular problem concerning dash boards that are breaking down and causing safety issues. Thanks,

- Cypress, TX, USA

problem #9

Aug 092014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 129,000 miles
My spare tire fell off my vehicle while I was driving on I91 in Vermont between exits 5 and 6. the vehicle following me, which was being driven by my husband, struck the tire. It became lodged under his car damaging the air conditioning system. At the time of the incident we did not realize that it was the tire from my car. We pulled over to the shoulder we were able to dislodge the tire and continued on.after discussing what happened and inspecting the car did we realize that it was my spare. There was a recall for this completed by Toyota in 2011. This is a very dangerous situation with these cars and were very fortunate that something worse did not occur. We reported it to Toyota and are very disappointed in their response so far.

- West Haven , CT, USA

problem #8

May 172011


  • 14,000 miles
My 2007 Toyota Sienna xle with only 14,000 miles having issues with the rear trunk. First time was with the trunk not responding to the remote and the dealership had to replace the sensor. Second was when I opened the trunk it would close suddenly because the rear hatch strut is defective and dealership would not replace it because it just pass the 3 year warranty.

- New Jersey, NJ, USA

problem #7

Dec 012010


  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2007 Toyota Sienna. Consumer writes regarding spare tire recall the consumer stated his wife took the vehicle to the dealer for the recall. However, when she brought the vehicle home, he noticed the spare tire had been placed in the rear part of the vehicle and secured with a strap. So, when the rear seat was placed in the stored position, the spare tire would be placed on top of the stored seats. The consumer stated the dealer never mentioned the condition of the carrier and never mentioned the tire would be placed in the rear of the vehicle. The consumer stated they completely altered the functionality of the vehicle without his consent and it also created a significant safety issue, which meant the tire was not properly secured in the cab of the vehicle. When the consumer called the dealership, he was informed the parts to properly fix the problem were not available.

- Springville, NY, USA

problem #6

Jul 202010


  • 27,000 miles


The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. The contact received a recall notice for recall 10V160000 (structure) and took the vehicle to the dealership for inspection. The dealer took the spare tire from underneath the vehicle, placed it inside the rear of the vehicle and tied it down with a bungee cord. The contact did not feel that the repair was adequate or that the bungee cord would hold the tire securely. The contact called the manufacturer who offered no assistance. The VIN was unavailable. The current mileage was approximately 32,000. The failure mileage was approximately 27,000.

- Springville, NY, USA

problem #5

Aug 162010

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that the dealer only performed part of recall 10V160000 (structure); the cable was on backorder and was not able to be installed. The contact had not experienced any failures, but the dealer placed the tire in the center rear of the vehicle and the contact was concerned. The contact was told it would be approximately three months before the part would arrive. The current mileage was 31,322. Updated 1/19/2010 the consumer sold the vehicle on 12/28/10. Updated 01/27/11.

- Williamsport, MD, USA

problem #4

Sep 152009


  • 60,000 miles
I was pumping gas and my child inside the car hit the drivers side sliding door button to open the sliding door. The door is supposed to stop and not open when the gas cover is open. My sliding door failed to deactivate and the sliding door continued to automatically open smashing the gas pump inside the sliding door and the gas tank opening. All mean while fuel is pumping into the car. This bent the gas cover luckily didn't spark a fire due to friction. However now I have to slam the gas cover to get it to shut as some times doors now will not open automatically because the gas cover is not latched shut. Once we bent the door as best we could back in place at least to allow it to latch back shut. The doors will automatically open and shut as they should. I have had this occur multiple times. This is a big safety risk especially if you are pumping gas when this happens.

- Peru, IN, USA

problem #3

Aug 152007

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 51 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Sienna. While driving the vehicle at any speed the contact noticed that the rear window on the passenger sides blind spot was very small and made it difficult to see small cars. The failure was not diagnosed. The contact stated that the failure had occurred since the vehicle was purchased. The failure mileage was 51 and the current mileage was 30000. Updated 09/28/10 the consumer also stated the rear seat were very high. Updated 10/01/10

- Lakewood, NJ, USA

problem #2

Mar 162010


  • 35,105 miles
At approximately 1500 on 16 Mar 2010, I used the remote to open the power liftgate on my 2007 Toyota Sienna xle minivan. While loading a children's table, the liftgate started to close on its own. I tried to prevent the gate from closing as my two year old son was in the path of closure. I had to hold the gate open as much as I could and grab him and pull him down and away to prevent the door from shutting and possibly injuring him. In the process, I strained my back. The safety function of the power liftgate seemed to have stopped functioning as well. Since the initial failure earlier today, the problem with the liftgate occurs whenever the power function is used to open the door. The liftgate opens and continues until the liftgate reaches its maximum opening then closes itself automatically. When the power function is disabled, the liftgate fails to remain. Open. I have not done any maintenance or replaced any parts nor have I contacted the Toyota dealer service department in regard to this problem. I have read online that this problem is a common occurrence on Toyota Sienna minivans with multiple reports of injuries occurring.

- Collierville, TN, USA

problem #1

Dec 282008


  • miles
Occasionally, the driver's side automatic sliding door will close before it should. This has happened approximately 20 times in the last nine months (four times on 12/28/08). It has closed on my son, my mother, my granddaughter, my wife, and me. There is no pattern for when this will happen, so when we take it to the dealer for repair, they can not duplicate the problem. Therefore, they have not been able to correct the problem.

- Griffin, GA, USA

Not what you are looking for?