Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
136,342 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 3 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #23

Apr 232014

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 154,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I bought this vehicle used in 2011 and was notified of a recall for frame rust. By the time I got around to scheduling an appt, I was informed the recall had ended. Now, however, the frame is severely corroded and is starting to give way at the rear shackle. I feel this vehicle has become a serious hazard to drive due to the frame buckling. If the recall was put into effect, Toyota is aware of the problem, and now it has become a serious liability and safety issue. I would like to get this vehicle repaired to the point of making it safe, but feel that I was not given ample opportunity to have this done under the limited time left on the recall when I bought it. The fact that there is a serious issue with the frame construction is evident by the fact that the body has almost no corrosion present. There appears to be a manufacturing issue with the heavy frame steel that should not be corroding like this. There is currently also an active recall for the rear tire carrier - which is related to the same issue. Again, this is a serious safety and liability issue that I think Toyota is obligated to address before someone is hurt or killed by this problem. Contacting Toyota does no good, as they refuse to take responsibility to fix the problem. They say this was not a recall but a warranty extension that has now run out. However, there is a severe defect present in the frame that they acknowledged and now refuse to stand behind even though it is a dangerous liability for any vehicles on the road.

- Ferdinand, IN, USA

problem #22

Dec 122013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 160,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated while driving approximately 15 mph, a loud noise emitted outside of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection. The technician stated that entire frame was fractured. The vehicle was declared unsafe to drive. The extended service warranty expired and the vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer had been notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 160,000. Updated 4/29/14

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #21

Jun 232012

Tacoma

  • 120,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame was cracked. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic, who stated that the frame was cracked on both sides near the shackles. The frame was welded but the problem recurred. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the incident. The approximate failure mileage was 120,000.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

problem #20

Nov 102013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 155,819 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I would like know Toyota does not honor recalls on this truck because it is an R title that had front end damage. It will not honor any corrosion recalls (ie.spare tire life plate, excessive rear frame corrosion) however I still receive every recall notification on this vehicle from directly from Toyota motors.

- Irwin, PA, USA

problem #19

Nov 012013

Tacoma

  • 95,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the subframe was found to be corroded with holes. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The subframe was not replaced. The failure and current mileage was 95,000.

- Pulaski , VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #18

Jan 012009

Tacoma

  • 185,000 miles
I purchased a used 2001 Toyota Tacoma and within 6 months noticed that the frame was rusting through. I learned in 2013 that there was a recall for the frame. I took the vehicle to the dealership and was told that they would replace the frame. A few days later, I was informed that they would not be doing this because I had not taken the vehicle in for rust protection. I called Toyota directly and was informed that I should have received four notices pertaining to this recall, however Toyota did not have the correct name in their database, and thus I did not receive the notices. If I had received them and taken the vehicle for the treatment, the frame would have been warranted for fifteen years. The vehicle was transferred into my name immediately after purchase, and my name should have appeared in Toyota's database. The vehicle is unsafe to drive, and I feel Toyota should either replace the frame or buy the vehicle back from me, as it has from other owners.

- New Lenox, IL, USA

problem #17

Jun 022013

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while driving approximately 10 mph, the brakes would not respond causing him to crash into the rear of another vehicle. The passenger in the second vehicle sustained neck and back injuries although the contact was not injured. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis. The mechanic stated that the brakes had failed because the strut and shock had dismounted from the vehicle due to severe rust on the driver's side under carriage. The vehicle was included in a manufacturer's recall where the under carriage was treated with a anti-corrosion coating. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated the recall had expired. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 61,000.

- North Field, NJ, USA

problem #16

May 252013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles
The Tacoma frame rust on my truck is beyond repair. I am putting myself and my family in danger every time I drive it. I called Toyota corporate office and they basically told me they cannot not do anything for me. Toyota however gave me a case number [xxx] that was about a year ago. The telephone numbers for that is 8003314331. Four months ago I brought the Tacoma for a tire carriage recall at our local dealer which it was about to fall off. They took some pictures of the rotted frame and sent them to Toyota corporate office. Again the long anticipated wait. I know I am not the only one who is left out. I cannot sell this vehicle because it is dangerous. Please look into this matter for the many customers that have the 2001 -2004 Toyota frame rotted and was left out. Thank you. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Browns Mills, NJ, USA

problem #15

Apr 262013

Tacoma

  • 98,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the sub frame was severely corroded. The manufacturer was contacted and denied servicing the vehicle under NHTSA campaign id number: 12V542000 (tires) due to the corrosion. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 98,000.

- Stonington , CT, USA

problem #14

Mar 202012

Tacoma

  • 134,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that upon inspection, it was noticed that the entire frame had corroded due to rust. The manufacturer previously issued a voluntary recall related to the structure but the recall expired. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who welded the area which exhibited a hole as a temporary fix. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 134,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Stanford, KY, USA

problem #13

Oct 252012

Tacoma

  • 62,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I live in Virginia. There was a safety recall for inspection of the truck frame for rust corrosion. At the time vehicle had the recall I was being treated for a mental disability and in mental hospitals. I was not of sound mind or judgment to understand the "recall notice". while having oil changed by the Toyota dealer the frame of the truck was noted to have holes in the frame caused by rust. Toyota motor corporation has refused to replace the frame of the truck honoring the recall even though I provided the necessary information from doctors providing documentation of my illness at the time of the recall. On March 14, 2013, the vehicle was taken in for a safety recall for rust of the spare tire carrier; which could fall off causing an accident. The Toyota dealer replaced the spare tire carrier consisting of two metal plates with four bolts that was bolted to a defective frame that has holes due to corrosion; also, they replaced supports that runs between the two frame rails; they did not replace the cable nor the rusted part that holds the wheel to the previous assembly parts. This has not fixed the issue because they have only replaced the spare tire carrier plate onto a frame that has holes due to rust that is not safe to drive. I need this vehicle as I am on disability and limited income; I want the frame replaced or a new truck with the same options as I have on the 2001 Tacoma. Toyota received a 25 million dollar settlement from dana corporation, supplier of the Tacoma truck frames, proper antirust preventative was not applied to prevent corrosion, which was a cost saving for one or both companies. From 1995 to 2004 the Tacoma trucks have had this problem. By replacing the frame Toyota would not be losing any money because they got their money from dana Corp supplier of the Tacoma frames.

- Churchville, VA, USA

problem #12

Dec 012012

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the chassis, the spare tire cable and the holder became corroded. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the manufacturer advised that the vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 12V542000 (tires). The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 94,000 and the current mileage 95,200. Kmj updated 7/29/13

- Stamford , CT, USA

problem #11

Jan 112013

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 159,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while the vehicle was being serviced by an independent mechanic, the contact was informed that the frame of the vehicle was rusted and the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was confirmed that the bottom of the frame was completely rusted and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure and stated that the vehicle was not included in any recalls. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure and current mileage was 159,000. Updated 2/25/13 the consumer stated the manufacturer refused to offer assistance due to the recall being closed on Dec 31, 2011. The manufacturer stated the consumer should have recieved a notice. The consumer changed addresses since purchasing the vehicle, therefore did not recieve any notice. The manufacturer denied any assistance. Updated 03/11/2013

- Obetz, OH, USA

problem #10

Nov 192012

Tacoma

  • 230,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while at an independent mechanic for unrelated repair the contact was informed the frame was severally corroded. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostic testing. The technician stated there was a manufacturer recall that was issued the previous year to treat the frame and prevent corrosion. The contact did not receive notification of the recall and never had the vehicle treated. The technician stated there was no repair for the failure and informed the contact they were not liable for the frame corrosion. The mechanic advised the vehicle should not be driven because it was unsafe. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 230,000. Updated 01/14/13

- Sterling, CT, USA

problem #9

Sep 072012

Tacoma

  • 162,200 miles
Toyota Tacoma 2001 in great shape other than the frame is rusting out. Took it to my mechanic for routine maintenance oil change; he saw some heavy corrosion on the frame. In several places, it has eaten through and has perforations. He says it is getting to be unsafe. I just bought this truck about a year ago at a dealership in Ohio and was not made aware that this was a huge problem in the 1996-2003 models, but this issue is apparently very common as Toyota did not provide acceptable undercoatings for these models. Next step is to take it to the Toyota dealership and see what they say. At this point, I would take a buyout but would prefer to have the frame/chassis replaced at their expense. I love this truck and use it everyday. Very scared to drive it right now and hope they come through to fix their mistake. This should be a public recall since it is a huge safety concern and people should be made aware that this is a time-bomb accident waiting to happen. These trucks are everywhere on the road. Thanks

- Greenwood, SC, USA

problem #8

Mar 142012

Tacoma

  • 80,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact inspected the vehicle and noticed that the frame was rotten. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnosis, where the dealer advised that they would have to replace the frame of the vehicle. The manufacturer was contacted and provided no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 80,000 and the current mileage was 90,000.

- Charleston , WV, USA

problem #7

Apr 132012

Tacoma

  • 100,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for an inspection and they detected that the rear frame was damaged due to rust and corrosion. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer issued a voluntary recall pertaining to the frame and the VIN was not included. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- Hadley, PA, USA

problem #6

Feb 292012

Tacoma

  • 144,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while driving, the rear of the vehicle began to swerve from side to side. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the dealer inspected the vehicle and found that the rear frame and wheel were severely corroded. The dealer advised the contact that the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and the current mileage was 144,000.

- Newton , WV, USA

problem #5

Feb 142012

Tacoma

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. While at an independent mechanic for unrelated repairs, the contact was advised by the mechanic that the the frame was corroded. The mechanic also stated the entire frame would have to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 110,000.

- Union, KY, USA

problem #4

Jan 202012

Tacoma

  • 113,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was being examined by an authorized dealer when he was informed that there was a hole rusted through the frame. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and offered no assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 113,000.

- East Berlin, PA, USA

Read the next 3 complaints »

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?