Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
76,121 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Tacoma body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Nov 162016

Tacoma

  • 137,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The contact noticed that the fuel tank was leaking. Once the fuel tank was removed, the contact noticed that the subframe was rusted. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was diagnosed that the frame needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 137,000. The VIN was not provided.

- Chatsworth, NJ, USA

problem #33

Sep 292016

Tacoma

  • miles
Excessive rust on frame of truck. Frame coating/ protection insufficient. Toyota re-coated the frame on February 7th 2015 however the frame has continued to rust unabated as coating is flaking off.

- Sound Beach, NY, USA

problem #32

Sep 152016

Tacoma

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. An independent mechanic diagnosed that the vehicle had severe corrosion and the chassis needed to be replaced. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was 90,000.

- North Dennis, MA, USA

problem #31

Jul 252016

Tacoma

  • 83,525 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was repaired according to NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension), the contact was informed of corrosion on the frame of the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 83,525. Updated 10/05/16

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #30

Aug 292014

Tacoma

  • 68,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was being serviced for a customer satisfaction recall, the mechanic noticed that the frame was severely corroded and contained holes. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and stated that the customer satisfaction recall was expired and could not be used to repair the vehicle. The failure mileage was approximately 68,000.

- Norwich, CT, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #29

May 022016

Tacoma

  • 58,500 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. While inspecting under the vehicle, the contact noticed severe rust on the frame. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who stated that they will order the frame and contact the owner to repair the vehicle under the recall. The contact also stated that the vehicle was inspected by the same dealer in March of 2015 and the diagnosis was that the frame was fine. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired because it was not supposed to be inspected a second time. The approximate failure mileage was 58,500. Updated 08/05/16

- Saint Agustine, FL, USA

problem #28

May 232016

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 69,184 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was at the dealer for a routine repair, it was discovered that the rear driver side cross member was corroded completely due to rust. In 2014, the vehicle was serviced under a voluntary recall issued by the manufacturer, which consisted of spraying a corrosion protection compound to the cross member. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 69,184.....updated 07/05/16 the consumer is requesting an update. Updated 09/19/16.

- White Hall, MD, USA

problem #27

Mar 292016

Tacoma

  • 192,000 miles
I purchased a 2007 Toyota Tacoma from bernardi Toyota in framingham, MA in December of 2008. Toyota motor sales, usa, Inc. Issued a service campaign to inspect and repair the frames of 2007 Toyota Tacoma due to a manufacturer defect which resulted in corrosion to the vehicles frame. I brought my Toyota Tacoma in for inspection at bernardi Toyota and the frame did not have a hole in it. Therefore, the frame was not eligible for replacement, rather it was only eligible to be sprayed with a coating that was supposed to prevent corrosion. In March of 2016, I received a recall notice for a defect in the manufacturing of the vehicles leaf springs (also corrosion related). I brought the vehicle in for the recall and bernardi Toyota noticed a hole in the frame. Bernardi contacted Toyota corporate to replace the frame; however, was refused. I contacted Toyota as well and they also refused to replace the frame with a known manufacturer defect, despite replacing frames for other customers. It is obvious that the spray applied to the frame did not work to prevent further corrosion. Toyota replaced the frame on trucks with holes in the frame similar to mine, but refuses to replace the frame on my truck even though the problem is directly corrosion related and the spray they applied did not prevent the frame from rusting through. This is a known defect which was not sufficiently addressed by Toyota. Toyota should provide me with an equal remedy that they provided to other Toyota Tacoma owners and that is a frame replacement.

- Westborough, MA, USA

problem #26

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • 93,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that a technician informed that the vehicle had moderate to severe corrosion on the frame and it needed to be sprayed with anti-corrosive adhesive). The technician was not able to apply the adhesive until the parts for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) were available. The vehicle was remedied for the recall after one year and a half. Prior to the remedy, the leaf spring had fractured. After the vehicle was repaired, the technician refused to apply the adhesive spray. The representative from Toyota informed the contact that due to government regulation that the vehicle could not have the adhesive applied. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 93,000.

- Tarentum, PA, USA

problem #25

Feb 292016

Tacoma

  • 147,446 miles
Frame rust. My vehicle exhibited perforated rust on the structural parts of the frame. I took the truck to Toyota on 29 February 2016 for repair under their service campaign that was not to end until 31 March 2016. The technicians could not find the holes of rust until I showed them and then I was informed that Toyota would no longer remedy the rotting frame because it had been previously coated by Toyota while the vehicle was owned by a different owner. I pointed out to them that the remedy that Toyota had employed was obviously ineffective and since the service campaign was still in force, a proper remedy should be employed. The dealership refused and referred me to Toyota national for usa. They also refused to assist and sent a letter to me to that effect. Toyota launched this service campaign but are not ensuring that their repairs are effectively fixing the issue which involves the undermining of the structural integrity of their vehicle frames. It is unacceptable that the frame recall is not working and that Toyota is not willing to stand behind their product, leaving the customer with an unsafe vehicle due to the compromised structural integrity of the frame itself.

- Loveland, OH, USA

problem #24

Mar 032016

Tacoma

  • 73,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The frame is rusting out on my Tacoma that I purchased and Toyota says since they inspected it 9 month ago it no longer qualifies for frame replacement program. It had not been driven under any negative road corrosive conditions in this time, and this frame was I believe rusted when inspected and not discovered because it has rusted from the inside out. Now the power steering has gone out and I have been experiencing acceleration problems with it since purchasing it. I contacted Toyota about the frame rust and was told basically too bad so sad. They have told me they filed my complaint under file #1603091915 at their national headquarters. The frame metal is defective. The power steering has quit working at approximately 75000 miles, and the truck accelerates under its own power when shifting into 5th gear.

- Durango, IA, USA

problem #23

Mar 252016

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
I purchased a new 2007 Toyota Tacoma (VIN # [xxx]) from boch Toyota of norwood MA. It currently has 44,836 miles on the odometer. In July 2014 Toyota has a safety recall for corrosion of frames on vehicles like mine. At that time they only removed loose rust and applied some kind of rust proofing. On March 25, 2016 I took my truck in for another recall. This recall is for corrosion of leaf springs.both leaf springs were replaced. The manager said they had found corrosion damage to the frame of my truck, including a rust through or crack in an area below the passenger side door. He said the frame should be replaced and I should contact Toyota, because they have replaced such frames under the terms of the frame corrosion recall. I contacted Toyota. My case # is [xxx]. Toyota said the frame recall ended in July of 2014, and since the damage was not noted until later, then it was not covered. My complaint is: "this problem is not caused by normal use, but is a safety defect, which Toyota acknowledged with their 2014 recall.. ?the inspection of my truck for corrosion and frame damage in July 2014 missed the severity of the problem with my truck. ?the application of rust proofing was either not properly done or inadequate to address the damage, which the recall intended to address. ?Toyota"S deadline for having the frame replacement work done under their recall is March 31st 2016. I reported my frame damage and requested replacement prior to that date a Toyota rep said that, because their technicians did not note the severity of my frame damage in 2014, a frame replacement by Toyota is not covered now. This truck has seen very light use. The condition of this frame is a safety defect, which Toyota has covered in other cases.Toyota should cover frame replacement for my truck under the 2014 recall. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Newton, MA, USA

problem #22

Mar 032016

Tacoma

  • 84,000 miles
Inspection noticed underframe is badly rusted (penetration not surface rust) and is in danger of failing.

- Petoskey, MI, USA

problem #21

Jan 302016

Tacoma

  • 110,000 miles
Rust perforation on frame. Was not notified that this was an issue by manufacturer. First inspected by dealer 4/15/15 and was missed. Inspected by another dealer dealer 1/31/16 and found large perforations in frame measuring 4". was informed by dealer thi was a known issue and would be taken care of free of charge. Manufacturer was made aware of issue and declined frame replacement or repair.

- Elkhorn, NE, USA

problem #20

Oct 022015

Tacoma

  • 96,000 miles
2007 Toyota Tacoma, rusted frame.. I purchased used in austin Texas on Oct 2015 from a dealership. The truck is from a northern state, affected by massive amounts of rust on the frame. I took the truck in for a look over, I was told I had a few years left in the truck before the rust rots completely through. Toyota needs to recall the 2007 models as well. I just bought this truck thinking this was going to run for a very long time, I was mistaken and buyer beware.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #19

Sep 022015

Tacoma

  • 180,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the subframe was rusted and corroded. The vehicle was taken to a dealer. The contact was informed that the part for the repair was not available and advised the contact to return with the vehicle when the part became available. In addition, the technician stated that another unknown repair was required prior to the recall remedy for the subframe. The contact was concerned for his safety. The manufacturer was not aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 180,000. The VIN was not available.

- Richmond , KY, USA

problem #18

May 262015

Tacoma

  • 143,000 miles
Toyota can't build frames for their trucks. Mine is rotted. Toyota plans to spray it with a rust inhibitor. They have recalled every 2006 and older Tacoma for this issue and won't recall the 2007's. I now own a pile of junk and Toyota won't do what's right even though they clearly know there's an issue.

- West Pittston, PA, USA

problem #17

Dec 302014

Tacoma

  • 66,520 miles
2007 Tacoma well maintained and garage kept is showing signs of excessive rust on frame and and inside frame rails. Toyota has a campaign out at this time to cover excessive frame rust on Tacoma's in the following states. Ct de il in ky MA md me mi mn nh NJ NY oh pa ri va vt wi wv, & D.C. I live in Iowa which also uses salt on roads in the winter and only live 35 miles from the Minnesota border, so why is my truck not covered in this salt belt campaign? I checked on line and there are many complaints of frame rust on 1996-2009 Tacoma's being deemed unsafe to drive and with frames failing after as little as 6 years.

- Mason City, IA, USA

problem #16

Jul 012014

Tacoma

  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension), NHTSA campaign number: 13V337000 (seat belts) and NHTSA campaign number: 12V092000 (air bags) had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for repair. The dealer stated the parts needed were not available for repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay on several occasions. The vehicle was not repaired. In addition, the contact stated that the vehicle had exhibited excessive corrosion on the entire frame which was perforated. The manufacturer deemed the vehicle unsafe to drive. The failure mileage was 30,000.

- Great Neck, NY, USA

problem #15

Dec 192009

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
We own a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. Back in 2009 I had an instance where I was driving during snowy conditions and when approaching an intersection, while applying the brakes the ABS kicked in to where I could not stop and I coasted into the intersection and got in a minor accident. I have noticed several times throughout the years in the road has any wet, slippery, lose grip the ABS will kick in and prevent me from being able to stop. Even when the road is dry, if one tire of the three lose any traction my brakes stop functioning making it incredibly difficult to stop because the ABS system. After researching online, apparently this issue is common with my generation truck. There have been countless instances of people sliding into intersections unable to stop because of the ABS. Not as many as unfortunate as me to get into an accident because of it. I have been searching for a solution and feel that Toyota should have a recall to prevent further accidents.

- Reno, NV, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?