Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.0

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
47,306 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2006 Toyota Tacoma suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2006 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2006 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #78

May 152013

Tacoma

  • 102,540 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While driving 35 mph and making a right turn, a loud clunking sound emitted from the rear of the vehicle. The contact recently received a notification for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension). The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the rear leaf spring was cracked and needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was repaired. The failure mileage was 102,540. Updated 06/29/16

- Bakersfield, CA, USA

problem #77

Apr 012015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the parts needed for the repairs were not available. The contact believed that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the recall repairs. The dealer was contacted several times, but they were unable to provide a time frame. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Glendale, CA, USA

problem #76

Mar 022015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part for the recall was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. Updated 05/26/16

- Bradford, PA, USA

problem #75

Dec 152014

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Scottsdale, AZ, USA

problem #74

Mar 092016

Tacoma

  • 145,000 miles
I took my truck to malloy Toyota for frame inspection regarding the limited service campaign eod- frame rust recall. Dealer informed me there was rust, but no perforations. They recommended coating the frame with compounds. I feel that my truck may not have perforations, but it is just a matter of time before the frame becomes perforated, resulting in a dangerous / unsafe vehicle. Putting the compunds on the frame is a quick band-aid and does not fix the problem. This frame will become unsafe, it is just a matter of time. This will not only potentially jeopardize the safety of my family / occupants in the vehicle, but also the others that share the road with my truck.

- Winchester, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #73

Jan 192016

Tacoma

  • miles
Rear leaf spring fractured or broken. This was confirmed by rivertown Toyota. Re: leaf spring recall dated July 2015 | broken spring makes audible clunk or bang. Fractured springs may hit fuel tank repeatedly and cause explosion or fire. Toyota refuses to fix.....until...they can find a remedy to stop it from reoccuring.

- Columbus, GA, USA

problem #72

Feb 262016

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #71

Mar 062013

Tacoma

  • 60,000 miles
On 3/14/2013 I noticed a noise that seemed to be coming from the rear suspension of my vehicle. I took the vehicle to my mechanic, who upon inspection noted that both rear leaf springs were broken.(see document) I then had the vehicle repaired on 3/22/2013. On September 29, 2014 the NHTSA announced the recall of my vehicle for the leaf springs(recall id 14V604) since that time I have been trying to get reimbursed by Toyota for the repairs that I had completed prior to the recall. I have contacted Toyota customer service several times and each time they have told me I needed to send more documentation. I've attached the required documents I have sent them, including the original invoice for diagnosis, the repair and a letter from my mechanic on letterhead supporting those documents. At one point in December 2015, they Toyota representative I was speaking with, actually called the mechanic to get verbal support of these documents. In December, I received a letter from Toyota stating that the remedy would be provided in early 2016. I've been told that once the remedy was provided I could then receive reimbursement for the repair. Yesterday, February 4, 2016, I was checking the status of the recall on my truck on Toyota.com and it stated that "there were no open recalls on my vehicle at this time" I contacted Toyota again and they stated that I did not send the proper paperwork and that I had to prove my vehicle was part of the recall. I've attached the repair order and letter from my mechanic as well as a copy of the recall notification and a look-up from the Toyota site that shows my vehicle is covered under the recall. I am contacting you, simply because Toyota is trying to avoid reimbursing me for this recall and actually seems to have taken me off of the original recall status. I am very frustrated. The case # with Toyota is 1510072576

- Bloomington, IN, USA

problem #70

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • 0 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #69

Sep 162014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Rocky Mount, NC, USA

problem #68

Sep 152015

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Cpsc: Toyota Tacoma: Consumer stated he experienced sudden acceleration, as well as frame corrosion, that allowed for the rack and pinion to wear and loosen prematurely. The consumer stated as a result, he experienced greater steering effort, reduced vehicle self-centering and noise in the front suspension.

- Pikeswille, TN, USA

problem #67

Sep 192014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Traduco, CA, USA

problem #66

Oct 072015

Tacoma

  • 180,000 miles
I do not think you are taking the rotted frame issue on the Tacoma seriously I have read the countless complaints all stating the same problems and the same lack of respect from Toyota about dealing with this problem that they have created. I"M starting to think this NHTSA is a puppet Agency for the manufacturers. Someone is going to get killed if the problems with the frams are not fixed. What will the NHTSA say then.sorry we should have acted sooner! alot of comfort that will be.

- Londonderry, NH, USA

problem #65

Jun 012014

Tacoma

  • miles
I have been experiencing significant rusting of my frame. I have complained to Toyota about it with little satisfaction. I also waiting excessively about rear leaf springs recall notices. Remedy taking too long. I also issues with tsb but Toyota placing burden on owner, not company.

- Boston, MA, USA

problem #64

Aug 262015

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 85,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that when the vehicle was taken to be serviced, the technician stated that the frame of the vehicle was rusted. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact mentioned that the failure occurred after the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 09V444000 (structure). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 85,000. Updated 11/09/15 the consumer stated the vehicle experienced a broken leaf spring. Updated 1/20/2016

- Bomoseem, VT, USA

problem #63

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #62

Nov 042014

Tacoma

  • 120,000 miles
Replaced rear leaf spring as it was broken and sticking out side of retainer. I paid for this. Received a Toyota recall of defective rear spring notice on August 2014. Have not received another notice for spring replacement. Another spring problem with retainer clip broken in 2015. Durand Toyota said they could not replace springs until I received second notice but would have to weld spring in place unti second notice is received. This is a major safety issue and I request it be addressed immediately by Toyota

- North Springfield, VT, USA

problem #61

Aug 312015

Tacoma

  • miles
Nh state inspection failed my 2006 Tacoma due to holes in the frame I contacted Toyota about this problem and they told me its my problem not theirs since the sprayed the frame previously. Well the spray did not work and the frame still rotted so why are they not being force to fix the faulty frame that they knew was a problem since they have had this come up in the past. This is a serious safety issue that needs to be addressed by your agents.

- Londonderry, NH, USA

problem #60

Aug 272014

Tacoma

  • 130,000 miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. While driving various speeds over a bump, there was an abnormal noise coming from the rear of the vehicle. He vehicle was taken to a dealer who diagnosed that the rear leaf springs needed to be replaced. The VIN was included in NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 130,000.

- Waynesboro, GA, USA

problem #59

Oct 012014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2006 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the recall part needed was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.the VIN was not available. MA 10/16/15

- Marshfield, MO, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?