Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
92,780 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #81

Sep 022016


  • 158,000 miles


During a recent safety inspection, the inspector noted that the frame was rusted and in one spot was rusted through. Contacted the manufacturer and was told that a recall had been initiated but had expired in March of 2016. Additionally, the manufacturer stated that the recall was not safety related. I have never been notified of this recall. Driving the vehicle with a frame that may fail is not safe. I believe that Toyota should be required to issue a safety recall and that they should be required to repair this unsafe condition caused by lack of a viable quality control program.

- Providence Forge, VA, USA

problem #80

Sep 012016


  • 57,000 miles
The frame of my truck is dangerously rusted, and Toyota refuses to honor its own recall commitment to replace the frame because of an arbitrary deadline for inspection. The date is irrelevant to the basic problem -- their frame is defective, I and my passengers are at risk, and repair is urgently needed. Nhsta should challenge auto makers, especially Toyota, on the policy of time-limited recalls.

- Bethesda, MD, USA

problem #79

Aug 182008


  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While the bumper was being replaced, the technician noticed that the frame was corroded and rusted out. The technician stated there was a recall that was expired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the recall expired and did not offer assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The recall details were unknown. The failure mileage was 1,000.

- Huntington, WV, USA

problem #78

Aug 012016


  • 178,000 miles


I recently discovered that the frame of of this truck, only 10 years old, had severely rusted to the point where it is no longer safe to drive. Toyota has informed me that there had been a limited service period for this problem but it had expired. I was unaware of this and do not believe I was notified. I believe this to be a severe safety issue which many like me may not be aware of. If the frame were to fail while travelling at highway speeds it is quite possible people could be severely injured.

- Newry, ME, USA

problem #77

Aug 052016


  • 41,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. A year after the vehicle was repaired per an unknown recall, the subframe was rusted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the cause of the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 41,000.

- Ticonderoga, NY, USA

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #76

May 132016


  • 160,000 miles
I was unaware of any issue with rust problems in the frame when I bought the truck used in March 2014, nor did I ever receive any letters from Toyota regarding problems with rusting frames. During a regular maintenance tune-up at a Toyota dealer 05/13/2016 (160,000 miles), they reported to me 2 holes in the frame resulting from rust and that the vehicle will not pass inspection. They also reported that the manufacture had extended some kind of ┐recall┐ to deal with the problem had expired March 31, 2016 and there was nothing the dealership could do. The dealer gave me a referral to a specialist that specialize in repairing rusted frames. Went to another mechanic to see if it was worth the expense to invest in the truck, they then brought it to the local Toyota dealership, which reported that the truck had the Toyota's attempt fix undercoating done and that nothing else would be done by the manufacture. Called the Toyota corporation customer service and reported the problem. They called back to say nothing would be done.

- Portsmouth, RI, USA

problem #75

Jan 062016


  • 77,000 miles


The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a letter from Toyota pertaining to the vehicle's frame, but it did not have a NHTSA campaign number associated with the issue. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the frame was re-coated; however, the remedy failed and rust appeared. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 77,000.

- Newport, KY, USA

problem #74

Jul 302015


  • miles
I received a rusty frame recall from Toyota on my 2006 Toyota Tacoma, so I set up a appointment with bryan easler Toyota at hendersonville, N.C. I took my 2006 Tacoma in to bryan easler Toyota, they checked it for rusty frame recalland was told they would turn in the results to Toyota.I received information later that my 2006 Tacoma passed the rusty frame recall, and thinking to myself that was great news.a few weeks later when changing the oil I was broken hearted at finding big holes as big as my hand in the main frame of my 2006 Tacoma that I have took special care of with only 112,000 miles, and this is my second new Toyota bought from bryan easler Toyota.the rusty frame recall was not checked correct, and the case manager was contacted with a reply that the rusty frame recall has ende, but now I have a very unsafe vehicle that might brake at anytime to cause wreck or death"????????"(sending some pictures please check thanks)

- Mills River, NC, USA

problem #73

Jun 292016


  • 165,000 miles
2006 Tacoma has major frame rust. Toyota approved rustproofing was applied in May 2015 by the original Toyota dealer. One year later, the rustproofing is falling off in sheets, showing the separating layers of frame steel. I contacted Toyota (case 1060290111) and was told there was nothing Toyota would do. I had wanted the frame and rustproofing to be inspected by Toyota. They would do neither. They called the dealer that applied the coating and suggested I take it to them, for inspection, but they are 300 mile away. I asked if a local dealer could perform the task, but was told Toyota would not authorize that. The truck has 165000 miles and is otherwise in very good condition. My fear is that the frame will fail while driving on the road.

- Leeds, ME, USA

problem #72

Jun 152015


  • miles
Toyota Tacoma rusty frame, unsafe, Toyota not fixing (unsafe-frame breaking into--cause loss of control--crash big rusty holes in vehicle frame

- Mills River, NC, USA

problem #71

Sep 161015


  • 116,963 miles


Recall on frame - dealer sprayed frame with rust prevention. In less than a year it fell off in chucks. Brought it back to dealer and was told there was nothing they could do, even though they had a stack of replacement frames. I don't feel safe in this vehicle and I can not sell it because everyone knows of the problem. Also, my garage floor is stained with rust. Should they have replaced this safety problem?

- North Brookfield, MA, USA

problem #70

Jun 092016


  • 163,086 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was undergoing maintenance, the contact was informed that there was severe rust to the subframe of the vehicle. The manufacturer was informed of the severe corrosion; however, the contact was informed that the warranty period had expired. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 163,086.

- Catasauqua, PA, USA

problem #69

Mar 162016


  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension). The vehicle was taken to the dealer, but no rust or corrosion was found. The contact later inspected under the vehicle and noticed extensive rust and corrosion. The dealer was notified of the failure and indicated that the statute had expired to have the recall repair performed. The contact indicated that the dealer did not comply to provide a remedy. The failure mileage was unknown. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Mokane, MO, USA

problem #68

May 062016


  • 124,530 miles
On Dec 12, 2014, gualt Toyota in endicott NY inspected truck frame as a result of the Toyota truck frame recall. As a result, they applied undercoating to the frame. On May 6, 2016, my mechanic reported that I need to get my truck to Toyota for the frame recall asap. I told him that gault had applied undercoating and his response was that the undercoating is gone and he could not tell that it was undercoated. He also reported that frame will soon become a safety issue. I called Toyota directly and they refused to help me with the issue.

- Johnson City, NY, USA

problem #67

Apr 012016


  • 106,650 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The vehicle was taken to the dealer to have a recall performed on the leaf springs. Upon further inspection, the technician found severe corrosion on the frame of the vehicle and stated that the recall could not be performed. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 106,650.

- West Hurley, NY, USA

problem #66

May 062015


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the sun visor became loose and it would drop down blocking the driver's visibility. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the sun visor needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 70,000.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #65

May 032016


  • 198,158 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for a recall regarding the leaf springs on both sides of the vehicle. The mechanic noticed two holes on the frame and severe rust. The contact was informed that the recall was expired and the vehicle would not be repaired under the recall. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 198,158.

- Dover, PA, USA

problem #64

Dec 312015


  • 110,000 miles
My vehicle was involved in a frame rot recall. Dealership checked and claimed there was no rot, so it was just cleaned and undercoated. After just three months dealership found rot through and put a claim into Toyota who declined to do the repair work stating their responsibility ended when dealership missed the rust through when checked during the initial recall service. Toyota should stand by their recall obligation and do the necessary repairs when such a small amount of time elapsed between initial inspection and when rust through was found.

- Uxbridge, MA, USA

problem #63

Jan 042016


  • 168,000 miles
Frame rust issues. Holes in frame from rust. Inspection by the dealer on 1/4/16 determined there to be holes in frame. Vehicle had to left at the dealers until the frame could be replaced. The dealer has no idea when there will be a frame available for replacement. It has now been 3 months and there is still no idea when the repair may be made.

- Phoenixville, PA, USA

problem #62

Mar 092016


  • 119,000 miles
On May 29, 2014 the truck went to boch Toyota in norwood, MA for the limited service campaign that Toyota sent a letter due to excessive corrosion because of a defect in the frame. Boch Toyota said the frame was okay and they could coat it with a crc. In January 2016 the truck was at mcgee Toyota and their technicians said that the crc had failed and the frame had excessive corrosion. They put in for a new frame because the limited service campaign goes through March 31, 2016, however Toyota denied saying they had already coated the frame and that was all they would do. After numerous complaints to Toyota corporate they asked me to bring the truck back on March 9, 2016 for their technicians to review. I am told their technicians saw the corrosion but have not been provided a report. There are numerous instances of this frame corrosion on this website as well as in the news and Toyota has replaced the frames on the older model Tacoma which were coated with the crc and failed. They need to replace this frame as it is a known defect and poses a serious safety hazard. I am attaching pictures of the frame which I took myself and also a sample copy of the letter I received back in 2014 describing the campaign.

- Canton, MA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Search for these popular complaint phrases...

Not what you are looking for?