Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
75,173 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Tacoma miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments

problem #20

Jan 202016

Tacoma

  • 90,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this truck about a year ago. I recently heard of a settlement regarding rusty frames. My truck has one, very bad and I need to know how to proceed to get this fixed or traded in.

- Bellingham, WA, USA

problem #19

Aug 192016

Tacoma

  • 213,000 miles
On fridayaugust19 2016 as I was driving my 2005 Toyota Tacoma a rattle developed in my front end. Come to find out the frame on my truck had rotted leaving the front stabilizer hanging. With this I had called Toyota corporate on Monday the 22 were I was told an advisor would contact me within 24 hrs. During that time I had put out a call to balise Toyota in West springfield MA. Were I take my truck for service. I had spoke to the service manager and was told there was nothing Toyota would do for me pertaining to the rusted frame on my vehicle due to it having the frame coated during their campaign in 2013. I then received call from advisor assigned to me through corporate were I was also told the same thing. Heres my view, yes I got the coating in 2013 were it made the frame even worse once it came off. My truck is now a safety issue. Not either of the Toyota reps even offered to look at the truck or showed any concern about my safety. They claim there was a dead line on the replacement frames ending on March of 2015. Question how do you put a deadline on something which is going to happen in time possibly resulting in injury or even death. Toyota made a big mistake with the manufacturing of these frames and everyone knows this. They need to be liable and take responsibility for their mistake. I even have past service records were Toyota has given the green light on my frame/bolts. Their advisor would only say we don't recommend you driving your vehicle after I asked her what would happen if I was to drive my vehicle and the frame failed resulting in injury or death. They praise customer safety on their web sites, this is hardly the case.

- West Springfield, MA, USA

problem #18

Jul 102016

Tacoma

  • 175,000 miles
The frame of the vehicle has significant rust and holes rotted through it. I contacted Toyota and was told that they had offered a "limited service campaign". I never received a mailing regarding this campaign. After filing a complaint and receiving a case number I was contacted and told that the limited service campaign had expired and Toyota "will not extend the warranty or offer any assistance". I was also told that since I had acknowledged the problem Toyota was not liable for any future damages, injury, or death. It is unacceptable that Toyota acknowledges their own manufacturing defect but then will not help their customers after a set deadline. Who decided that a Tacoma owner's safety does not matter after a set date? these vehicles are no longer safe to drive and will fail state inspections, rendering them useless without the owners paying huge amounts of the money to fix a poor quality frame that Toyota admitted was their fault. I have filed a complaint with the better business bureau. Toyota responded: "good morning: The extended warranty frame program for 2005-2008 Tacoma vehicles ended on 3/31/16. An authorized Toyota dealer needed to inspect the frame by 3/31/16 for vehicle to be eligible for a frame replacement." There are hundreds of other Tacoma owners filing similar complaints with BBB and with NHTSA, proving that this is not an isolated incident and Toyota needs to stand behind their products and make things right by continuing the limited service campaign and repairing/replacing the inferior vehicle frames that they sold to the public.

- Gales Ferry, CT, USA

problem #17

Mar 102016

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The owner of the Toyota Tacoma received a safety recall notice informing the owner that certain Toyota vehicles from the year 2005 -2011 has had a defect with rear leaf spring. The owner immediately went to Toyota of bowie, Maryland he informed them the notice he received in March. He has called the manager several times during the last 4 months to give an update of the parts. It's been 4 months the car hasn't been fixed.

- Riverdale, MD, USA

problem #16

Mar 012015

Tacoma

  • 90,000 miles
Toyota - NHTSA recall: 14V-604 rear leaf spring. I received this recall notice over a year ago. When we took the truck in last year, they fixed the other recall notices but we were told that "the manufacturer is trying to decide what to do on the leaf spring." I received another notice a year later and called the dealer again today. I was told that they didn't have the part on hand but would call me when one came in. Futhermore they said it was a first come first served situation. In terms of risk, this recall may not be likely to become an issue but it has catastrophic results if it does. It is my son's truck so I'm deeply concerned. Can you help me to increase the urgency? the dealership I'm attempting to work with is Toyota of North charlotte.

- Huntersville, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #15

Apr 262016

Tacoma

  • 163,000 miles
Rusted tow hitch! as I wait for a replacement frame, due to a recent recall, I inquired about the heavily rusted, factory installed, tow hitch. I bought the truck to haul a 3,000+ lbs boat and seeing how the rust could jeopardize normal operations, and perhaps cause an accident, worries me a lot. I was told the hitch is not covered yet if I bought one it could be installed, free of charge, while swapping the frame. I feel as the hitch rust is due to the same reason as the frame and so it should be exchanged as well. The service manager walked me to the part dept. And the hitch (w/O wires) cost $411. Even the manager asked if it was gold platted. If there is no fix by Toyota, I would be willing to pay half of the price but not all. Toyota: Please look into this!

- Westminster, MD, USA

problem #14

Dec 282015

Tacoma

  • 54,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was driving down the road when I heard a loud noise ! I thought some kids threw. Rock at my truck! that is what it sounded like to me. A loud whack!! looked around, saw no one. I later read after receiving notice from Toyota about a leaf spring recall. This was one of the symptoms that was reported by others with this problem. Took it in for an inspection and they called me a day later and the dealer told me it was unsafe to drive and that it needed a new frame! said I needed to leave it there, since it was unsafe to drive and gave me a corolla to drive. Dropped it off Jan 4,2016. I stopped into the service dept 7 weeks later to see if the frame was in yet and they told me it was on order. After further questioning the admitted to me that the manufacturer of the frames had to get so many orders on record to even get started producing them. I have a truck that I can't even drive!!

- Fort Wayne, IN, USA

problem #13

Aug 082015

Tacoma

  • 95,000 miles
Limited service campaign initiated by Toyota summer 2014 for premature rusting of frames in cold weather states were road salt is the used. Instructed to take vehicle in to local dealership to have inspected for possible perforation of frame. If no perforation seen, a corrosion resistant kit would be installed/performed on the frame and returned to the customer. In my particular case, vehicle was taken into dealership on August 25th 2014 for inspection, it appeared no perforation was noted by service tech performing service on my vehicle. The corrosion resistant kit was applied and vehicle returned to me on August 27th 2014. Vehicle was taken back to dealership for service on August 10, 2015 and at that time vehicle was noted to have perforation of frame by service tech. This limited service campaign was still in effect until March 31, 2016. Toyota was notified of perforation of frame and initially said a new frame would be ordered and would arrive in 120-160 days and I would be notified when it arrived. I called dealership in February 2016 and was told Toyota denied new frame due to already having the corrosion resistant kit completed. I called Toyota and the case managers I talked to both said due to the corrosion resistant kit being applied, Toyota had fulfilled the obligation to the customer and they would not be able to do anything else to help me out at this time. I ask if this could be a safety issue with the frame rusting and getting holes in it and was told yes it could be a safety issue. I was not happy about the situation and was told there was nothing more they could do. I stated I was going to file a complaint with the national highway traffic safety administation. The case manager said I should as the NHTSA approved the solution to the problems Toyota had presented to them for this limited service campaign. Truck won't last long like this.

- Portage, MI, USA

problem #12

May 052015

Tacoma

  • 130,000 miles
My truck frame is rusting abnormally. Toyota's official inspection found no holes >10mm.- no further action. The frame is bad. The corrosion I would guess is secondary to bad steel-not enough nickel" is there a standard for steel in this application" I need your help. I can't get Toyota to do the right thing on my own. Much sooner than it should this vehicle will be unsafe to drive. I mean a well maintained car (which this is) shouldn't be having this kind of problem. I mean the frame is rotting away. Something very wrong from the beginning. Dana mfg.? this has nothing to do with warranty and limits of liability. This truck came off the line defective. It just took a while to show. Appreciate your attention and any assistance you may provide.

- Santa Fe, NM, USA

problem #11

Sep 152015

Tacoma

  • 109,000 miles
Noise and vibration present towards front of vehicle, consistent with front, sealed wheel bearing failure, that increased over time and with increased speed. With total failure, the problem could have resulting in loss of control of the vehicle. Currently the vehicle is in the shop for necessary replacement of the bearing.

- Kingfisher,, OK, USA

problem #10

Apr 242015

Tacoma

  • 145,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota sent me a limited service notice informing me that my truck may have more than normal corrosion on the frame. I brought my truck to the dealership to inspect it and they confirmed there is more than a normal amount of corrosion on my frame. In fact they said they punched a hole in my frame while performing the test. Later the dealership informed me that Toyota would only cover the cost to replace the frame and limited components, and if certain items break (like shocks, calipers, mufflers, etc.) during the replacement I would be responsible to cover these items. I was told these costs could be as high as $1,500. At this point they are not willing to take responsibility for the entire repair, leaving me with an unsafe vehicle to commute in. I believe they should be responsible to cover all of these items.

- Highlands Ranch, CO, USA

problem #9

Oct 272014

Tacoma

  • miles
Frame is rusted and we have waited since October 27 of 2014 with no notification from dealer as they are supposed to replace it under warranty Toyota recalled this May 8th of 2014: Limited service campaign E0D (specific 20 cold climate states only) - certain 2005-2008 model year Tacoma vehicles - corrosion-resistant compound application to the vehicle's frame the vehicle was inspected by hurlbert Toyota epping nh 03042 on 10/27/2014 and nothing has come from them.

- Peterborough, NH, USA

problem #8

May 302014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 137,000 miles
After repair of 2 recalls-spiral cable and seat belt, a whining noise started after starting the engine. The whine gets louder as during acceleration. The whine was not there before the repair of the two recalls.

- Tehachapi, CA, USA

problem #7

Mar 072008

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 67,000 miles
2005 Toyota Tacoma, 4X4, 4 door, long bed, 4.0 L, V6, EFI. March 7, 2008 truck was totaled in roll over. 3 incidents took place with 3 different people. Owner and accident victim, police officers at the times of each incident. Both have had driver training and are experienced drivers. 3rd person is experienced driver who has driver training that is experienced driving cars, trucks, buses, semi trucks. Driver has cdl(bus) and has been driving for many years. Owner had 1st incident, gas pedal stuck and driver had to put truck into neutral and then hit gas pedal 2 times with foot about 6 to 10 times total to get it to disengage itself. On the 2nd attempt to hit the gas pedal, pedal was pushed all the way to the floor hard. 2nd incident, driver had cruise control set at about 58 mph. Driver tapped brake pedal to turn off the cruise control and then the engine started to race and the truck picked up speed. Driver put truck into neutral and had to hit gas pedal and drive pedal all the way to the floor to get it to stop racing. Driver took truck to dealer with end 2 weeks for oil change and told them of incident. They checked truck and found no cause or problem with the truck. 3rd incident took place on March 7, 2008. Driver had cruise control set at about 64 mph. Driver tapped brake pedal to turn off the cruise control. The truck engine then started to race and the truck started to fish tail. Driver hit brake pedal again and the truck went from passing lane off the right side of roadway and hit a ditch and rolled 3 to 5 times. Truck came to rest on its roof. Driver was seat belted in and had to turn key off to get the truck to stop the engine from racing. Tires were in very good shape in 3rd incident and in all incidents floor mat was not stuck in gas pedal and had no part in incidents. 3rd incident road way was wet and it started sleeting at the time of rollover wreck. Roadway was not snow covered. All incidents took place on 4 lane roadways.

- Piketon, OH, USA

problem #6

Jun 042008

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 15,800 miles
I am a 63 year old white female who owns a 2205 Toyota Tacoma, automatic transmission, two-wheel drive, king cab, purchased in October of 2005 at the prestige Toyota dealership in kingston, New York. The Tacoma presently has 15,800 miles on it and has been impeccably maintained. Since the first time I drove this vehicle the engine "raced" when started up. I brought this immediately to the attention of the dealership and they indicated that I should "wait for a moment then engage the gear" and that would stop the revving motor. I was never comfortable with the way it sounded when started up, however, sometimes it was quieter. Nonetheless I felt that I had a safe, dependable vehicle and all the "reports" written about it indicated this was the case. On Tuesday morning, June 4, 2008, I was driving North on route 212 from woodstock, New York to saugerties, New York. About three miles from home, on route 212, the engine surged and revved up so intensely that it terrified me! the noise and speed were overwhelming. I knew in a nanosecond that I had to pull over and turn the engine off. There was a culvert at the side of the road and I knew the vehicle would turn over if I tried to exit there. I stepped on the brakes at this same moment and there weren't any! I tried several times to brake to no avail. There was a Saab dealership just up the road which had a fence along the road edge and a telephone pole. I made a split-second decision to down-shift into the lowest gear and hit the emergency brake pedal! if I couldn't stop I would have veered right, into the fence, and if I couldn't make that - as there was traffic behind me - I would head for the telephone pole to stop the vehicle! terrifying! I was able to come to a stop thirty feet from the telephone pole - barely. A near-death experience to be sure! an internet search that evening for a problem with this vehicle came up clearly - sudden unintended acceleration! period!

- Woodstock, NY, USA

problem #5

Apr 172007

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 2,000 miles
The paint on my vehicle is highly vulnerable to chipping and peeling. The base seems very thin and there are hundreds of chips in the paint, causing the vehicle to rust. It seems to be a very common problem. I live in the midwest and we don't use sand when it snows, so it is not road conditions, just everyday driving that is causing the problem.

- Chicago, IL, USA

problem #4

May 082006

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,400 miles
I have excessive paint chipping problems on a 2005 speedway blue Toyota Tacoma double cab trd sport SR5 V6 4WD. I've owned for less than (1) year and there are over (100) paint chips on: Hood, fenders, bumpers, rockers, doors, and bed. There are (0) scratches on this truck, and the factory skid plates are still chip/scratch/dent free. Chips go down past primer. This truck has never been driven off-road. Only driven on highways and city streets.

- Piqua, OH, USA

problem #3

Aug 312005

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 1,359 miles
2005 Toyota Tacoma xtra cab 4X4. Passenger side carpet area was discovered wet at around 1379 miles. Took to dealer and they discovered that hose connection on the evaporator box had cracked off where the drain hose connects to the box. Had to order and replace the lower part of the box, which required complete removal of front dash. Subsequent problem with windshield vents was repaired after return and discovery that vent was not properly reconnected when front dash was reinstalled.

- Chromo, CO, USA

problem #2

May 312005

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,896 miles
The consumer purchased the vehicle on May 31, 2005 and says the air from the engine was entering the cab of vehicle. This happens every time he uses the vent. It has been doing this from the day he bought it. He said he couldn't figure out why the vented air was so hot. Dealer will not return his calls and say the problem is consistent with the vehicle. Manufacturer says they will look at the vehicle. Caller can't get a loaner vehicle while his is being looked at. The consumer was told the problem can't be fixed because it is an engineering defect and is not easy to fix. The consumer was concerned about the fumes being inhaled into his lungs.

- Carpinteria, CA, USA

problem #1

Mar 012005

Tacoma

  • miles
This is not really a safety defect as it is just a problem with the paint on my brand new vehicle. I own a 2005 Toyota Tacoma access cab with the offroad package and only 2 months after I bought the vehicle I noticed some severe paint chipping on my vehicle. After 4 months I am still no further ahead with the problem then what I was at the beginning.

- Catalina, 00, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?