Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
187,838 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Tacoma fuel system problems

fuel system problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments

problem #5

May 062014

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 85,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that after refueling, one of the fuel tank straps fractured as a result of corrosion. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 85,000. Updated 06/17/14 the consumer stated one of the two straps that secured the gas tank failed under the weight of the tank. The tank was tilted as a result. The strap failed as a result of corrosion. Updated 06/24/14

- Painted Post , NY, USA

problem #4

Feb 202014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 132,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while driving approximately 5 mph and making a left turn, an abnormal noise was heard from under the body of the vehicle. The contact later discovered that the metal straps used to secure the fuel tank to the vehicle had rusted and fractured, causing the right front section of the fuel tank to hang from the vehicle. The contact also indicated that the fractured metal strap would make contact with the drive shaft whenever the contact was making a left turn. The vehicle was not diagnosed or repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 132,000...updated 04-22-14 the consumer stated the dealer was charging him $1900 to fix the problem. Two more straps broke, when the dealer put the vehicle on the rack, which caused the tank to fall pulling out the gas lines and wiring, as well as cracking the tank. Updated 04/23/14.

- Berry, KY, USA

problem #3

Jul 012010

Tacoma

  • 114,690 miles
2nd time a gas pedal stuck on my 2005 Toyota Tacoma truck leading to a 2nd collision with property damage to my truck & the car in front of me. Coming up to a red light with plenty of room to stop on a flat rd. There where skid marks from my truck and I had both feet on the brake and the engine increased inspeed. The dealer still does not have the parts to repair this problem even after my first accident in June of last year and again in July of this year. Toyota said they would turn it over to there legal dept. And the truck was to be inspected by a engineering firm from the West. The inspection firm was in a hurry to inspect the truck and called in July now they won't return my calls. This firm was hired by Toyota. Also during the repair it was found that the air bag had shorted out and did not deploy. If you have one of Toyota's trucks on the recall list be very careful and don't expect any help from the dealer or Toyota fixing the problem. As I said it is the 2nd time for both items to fail.

- Marco Island, FL, USA

problem #2

Oct 302009

Tacoma

  • 600,000 miles
I received a recall notification from Toyota in October of 2009 for accelerator pedals sticking to carpet. The letter from Toyota stated they would contact me on what to do next to get it fixed. Its February 12, 2010 and I have heard nothing from them about what to do on this issue.

- Chandler , AZ, USA

problem #1

Dec 202005

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 7,500 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tacoma. The contact smelled asphyxiate gas fumes when cold starting the vehicle. The dealer was unable to diagnose or duplicate the failure. The current mileage is 8,000, and the failure mileage is unknown. There were no warning indicators. The consumer provided a copy of repair invoice. The dealer stated creak sound clutch pedal when depressed and difficulty putting into 4WD, but factory never able to duplicate the problem. Updated 07/06/07

- Ilion, NY, USA

Not what you are looking for?