10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
137,873 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #47

Jan 042016

Tacoma

  • 180,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently purchased a used 2001 Toyota Tacoma and noticed it needed to go in for a recall for the spare tire being in need of remounting. I noticed the frame rust was bad. As in fist size holes all down the frame. I contacted the dealership about the recall and mentioned the frame rust and the recall on the frames. I was informed that they wouldnt do anything about the rust. Im now stuck with a very unsafe truck for me and my children to be in and a company that flat out made a mistake and wont own up to it. I will upload detailed photos of the damage later on.

- Columbus, IN, USA

problem #46

Nov 162015

Tacoma

  • 170,000 miles
Frame in rear is rusted completely out Toyota refusing to fix. Have been told by several mechanics truck is not safe to drive.

- Danville, KY, USA

problem #45

Dec 312012

Tacoma

  • 109,489 miles
In 2012, I drove my Toyota Tacoma pickup truck to a local dealer in response to a recall letter. I was responding to a notice that Toyota had mailed to me. The recall was for a spare tire carrier that may fall off the frame at highway speeds because of a known corrosion problem. The dealership told me that they could not perform the repair because the vehicle's frame was too badly corroded. The dealership performed a frame inspection, & they told me my vehicle had "failed". the dealership did nothing, except to contact Toyota Corp. Representatives from Toyota have telephoned me twice to say that they will do nothing. The company representatives said that my truck "did not meet the parameters of their program". since then, I have received three more notices from Toyota concerning the faulty spare tire plate. Each time I bring my pickup truck in response to these recall notices, I'm turned away. After doing some research, I discovered how Toyota had bought back vehicles like mine because of the faulty steel used to make the frame. My wife and I are both elderly. She has three forms of cancer, and we depend in this vehicle. When my wife and I purchased the Tacoma new in 2001, we also purchased a $2,200 extra protection package. We had hoped that Toyota would stand behind their product should anything go wrong. They refused. The frame of my vehicle is buckling. It shakes and groans when moving along the road. The dealership & Toyota both informed us that our truck is unsafe, & then walked away without offering a remedy. We feel we've been trapped by unjust business practices. For the past three years, everyone involved has refused to help us. Now that the NHTSA is involved, will you help us? linda M. hemming donn M. smith

- Commerce Township, MI, USA

problem #44

Oct 152015

Tacoma

  • 200,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. While driving 35 mph, the vehicle felt weighted in the rear and was difficult to drive. The contact stated that it felt as if there were a heavy load shifting in the rear of the vehicle. The contact checked the rear of the vehicle and discovered the frame was rusted out and unsafe to drive. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or diagnosed. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 200,000. Updated 02/10/16

- Harpers Ferry, WV, USA

problem #43

Nov 012015

Tacoma

  • 125,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the entire rear subframe was excessively corroded. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was deemed unsafe to drive. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 125,000.

- Berwyn, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #42

Aug 192015

Tacoma

  • 70,200 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer to be serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 12V542000 (structure: Body) however, the dealer denied the recall repair to be performed on the vehicle. The contact was informed that the vehicle could receive the repair but it would be performed outside of the recall remedy. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 70,200. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 02/23/16

- Fredericksburg, VA, USA

problem #41

Oct 012015

Tacoma

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that when the vehicle was taken to be serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 12V542000 (tires), the technician stated that the frame of the vehicle was rusted and needed to be replaced. As a result, the recall repair was unable to be performed. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 100,000.

- Ashland, KY, USA

problem #40

Jul 102012

Tacoma

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was at the dealer being repaired for NHTSA campaign number: 12V542000 (tires), the technician stated that the frame for the under carriage of the vehicle was rusted. The technician stated that the vehicle was unable to be repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 75,000. Updated 08/02/16

- Brewster, NY, USA

problem #39

Sep 222015

Tacoma

  • 162,931 miles
Took truck to garage to have tuned up and inspected. The technician informed us that there was hole in right rear frame and the whole frame is rusting. Apparently this is an ongoing issue with many Toyota trucks built in 01. Shaking my head Toyota. We bought a Toyota for the quality of vehicles but they forgot to put the quality in this vehicle.

- Abingdon , MD, USA

problem #38

Sep 082015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. While driving at an unknown speed, there was a loud abnormal noise. The contact inspected under the vehicle and noticed that the bracket mounting bolts that were welded to the frame were completely fractured and rusted. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The failure mileage was not available.

- Brunswick, OH, USA

problem #37

Jun 012015

Tacoma

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

While I was driving the passenger side wheel completely buckled under the truck. Luckily, I was only driving 15 mph. Had this broken while I was on the interstate, I would have been injured or injured someone else. As a result, the mechanic found that both ball joints were bad so both were replaced. The frame is completely rusted out and the spare tire cannot be removed. No notice was ever given to us or the previous owner by Toyota, regarding the problems stated above.

- Wheeling, WV, USA

problem #36

Dec 012014

Tacoma

  • 147,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was parked, the contact noticed that the subframe was corroded. The vehicle was taken to a dealer, but was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 147,000.

- Holt, MI, USA

problem #35

May 202015

Tacoma

  • 160,267 miles
I took vehicle in for recall for tire plate replacement because cases have come to light where they rust and fall out along with tires. At the shop the mechanic determine the vehicle is dangerous for driving and they were unable to lift truck to replace plate because chassis is no longer good because of rust and its rusted out; no stability. They also advised Toyota has a recall for chassis and its also on the website NHTSA recall # 12V542 and manufacture recall # cov where they will replace, correct or buy back vehicle. I called Toyota and they stated its not a recall its only a campaign and they are not able to assist my vehicle even though it its a recall. I spoke to crystal from Toyota at 800-331-4331 case # 1505272075. Please assist I now have a perfect vehicle that is no longer good at all.

- Melrose Park , IL, USA

problem #34

Jan 292015

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
I bought the truck Dec 9,2014 in il. I bought it from a used dealership. Mid Jan I noticed the car pulling to the left. I got the tires rotated, lower ball bearings replaced and got an alignment. All a couple weeks apart. Still pulled to the left. I went to rotate the tires again figuring I wore them funny. The frame snapped where the leaf spring mounts to the frame. The frame completely broke. The only thing holding my rear left tire on was the truck bed. On Toyota's website you can look for recalls. I typed my VIN in and it said the only recall was for the spare tire. I contacted Toyota and they opened a case (#1503310201). They told me there was a recall on the frame that had issues with rust. The recall went to 2011. I was told since the previous owner didn't act they would do nothing. My complaint is that the frame broke because of a defect I was unaware of and unable to find out about. It was not a small failure it could have been catastrophic. Anytime a frame fails a life can be lost. This is not a small repair or fix. It is a direct defect to the skeleton of the truck. There is know way to know of this defect without calling and requesting the information. It is not on there website when looking for defects. I believe they are %100 percent at fault for not making this public knowledge. They should be %100 accountable for any accidents or repairs needed because of this major defect in there truck. A ten year limit should be the limit only if they don't expect any of there frames to last that long. When purchasing a new or used truck one would never assume the frame would snap in ten years. I did inspect the frame at the time of purchase. It looked great. Has a nice undercoat. Purchased in il where they do not use salt on the road. I am the second owner of the truck from the information I was given from the dealer. I do have pictures.

- Madison , WI, USA

problem #33

Jan 212015

Tacoma

  • 144,321 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated the sub frame was corroded. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic, where it was diagnosed that the sub frame was corroded and needed to be replaced. The failure was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 144,321.

- Oswego, NY, USA

problem #32

Mar 042010

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 198,000 miles
I took my Toyota Tacoma pick up to signature Toyota in benton harbor, Michigan for a frame recall and the dealer informed me that it was not recalled and I had letter in hand that said it was. Now in December 14, 2014 I took it back to the same dealer for the spare tire recall and they said that it could not be fixed because I did not have the frame recall fixed and I told them that I had it in there and they told me it was not part of the recall. And they would not fix it and Toyota will not fix it earthier. They are telling me that the truck is not safe to drive. I took the truck to jorden Toyota for a second opinion. I thought that signature was telling me the truth when in fact they weren't.

- Dowagiac, MI, USA

problem #31

Dec 152014

Tacoma

  • 236,074 miles
Recently, I brought my 2001 Toyota Tacoma into the dealer in hyannis, MA to address a recall of the spare tire carrier. There was a prior recall/extended warranty on the frame and I asked them to look at that as well. I bought the vehicle in 2013 from the previous owner, who advised me that he had brought the truck into the orleans Toyota dealership(in orleans, MA), during the previous recall/extended service period - in May 2011 - when he had received notices, and that he was advised the frame was solid and did not have a problem. According to Toyota's records, orleans Toyota documented that the frame was checked out and passed their inspection. Now, according to [xxx]. at Toyota national customer relations dept., the recall/extended service warranty program on the frame then expired later, in Sept., 2011. Now, here is the catch-22 that I am confronted with ?? I have been advised by. [xxx] and others, that at the time of the inspection, in May 2011, if the orleans Toyota service dept. Had provided a rust preventative coating to the frame, then this vehicle would have had an extended warranty of 15 years on it. Again, the previous owner brought the vehicle in as instructed when he had received notification of potential problems. The previous owner does not know why he was not offered the rust prevention coating back in 2011, and was content that the frame was solid, because he had brought it in to orleans Toyota, and they had inspected it. I understand the NHTSA currently has 134 open complaints just on this year 2001 Tacoma with this problem. I feel strongly that Toyota should reconsider and fix the problem, since for whatever reason, it was Toyota 's error in not applying the rust prevention coating back in 2011. For Toyota now to not stand behind the vehicle based on their error is a poor, and dangerous action on their part. Thank you! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Chatham, MA, USA

problem #30

Dec 022014

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 190,000 miles
The frame of the truck is rusted away. There is a re-call for repairing the tire mount under the truck. Toyota states they can not fix because of the rust. My case with them is 1411181384. The body and motor are excellent.

- Madrid Twp, ME, USA

problem #29

Nov 062014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 151,458 miles
The frame on my Toyota Tacoma 2001 truck is so rusted out that it is not inspect-able. The local Toyota dealership will do nothing for me....I have contacted Toyota customer service...waiting for a call back...Toyota needs to do something to fix the problem....NHTSA...please help!!

- Bangor, ME, USA

problem #28

Aug 202014

Tacoma

  • 200,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated while having a routine oil change performed, the technician notified her that the sub frame was severely corroded. The vehicle was deemed unsafe to drive. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 200,000.

- Roselle , IL, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?