Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
79,490 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #6

Aug 252008


  • 109,112 miles


I have a 2002 Toyota Tacoma with a rusted frame which failed, but the dealership wrote "ok to drive" on my slip. I originally brought my vehicle in for inspection at a private auto shop on 8/12/08 and they told me to go to a Toyota dealership right away to get my frame inspected. I went and the dealership turned me away, I asked why and they indicated that I did not have a case number. I called Toyota and they gave me a case number and closed the case the next day because my vehicle was outside the 95-00 recall yrs. I insisted that they have my vehicle inspected by Toyota and on 9/12/08 the boston regional representative failed my frame. Prior to that irwin motors in laconia nh also inspected it and told me to keep bugging Toyota because they will drag their feet. The dealership has indicated to me that this is a huge problem for 01through the 2004 year frames. Toyota indicates that they will negotiate a buy back with me but will not send any thing in writing, they will not give any time frame for resolving or even negotiating the buy-back. I have friends who are mechanics who indicate that Toyota should recall from 2001 to 2004 as well since the same frames are being produced and used for these vehicle as used for the 1995-2000 vehicles. I have a newer Toyota and they have indicated to me that they will repurchase my vehicle and based it on 100% kelly blue book only. I believe that if others have received a 150% buy-back that they should extend that offer to me as I have owned eight Toyota in the past ten years. I am disappointed in Toyota. The longer period of time goes by, the less my vehicle will be worth if they are buying back at blue book prices. We have drove by many dealerships in our area, there are many 01-04S which have been bought back, but when talking to my case manager, she indicated that the there were only a few outside the recall years, I have to disagree as the dealership lots indicate otherwise. Can you help us owners out? thank you

- Loudon, NH, USA

problem #5

Jun 012006


  • 85,000 miles
Rusted frame on 2002 Toyota Tacoma. Took it to halterman's Toyota dealership in June 2006. Dealership said it does not warrant rust on frame. Was told to undercoat the vehicle. Vehicle was undercoated August 2006. Undercoating started to peel away January 2007. Now the frame looks as if it's starting to rust through. This is a concern to me because I had a 1999 Toyota Tacoma that had total rust perforation in frame January 2006. I sold it for a third of it's kelly blue book retail value in March 2006 before Toyota implemented their buyback program in March 2008 for 1995-2000 Tacoma displaying rust perforation. I now see the same situation happening all over again and Toyota will not take any responsibility. I am beginning to become afraid to drive my vehicle in fear of the frame breaking from underneath me.

- Stroudsburg, PA, USA

problem #4

Jun 152008

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 35,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tacoma. While the contact was examining his vehicle, he noticed rust holes in the bottom of the frame and on the gas tank shield. The vehicle has not been diagnosed by the dealer. The contact did not notice any differences beforehand. The current mileage was 37,000 and failure mileage was 35,000. Updated 10/03/08 updated 10/06/08.

- Endicott, NY, USA

problem #3

Jul 272008

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 71,000 miles


I bought my 2002 Tacoma V6 4X4 double cab from a Toyota dealership used in March of 2006. One thing I noticed is that the frame of the truck had excessive exterior rust build up. I used to be an automotive technician, and have always known that almost any Toyota pickup truck has frame rust problems. It has been a well know fact for years and years. Why did Toyota wait so long to post a recall on this problem. Shortly after buying my 2002 I looked at a older I believe 1995 Toyota pick-up that I saw for sale one day. I was looking the truck over and found that the frame was rotted through on the drivers side just before the front spring shack on the rear of the truck. It had a hole in the frame about 2 1/2 inches wide, and where there was frame left you could put your finger through it with little pressure. I decided it wasn't anything I wanted to deal with. Now I heard about the recall for the first generation Tacoma's 95-00 on the frames rotting out just like the one I looked at. So seeing that my 2002 Tacoma was showing premature frame rust, I decided to inspect it closer. I found that not only was the frame rusting and flaking on the outside, it was also rusting on the inside as well. I also found that the welds on the frame for the spring hangers looked very poorly welded and rusty too. I believe that Toyota should include the 2000 and newer Tacoma's in their frame rot recall as well. Does any one know if they changed the quality of the metal used in the frames on the newer Tacoma's or the design" how do they justify that the newer Tacoma's don't have this problem? because they are too new to have rotted to that point yet? think about it, why else would they have waited so many years to post a recall on a truck that is at the least 8 years old" they obviously knew there was a problem. I know I am not the only one who owns a 2nd generation Tacoma with this problem.

- Voorheesville, NY, USA

problem #2

Apr 212008


  • 71,000 miles
In April of 2008 I noticed that the frame of my 2002 Toyota Tacoma pickup truck had an unusually high amount of surface rust showing on the frame. Upon closer inspection I discovered that in at least one location there is holes in the frame were it has rotted through. I have also inspected the interior of the frame members and have discovered large amounts of rusted metal that has fallen of the inside of the frame. It is obvious that the frame of this 6 year old vehicle with 71,000 miles on it is rotting from the inside and the outside. I am concerned that this is indeed a serious safety issue.

- Shrewsbury, MA, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #1

Jul 212008


  • miles
I am the owner of a 2002 Toyota Tacoma truck. The vehicle has 53K miles on it and has excessive rust throughout the frame. The frame while not completely rusted through, has severe buildup around welds and joints. Toyota is recalling 1995-2000 Tacoma trucks for this exact problem, but 2001-2004 models are excluded. This is a serious problem and should be included in Toyota's current campaign.

- Cuyahoga Falls, OH, USA

Not what you are looking for?