Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
19,545 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2011 Toyota Sienna wheels / hubs problems

wheels / hubs problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2011 Toyota Sienna:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2011 Toyota Sienna Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Jul 172016

Sienna

  • 47,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact stated that while attempting to replace a tire on the vehicle with the spare tire, the contact noticed that the spare tire assembly had corroded and would not allow the spare tire to be placed in position. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 47,000.

- Fishkill, NY, USA

problem #26

Jul 072014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 11V560000 (equipment) and stated that the manufacturer had not notified the dealer of the permanent remedy to repair the vehicle. The dealer only removed the spare tire carrier and placed it in the rear seat of the vehicle. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the permanent remedy would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/9/15 updated 01/27/16

- Madison, WI, USA

problem #25

Aug 152014

Sienna

  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires) and stated that the part needed was not available within a reasonable timeframe. The dealer did not provide a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer was contacted and could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ellwood City, PA, USA

problem #24

Mar 162015

Sienna

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I took my 2011 Toyota Sienna to the dealership to be serviced. I was told the spare tire cable is defective (NHTSA #14V273000) and the spare tire was placed in my trunk. I was told there is no fix to this situation. This recall was issued in may of 2014 and I feel 10 months is more than enough time to have developed a fix for this problem. It is unacceptable to take this long to develop a fix, and to inconvenience the owner by taking up half the trunk with the spare tire.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #23

Oct 012013

Sienna

  • miles
My van is only four years old and on its 3rd set of tires! serviced regularly and rotated every 5000 miles. Van only has 59,000 miles on it. Seems to me it is a Toyota issue, as I have read numerous complaints on the same issue.

- Durango, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Jul 012014

Sienna

  • miles
2011 Toyota Sienna. Consumer writes in regards to tire support cable mechanism corrosion recall notice. The dealer informed the consumer, there was no permanent solution. The consumer was given the option of placing the spare tire inside the vehicle or signing a waiver releasing Toyota of any liability should the spare tire fall off. The consumer opted to have the spare tire placed inside the vehicle.

- Canton, MI, USA

problem #21

Dec 232014

Sienna

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires) however, the part to do the recall repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Mineral City , OH, USA

problem #20

Dec 092014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2011 Toyota Sienna. The contact received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V273000 (tires) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to repair the vehicle. The dealer was unable to inform when the part would become available. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 01/12/15 updated 6/3/2015

- Duluth, MN, USA

problem #19

Oct 202014

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
My car was recalled about two months ago for a temporary repair of the connector to hold the spare tire. This resulted in the spare tire being placed in the back-seat area of the van. This prevents me from using the fold down feature and full storage area. On October 20, 2014, I called their 888-270-9371 number to see how much longer before a permanent fix would be completed. I received a vague answer that it should be done in November 2014. I still wait a solution, and believe that this issue should have been long ago resolved. Updated 09/23/15.

- South Bend, IN, USA

problem #18

Nov 242013

Sienna

  • miles
Bought our 2011 Sienna new off the lot back in 2011 and we are now on our 2nd set of new tires (3rd in some cases that 2 needed replacing). A total of 6 new tires with a vehicle that has only 30,000 miles on it is ridiculous. I have called Toyota about this issue and now our van sits in our driveway like a dead weight. We had a tire blow out on us already a few months ago in which we had to replace it. They go bald very fast and are no good in bad weather. I have never owned a vehicle in which I had to replace tires this often. It almost caused us a wreck when the tire blew out and we cant keep up with the costs of replacing them since they are so expensive.

- Barto, PA, USA

problem #17

Oct 292013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 45,756 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

This is for a Sienna 2011 with AWD that I purchased new in Oct 2010. At approximately 27,000 miles, Toyota dealer recommends replacement of run flat tires with Bridgestone turanza run flats. At 45,000 miles, same dealer recommends replacement of tires again. They now recommend a non run flat tire. This will be third set of tires for this vehicle that is 3 yrs old and has been serviced by Toyota every 5,000 miles. There appears to be a problem with excessive wear of run flat tires on this vehicle. Toyota should be held accountable for this issue and replace these tires.

- Watertown, CT, USA

problem #16

Oct 052013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
My Sienna falls under the current recall for unsafe tires for Siennas used for towing, but the dealer refuses to provide the extra load tires because my hitch was installed aftermarket. I purchased the vehicle with the towing package, however I was advised by the dealer to get the hitch installed elsewhere to save time and money. Regardless of that fact, I fail to see how where the hitch was installed makes the tires safe vs. Unsafe. Toyota is clearly hiding behind an arbitrary policy. I use the vehicle for towing. One tire is beginning to show signs of early failure. Toyota needs to provide the extra load tires asap. This is a serious safety concern. Toyota needs to comply with the recall.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #15

Sep 302013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 23,547 miles
Coming around a turn at 10 mph, the passenger rear tire blew out, with a total loss of pressure and a whoosh of air. The tires were properly inflated at the time. The tire pressure warning light was not lit. The tires have only 23,547 miles on them. I do not feel a tire that is 2 years old with this number of miles should suffer a complete failure. I am very concerned for my safety and that of my family. Luckily no one was hurt, this time.

- Clarendon Hills, IL, USA

problem #14

Feb 012012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
On July 1st 2013 I received notice of a safety recall, due to risk of tire failure and a crash, when towing with my Toyota Sienna. The recall indicated that if the vehicle has a tow hitch, the factory installed tires would be replaced with new extra load tires. I had already replaced my factory installed run flat tires with new extra load tires after one of the factory installed run flats failed. I contacted Toyota on July 1st to request reimbursement for my expense. On 9/18/13 Toyota informed me that the dealer would inspect my car to determine whether it qualifies. On 9/20 dch Toyota inspected the car and informed me that the car is not eligible because my trailer hitch is not a Toyota brand trailer hitch. When I purchased this car, Toyota did not have Toyota hitches available and recommended we get one from hitch, which we did. Now we are told that Toyota isn't responsible for the recall because the hitch isn't a Toyota brand. I spoke with a supervisor at the Toyota company today, who verified this. This seems irresponsible and wrong. The car, with the factory installed run flat tires, was improperly rated for towing, making my vehicle unsafe to use for towing, regardless of the brand of trailer hitch being used. Toyota should be responsible for replacing the tires since the vehicle was improperly rated for towing unless the tires are replaced. Toyota insists that the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration approved their plan to replace the tires and render the car safe for towing only if the consumer is using a Toyota hitch. There must be some misunderstanding, and I am asking that you review and revise the agreement so that all owners of Toyota Siennas that were improperly rated for towing will be covered under the recall, even if their trailer hitch is not a Toyota-brand hitch.

- Manalapan, NJ, USA

problem #13

Aug 072013

Sienna

  • miles
Tire wear too soon.

- Va, VA, USA

problem #12

Aug 312013

Sienna

  • miles
I purchased a 2011 AWD limited Sienna and within 4,000 miles of me owning it (bought certified preowned from Toyota) I failed inspection for tires. I replaced all 4 tires (by Toyota) and they put run flat Bridgestone's on. Again...about 15,000 miles later, I am again running on tires that are needing to be replaced for irregular wear. Told my mechanic that the tires are not safe. Toyota said there are no issues with the vehicle (suspension and alignment are perfect). So what is the problem? I am driving 3 small children in this vehicle and this is a safety concern!

- Newhampshire, NH, USA

problem #11

Aug 012013

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 21,000 miles
The tires on my van have excessive wear and need to be replaced after only 20,000 miles. I installed a hitch on the car myself shortly after purchasing the vehicle and used it to tow. I received a safety recall notice from Toyota for my 2011 Sienna AWD minivan that reads "the tire and loading information placard does not state the correct vehicle capacity weight as the rated load for the combination of cargo and occupants. Incorrect information on the vehicle placard may lead to tire overloading and possibly cause tire failure, increasing the risk of a crash." It goes on to say "based upon this information Toyota has determined that the following actions will bring your vehicle into compliance with the applicable requirements: Replacement of the factory installed tires with new extra load tires." It also says "...the dealer will replace the tires and label/placard noted above at no charge to you." I spent over 90 minutes at the dealer and 20 minutes on the phone with Toyota. They refused to honor their recall because the hitch on the car was an after-market hitch and not installed by Toyota. I fail to understand why they are not honoring their recall and their offer to replace the tires simply because the hitch was not purchased through Toyota.

- Wenatchee, WA, USA

problem #10

Mar 232013

Sienna

  • 29,900 miles
I have a 2011 Toyota Sienna that I purchased new in November 2010. It came with Firestone FR710 P235/60R17 tires. I have 29900 miles on the van and the tires already need to be replaced. The outer tread is gone. The tires are so bad that I nearly had a wreck during a recent rain after hydroplaning across a lane of oncoming traffic. The tires have been rotated approx every 5000 miles with the Toyota 24 month auto care plan. I called Toyota who referred me to Firestone with "good luck" (apparently they have not had much success in dealing with Firestone on this type of issue). I called Firestone and the representative informed me that even though these tires are typically advertised with a 65,000 mile warranty, because they are "original equipment tires, " there is no warranty. I was also told that because these are "original equipment tires" they are only expected to perform 20000-30000 miles before needing replacement. I have never had a new vehicle that needed the tires replaced after 30000 miles. The Firestone representative did offer a 25% discount on new tires, however I am a little hesitant at buying another set of Firestone tires because I do not feel like they are standing beside the quality of their product. I also do not think they should need to be replaced this soon. Why should one tire be expected to last 65000 miles and the same tire, just because it came on the vehicle, only be expected to last 20000-30000 miles? I feel like it was his way of brushing off my concern about the quality of these tires.

- Combine, TX, USA

problem #9

Feb 012013

Sienna

  • 27,000 miles
We purchased this vehicle in February 2011. It came with free Toyota maintenance for the first 2 years and has been brought in for every scheduled maintenance, most recently the 25,000 mile service at 26,000, so the tires have regularly been rotated and inspected by the dealership. Two years and less than 27,000 miles after purchasing the vehicle, I noticed that it was not handling well in snow despite being an AWD. To our surprise, the tires were worn. I brought it to a tire shop hoping for just an alignment and were told the tires were not safe to drive on. Therefore, I just had to replace all 4 tires ahead of schedule. Very dangerous as most people don't even consider the need for new tires at this point in their vehicle ownership. And even more dangerous as coming up with the $1,000 every two years is/will be difficult if not impossible. The replacement tires are the same as due to the unique tire size, there are no other run flat options on the market, Bridgestone turanza EL400-02 rft.

- Manchester, NH, USA

problem #8

Jun 232012

Sienna 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
Told by Toyota dealer at 15000K that I needed to replace the tires on my 2011 Toyota Sienna van. I do not abuse my vehicle and never had a new vehicle that needed new tires at 15000K.

- Ma, MA, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?