Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
42 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
18 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,022 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tacoma engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 3 of 6)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #80

Apr 202010

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 70,793 miles


Hi, I have owned my 2006 Tacoma 4X4 trd auto V6 for almost 5 yrs, problem free, and have been a big skeptic of the sudden acceleration thing in the news till this morning, I was going to the post office around ten as usual to mail some packages, turned into parking lot of post office, pulled into a space facing away from post office thankfully, as I pulled in, foot on brake only, coming up to curb about to put into park and turn off key, suddenly the vehicle floored itself spinning the rear wheels, jumping front of vehicle over tall curb, taking out a shrub in the median, vehicle was headed towards some new MINImall buildings 25 ft away, all the while as this started I was pressing on brakes hard, the vehicle didn't stop until I threw shifter into park and turned ignition off, immediately I saw that I was ok and nothing damaged, I started the truck and put in reverse and backed off the median into the space and parked, did my business, came back out, started up and drove home with no further problems, I have not contacted Toyota yet about the incident.

- Lincoln, CA, USA

problem #79

Mar 042010


  • 25,530 miles
I was going about 50 was slowing down for a red light, the truck started to speed up on it`S own, pulled to the right just missing a car and went off the road..this was reported to Toyota and the NHTSA..of course Toyota said no problem found...nothing from NHTSA..this has happened twice, no other family members will drive the 06 Tacoma.

- Altamonte Springs , FL, USA

problem #78

Dec 152009


  • 70,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While the contact was driving approximately 2 mph in reverse the vehicle surged resulting in a crash. The police appeared on the scene and there were no injuries reported. Prior to the failure the vehicle had been taken to an authorized dealer for routine maintenance. The dealer stated that the floor mats were exchanged and the vehicle was safe to drive. The vehicle had not been repaired when the complaint was filed. The VIN was not available. The failure and current mileages were 70,000.

- Vancleave, MS, USA

problem #77

Mar 262010


  • 39,119 miles


On the 26th of March 2010 about 3:00 pm, I was driving my 2006 Toyota Tacoma and got onto interstate 80 going West and began to merge into traffic. As I accelerated to get in front of a white semi-tractor trailer, I realized I was accelerating faster than I was pushing down on the gas pedal. My truck accelerated as if it wanted to go faster than I did, and so I let my foot off the gas pedal. But, my Toyota Tacoma still increased in speed, and the gas pedal seemed soft as if the truck was in cruise control. Realizing that my speed was 80 and rising rapidly, I pushed down on the brake pedal. The car barely slowed down and sped right back up continuing to accelerate as soon as I removed my foot from the brake. So, I pressed down the brake pedal with all my force, but the truck did not slow down sufficiently to safely pull over. So, then, I put one foot on the brake and used the other to push down the emergency brake. The truck decelerated enough to allow me to pull over into the far right lane. The car continued to roll despite application of both brakes, and so I threw the vehicle into park. This shut off the engine. I had my truck towed to the dealership and nothing has been resolved as of today.

- Reno, NV, USA

problem #76

Mar 142009


  • 50,000 miles
Stuck gas pedal on my Tacoma truck.

- Dallas, GA, USA

problem #75

Feb 212010


  • 19,200 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While coasting at approximately 5 mph in a parking lot the vehicle suddenly exhibited an unusual increase in engine rpms. The contacts foot was neither on the accelerator or brake pedal and the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. He instinctively placed the vehicle in neutral and abruptly depressed the brake pedal. He did not remove his foot from the brake pedal until the vehicle came to a stop. The dealer could not duplicate the failure and no repairs were made to the vehicle. The failure mileage was 19,200 and the current was 19,225.

- Worcester, MA, USA

problem #74

May 172008

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 35,000 miles


- the contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact was driving approximately 60 mph on the highway. The accelerator pedal traveled to the floor when pressure was applied and the vehicle failed to slow down. The brakes were engaged repeatedly with aggressive force before the vehicle was able to slow down. The authorized dealer was notified; and informed the contact there was a service charge for the diagnostic testing. The vehicle had not been repaired at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was 35,000. The current mileage was 50,000. The VIN was unavailable. Updated 05/25/10 the consumer stated the vehicle has not been fixed. Updated 06/02/10

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #73

Mar 122010

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • 38,000 miles
When I was coasting to park my truck at my parking space outside of my house parking garage, my P/U truck suddenly accelerated very fast and the truck hit the fence and stopped. I remember clearly my sense that I pushed the brake while the car accelerating for a split second but do not remember if the engine was stopped after hitting the fence with steel pole. I somehow reversed back about 8 feet from the fence and stopped the engine. I came out of the car and checked if the accelerating pedal was depressed. It was not. I had experienced the truck engine racing a little fast as I tried to park at work in the mornings also. I felt something unusual but ignored the feeling, since my car was running high RPM since new. I remember that I asked about the high RPM to the salesman. He mentioned some new design feature that I could not understand. After this incident within 30 minutes I went to Toyota of plano and reported my incident, and then I went to my car/home insurance company (state farm insurance co.) to report the incident. My car was towed to Toyota of plano. I hope some one checks the engine electronics, not just mechanical problem of my car. This is very odd and dangerous. I asked myself about the state of my own mind and attitude at the moment but I was very normal. I am an electrical engineer and have driven the cars for last 50 years and have lived and parked at the same parking space for last 17 years. I have heard about the Toyota problems but not about my truck model. Updated 03/30/10

- Plano, TX, USA

problem #72

Aug 152009


  • 30,000 miles
Now that the Toyota problems have received such widespread coverage, I wanted to report what I believe is a problem on my wife's 2006 Toyota Tacoma. On several occasions over the last 3 1/2 years, when using the cruise control, when there was an upgrade requiring the cruise control to increase power to maintain speed, the cruise control would simply start the vehicle accelerating without stopping and I had to turn off the cruise control. I didn't think too much about it until the recalls as I simply don't use it--just thought it was poorly designed compared to every other one I have ever had.

- Peoria, AZ, USA

problem #71

Oct 312008


  • miles
Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6). I have filed a complaint with Consumer Affairs as well as Toyota experience regarding the gas pedal / floor mat issue. This has occurred two times to myself as well as three times to my husband, thankfully it did not result in any injuries. I want my floor mats replaced at the least, my floor is damaged by not being able to use mats and the fear of it talking off really prevents me from driving it without extreme caution and constant worrying. I was given a customer case # 1002131342 and was told to speak with marisol betancourt because they were under the impression that there were some new mats available but this was the response I received from: ---- marisol betancourt [xxx] wrote: ============= [xxx] I spoke to you on the phone regarding your concern about your vehicle's pedal and floor mats. The service writer named kevin hollinger pulled your vehicle's VIN number to see if it was under recall and he informed me that your vehicle is not under recall. If you have further questions please feel free to contact kevin hollinger or myself. Thank you, marisol betancourt customer relations manager Toyota chula vista [xxx] ++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++++

- Chula Vista, CA, USA

problem #70

Feb 262010


  • 55,000 miles


Toyota Tacoma 2006.... engine lurches at red lights...when idle...when warming at intermittent or sporadic times. RPM goes from 1.5 to 3.5. this normally happens when I have my foot on the brake..only twice has it lurched with my foot not fully on the brake. Both times I was turning and had my foot near the brake so that I had time to push hard on the brake to keep me from running into the car in front of me. I have had the truck for almost two years and it happens on a regular basis. It lurched during one of the turns last weekend on a trip to Florida.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #69

Jan 192009


  • 46,000 miles
While driving on I-95 South of jacksonville Florida in my 2006 Toyota Tacoma I was forced to accelerate rapidly to avoid an accident. The vehicle kept accelerating until I doing almost a 100 mph weaving through traffic until I could get into the right hand lane and shut the engine off. Once stopped the first thing I checked was the floor mat as I had a problem with previous vehicle causing the accelerator to stick but the floor mat was no where near the accelerator pedal. I restarted the vehicle but it just revved wide open so I turned it back off and called arlington Toyota. I was advised to call a wrecker as they said they had not experienced this issue before. They had it for three days but could not find any problems as it run perfectly when off loaded off the wrecker. I was advised to install mat retaining pins. Then I received a recall for the floor mats and when I took it to the dealer for recall I was advised to removed the drivers side floormat. I was told nothing more that Toyota as to what was being attempted to correct the issue. Is that a viable recall? I know for a fact it was not the floor mat that caused the issue but was advised by Toyota there was no documented instances of unexplained acceleration with Tacoma's. my vehicle is a 2006 Tacoma prerunner access cab, V6, automatic transmission with towing package. I really thought that Toyota would rapidly get fix in place but that has not been the case and for this reason I am submitting this complaint.

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #68

May 012009


  • 5,000 miles
I have a 2006 Toyota Tacoma pickup truck that has had numerous incidents of automatic rapid acceleration. These have all occurred during highway driving and with multiple drivers. Initially, I thought this was related to a cruise control problem since they occurred during highway driving. However, the cruise control was replaced in 2008 and I am still having acceleration problems. At present time Toyota has the vehicle listed for the 90L floor mat entrapment recall only and not the accelerator pedal recall. I do not think this is a floor mat problem, but rather it is an accelerator pedal problem. I have attempted to call and email Toyota corporation several times and have had zero response. The local Toyota dealership service department has indicated that they cannot perform the 90L floor mat entrapment recall service until Toyota releases the VIN numbers and service requirements for the Tacoma. No one seems to know when this recall will be released by Toyota and there doesn't seem to be any urgency for it. In the meantime nothing has been done to resolve the acceleration problems with the Tacoma, and infact Toyota fails to recognize rapid acceleration in the Tacoma. I have listed May 1, 2009 as the approximate incident date. However, as noted previously, these incidents occurred multiple times to multiple drivers over the course of the 3 years I have owned the vehicle.

- Chapel Hill, NC, USA

problem #67

Mar 032010

(reported on)


  • miles
S10 appropriate handling re Toyota throttle control problem fm owner of a 2006 Toyota Tacoma truck. The consumer stated twice within the past year, he experienced sudden acceleration. In both instances, his foot was on the brake and he was moving less that 5 mph. Both times, the vehicle surged forward as the ABS activated, and the front of the vehicle impacted the garage wall. The consumer believed the problem involved the electronic control system that activated and operated the ABS and throttle. He noticed that the ABS tends to activate too often and too early, even in dry conditions.

- Chester, NJ, USA

problem #66

Feb 012010


  • miles
My 2006 Toyota Tacoma has a problem surging forward at stops. I have not been involved in an accident but with the current recalls now on other Toyota vehicles I am concerned. The only current recall on my vehicle is for the floor mats. I was wondering if there were any other complaints like mine? didn't know where else to state my concerns. Have done some research on my own. Found some Toyota owners forums online others have stated they have the same problem. Please help!!

- Suffolk, VA, USA

problem #65

Sep 072009


  • 34,500 miles
This is a description of an event that occurred in September of 2009., bellingham Washington. I was southbound on I-5 approximately.25 miles South of sunset drive. I was traveling at about 60 mph, when noticing a slow vehicle directly about 300 ft ahead I signaled and moved into the passing lane to pass the slower vehicle. Traffic was fairly light. Just as I was just past the slow vehicle I noticed I wanted to take the upcoming off ramp, so I accelerated briefly to gain speed to move back into the slower lane., fortunately traffic was light because the vehicle started racing, I had let off the accelerator and nothing happened, instead I applied both feet first gently quickly firmly to the brake even with the brake firmly applied with both feet my speed was well in excess of 80mph and the engine was racing. Several hundred feet in front of me was my offramp and traffic, lots of it. I asked my husband sitting next to me if he could reach down and pry the accelerator from the floor, he tried unsuccessfully, at this point I new I had to get off the highway or rear end someone on the highway first, then again the same would be true off the ramp which was a fairly short right sweeping ramp. I didn't think we would make it and was most concerned about hitting someone else so I decided to take the ramp, at the same time carefully holding the wheel I ducked under it all the way to the floor and jerked the accelerator pedal out to the top, immediately returned above to the turning ramp both feet still pressed hard on the brake and just as I got to the end of the ramp, the vehicle stopped right in front of mcdonald's.. I just gripped the wheel tightly looked at my husband and said loudly !@#$% (excuse me) thank you god. I had never told anyone of this incident but it haunted me and when I heard of the issues going on in January I thought over and over I should contact Toyota. I finally did, I think it was about a month ago. I did get a response. Safety issues don't affect my vehicle why?

- Eastsound, WA, USA

problem #64

Feb 142010


  • 82,000 miles
I am the owner of a 2006 Toyota Tacoma that was involved in a roll over accident on 2/14/2010. My son was driving the vehicle with 2 passengers on a church outing. They were stopped at a traffic light waiting to turn. When the light changed he said he tried to accelerate but the pedal did not respond, the second time he tried the vehicle took off. As he tried to round the corner, the vehicle kept accelerating, he tried to brake but they did not respond. He lost control of the vehicle and hit the curb on the adjacent side of the road and became airborn. They went down an embankment and rolled. There was another vehicle of young adults traveling with them, and in the lane next to them on their left. They saw the whole thing and said they could hear the engine racing. When the got to the vehicle, they were able to get everyone out and my son just kept saying "what the hell happened". they were all treated and released with minor injuries. This vehicle was in the Toyota recall for floor mats. I did not have Toyota mats in the truck, I had very heavy rubber mats. I believe this vehicle experienced the accelerator pedal issue that has caused hundreds of other crashes. We are just fortunate no one was seriously hurt.

- Westminster, CO, USA

problem #63

Oct 212006

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,655 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact was backing out of a parking space. The engine began to rev excessively high and crashed into a utility pole. The gear was then placed into the "drive" position. An unintended acceleration occurred without warning. The vehicle crashed into a parked trailer and pushed the trailer into another parked vehicle. The police was called to the scene. There were no personal injuries. The vehicle was towed to an auto body collision shop. The vehicle was repaired for the body damages. There was an investigation performed by the manufacturer. The cause of failure has not been determined. Updated 05/07/10 updated 06/03/10 updated 06/07/10 updated 06/22/10 resend 06/24/10 updated 06/24/10 updated 07/19/10 updated 07/21/10. Updated 8/9/10 Toyota's field technical specialist found no mechanical defects. Updated 08/17/10.

- Leominster, MA, USA

problem #62

May 102008


  • 58,000 miles
I was passing on a two lane highway and the accelerator stuck. It has happened twice in three and a half years. Both times I tried putting the truck in neutral and had to shut the engine off. When it restarted both times the pedal was working normally.

- Raleigh, NC, USA

problem #61

Feb 102010


  • 3,000 miles
The accelerator was stuck in our 2006 Toyota Tacoma on several occasions. Almost causing an accident each time. We do not feel safe driving it. We have removed the mats. Toyota isn't offering replacement mats to fix the problems for their mistake. Toyota also hasn't included my truck in this supposed voluntary recall.

- Kingman, AZ, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?