Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
127,930 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 3 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #20

May 012009

Tacoma

  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was severely rusted and the frame area near the tires exhibited corrosion. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer who stated that the frame needed to be replaced. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 12V542000 (tires) and stated that the local dealer and the manufacturer indicated that the recall was no longer active. The vehicle was to be inspected and repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 01/12/16, updated 02/23/16

- Stanchfield, MN, USA

problem #19

May 082013

Tacoma

  • 162,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the entire frame was completely rusted and as a result, the rear axle and spring hanger became detached from the vehicle. The vehicle was not being driven due to a potential safety hazard. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 162,000.

- Rison, AR, USA

problem #18

Feb 012013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that rusting and corrosion was discovered on the frame. The contact indicated that the rear driver's side leaf spring shackle had sunk into the under frame due to the rust and corrosion. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the defect but no solution was offered. The failure mileage was 150,000.

- Washintonville, NY, USA

problem #17

Sep 122013

Tacoma

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame had started to deteriorate. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the technician applied an undercoating to the frame. The contact stated that the coating eventually wore off. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the problem. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 130,000.

- Charleston, WV, USA

problem #16

Jan 152014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles
Informed by dealer that frame is rusted through and truck is unsafe to drive. Also informed that there had been a service bulletin for this problem. But my truck is no longer eligible for repair under the voluntary service recall (of which I was never notified), as it had expired. I think Toyota should be responsible. They recognized their defective product; however my truck is ineligible for repair because they get to limit their responsibility because their remedy is not technically a "recall". I, and I'm sure many others, are by necessity, driving unsafe vehicles.

- Philadelphia, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Dec 112013

Tacoma

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for unrelated repairs when he was advised that the sub-frame was severely corroded. As a result, the technician advised the contact that the vehicle was unsafe to drive. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure and current mileage was 110,000.

- Valencia , PA, USA

problem #14

Nov 202013

Tacoma

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer for service under NHTSA campaign number: 12V542000 (tires). The contact was advised that the vehicle could not be service under the recall because of excessive corrosion. The contact stated that he was never advised of corrosion when the vehicle was inspected in 2010 for a manufacturer's warranty. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 95,000.

- Bridgewater, NJ, USA

problem #13

Nov 102013

Tacoma

  • 220,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the rear frame was deteriorated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer, who stated that they would not repair the problem. The contact stated that the dealer informed him that the vehicle was included in a manufacturer's recall and several notices had been sent however, the contact failed to have the vehicle serviced per the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 220,000.

- North Dighton, MA, USA

problem #12

Sep 012013

Tacoma

  • 161,250 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken for state inspection when he was advised that the front area of the frame was severely corroded. The manufacturer was contacted and advised that the frame was not safely coated therefore, they denied assistance with any repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 161,250.

- Allison Park , PA, USA

problem #11

Sep 142013

Tacoma

  • 244,000 miles
After having my 2002 Toyota Tacoma off the road and garaged for the past 3 years, I was getting the truck ready to be driven on the road again. I am the original owner. I took the truck off the road because my job was eliminated in October 2010. After changing the oil last weekend in my garage I noticed an abnormal amount of rust on the frame. In fact, so much rust that the rubber body mount block on top of the rear leaf spring snapped off in my hand. The leaf springs, brake lines, and front suspension and frame are all in question regarding vehicle safety. I immediately did research online to check out what I thought was abnormal amounts of rust on the frame and to see if anyone else had experienced this too. I was shocked at what I found. A huge safety issue with Toyota Tacoma rusted frames. I come to find out online that Toyota has a history of rusted frames, breaking frames, unsafe frames, and a recall currently for a rear spare tire mount issue due to rust. I also found out Toyota was replacing frames on my model. I called my dealership to set up an appointment to have this truck inspected for Pennsylvania state requirements and to have the rust checked. They told me my vehicle was not valid for the rust inspection and the frame replacement because the program expired, I was told to call Toyota. I was never notified by Toyota or my dealer there was an issue, not by mail, phone calls or certified mail. I had the truck parked in my garage for three years so it wasn't even on the road during this time. Several phone calls later to Toyota and they refuse to replace my frame under the customer care program citing I did not have the undercoating applied by December of 2012. Toyota customer service said I could weld reinforcement plates to my frame myself or find a junkyard frame. Really Toyota?

- Quakertown, PA, USA

problem #10

May 132013

Tacoma

  • 140,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame of the vehicle exhibited severe rust. The vehicle was taken to a dealer for diagnosis and the contact was referred to the manufacturer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileage was 140,000.

- Honaker, VA, USA

problem #9

Mar 092009

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the rear bumper had rusted and the contact was unable to tow anything with the vehicle. The contact spoke with the manufacturer about the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure mileage was 65,000 and the current mileage was 110,000.

- Trooper , PA, USA

problem #8

Apr 162013

Tacoma

  • 151,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame and the rear leaf springs contained massive amounts of rust and was unsafe to drive due to the failure. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 151,000.

- New Vineyard Rd, ME, USA

problem #7

Mar 252013

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • 106,000 miles
This vehicle was already involved in a "campaign" by Toyota to replace severely rusted frames. Now the spare tire lift plate is also rusted through on many of them which Toyota is "implementing a remedy for". my complaint is that I have a severely rusted housing of the rear differential, next to and just below the rusted spare tire carrier lift plate, Toyota refuses to pay for the rusted through housing of the rear differential. This is a negligent safety issue on their part, because those owners who are not aware of the leakage of this part may find themselves without power, or worse perhaps, a lockup of that part when they are going 65 mph on highway possibly with children in their vehicle. The rust on these vehicles is legendary among Toyota owners as evidenced by their complaints on the internet. Toyota did replace the frame on my 2002 Tacoma, but in my opinion, it is their responsibility to replace the rusted out housing. It is not as if that is the only rust on this vehicle, and no other vehicles that I am aware of have this problem.

- Chestnut Ridge, NY, USA

problem #6

Jan 092013

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • 69,000 miles
My Tacoma was recalled 2 years ago for frame rust. They told me it was ok + undercoated it to prevent future rusting. All that undercoating is falling off. That can only be due to improper application or faulty product. The dealer that applied the product (ferris Toyota) says the product is faulty + they've seen it many times. They've also confirmed the same with other dealerships. Toyota, otoh, says there's nothing wrong. If the frame doesn't need undercoating, then why'd they do it" are they suggesting it works when 50% has fallen off? this is the same vehicle which is now being recalled for spare tires falling off on the highway + my emergency brakes have been seized with corrosion since I've owned the truck. I've contacted Toyota many times + they refuse to put their correspondence in writing, but the representative, tiffany bishop, says she types a transcript of our conversations, just won't give me copies. She also calls from a phone with a blocked number. What kind of bull is this" these vehicles are obvious hazards on the road + Toyota is playing games instead of making serious efforts to make the vehicles safe. Please bring this to the attention of someone at Toyota other than [xxx], I am finished corresponding with her! information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Dover, OH, USA

problem #5

Oct 282010

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 53,871 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated the entire frame was covered with rust. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer where a rust under coating was applied to the frame. Two years later, the frame exhibited severe rust and corrosion. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 53,871. Updated 01/18/13 updated 01/24/13

- Allison Park, PA, USA

problem #4

Oct 182012

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 89,638 miles
10/22/2012 recently had occasion to look at the frame on my truck, it is rusted through in many spots making vehicle unsafe, 2002 Toyota Tacoma, apparently I missed some "courtesy" frame program. I am stuck with a $10,000 truck that I can't afford to fix and Toyota has said that they will not offer any help.I think this needs to go beyond a "courtesy " recall, with the large amounts of these trucks on the road in unsafe conditions New York state has forced an extension of this program, traffic safety should force a recall as there are thousands out there in this shape by Toyota own admission I would like repairs or fair market value.

- Johnstown, PA, USA

problem #3

Aug 122012

Tacoma

  • 175,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the chassis was prematurely rusting. The vehicle was taken to a dealer which confirmed that the chassis was rusted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 175,000 and the current mileage was 176,000.

- Farmingdale, NY, USA

problem #2

Jun 012005

Tacoma

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame was severely corroded, had holes in it, and was separating from the vehicle. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and was going to further investigate the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 62,000 and the current mileage was 110,000.

- Lincolnton , NC, USA

problem #1

Mar 072012

Tacoma

  • 161,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. While at an independent mechanic for routine maintenance, the mechanic stated to the contact that the vehicle was not safe to drive because the frame was corroded. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for diagnostics. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated it was caused by scaling and not rusting there for they would not cover the repairs. The dealer refused to provide a letter stating the vehicle was safe to drive. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 161,000.

- Melbourne Beach, FL, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?