Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.3

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
67,043 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

1998 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 1998 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

1998 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #28

Dec 162013

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while servicing the vehicle, he discovered that the entire frame was rusted. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, who diagnosed that the entire frame needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 145,000. Updated 8/28/14 updated 11/10/2014

- Farmington, CT, USA

problem #27

May 142009

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 182,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the main frame and rear bumper exhibited severe rust. In addition, the front and rear shocks were replaced due to excessive rust and within a one year period, both new shocks required a second replacement. The vehicle was not examined or repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 182,000. Updated 02/07/11 updated 04/21/11

- Clinton Township, MI, USA

problem #26

Jan 152010

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • 74,000 miles
I own a 1998 Toyota Tacoma that should fall into their rusty frame buyback but was told it didn't qualify because of a Massachusetts reconstructed title. The truck has been on the road for approximately 3 years since the rebuild. The frame is rusted through in some places and the passenger side body mount has rusted away from the frame. It seems to me the frame rust has nothing to do with the fact that the truck was in an accident and the recall should be in effect, probably with a lower reimbursement due to the salvage title. If the point is to get unsafe vehicles off the road, a rusty frame is a rusty frame whether the truck has been rebuilt or not.

- Millbury, MA, USA

problem #25

Apr 152009

Tacoma

  • 135,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Tacoma. The contact took his vehicle in to be serviced and was informed that the frame was rotting under the vehicle. He did not have the vehicle repaired at the service center. He is waiting to call the dealer and manufacturer regarding the repair work. The failure mileage was 135,000.

- Stroudsbrug, PA, USA

problem #24

Nov 112008

Tacoma

  • 105,673 miles
1998 Toyota Tacoma with significant frame rust. Vehicle falls within the "frame rust corrosion perforation warranty extension" program offered by Toyota. The program offers to buy back Toyota Tacoma that fail their "inspection" dealer actually dented the frame during inspection due to weak frame secondary to rust. They did not put a hole in it therefore returning it to me, saying the vehicle is safe. Contacted corporate Toyota and basically got blown off as they stated the dealer did not put a hole in it during inspection. Personally, any vehicle which you can dent the frame in critical areas with a 12 oz hammer with "light to moderate" swings is unsafe. At this point I can only hope I do not get into a crash with this vehicle. I am filing this complaint as I believe they are overlooking a potentially serious problem with the structural integrity of this vehicle.

- Davenport, IA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #23

Aug 052008

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 111,400 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame was corroding on her vehicle. Her husband noticed that several Tacoma owners were experiencing the same failure and decided to have the vehicle inspected by the dealer. The dealer performed a frame inspection and stated that it was okay at that time. The West inspection station informed the contact's husband that his frame was in bad shape for the past couple of years; therefore, the contact was skeptical about the dealer's diagnosis. The manufacturer has not been consulted. The current mileage was 111,467 and failure mileage was approximately 111,400. Updated 09/23/08 the also stated the window would not roll up. Updated 10/01/08.

- Fort Ashby, WV, USA

problem #22

Jul 092004

Tacoma

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame on the vehicle was rusting, which he observed while performing maintenance. Some of the rusty metal and pieces of the frame fell off the vehicle. He consulted the dealer and manufacturer numerous times, but they were "nonchalant and unconcerned". initially, they offered no assistance. Most recently, the contact was sent a letter requesting that he take the vehicle to the dealer for inspection. After the inspection, he was informed that the frame failed inspection and the recourse was still being negotiated at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 145,000 and failure mileage was approximately 100,000.

- North Hampton, OH, USA

problem #21

Jun 232008

Tacoma

  • 53,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a recall notice and took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection. The dealer stated that the vehicle's frame was damaged too severely to be repaired; however, they offered her approximately $7,000 towards a trade-in. The recall number was unknown. The failure and current mileages were 53,000.

- South Lyon, MI, USA

problem #20

Jun 252008

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles
- the contact has asked for the exact verbiage of his email entered as his complaint: Toyota has instituted a warranty enhancement program for 1995-2000 Toyota Tacoma for frame rust. Toyota is buying back the trucks because of safety problems. There have been numerous accidents resulting from collapsing frames that have rusted out. They are doing this to avoid a NHTSA recall. My truck has a title that lists prior damage, and they will not take my truck back. They claim that the truck has been altered. The truck was repaired using Toyota Tacoma factory parts, and not aftermarket parts. The truck was repaired in year 2002, but the insurance company chose not to spend the money on repairs. If my truck was newer, the insurance company would have spent the money on repairs, the repair would not appear on the title, and Toyota would qualify this truck for buy back. The only difference between my truck and a newer truck receiving the same repair is that one is older than the other, and the insurance company chose to repair the newer vehicle. My 1998 Tacoma was professionally repaired and inspected by the Massachusetts police. The truck looks brand new except for the frame rust. I believe that Toyota is trying to avoid a NHTSA recall by this warranty enhancement program. Still, there are many vehicles like mine on the roads with frame rust waiting for an accident that Toyota chooses to ignore. Updated 07/15/08 updated 07/15/08

- Billerica, MA, USA

problem #19

May 082008

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 138,000 miles
I went to get my truck inspected and they refused to do so, because the frame on my truck has cracked. They stated that they thought there is a problem with these vehicles and to check into it. My dealer stated they could not do anything because the truck is so old. I still owe money on it. What am I supposed to do now.

- Emlenton, PA, USA

problem #18

Apr 172006

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 86,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame deteriorated on his vehicle. He was able to pick off chunks of the frame and it eventually cracked and split in half. He consulted Toyota for approximately two and a half years, but was not offered any recourse; therefore, he sold the vehicle. Most recently, the contact was notified about a buyback of 813,000 Toyota Tacoma, model years 1995-2000 for the frame. He was offered $675 for his vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 86000. Updated 5/20/08 updated 05/20/08

- Ringgold, GA, USA

problem #17

May 052005

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 84,000 miles
I owned a 1998 Toyota Tacoma. Recently Toyota didn't perform a recall but a good faith service for rusting and breaking frames. My frame had recently broke causing me to buy a new vehicle, Toyota and I have went back and forth on this since may of 2005. In February of 2008 they have came out and said that their 1995-2000(170,000 total) Toyota Tacoma's did not have the proper rust protector and it was causing mass deterioration and possible frame breaking.

- Ringgold, GA, USA

problem #16

Sep 192007

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 97,000 miles
I owned a Toyota Tacoma, 1998 king cab with 4WD up until Oct 07, when I had to trade it in or junk it. The frame was so rusted out that one bad bump was going to land me in a ditch or out of control. I researched this online, found that Toyota was not doing anything about it. I turned it into my Toyota dealer, the truck had only 97,000 miles on it, was worth thousands but only got 2500 on trade in due to its frame condition.

- Waterbury Ctr, VT, USA

problem #15

Dec 072007

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Severely corroded frame rails on a 1998 Toyota Tacoma 4X4. Purchased used from a Maine used car dealer with 121K miles in Aug 2007. While replacing the muffler and tail pipe in December 2007 I noticed severe rust and corrosion of the frame rails and cross members on the frame of this truck. Upon closer inspection of the frame, I noticed several areas where the previous owner or dealer had repair patches welded to the outside of the frame to shore up the weaker areas.both drivers and passenger side frame rails have huge holes or cracks where the frame has rotted away. The patch jobs that were done range from a couple inches to 14 inches. Rust proofing was used to hide/protect what was left of the frame. Rust proofing now not able to hide the corrosion or the large pieces that are flaking off the frame showing new holes. Vehicle unsafe to haul anything or even to drive. Unsafe condition could result in serious personal injury or death.

- Northport, ME, USA

problem #14

Dec 072007

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • miles
Severely corroded frame rails on a 1998 Toyota Tacoma 4X4. Purchased used from a Maine used car dealer with 121K miles in Aug 2007. While replacing the muffler and tail pipe in December 2007 I noticed severe rust and corrosion of the frame rails and cross members on the frame of this truck. Upon closer inspection of the frame, I noticed several areas where the previous owner or dealer had repair patches welded to the outside of the frame to shore up the weaker areas. Both drivers and passenger side frame rails have huge holes or cracks where the frame has rotted away. The patch jobs that were done range from a couple inches to 14 inches. Rust proofing was used to hide/protect what was left of the frame. Rust proofing now not able to hide the corrosion or the large pieces that are flaking off the frame showing new holes. Vehicle unsafe to haul anything or even to drive. Unsafe condition could result in serious personal injury or death.

- Northport, MD, USA

problem #13

Jan 282008

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 83,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Tacoma. The dealer discovered that the frame was rusted under the contact's vehicle. He filed a claim with Toyota and was informed that they were unaware of the failure and could not assist. The current and failure mileages were 83,000. Updated 3/4/08

- Lisbon, NY, USA

problem #12

Dec 192007

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 46,000 miles
I was told today by an insurance appraiser that the frame on my 1998 Toyota Tacoma extended-cab, 4X4 pickup truck is rusted so badly that it's unsafe to drive and could very possibly break on rough road conditions. Such a failure could render the vehicle uncontrollable and cause injury or death. His evaluation was simply that "this truck is now junk". he was surprised that the impact of the collision damage he was assessing didn't break the frame. I bought this truck new in August of 1998 ($27000+ window sticker) and it now has 46,766 miles on it. Anecdotal evidence suggests that this rust is not repairable and that the manufacturer will not accept responsibility for this problem. This truck has been well maintained and driven carefully by a mature driver.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #11

Dec 062007

(reported on)

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles
1998 Toyota Tacoma with a cracked frame. Consumer states that the frame is cracked and it is not due to rust or corrosion. Consumer states that his son heard a loud bang and felt the rear end was loose.

- Enfield, CT, USA

problem #10

Aug 162005

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 1998 Toyota Tacoma. The vehicle's frame is rotted, rusted, and corroded from the front to the back of the frame rails. The vehicle failed state inspection because it was deemed as structurally unsafe. The vehicle has not been taken to the dealer because it is out of warranty and Toyota will not recognize the failure. The VIN and purchase date were unknown. The current mileage was 77,000 and failure mileage was 62,000.

- Lathan, NY, USA

problem #9

May 142007

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 166,000 miles
Frame broke in half on passengers side ahead of rear wheel. Frame rusted 2005. Frame rusted 2007. Frame has approximately $1000 of welding done to it. Won't pass inspection in 2008.

- Warner, NH, USA

Read the next 8 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?