Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
28 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
7 / 0
Average Mileage:
59,212 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Tacoma engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #59

Oct 282010

Tacoma

  • 82,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The vehicle in question, 2005 Toyota Tacoma, continued to accelerate after releasing the accelerator pedal. I repeatedly depressed the brake pedal to no avail as the vehicle rammed into a chain link fence. The fence slowed the momentum of the vehicle as vehicle acceleration continued. I then completely remove my foot up from the brake and hit the brake very hard at least two to three times until the accelerator finally broke loose and acceleration stopped. The vehicle did not show any sign of a problem prior to the accelerator hanging up. It just occurred randomly.

- Lansing, NC, USA

problem #58

Dec 182006

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while the driver was operating the vehicle approximately 50 mph on an icy road, the vehicle suddenly moved sideways. The vehicle moved into a ditch, hit a pipe, and continued moving although the driver depressed the brake pedal until it hit a stump and then a tree. The vehicle seemed to accelerate during the accident. The driver was injured and a police report was filed. The vehicle had not been inspected or repaired. The contact called the dealer and the manufacturer but received no call backs until 10/29/2010. The current and failure mileages were approximately 30,000. Updated 03/02/11 updated 05/09/11

- The Dalles, OR, USA

problem #57

Sep 232010

Tacoma

  • 43,250 miles
Several months ago we received a recall notice on our 2005 Toyota Tacoma. We took the truck to champion Toyota austin tx on Thursday Sept 23 2010 to have it repaired under the recall. When my wife picked up the truck later she immediately noticed that the lower half of the pedal had been cut off and that she was not able to safely drive the vehicle, her foot cannot reach the accelerator pedal. We contacted the dealership the same afternoon, and since then have tried to get this resolved by phone and email. We have been told repeatedly by Toyota that nothing can be done. This repair is unsafe. We live about 5 miles from the dealer. My wife was almost rear ended on the way home when her foot slipped off the pedal. Our biggest safety concern is that she now has to move the seat so far forward to reach the accelerator that her chest is in contact with the steering wheel - airbag.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #56

May 122010

Tacoma

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

As the vehicle was stopped in the parking spot it suddenly accelerated on its own. I applied as much pressure as possible but it continued to move forward. I proceeded 8 to 10 feet between a pine tree and satellite dish and additional 25 feet before the acceleration stopped. I believe in the course of the situation I slightly moved my foot to exert more pressure which in turn disengaged the malfunction. Deep ruts were visible at the scene of the accident.

- Hampden, MA, USA

problem #55

Jul 012010

Tacoma

  • 114,690 miles
2nd time a gas pedal stuck on my 2005 Toyota Tacoma truck leading to a 2nd collision with property damage to my truck & the car in front of me. Coming up to a red light with plenty of room to stop on a flat rd. There where skid marks from my truck and I had both feet on the brake and the engine increased inspeed. The dealer still does not have the parts to repair this problem even after my first accident in June of last year and again in July of this year. Toyota said they would turn it over to there legal dept. And the truck was to be inspected by a engineering firm from the West. The inspection firm was in a hurry to inspect the truck and called in July now they won't return my calls. This firm was hired by Toyota. Also during the repair it was found that the air bag had shorted out and did not deploy. If you have one of Toyota's trucks on the recall list be very careful and don't expect any help from the dealer or Toyota fixing the problem. As I said it is the 2nd time for both items to fail.

- Marco Island, FL, USA

problem #54

Aug 092010

Tacoma

  • 40,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact was stopped on a bridge with the brakes depressed when there was an abnormal increase in engine rpms. The vehicle then began to independently creep forward. The contact depressed the brakes but to no avail. The vehicle then accelerated and although the contact applied extreme force to the brake pedal, the vehicle proceeded to crash into another vehicle. The contact shifted into neutral and turned the vehicle off. There were no injuries. The vehicle was undamaged. The manufacturer advised that the failure was caused by the floor mats and referred the contact to the local dealer. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure and advised the vehicle was safe to drive. The current and failure mileages were approximately 40,000.

- Berkley, MA, USA

problem #53

May 232010

Tacoma

  • 94,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that when she attempted to stop the vehicle, it suddenly accelerated. The contact depressed the brake pedal but the vehicle did not stop until it crashed into a wall. The vehicle was being inspected by the dealer when the complaint was filed. The current and failure mileages were approximately 94,000.

- Tempe, AZ, USA

problem #52

May 252010

Tacoma

  • 61,000 miles
10/27/05, 12/05 & 5/25/10 little or no acceleration. 10/23/09 stepped on brake but it accelerated instead of stopping & almost got killed. 11/18/09, 12/16/09 & 1/16/09 throttle sticks & engine races kept foot on brake & immediately threw it into neutral so it wouldn't take off again. Toyota keeps repairing but these problems keep recurring at our expense case #[xxx]. information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Lutz, FL, USA

problem #51

Jan 102010

Tacoma

  • 69,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. He stated that the driver's side floor mat was secured by two 1.5 inch hooks. The hooks were able to spin around completely over a 3-inch radius, catching only in one direction to prevent the floor mat from moving. While entering the vehicle, the contact's foot would grip the floor mat and due to the movement in the hooks, the floor mats would move forward becoming stuck under the accelerator pedal. He had this several times while getting in and out of the vehicle; however, there were no unintended acceleration incidents due to the failure of the floor mats. The dealer could not provide a remedy for the failure although they did state that they were aware of the frequency of the issue. The contact stated that the floor mat dual hooks were poorly designed and was concerned with possible pedal entrapment. The failure and current mileages were 69,000.

- College Station, TX, USA

problem #50

Mar 102010

Tacoma

  • 65,000 miles
The third of three incidences occurred on 3-10-10 while traversing a parking lot which, at the time of the accident, I thought sloped down into a lower parking lot. At the edge of the upper parking lot it became apparent that there was a two to three foot vertical drop into the lower lot. I applied the brakes and continued over the edge. Upon impact with the lower lot, the vehicle accelerated and, after swerving to avoid a parked vehicle, became uncontrollable. This resulted in the vehicle making impact with a building on the edge of the parking lot.

- King Of Prussia, PA, USA

problem #49

Mar 082010

Tacoma

  • 30,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns 2005 Toyota Tacoma. While placing the vehicle in the park position, there was a sudden increase in engine rpms and the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. The vehicle crashed into a wall causing moderate damage to the front end. There were no injuries. A police report was filed. The vehicle was able to be driven away from the scene and it was taken to the dealer. The dealer attempted to duplicate the failure but to no avail. The manufacturer could not be contacted. The insurance company refused assistance since a claim was not filed. The failure mileage was 30,000 and the current mileage was unknown.

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #48

Mar 052010

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 92,300 miles
I was skeptical about this brake override until the sudden acceleration actually happened to me on 3/5/2010. I was on the freeway traveling 50 mph in moderate traffic when a construction truck decided to turn into my lane. I gave it a quick punch to avoid a collision when I felt my RPM's kept climbing as I was no longer on the pedal. I panicked and tried to apply the brakes to no response, so I tapped the shifter into neutral. At this point my car is still accelerating in redline. Finally, the car snaps out of it and I have control again. I slow down, shift back into D and continue my commute to school. In the past, I have noticed a few times there have been a slight lunge in acceleration just after the transmission switches gears. I love my Tacoma. I have been in denial and have been hoping, wishing that there isn't a problem. But for the safety of myself and my passengers, I am going to make sure this problem is noted before anyone one gets hurt. I would hate for anything serious to happen and leave people wondering. I feel the need to report this complaint. Could this be something as simple as a stuck throttle body? I hope the resolution to this will be simple and rewarding, I would hate to give up this truck. Toyota Tacoma 2005 access cab 4.0 V6 ~90,000 miles at time of incident owned current vehicle from August 2009 up to present date March 6, 2010.

- Santa Ana, CA, USA

problem #47

Jun 192009

Tacoma

  • 79,773 miles
We purchased a 2005 Tacoma pick-up in 2005. My husband has had two experiences with the pick-up accelerating on its own, at full throttle, without his foot on the throttle at all. Only after turning the engine off did it stop. This took place in 2006 & 2007. He contacted the Toyota dealership that we purchased it from and were told they had not heard of anything like that happening. We gave the truck to our son in August of 2008. In June of 2009, the truck accelerated to full throttle, while in reverse, going maybe 5mph. He had his feet on the brake and the tires were smoking. Luckily, he was able to stop it. We now have a 2008 Tacoma pickup and a 2009 corolla car in our possession. We're very concerned about what is going on. We would appreciate you looking at the Tacoma pick-up for more than the floor mat recall. We have had this happen to our family and we want the problem solved. I have sent an email to Toyota on their web site telling them of our experience with the Tacoma pickup. Thank you.

- Marysville, CA, USA

problem #46

Dec 122009

Tacoma

  • 52,000 miles
Sudden acceleration in a 2005 Toyota Tacoma prerunner causing loss of control and collision with a Kentucky fried chicken building. Vehicle was a total loss. Three occupants apparently unhurt.

- Boca Raton, FL, USA

problem #45

Mar 012009

Tacoma

  • 28,000 miles
While driving down the freeway at approx. 65mph the vehicle accelerated, as we don't often drive our vehicle it has only occurred 2-3 times(between 2008-2009), fortunately we have always been a reasonable distance from other vehicles when the truck "takes off"(it is like you gunned the gas pedal). After the acceleration the truck just slows back down. We received a recall notice for the floor mat issue, which this is not the issue, it stated we would be informed as to when we should bring the vehicle in for that repair. So far no other contact has been made. With bringing this acceleration concern to the attention of the dealer, we were informed that although the 95 Tacoma are not in the accelerator recall, they would look at the gas peddle and replace it if needed at our expense minus labor costs. I see now that this may not even fix the problem. Should I bother having this repair done?

- Key West, FL, USA

problem #44

Mar 072008

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
2005 Toyota Tacoma, 4X4, 4 door, long bed, 4.0 L, V6, EFI. March 7, 2008 truck was totaled in roll over. 3 incidents took place with 3 different people. Owner and accident victim, police officers at the times of each incident. Both have had driver training and are experienced drivers. 3rd person is experienced driver who has driver training that is experienced driving cars, trucks, buses, semi trucks. Driver has cdl(bus) and has been driving for many years. Owner had 1st incident, gas pedal stuck and driver had to put truck into neutral and then hit gas pedal 2 times with foot about 6 to 10 times total to get it to disengage itself. On the 2nd attempt to hit the gas pedal, pedal was pushed all the way to the floor hard. 2nd incident, driver had cruise control set at about 58 mph. Driver tapped brake pedal to turn off the cruise control and then the engine started to race and the truck picked up speed. Driver put truck into neutral and had to hit gas pedal and drive pedal all the way to the floor to get it to stop racing. Driver took truck to dealer with end 2 weeks for oil change and told them of incident. They checked truck and found no cause or problem with the truck. 3rd incident took place on March 7, 2008. Driver had cruise control set at about 64 mph. Driver tapped brake pedal to turn off the cruise control. The truck engine then started to race and the truck started to fish tail. Driver hit brake pedal again and the truck went from passing lane off the right side of roadway and hit a ditch and rolled 3 to 5 times. Truck came to rest on its roof. Driver was seat belted in and had to turn key off to get the truck to stop the engine from racing. Tires were in very good shape in 3rd incident and in all incidents floor mat was not stuck in gas pedal and had no part in incidents. 3rd incident road way was wet and it started sleeting at the time of rollover wreck. Roadway was not snow covered. All incidents took place on 4 lane roadways.

- Piketon, OH, USA

problem #43

Feb 272010

Tacoma

  • 68,100 miles
I was driving about 40 miles per hour my 2005 Toyota Tacoma on the freeway in light rain. The steering completely went out of control and my truck began fishtailing. I tapped on the brakes lightly but the truck continued accelerating faster. I ended up hitting the concrete barrier and was placed in the ambulance. I now suffer from lower back and possible torn ligaments in the neck. Before the accident there has been a couple of incident where the steering veers of for no reason and sometimes the steering shakes when I drive.

- San Diego, CA, USA

problem #42

Nov 172006

Tacoma

  • 35,072 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact was driving approximately 60 mph and stated that the vehicle suddenly accelerated out of control into heavy traffic. The driver had to maneuver into the emergency lane, shift into neutral and turn off the ignition. He re-started the vehicle and took the vehicle to the dealership. The dealer told the contact that the accelerator pedal must have been stuck beside the floor mat but the driver saw no entrapment during the failure. The dealer told them that there was nothing they could do after inspecting the failure and finding no cause. She had not called the manufacturer to-date. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The current mileage was approximately 100,000. The failure mileage was 35,072.

- New Braunfels, TX, USA

problem #41

Jan 022010

Tacoma

  • 90,000 miles
2005 Toyota Tacoma truck would accelerate, going uphill. I was able to gain control by braking. Cruise control was not on. This has occurred over 10 times.

- Clarksville, MD, USA

problem #40

Feb 012005

Tacoma

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. When he sets the cruise control at 65mph the rpms will increase from 2,000 to 5,000. He took the vehicle to the dealer for the failure several times. The dealer stated they did not locate a failure and nothing was wrong with the vehicle. The manufacturer took a report and sent an inspector to the dealer and the investigator concluded the vehicle was built that way and the vehicle was normal. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 52,000.

- Clinton , SC, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?