Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.9

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
84,651 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 2)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Aug 282013

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for an unrelated repair when they noticed that the entire frame was completely rusted and caused the fuel tank to become slightly detached from the vehicle. The mechanic strapped the fuel tank back onto the vehicle as a temporary remedy. There was a voluntary recall issued by the manufacturer related to the frame, however the recall had expired. There was also a recall associated with NHTSA campaign id number 12V542000 (tires) but the dealer refused to honor the recall because the vehicle was not previously repaired under the manufacturer's voluntary recall. The manufacturer was notified of the defect. The approximate failure mileage was 104,000. The consumer stated she was never notified of the recall, involving frame rust. Updated 01/08/14 invoice received 01/28/14

- North Bridgton, ME, USA

problem #15

Aug 012013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
Yesterday, I went to my mechanic for an inspection on my 2004 Toyota Tacoma. He said it wouldn't pass because holes were everywhere along the frame. I took it to Toyota. They took pictures and documented the fact that my car was unsafe to drive. They said it wasn't their problem, and that I had been given four years to fix it. When I looked up my VIN number online, it mentioned only the recall for the spare tire (which I had already taken off three years ago). I called Toyota central, and they said it wasn't their problem. Apparently, I had received a first class letter between November of 2010 and December of 2011 which stated that I needed to have my frame sprayed. They said that the cutoff for this "remedy" was December, 2012. When I asked if, had I had the frame sprayed six months ago, would this rot have miraculously not appeared, they said they didn't know. They apologized for the fact that it was not their problem, and that was that. I may have received a letter...I am not sure, and cannot honestly claim I didn't receive it. What I do know that I do, though, is regularly check on line for recalls so that I can make sure that I am not missing anything. The dealer told me that this particular recall was voluntary, and therefore it wouldn't have been posted in normal channels. To make matters worse, the dealer specifically said that someone had come in the previous week with the same issue and it was "too bad". he also said that Toyota would probably be doing something about this because so many people were having such major safety issues. He said that if I wanted to hold on to the truck...maybe something would happen in a year. What am I going to do with a truck I can't drive because it won't pass inspection and has been deemed unsafe?

- Johnsonville, NY, USA

problem #14

Jul 292013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 150,000 miles
Vehicle frame is rusting, rotting, and crumbling from beneath the truck. I was unaware of the condition when I was told by a mechanic during a Pennsylvania state vehicle inspection that the frame will eventually fail and split apart as I am driving down the road. I contacted Toyota and they told me that I missed the recall window which would have extended the warranty on the frame. When I explained to them that I was not contacted about such an important recall, and if I were I would have to be an idiot not to act on it, they replied that their records show that a letter was sent to me therefore Toyota will not honor the recall and replace my crumbling frame.

- New Freedom , PA, USA

problem #13

Apr 012013

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Excessive rust. Recall twice.

- Turner, ME, USA

problem #12

Dec 172012

Tacoma

  • miles
My 2004 Toyota Tacoma was recalled in 2012. The recall letter stated that in certain states where road salt is used to manage winter driving conditions, the potential existed for premature rust/corrosion of the frame. I brought the truck in to the dealership where it was then determined that the frame should be replaced. Six months later I noticed that the rear differential housing was leaking. Why didn't the recall cover these components, which are located in the same general area and subject to the same corrosive conditions as the frame, leaf springs, control arms, etc., all of which were replaced? if the fluid drains from the housing as a result of rust/corrosion, the potential exists for the drivetrain to lock up, especially at higher speeds, resulting in an obviously dangerous situation. No real options exist to address the issue aside from replacing the differential housing, a repair that costs several thousand dollars. My complaint is that Toyota chose not to cover the replacement of all parts necessary in order to insure the safe operation of the vehicle in light of the premature rust/corrosion issue, nor did they raise the issue in any way. I cannot imagine how Toyota could be unaware of this condition.

- Ithaca, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #11

Jan 242012

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles
I took my truck in for the yearly inspection and it failed for a hole in the frame. I contacted Toyota and was informed that I missed a customer care service to inspect the frame and there was nothing that they would do for me. I repaired the hole and the vehicles passed inspection for the frame the past two years.I was driving today and found that the bed of my truck crooked. I checked the other side of the frame to find that it is completely rotted and the truck is now unsafe to drive. Will this frame rust issue ever become a recall? its a shame that a perfectly good running truck is now garbage.

- Leicester, MA, USA

problem #10

Mar 012006

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that he received a manufacturer's recall for the frame. After having the repairs completed, he noticed that the frame was separating from the vehicle. The vehicle was not taken back to the dealer for further inspection. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered no assistance. The failure mileage was approximately 40,000. The current mileage was approximately 70,000. Updated 6/17/13 the consumer stated the 02 sensor was replaced three times, the catalytic converter was also replaced three times. The shroud that covered the gas tank, rotted and fell of the truck, and the check engine light illuminated several times. Updated 06/25/13

- New Ipswich, NH, USA

problem #9

Feb 012013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 109,400 miles
3 years ago Toyota sent us a noticed and called.. asking us to have our frame inspected due to frame failures and rust. We complied and had the undercoating and frame inspected for 3 years with the understanding that this would protect us if future frame problems were identified. This year 2012 we were told we didn't need to have the frame inspected, however when we were replacing the brakes we noticed significant rust on the frame of the vehicle. We immediately called our dealer for a frame inspection and was told the frame had failed and that we shouldn't drive the vehicle. For safety reasons. I called the Toyota hotline and received a claim number was told we were eligible for the a frame replacement because we had received the undercoating. They set up an appointment for the Toyota rep to inspect the vehicle today March 8th.. the rep never showed up. We weren't provided with a rental vehicle and thus having trouble meeting our work commitments.. and they expect us to put our children back in a vehicle which we were told is unsafe to drive, I am very concerned about how many other Toyota drivers are driving unsafe vehicles.

- Pelham , MA, USA

problem #8

Mar 012013

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • miles
According to records, [xxx], Toyota extended the corrosion-resistant treatment (crt) beyond 2010.the document reads additional 15 years. Currently I visited a toyato dealer and they claimed Toyota ended the aggreement Dec. 2012. No notice was recieved of change. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- West Islip, NY, USA

problem #7

Jan 242013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 120,732 miles
Frame: I had my Tacoma in for work (the clutch would not return fully to the up position) and the dealer (tj Toyota, potsdam, NY) said there were holes in the frame. There was one on the left side near there sway bar and two on the right side just in front of the passenger door. The dealer called Toyota and Toyota said the program for undercoating the frame ended in December and they would not do anything. I bought this truck in January 2011 from the dealer (tj Toyota, potsdam NY) and they did not undercoat the frame before they sold the truck to me (with 77,500 mi). I am currently fighting with Toyota and because my truck cant pass inspection (which expires today) I can not legally drive my truck to work and there for cant work because I am a mechanic and work out of my truck.

- Dickinson Center, NY, USA

problem #6

Jan 112013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

NHTSA:action # 10027968 service bulletin #251424 report date Nov.25,2008 - NHTSA # 10030357 [lsc]90D 2001-2004 Tacoma frame corrosion - preventative compound] I purchased a 04 Tacoma from prestige Toyota, kingston, NY on 10/27/10.I asked the service manager about lsc 90D he stated that they did the inspection, but not the compound on 10/16/10.what the lsc 90D states is the frame is to be inspected and one of the following op. Codes 8630jm or 8630jn corrosion-preventative compound applied. This would extend the warranty on the frame for 15 years. This vehicle was inspected 1/3/13. It failed state inspection, I'm furious. When I contacted dealer and Toyota "they stated they could not do anything". that the program ended 12/31/12. Listed in lsc 90D states that" Toyota has received reports that a small number 146,228 of 2001-2004 Tacoma's operated in severe cold climate areas. 20 states listed with high road salt use exhibited excessive rust corrosion to the frame, causing perforation of the metal". well if your frame is perforated. Wouldn't this be a major safety issue!!!! I never received any of the cover letters. I had the vehicle in for service on 8/30/11 @ prestige Toyota again why wasn't the inspection done and corrosion-resistant compound applied. When lsc 90D was passed on 4/1/2011. My family and I where subjected to frame failure which could have resulted in death. I used to use this truck for business, now what do I use it for scrap metal? how do I service my customers and pickup material with out this truck.which I"M paying for until 11/14. Please report to Consumer Affairs also and BBB. I believe the frame on your vehicle is the major structure of your vehicle which every thing is attached to. This vehicle was bought new in glens falls, NY. So it has always been in NY one of the 20 states listed on lsc 90D service bulletin. Toyota received 25 million from dana Corp.

- Red Hook, NY, USA

problem #5

Dec 032012

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2004 Toyota Tacoma. Consumer writes in regards to brake line rupture. The consumer stated the dealer would not replace the brake line under warranty, because the frame caused the brake line to rupture. Toyota informed the consumer, a recall was issued in 2010, where the frame was supposed to be sprayed and treated. The consumer was informed the extended warranty had expired.

- Kermit, WV, USA

problem #4

Oct 042012

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles
I just traded my harley davidson E-glide for a 2004 Toyota Tacoma. Unfortunately I didn't know about the frame issues! the frame and everything is rusted beyond repair. I called my local Toyota dealer and they said that the recall for the frame issues was over. In my opinion Toyota should honor the recall as long as their product is out to the public! I love the truck but just don't want to drive because of the safety issues of how bad the frame and all components are! I would appreciate all the help I can get.

- Bridgeport, WV, USA

problem #3

Oct 032012

Tacoma

  • 147,000 miles
2004 Toyota Tacoma with 147,000 miles failed state inspection and deemed unsafe to drive due to rusted and perforated frame. This frame was one bought by Toyota from the dana corporation. Toyota won a lawsuit over this poor quality frame, and has bought back all '95-'99 Toyota with this frame, and replaced frames on '00-'04 trucks. Toyota is stating that our Tacoma does not qualify for the extended warranty put out on these affected frames, as it was not undercoated as part of their prevention program. However, it has been documented that the undercoating was ineffective, and the frames continued to rust out and needed to be replaced. We feel strongly that Toyota should offer the extended warranty to all trucks affected by this faulty constructed frame. Toyota is reporting that they can do nothing further to help in this case, despite that it is an otherwise well equipped and strongly running truck, which has had ongoing and consistent routine maintenance. They are now indicating that a '04 Tacoma with 147,000 is only valued at $500.

- Fremont, NH, USA

problem #2

Dec 212006

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 14,500 miles
Heavy snows in Colorado during December,2006 forced many vehicle drivers to drive in unusually heavy drifts. The rear skid plate on newer Toyota Tacoma 4X4 trucks can bend and peel away from the frame when the vehicle is driven in deep drifts in reverse. When the vehicle is then driven forward, the bent skid plate acts as a baffle against snow, causing the truck to swerve and become difficult to maneuver and control. The skid plate is poorly designed for deep snow driving. It is held onto the frame by two small bolts in the front and by nothing in the rear. The owner of the vehicle removed the bent skid plate and has informed Toyota. The part is available.

- Centennial, CO, USA

problem #1

Aug 302004

Tacoma Diesel

  • Automatic transmission
  • 7,000 miles
While driving 45 mph passenger's side under body caught on fire. No injuries reported. As a result, the vehicle was considered a total loss.

- Hilo, HI, USA

Not what you are looking for?