Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

2.4

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
64,994 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tacoma brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments

problem #15

Nov 252015

Tacoma

  • 61,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Took truck in for frames inspection--dealer says I get a new frame--no cost. Dealer is backing out of their word because campaign ended 3 months later--was told campaign would be good for several more year. Service adviser never checked ending date. Emergency brake cables are rusted again--fixed several times--poor product. Rear differential cover plug rusted beyond able to remiove to change fluid--another huge rust issue with Tacoma trucks--not just the frame. The steering mechanism, timing belt pulleys, wiring supports, etc --anything that is metal is corroded because of the poor quality of steel--just not the frame. The timing pulleys were so corroded that they cut my bel--lucky for me it still had 50% of it remaining and did not blow engine--truck had 63,000 miles on it at time. Told to bring truck in for rear springs campaign--I did--they don't have the in stallion kits--been back ordered for months. Campaign says they could rupture the gas tank and end in disaster--any you don't have parts!!!

- Lakemore, OH, USA

problem #14

May 112015

Tacoma

  • 125,331 miles
We have had several issues with our 2006 Toyota Tacoma which has 125331 miles. On May 11, 2015, we brought the truck into mountain states Toyota, for the repair of the rear drive shaft which had failed. I was experiencing a vibration even when driving at very low speeds that continued to get worse. I have enclosed the paperwork describing the repair, which I believe was tied to a recall, and another repair. October 19, 2012, the right rear leaf spring cracked and needed repair, mileage was 92303. At the time we did not know anything about the recall for the leaf springs, and the repair for the right had cost us $1408.11. The repair shop also noticed at the time that the left rear leaf spring was also faulty and needed to be repaired, that was repaired a few days later 10/23/2012 the cost $1407.61. At the time we had driven around not knowing what the vibration was only that the vehicle was very difficult to drive. The faulty leaf springs we were told at a later date by the Toyota dealer may have played a factor in the above repair. They could not guarantee that it had not been caused by the faulty leaf spring. On October 27, 2006 the head gasket needed to be repaired, the mileage at this time was 90102. The cost of the repair was $2866.18. We also had an issue with the brakes just going on the vehicle while my son was driving the vehicle, in October. He luckily was able to gear down using the transmission to slow the vehicle down. When it was towed to mountain states Toyota, which is where he had had the brake fluid replaced a few months prior, paid in full for all repairs at the time. So I feel this issue was probably the fault of mountain states Toyota.

- Thornton, CO, USA

problem #13

Jan 132014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While driving at various speeds, the brake warning indicator illuminated continuously. The contact stated that when the ignition was turned to the off position, the engine did not turn off. The contact had to depress the remote start in order for the vehicle to turn off. The contact stated that after the vehicle was repaired under a manufacturer's recall the failures occurred. The failure recurred numerous times. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the brake lines were leaking and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Aylette, VA, USA

problem #12

Oct 232015

Tacoma

  • 80,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Car at approximately 2 mph at indoor parking garage. My foot was not on the gas pedal when car accelerated suddenly. Turned ignition off and was able to stop car before impact with several other vehicles.

- San Francisco, CA, USA

problem #11

Aug 142015

Tacoma

  • 89,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While driving at approximately 20 mph, the brake pedal failed. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The technician was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 89,000.

- Raynham, MA, USA

problem #10

Jun 262015

Tacoma

  • 68,725 miles
The clutch master cylinder cracked.

- Englewood, CO, USA

problem #9

Mar 122015

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 90,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Got both brakes and rotors change still brakes do not work right does not stop very good.

- Moodus, CT, USA

problem #8

Jul 232014

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 80,000 miles
Parking brake sleeve broke at rear wheels causing the cable to seize in the sleeve and making the rear wheels lockup or parking brake to fail.

- Attica, NY, USA

problem #7

Jun 132014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 63,000 miles
The brake lines are all rusty on my truck. I had to have one brake line replaced and all are in danger of leaking at any time. There is so much rust on the underside of my truck that more of the brake lines are going to break and cause an accident. Also I just had to have the steering rack replaced at 63000 miles and the lines to the steering rack were rusty and had to be replaced.

- Damascus, VA, USA

problem #6

Oct 162013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 75,000 miles
On October 2013 I approached a red light (no car in front of me) the road surface was wet and the ABS kicked in. When I applied the brake hard, the engine started to accelerate and I couldn't hold the truck back. I went through the red light avoiding an accident. I called the Toyota dealer and was told that I probably did not press down on the brake hard enough. On January 2014 the same thing occurred. Here again I was fortunate that another vehicle was not in front of me and this time I went through a stop sign. I called the dealer and had it checked out. They found nothing wrong. March 15th it happened again. Once again I was lucky that no vehicle was in front of me, but I now brake way in advance of a light or stop sign because of fear. This time when the engine started to accelerate I got off the brake and went right back on and the engine stopped accelerating. I once again put it in the garage and they found nothing wrong. I think that the unintentional acceleration is triggered when hard pressure is applied to the brakes when the ABS kicks in. I'm not a rookie driver. I've been driving Tacoma for over 30 years. This is my 4th one. After happening three times, it is definitely a problem with the truck. This is a possible serious accident waiting to happen. What can I do to get Toyota to correct this problem? thank you

- Denver, PA, USA

problem #5

Oct 012013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 28,170 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Complete loss of braking when pressing down on brake pedal. Vehicle was inspected by Toyota dealership service department and they stated the condition was caused by loss of brake fluid due to extensive corrosion/rust of the brake line and the entire brake line needed to be replaced. This is a serious safety issue which can result in loss of life when brakes fail due to the defective material that is used in the manufacture of the brake line. A recall is necessary and must be implemented as soon as possible as this is such a serious safety issue which can result in loss of life. A case has been opened by Toyota and at this time they have offered me 50% of the repair cost, so it is evident that they realize there is a material defect problem, but anything less than a vehicle recall and 100% reimbursement of the repair cost is not acceptable, especially due to the seriousness of this problem.

- Newton, NJ, USA

problem #4

Jul 272013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 39,490 miles
Driving from back yard to driveway to position truck for long trip. Driveway is slope. Unable to stop truck with foot brake; pedal went to floor. Had to stop with emergency brake. Refilled brake master reservoir, still no brakes. Towed to shop. They found steel brake line rusted through. Replaced steel lines with copper nickel lines. Don't think brake lines should rust through at 39,000 miles. Had failure happened at speed on highway there would have been an accident.

- Monument Beach, MA, USA

problem #3

Jan 232013

Tacoma

  • 65,700 miles
Finally did floor mat recall work done on my 2006 Tacoma. New floor mat is thin, flimsy, nothing like original thick all weather floor mat. I also want to add, there was nothing wrong with the original design aw floor mat for Tacoma vehicles, there was absolutely no interference with the accelerator pedal, and that the only reason I changed the mats was due to the mat ribs starting to break on the driver's side. In addition, the campaign called for the floor carpet to be vacuum cleaned and shampooed, and none of this was done. The dealer simply swapped-out the floor mats and charged-out $185 to "recall work", I don't even think they did any pedal adjustment. Here's the real problem: The new, thin, flimsy floor mat uses the old floor mat retainer hooks that were intended for the thick all weather floor mats. These floor mat hooks hurt my feet when driving barefoot, but more importantly, they can, they will, and they have caught and hooked-up the heel of my shoes on occasion. I am a very safe driver, do not tailgate vehicles, and I tell you now, these hooks have caused me to get into embarrassing situations and very near accidents due to my shoe getting caught in the hooks and not being able to brake properly and on time. If I modify the hooks or cut them, there is a good chance that the new mat will slide-up under the pedals, preventing use of the brakes and not being able to stop the vehicle. I will not do this, I will not assume this responsibility. At this present situation, at this present design, the liability rests with the manufacturer and the authorization for this recall design modification. As I mentioned earlier, there was no problem with the original design for this specific year/make/model; however, the recall modification did create a problem where none existed, and made the situation worse than original.

- Kailua-Kona, HI, USA

problem #2

Mar 042013

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 89,000 miles
As I was rolling down hill and applying the brakes, the truck suddenly accelerated. As I pressed the brakes harder the anti-lock brakes activated and the truck continued to move forward for a short distance, almost into on coming traffic, while the engine could be heard loud as if the gas peddle was being pushed although the brakes were being applied only. Scary! uncontrollable forward movement and acceleration while braking.

- Warwick, RI, USA

problem #1

Dec 122006

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 20,000 miles
December 2006 truck parked with emergency brake off and would not move below freezing temperature. All four wheels locked up. Towed to dealer, after numerous attempts to fix he stated the wheel bearing were leaking grease and freezing up so truck would not move. Truck operates good all year till it gets below freezing and wheels lock up. Dealer does not know the problem, but only happens when parked and below freezing. December 10 2012 rear wheels lock up while driving in below freezing causing truck to slide and miss two on coming cars, truck ends up in ditch. Would sell vehicle but afraid anyone driving it in cold weather would be stranded or in a fatal wreck. Are other trucks having same issue as I hunt and go back 30 miles into the woods and if freezes I would be stranded.

- Kiezer, OR, USA

Not what you are looking for?