Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
36,396 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Sienna body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments

problem #20

Nov 092015


  • 100,900 miles


The power sliding door stopped working.. upon close notice, it looks like the cable is broken. I am surprised to see this issue on my 2011 model Sienna xle all wheel drive. It looks like there was a recall related to this issue in the previous generation as shown in this link. it seems like the extended warranty covers models from 2007 to 2010... but my car is a 2011 year model purchased during 2010.

- Lee, NH, USA

problem #19

Oct 212015


  • 90,000 miles
The rear passenger door cable snapped completely cut in half and the door does not function. The car was parked when this happened as I was unloading.

- North Andover, MA, USA

problem #18

Aug 222015


  • 113,425 miles
Pressed button to open power slider (with child inside waiting to exit vehicle). With door halfway open, cable snapped and door froze. The cable was exposed to the inside of the passenger compartment when this occurred. Door is now inoperable (even manually) after being "diagnosed" with "broken cable" by dealership. Dealership and Toyota were sent complaint in writing.

- Kennebunk, ME, USA

problem #17

Jun 152015


  • 110,000 miles


Sliding door cable broke due to corrosion

- Sandston , VA, USA

problem #16

Jul 082014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
There has been a recall on the chain and bolt assembly that holds the spare tire under the chassis because the parts rust and can break dropping the tire in the road and leading to an accident. Their response is to put the tire inside the car taking up significant space and limiting space. It is almost a year and they still have no idea when they will have replacements. It seems pretty clear that they aren't trying!! is there any time limit for this remedy?

- Saratoga Springs, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Nov 212014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 66,000 miles
The wheels on the driver side sliding door broke causing it to stop working and shattering the back window of my van. My child was sitting by the window that shattered. We were very lucky she was not injured by the glass.

- Lake Orion, MI, USA

problem #14

May 012014


  • miles


The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (structure: Body). After contacting both the dealer and the manufacturer, the contact was informed that a remedy to repair the defect had not yet been developed and no estimated time to get the vehicle repaired could be provided.

- Lebanon, PA, USA

problem #13

Sep 012014


  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires). The vehicle was taken to a dealer, where the spare tire rack was removed, but not replaced. The contact was informed that the part was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Liverpool , NY, USA

problem #12

Jun 272014


  • 84,000 miles
I was traveling in an area surrounded by construction barrels trying to navigate my turn. The person in front of me stopped suddenly, and I hit him in the rear. The vehicle sustained almost $9000 worth of damage, however was not totaled. The airbag did not deploy. We asked Toyota for an explanation, and they finally sent a third party to investigate. We were sent the download of the crash data recorder, but no explanation of what it meant, and Toyota determined that the airbag was not faulty, even though the crash data recorder shows I hit someone front-to-rear traveling 38 miles per hour. After waiting 3 months on Toyota, we finally gave up and are having the vehicle repaired. I have a chronic neck condition which was not caused by the accident but was greatly aggravated and made more painful from the accident. We have asked Toyota for an explanation of the data from the recorder, but have not been provided one, only sent a letter stating Toyota was not at fault and that injuries such as mine aren't proven to be prevented by the airbag...updated 11/03/14 updated 4/28/2015

- Parkton, NC, USA

problem #11

May 012014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 36,825 miles
Failure of struts on rear hatch. Rear hatch does not open on its own. Hatch slams shut. Risk of injury.

- Carmel Valley, CA, USA

problem #10

Sep 172013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 68,000 miles


The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that the rear driver's side sliding door would close independently. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the power door motor was defective and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 68,000 and the current mileage was 92,150. Updated 03/31/14 updated 04/1/2014

- Mount Eaton , OH, USA

problem #9

Aug 252013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 15,076 miles
I was trying to park my van inside a campsite, driving at approx 1.2 mph when my van took off like a rocket. I couldn't stop the car even by braking. Luckily my van went into a ditch, airbags opened up, van went down the ditch and came up at an angle and stopped. I was badly hurt and passed out for few minutes, taken to a local hospital emergency room. The 16 page report ordered by Toyota thru' a 3rd party clearly showed that the car went from 1.2 mph to 31.5 mph, engine RPM went from 800 to 4800 RPM in 4.2 secs. I checked with a reputable auto mechanic. He commented that no one can manually ramp the engine RPM to 4800 RPM. It is clearly an issue with Toyota's electronic system. Toyota has denied any issue with their car in a letter to me.I want the national highway transportation safety admin to take my case against Toyota. I will be glad to email the report and Toyota letter to you. Please reply soon.

- Marlton, NJ, USA

problem #8

Aug 022013


  • miles
(Toyota, Sienna 2011) passenger automatic sliding door anti-jam sensor failed. Object (macbook) was placed in door pocket compartment. Door switch was pressed and door began opening. Macbook did not completely clear the doors path completely and door began crushing it. I could hear something wasn't right and saw the door bend the laptop and park in the fully open position. You could clearly see and hear the door had met an obstacle and was struggling, but just pressed through it. Door made no attempt to stop or reverse. The macbook was damaged. The whole machine was bent by the door and I can no longer fit a cd in the optical slot because it is now curved rather than flat. These doors are strong enough be bend metal! the "anti-jam" system failed. After seeing that, I really think that these doors have to capability to seriously inure someone.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #7

Oct 032011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 3 miles
During the test drive and inspection of 2011 Toyota Sienna van the driver's side rear sliding door would close without touching the button or handle. The dealer (rep) told me that he had pressed the close button too many times and that's why it shut during the inspection of the vehicle. After taking the vehicle home the driver's rear sliding door shut on me while I was getting a small child out of a car seat-I did not touch the button or door handle. After the same thing happened 4-5 more time I took the 2011 Sienna van back to the dealer and told them that I would not take the vehicle back until the problem was fixed. The dealer replaced the motors in both sliding doors. The problems has continued and after research have found that this is a common complaint regarding the sliding doors on the Sienna vans. Between tire problems and door problems it's not worth the time or hassle.

- Millville, MA, USA

problem #6

Jun 212012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 18,000 miles
The opening sequence of power sliding doors on both sides of this vehicle is out-of-sequence when opened with the door handle. When using door handle, there is a lound noise when door first open, it caused by the mechanical latch were not completly open before the door was pulled by dorr's motor. This prolonges "jerk" could eventually cause the latch to break or defected to the point it can not fully latched on and may cause door to open while driving. This problem is not detected if door opening using remote control or inside vehicle buttons.

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #5

May 032011


  • 1,700 miles
Side power door does not open. Handle is used to open door during normal operation. Power slider opens about 6 inches and then sticks. A alarm sounds. Power slide motor stops door from opening. Door jumps back and forth and will not open regardless of amount of force used. Door will close if pushed shut. Problem is intermittent and has not been dealt with by dealer which has been complained about and documented throughout the last year. Dealer unable to repeat issue. Dealer has accused owner of not using handle correctly. In an emergency situation this failure could result in passengers being trapped in passenger compartment because of this hazard. This problem is documented by other owners on Toyota forums and other NHTSA safety complaints.

- North Bend, OR, USA

problem #4

Oct 052011


  • 8,000 miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated the driver's side automatic sliding door jammed and failed to release open until body force was applied to the door. The failure occurred fifty times. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer twice and they were unable to duplicate the malfunction. The contact planned to notify the manufacturer of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 8,000.

- San Marcos , CA, USA

problem #3

Sep 012011


  • 11,000 miles
Satellite buttons overhead console for sliding doors are now inoperable for driver's side sliding door. Took to dealer who after seeing the issue came back and said unable to duplicate.very concerned......

- Northridge, CA, USA

problem #2

Dec 292011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
Water accumulating in fold-down compartment for third row seats. Standing water noticed under carpet. Dealership unable to replicate leak.

- Portland, OR, USA

problem #1

Sep 012011

Sienna 6-cyl

  • miles
Purchased our new 2011 Sienna xle AWD in July 2010, from koons Toyota in westminster, md. In early September 2011, my wife complained of a bad odor in the van. On 09/10/11 I combed through the van, thinking that one of our children had spilled or dropped something that was causing the smell. Instead, I found that the floor of the van, under the carpets, was soaked throughout. I immediately called the dealer, and they picked up the van on 09/12/2011. The following day I received a call from the dealer's service advisor, who informed me that the problem was worse had been immediately apparent: Water was actually pooling under the carpets. He also said their mechanics had spend all day on the problem and had not been able to determine how the water had seeped into the car, and that the next step was for a Toyota regional specialist to look at the van, that week. A few days later, that happened, but that technician, too, was unable to solve the problem. As a result, the dealer essentially said it was my problem. I then called Toyota usa hq and, too, my insurance company (usaa); with the former, I initiated a case/complaint, with the latter, a comprehensive claim. On September 22, I sent Toyota hq a certified letter which, 1) requested that the company replace or buy back our van, and 2) gave notice that I was filing a lemon law complaint with the Maryland attorney general's consumer protection affairs office. In the meantime, my comprehensive insurance covered the water remediation effort of carpet and materials replacement, notwithstanding the fact that the source of the water intrusion was never diagnosed. On 10/07/2011, I received notice from the dealer that the "repairs" (I.e., carpets, sound-deadener replaced, car "oxinated" (sp?), and detailed), but that the smell was still there. After one month no answer to why a new $40K van is soaked inside.

- Towson, MD, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?