Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
91,821 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 3 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #54

Oct 312013

Tacoma

  • 130,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Whiled I was driving I went over a bump in the road. The fan on my truck started making a loud noise. I took the vehicle to a repair shop to be checked. This I when I found out that the frame on my 2005 Toyota Tacoma was cracked and caving in where the motor mounts attach to the frame. This caused the motor to drop down and the fan started hitting on the shroud. Also it pierced a hole in my upper oil pan when the motor dropped down and hit the rack and pinion. Upon research there are many many cases of this happening to the 2005 -2006 Tacoma trucks. This is clearly a safety issue that Toyota refuses to fix.

- Panaca, NV, USA

problem #53

Jun 012014

Tacoma

  • miles
I have been experiencing significant rusting of my frame. I have complained to Toyota about it with little satisfaction. I also waiting excessively about rear leaf springs recall notices. Remedy taking too long. I also issues with tsb but Toyota placing burden on owner, not company.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #52

Jul 172015

Tacoma

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer per the service bulletin to be diagnosed and repaired; however, it did not pass the failure test. The contact was advised by the dealer to bring in the vehicle twice for the inspection because the frame was in really bad shape. The suggestion from the manufacturer was to apply a rust inhibitive coating, but the dealer stated that due to the heavy rusting a coating would not deter the vehicle from fracturing. The VIN and service bulletin number were not available. The failure mileage was 110,000.

- Barnstable, MA, USA

problem #51

Jan 142015

Tacoma

  • 52,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Got recall notice in December of 2014 for defective rear leaf springs. Also got notice in December of 2014 of service campaign to fix corrosion on frame of vehicle. Called dealer was told to come in for inspection. Dealer determined that my frame was in very bad condition corrosion and rust and that I would need to have the frame replaced. Said they would fix and replace the rear leaf srings at the same time they replace frame this inspection took place on wed January 14th 2015.my truck has very low mileage its a 2006 and I have only 60,000 miles on it. After waiting months to hear from dealer I called Toyota, they told me in April that they wer still waiting for parts. I filed a case number with Toyota, called them back on June 15th 2015 after hearing nothing from them. Now on June 15th 2015 they tell me they are still waiting for parts. Meanwhile the safety recall says that the rear leaf spring could snap and rupture my gas tank. I need help with this

- Bayonne, NJ, USA

problem #50

Mar 172015

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 88,090 miles
After relocating to daly city, ca. 94015 ( pacific coast area ) about a 1.5 year ago. I noticed the frame of my 2006 Toyota Tacoma started to exhibit some corrosion throughout. Upon some research online, Toyota has initiated a limited service campaign "E0D" in the following states: Ct de il in ky MA md me mi mn nh NJ NY oh pa ri va vt wi wv & D.C. to address this problem. For 05-08 Tacoma vehicles operated in specific cold climate areas with high road salt use, may exhibit more than normal corrosion to the frame. An authorized dealer will inspect the frame. If significant rust perforation is not found*, corrosion-resistant compounds (crc) will be applied to key areas of the frame. If an authorized dealer confirms the frame has significant rust perforation*, an appropriate remedy will be provided. The problem is question here shouldn't only be addressed to vehicles located in the states above, but a safety issue that should apply to all 2005-2008 models affected nationwide. Pacific coast areas may not experience high road salt usage, but there are other climate elements like salt moisture from the pacific ocean that can also accelerate corrosion in metal frames if it's not well designed or coated. This issue affects the core of the vehicle frame and its integrity during normal operation and in an event of an accident. If Toyota believes their 05-08 Tacoma models are having corrosion issues in the above states, why it's not a problem for those living close to coastal areas with high salt moisture like daly city, san francisco, pacific, half noon bay and cities in proximity to the coast. Thank you for taking the time to review my concerns.

- Daly City, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #49

Nov 032014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
I noticed heavy corrosion on my truck's frame and took it to my local dealer for a check. They stated that there was serious corrosion but no perforation and Toyota would only replace the frame if it was perforated; however, Toyota had extended the frame warranty to 15 years and I should return annually for checks. A few months later I found a perforation in the frame due to corrosion and returned to the dealership for verification. They sent the information to Toyota along with pictures but were told that no service campaign exists for my truck. In fact a service campaign does exist in md where I am from and where the truck was primarily driven until less than 2 years ago but Toyota refuses to replace their defective frame since my registration is not currently in md. This frame corrosion is inappropriate and has rendered my truck valueless and unsafe to drive.

- Slidell, LA, USA

problem #48

Mar 142012

Tacoma

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The clear coat started flaking then the paint and now the primmer is coming off leaving bare metal and rust on hood, cab, and now on doors and fenders. If hand washed the layers can and do cut or stick in you skin so do not have children wash or go through any fundraiser car washes for fear of injuring someones child. Toyota said that their would not be a recall for paint due to it not being a safety issue, I guess having paint products in-beaded in your skin is fine an safe.

- Las Cruces, NM, USA

problem #47

Jan 212015

Tacoma

  • 185,000 miles
I have a 2006 Tacoma that I bought used and it had the limited service campaign E0D (under coating) applied over the rusting frame and was told that Toyota will not replace the frame even when it rots through. This is very unsafe and Toyota should be held liable for this and forced to replace the frame.

- Bridgewater, MA, USA

problem #46

Nov 012014

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • miles
There has been limited service recall on my vehicle for frame service. The Toyota dealers are giving me what appears to me to be a run-around so they won't have to perform this recall service before the expiration date of the recall will occur. They say they don't have the materials to perform this fix and that the customer list is long.

- Albert Lea, MN, USA

problem #45

Oct 142014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 56,339 miles
This is a known frame rusting problem that Toyota has not addressed properly. I took my 2006 Toyota Tacoma to the service dealer and they sprayed an anti rust compound on it. The problem is that the frame is totally rusted out and is going to be a safety issue later down the road. Toyota reached a settlement with the frame manufacturer, they did not properly coat the frame at time of manufacture. There is not a warranty on the corrosion compound after the corrosion campaign is over in March of 2016. This leaves the consumer with a truck that is not road worthy. I replaced the release bearing in my transmission, while working on it rust was literally falling in my eyes due to the amount of rust on the frame. I have never seen a frame rust out so quickly and am very disappointed that Toyota knows there is an issue but is covering it up with a thick tar like substance to "remedy" the problem. This is just covering up a down the road safety issue that should be addressed by Toyota immediately by replacing the frame. 1995 through 2000 Tacoma trucks were bought back. 2001 through 2004 received anti corrosion compound and or frame replacement. The difference is that those trucks that received the compound received a 15 year extended warranty if the frame were to fail inspection down the road. Not the case with the 2005 and up Tacoma.

- Union, KY, USA

problem #44

Oct 102014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I own a 2006 Toyota Tacoma prerunner, purchased new from the dealer eight years ago. In less than six years, the cars frame started showing damages and today it shows severe rust and flaking. The severe rust under the car is widespread and in certain areas there are perforations through the frame structure. (see pictures attached). Because of this unexpected condition my Tacoma has lost considerable resale value and is resting in my driveway for fear of further damage and safety issues. (I have two small children). After some research I became aware that Toyota has acknowledged that this excessive rusting is due to a manufacturing defect and addressed the problem for some vehicle owners by either replacing the frame at no cost for the owners or buying the vehicles back. I took the car to the Toyota dealer to have it assessed and after a full inspection, the truck failed the rust frame inspection. The Toyota dealer report states as follows: "frame was found to have severe corrosion. Frame need to be replaced? with and rough estimate cost of $ $10,000. I consider this defect to be a serious and unacceptable condition for a 8 year-old vehicle with Toyota"S reputation. I have invested and trusted the Toyota brand for over 20 years and feel very disappointed at how Toyota is addressing my concerns. I am asking your Toyota corporation to take my concerns seriously and to address this severe rust issue the same way you have done with 1995-2000 Tacoma owners, either by replacing my frame at no cost or buying back my vehicle.

- Surfside, FL, USA

problem #43

Jul 102014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 187,819 miles
My truck has been officially been declared unsafe to drive. I am experiencing extreme and unusual rust and corrosion on the frame of my 2006 Toyota Tacoma. This is not the kind of rust you would expect to see due to normal wear and tear. The first indication from my dealer that there was a problem was when I took the truck in on 07/10/14 for an oil change. I was told that the frame was so severely compromised by rust and corrosion the dealer recommended that it be repaired immediately. When I was taken into the service area and shown the truck on a lift, I could see that there were actual holes rotted through the frame and it had literally begun flaking and falling apart. I contacted a certified welding technician and had the affected areas reinforced as best we could. When I took the truck to be inspected on 09/16/14, I was told that it would not pass due to the advanced deterioration of the frame, in spite of the repairs. This is not normal rust for an 8 year old vehicle used to commute to and from work. The rest of the truck is in excellent condition, there is virtually no deterioration anywhere else. I have also been told by my dealer that they will not even consider a trade-in (kelly blue book trade in-value should be $9,300 or private sale $11,668). The truck is beautiful, looks almost new and runs perfectly and is worth nothing? the only issue is the frame, which in the opinion of the auto body garages I have consulted, was caused by a manufacturing defect. Please note: Toyota now has a limited service campaign in place for 2005-2008 Tacoma's, for which my VIN is not yet included. The problem has been acknowledged by Toyota and based on the evidence provided by my own dealer, clearly exists in my vehicle. Please do not ignore this growing problem until these compromised frames result in widespread injury or death, please open a new investigation now.

- Madison Twp, PA, USA

problem #42

Jul 312014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles
'frame problem" rust problem my Tacoma has an excessive rust problem on the frame. I don't feel safe driving with my to kids am afraid the truck will not hold on the road while hitting pot holes (one of them is 5 and my oldest one is 10) I am limited to where to go this is my everyday car, it is not cool. I called the dealer and nothing. This truck is an 8 year old car that should'nt have this problem, on Toyota forums it sims everyone has this problem. I am hoping the Toyota will take care this problem before the winter starts :(

- East Haven , CT, USA

problem #41

Jun 182014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Holes are rusting in the frame.

- Troy, NY, USA

problem #40

Sep 012012

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • 119,500 miles
Since the vehicle was about 6 years-old I've experienced a high degree of frame rust. Since this time, on a annual basis, I've spot painted (with rust protectant paint) areas of the frame that is 'peppered' with rust. Recently, I found out that this problem is rampant throughout the Tacoma community, so I have since contacted Toyota. The local dealership has been non-responsive, so I am in the process of dealing with the corporate customer service department. As I write this, I am awaiting their response. I find this frame rust problem dangerous and unacceptable. My local climate only sees an average humidity level of 5%, with very little rain, yet still the frame is peppered with rust each year I do my inspection.

- Tehachapi, CA, USA

problem #39

Oct 092013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 130,000 miles
Dreaded Toyota frame rust, the frame is rusting extensively and I am worried it will rust through. There have been numerous complaints but no action so far. Rust, rust, rust...if it is a Toyota, it will rust.

- Buffalo, NY, USA

problem #38

May 262014

Tacoma

  • 90,983 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that he was made aware that the frame had rusted out and that there was a hole on the front passenger's side of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the frame needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 90,983.

- Homes, NY, USA

problem #37

Mar 192014

Tacoma

  • 75,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while having an oil change, the technician notified him that the frame was completely corroded. The manufacturer was contacted and they offered to spray paint the frame. The failure and current mileage was 75,000.

- Norwood, MA, USA

problem #36

May 122014

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 93,983 miles
The vehicle was at the dealership it was purchased from for several safety recalls to be implemented/fixed. I had the service manager of the dealership inspect the frame while up on the lift. The frame of the vehicle was found to be badly rusted with actual holes present in the frame. He told me that this was not a safe vehicle to drive at this point. He said to put nothing in the bed of the truck.

- Holmes, NY, USA

problem #35

Jun 102013

Tacoma

  • 62,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the casing for the spare tire was rusted. The contact could not use the crank to remove the spare. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who informed the contact that the frame was severely rusted. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 62,000.

- West Stockbridge, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?