Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
56,814 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments

problem #19

Aug 152015

Tacoma

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact noticed that the subframe was rusted and cracked. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the subframe needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired, but the undercoating fractured. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 100,000.

- West Milford, NJ, USA

problem #18

Mar 042016

Tacoma

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The dealer informed the contact of a manufacturer's customer satisfaction campaign related to frame corrosion. While the vehicle was inspected at the dealer, the contact was informed that the frame was corroded. The vehicle was unsafe to operate and the frame would have to be completely replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage 180,000.

- Falls Church, VA, USA

problem #17

Dec 152015

Tacoma

  • 92,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken in for a seat belt repair under a manufacturer recall. The contact was notified by the mechanic that the vehicle passed the rust test. A month later, the contact took the vehicle to a mechanic for a tire rotation and was informed that there was severe rust on the subframe. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 92,000.

- Sunny Isles, FL, USA

problem #16

Jul 142015

Tacoma

  • 98,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was being repaired, the technician noticed that the entire frame was corroded. The dealer sprayed the vehicle with an acid spray for rust, but the spray did not correct the failure. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 98,000.

- Amherst, OH, USA

problem #15

Jul 212014

Tacoma

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was undergoing an unrelated repair, the technician noticed that the entire frame was rusted. The dealer replaced the entire frame. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 93,000.

- Ukbridge, MA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #14

Nov 012010

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 67,398 miles
Barkley Toyota, asheville, nc, noted, on 1 Nov 2010, "frame on truck rusted on "quality vehicle inspection" report. Said it wasn't important. On 7 Sept 2011 jacobson Toyota, durham, nc, noted "heavy rust throughout underbody" on its "25-point inspection." On 14 Sept 2011, barkley Toyota, the usual service provider, inspected the truck, found heavy rust throughout the underbody, but said it was up to Toyota to fix any problem. Barkley did not evaluate safety issues. Barkley said photos and a description would be sent to Toyota and I might, or might not, hear directly from them. Identical problems were found on 1995-2005 Toyota Tacoma, and a recall was issued. But Toyota has not acknowledged or recalled 2006 or later Tacoma's which have what appears to be the same problem.

- Mars Hill, NC, USA

problem #13

Mar 012009

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 60,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame was corroded. The vehicle was taken to a local repair shop where the contact was advised to paint the vehicle as a temporary remedy. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure, but did not offer any assistance. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 60,000 and the current mileage was 71,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 09/07/2011

- New Hartford , NY, USA

problem #12

Apr 102010

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles
I own a 2006 Tacoma trd sport with 67000 miles that I bought with 39000 miles on it. I fanaticaly take care of this vehicle, going as far as crawling under it to wash the frame. When doing this I noticed that wherever there is a weld or flat surface that the paint is missing and there is rust. I have read in many articles that these frames as well as previous generation Tacoma were made by dana and that there were severe safety issues due to corrosion in earlier ones. Why didn't Toyota correct these issue on newer models? I have also read that Toyota will not address the issue untill there is perforation. When the frame reaches the perforation point it will be dangerous to drive. My truck isn't yet at that stage so I'm expecting Toyota to do nothing for me.

- Hopewell Junction, NY, USA

problem #11

Jun 152009

Tacoma

  • miles
I have a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. It is washed regularly and all manufacturer routine maintenance is performed. Every year I take the time to do through inspection underneath to make sure there are no problems. Last summer when flushing out frame tubes with a garden hose I noticed large flakes of rust being flushed out through the drain holes. I also noted significant rust on many areas of the frame. This summer I can see the problem is getting severely worse. Brackets and mounts are becoming severely rusted. Frame is beginning to flake. Skid plat is nearly rusted through. At the mass inspection the inspector told me the truck frame is rusting fast and I needed to be concerned. This truck is only 4 years old! the body is perfect. But the frame is crumbling! I have spoken with my dealer. He said many 2005 models were recalled for this problem and Toyota was replacing the frames. They did an inspection and said my problem is exactly the same as the 05S. But they did think Toyota was going to repair the 06 models. Please help. I need at least 4 more years from this truck. And I looked at trading, but the dealer said with the rust my current vehicle is not worth much on a trade.

- East Otis, MA, USA

problem #10

May 152008

Tacoma

  • 20,000 miles
I am original owner of 2006 Toyota Tacoma, currently has 41,000 miles. Began to notice a little surface rust on the frame around 20,000 miles at which time I pointed out to service dept at dealership where I purchased the truck. Was told that should not get any worse, and there was nothing to work about. Since this time rust has gotten considerably worse, each time I try to speak with someone at Toyota or dealership I am given run around, cold shoulder. I have researched several legitimate and reputable sources and have found hundreds, possibly thousands of individual complaints of frame rust on 2005 and newer Tacoma. Please, someone help! my family needs this truck to last. This comes down to simply doing the right thing, being honest, and fair.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #9

Jun 232010

Tacoma

  • 71,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We heard a loud noise in the engine area, when going over bumps. Took it to our mechanic, and he found a loose fan shroud and tightened it up. Two weeks later the power steering went out while my husband was driving. We towed the 2006 Toyota Tacoma double cab to the dealership we bought the car from, and they finally told us the frame was broken under the engine area, right next to the power steering. They told us $14,000 to fix the truck. They said we need a full frame replacement. The truck has only 71,000 miles. It has not been repaired...Toyota offered to pay 1/2 of the frame cost, which they said is $9800, not including the 40 hours @$40/hr of labor they want to charge to replace it. They will not tell me why my frame is broken. I had my truck towed to an different repair shop, for another estimate, which the dealership hasn't even given me their written estimate. When I asked for it they made up an excuse on why I had to wait for the service rep. To access my account to print it out for me, this is when I removed my truck last week after, they told me to take the deal or get my truck off their property or they would starting charging me fees. My truck has been broken for three weeks now, I have had no loaner, and now help from Toyota or the dealer. My husband could have been in a serious accident, when he lost power steering, this is a defective frame, and due to it breaking, it caused the power steering to go out. We have no truck now, and still owe over $10,000 for this broken, defective one.

- Potter Valley, CA, USA

problem #8

Jan 152010

Tacoma

  • 56,907 miles
I am writing to file a complaint about my 2006 Toyota Tacoma. In January 2010 while I was having new tires installed on my truck I noticed a significant amount of rust and large areas of metal flaking off of the frame, crossmembers and factory installed trailer hitch of my truck. Subsequent to this discovery I did some research on the internet and found that Toyota had instituted a customer support program for owners of 1995-2004 Tacoma addressing this exact issue. On January 15, 2010 I took my truck to gateway Toyota in tom's river NJ, the dealership where I bought my then new truck in 2006 and had their service manager inspect my truck. I was present during this inspection and I pointed out the large arrears of rust and flaking metal on my frame, crossmembers and trailer hitch to the service manager who told me that unless my frame had actual holes in it caused by rust nothing could or would be done to correct the obvious corrosion of these vital components. This rust problem is an issue that Toyota has been avoiding dealing with for many years and I feel that ignoring this issue is affecting the safety and value of my truck. It is beyond logic for Toyota to assist owners of older vehicles and ignore owners of newer and much more valuable vehicles with the exact same problem. Please institute a recall of all Toyota Tacoma trucks regardless of year of manufacture before serious and possibly deadly incidents occur due to compromised structural integrity of these substandard and rust prone frames.. thank you.

- Leonardo, NJ, USA

problem #7

Jun 012009

Tacoma

  • 8,000 miles
The frame of my 2006 Toyota Tacoma is severely rusted at all welds and connections. Since the car is garaged 95% of the time and the vehicle only has 12,000 miles on it and since I wash it regularly it makes even less sense. I've taken the vehicle to the dealer and they confirmed it was severely rusted but not yet "perforated"--the criteria for the warranty to kick in. The technician told me it was the worst he'd seen. I've called Toyota corporate in California and have been directed to the lady in charge of the previous recall for rusted Toyota Tacoma frames that ended with the 2002 model. She told me there was nothing they could or would do. I was told I'd have to have a body shop clean the rust areas, treat them with a rust neutralizer (sic?) and then re-paint them. I am a fanatic about car cleanliness and even have a spotless engine compartment at all times. The previous Tacoma frame recall was from 1998 - 2002 and Toyota replaced frames and entire vehicles. The problem still persists. I've logged onto the Tacoma yahoo chat group and found numerous Tacoma owners of later model trucks complaining of the exact same issue.

- Leesburg, VA, USA

problem #6

Jun 162006

Tacoma

  • miles
I have a 2006 Toyota Tacoma with 43,800 miles on it. I have taken the Tacoma in to valley high Toyota in victorville numerous times for a terrible braking problem that they are now recognizing on the prius. The truck does not stop when driving over any uneven surface. When we went to valley high Toyota we were told that it is ABS brakes trying not to lock up. In fact, the brakes don't work at all in this situation which could lead to a very serious accident. Furthermore, there seems to be a problem with the motor mounts as well. In 2007 we took the truck in for its first motor mount problem, it seems that both motor mounts were stretched beyond repair and had to be replaced. We thought the problem was over, but in Nov. 2009 the driver side motor mount snapped completely through. The truck has never been driven roughly and this should not have happened. I researched this problem and found that there were new designs put into place on the 2007 Tacoma models. The mechanic working on the truck said he could tell the truck had not been driven hard and stated that he had seen this happen before. We have also noticed that since the first motor mount problem the transmission has been shifting extremely rough. We've asked valley high Toyota about the transmission several times and they have said there's nothing wrong with it. Our warranty is almost up and I'm worried we could have a transmission failure within the next several months. My daughter drives this truck, and I no longer feel it's safe for her to drive. I am very concerned about these problems and the fact that our local Toyota dealer won┐T do anything about the brakes or the transmission, we are fortunate that the motor mounts did not cause the engine to fall out of the truck, causing serious damage to the vehicle and injury to my daughter and anyone else.

- Victorville, CA, USA

problem #5

Jan 052010

Tacoma

  • 31,000 miles
I own a 2006 Toyota Tacoma and the frame and all steel components on the underside of the vehicle are rusty. This vehicle only has 31,000 miles the speedometer.

- Damascus, VA, USA

problem #4

Jun 072009

Tacoma

  • 76,163 miles
The frame is broke in the front side of the driver, this truck never was involve on an accident or on an offroad extreme situation, always used on the city or on freeways. I went to the dealer and they open a case and I'm waiting for a answer, I hear the phone conversation of the dealer whit Toyota's engineering department and they said that is not the first report of this kind of problem whit the frame.

- Calexico, CA, USA

problem #3

Jun 012008

Tacoma 4WD

  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the frame of his vehicle was completely rusted. The manufacturer would not assist. The contact is very concerned that the frame could fail while driving. The failure mileage was 26,000. Updated 07/20/09 updated 07/21/09.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #2

Mar 272009

Tacoma

  • 35,000 miles
The frame of the truck is very rusted and pitting and I feel that this will cause frame failure and I also am on a second tailgate first one bent in half.

- Valhalla, NY, USA

problem #1

Apr 302008

Tacoma

  • 25,000 miles
2006 Toyota Tacoma tailgate is dangerously weak, and is unable to support what most consider normal weight for a truck tailgate. Although substandard design may be considered "buyer beware", truck buyers expect a tailgate to support the weight of normal truck use activities. Toyota provides no warning or caution anywhere that the tailgate is of insufficient strength to perform normal 1/2-ton truck duties, and typically (per internet forum threads) tells their customers that it is their problem and that they should not expect to be able to safely use the tailgate for anything more than hiding the inside of the bed. Since Toyota has produced a substandard designed part, they should have provided a visual warning on the part to alert customers to the danger their product imposes if used in a traditional manner. Since they did not do so, they should be held liable to provide a redesigned part to their customers or full restitution for the purchase price of the vehicles. A google or similar internet search on "Tacoma tailgate forum" will substantiate my statements beyond my personal experience with the tailgate bending.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

Not what you are looking for?