Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
33 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
12 / 2
Average Mileage:
28,000 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2007 Toyota Tacoma engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2007 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2007 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 4 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #33

Jul 222009

Tacoma

  • 112,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Two incidents: 7/9/09 heading down to the keys on us 27 about 6pm. Cruise control set at 60 for several miles (had been raining. Speed limit is 65mph). Back end starts to pass me on right. I am now sliding South bound facing East. I cut wheels to right. This works great. In no time at all, I am skidding southbound facing West. I notice I am not slowing down even though my foot was not on gas (cruise control). I cut my wheels to the left and spun back around again sliding southbound facing East. I went off onto the shoulder. I could see mud and grass in passenger window until I hit the guardrail with R side of bumper. This impact apparently disengaged the cruise control (?) and launched me across both South bound lanes of us 27 where I began to come to a stop. I stomped the gas to get out of on coming traffic and again spun to the right coming to rest in the median as 2 cars passed me. At the time, I thought it strange that the cruise control did not disengage when the wheels started spinning on the wet road. None the less, I wrote this off as me being a !@#$% for using the cruise control when the road was too wet. Now, in light of the 7-22-09 accident, I am not so sure it was the cruise control, or that I am such a !@#$%. 7/22/09 about 7:15am as I completed the turn, the truck (I now call my truck christine) accelerated. When I reached the desired speed, I took my foot off gas but continued to speed up. I tried applying the brakes, but that didn't work out so I stomped on the brakes causing me to fishtail to the right so I let up on the brakes to regain control and I was still accelerating! as I continued to accelerate, I hit (pulled the knob toward me) the cruise control (which I had not engaged previously) thinking I might be having a repeat of 2 weeks ago, but that didn't work either and I continued to accelerate. I put gear selector into neutral (I thought) but continued to accelerate. I overturned in a...

- Clewiston, FM, USA

problem #32

Jul 102009

Tacoma

  • 43,453 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. While driving approximately 65 mph, the contact pressed the resume cruise control button. Suddenly, the engine began to rev and the vehicle continued to accelerate to 90 mph. He depressed the brake pedal, but the vehicle continued to accelerate. The accelerator pedal was 'pegged' to the floor; however, nothing was obstructing the pedal. The contact disengaged the cruise control and placed the vehicle into neutral so that he could coast to a stop. He had to place the vehicle back into gear in order to finally stop the vehicle. He inspected the vehicle but did not see anything jammed under the hood nor did he see any leaks. The contact turned off the vehicle. When he restarted the vehicle, it performed normally. He took the vehicle to the dealer, but they found no failures. The dealer stated that the floor mat could have contributed to the failure. The manufacturer offered no assistance. The current mileage was 43,603 and failure mileage was approximately 43,453. See also 10276445.

- Queen Creek, AZ, USA

problem #31

Jul 102009

Tacoma

  • 43,446 miles
I was driving from tucson to queen creek on highway 79. I set my cruise control to 65 and enjoyed the ride. I came around a bend in the road, and there was a pickup pulling a trailer a few hundred yards ahead going much slower than 65. I tapped on the brake to disengage the cruise control, and slowed down to ~ 50 before I could pass due to oncoming traffic. Once the road was clear, I accelerated by pushing the resume feature of the cruise control. The truck accelerated, and I was waiting to feel the overdrive gear kick in but it did not. The truck kept accelerating past 90 mph. I looked down to the gas pedal to see if it was blocked or obstructed and it was not but I could feel gas pedal was flat against the floor. I first tapped on the break again but the truck kept speeding up. I turned off the cruise control, but the truck kept speeding up. At close to 100 mph I put the truck in neutral and tried to get the truck off to the side of the road, but it felt as though the brakes were not working. I got the truck stopped by placing both feet on the brake. The engine was running at ~6000 RPM so I looked at things I thought might be obvious such as an obstruction of the gas pedal, but the pedal was clear and un obstructed. I looked under the truck to look for anything leaking or broken and everything looked fine. I turned off the engine, let the truck sit a minute, then started it again. I drove my wife home, and went straight to the Toyota dealer. The dealer told me they couldn't find anything wrong but said the floor mat was obstructing the gas pedal. I can assure you that this is the first thing I checked when I realized the cruise control wasn't disengaging the engine. I checked it again once I got the truck to stop. If I had seen the pedal was obstructed, I wouldn't be filling out the complaint form and chalked it up to checking the floor mat before driving. This was the scariest situation I have ever had behind the wheel of any vehicle.

- Queen Creek, AZ, USA

problem #30

Jul 022009

Tacoma

  • 41,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was passing another vehicle in my 2007 Toyota Tacoma. The accelerator stuck while passing. I tapped it twice trying to release it and applied the brakes. The accelerator pedal would not release and the vehicle continued to accelerate. I quickly turned off the ignition and coasted to a stop. The pedal was still laying on the floor when I stopped so I opened the engine hood and looked to see if I could see the cable linkage and see what was causing the problem. I then went back to the cab to see if the floor mat was causing the problem (it was not). As I came to the cab door I heard a pop as the accelerator pedal snapped back up (about two minutes after coasting to a stop). I then started the vehicle and it drove normally. I took the vehicle to the dealer to have it checked out. They said they could find no error codes and that they could not find anything wrong with the accelerator.

- Montgomery, AL, USA

problem #29

Jun 162009

Tacoma

  • 33,900 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. When the contact stopped at a stop sign, the vehicle surged forward and the rpms increased. The vehicle would not downshift and he had to slam on the brakes in order to stop the vehicle. The failure occurred twice in June of 2009. The dealer could not duplicate the failure or provide further assistance. The manufacturer opened a case regarding the issue. The current mileage was 34,071 and failure mileage was approximately 33,900.

- El Paso, TX, USA

problem #28

Nov 102008

Tacoma

  • 21,675 miles
I was initially traveling on a two lane country road and had the cruise control set at 55 mph. As I approached a four lane divided highway ahead I was required to stop, thus disengaging the cruise control. I pulled onto the four lane highway and floored the accelerator to quickly reach the 65 mph speed limit. When I was at the speed limit I eased off of the pedal in order to cruise at 65. The vehicle continued to accelerate. At this point I realized that the accelerator pedal was "glued" to the floor. Thinking it was stuck, I stomped on it a couple of times hoping to free it. This was to no avail. In these few seconds I had reached approximately 95 mph. I had forgotten that the cruise control was still on but not set. I turned off the ignition and coasted to the side of the road. I have no idea if the cruise control was the culprit, however, my impression was that the throttle linkage was not binding, but again, I do not really know. I can think of no circumstances where this could be considered normal. I tried to duplicate the condition with the cruise both on and off but was unable to. I plan on notifying Toyota also.

- Interlachen, FL, USA

problem #27

Jan 102008

Tacoma 4WD 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 36,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. Approximately 4,000 feet in elevation, the vehicle will stick and not slow down. In order to stop the vehicle, the contact had to stomp on the brake pedal and noticed unusual resistance. Initially, the dealer did not believe that anything was wrong with the vehicle. At 3,200 RPM's, the throttle would stick. The failure and current mileages were less than 36,000. Updated 11/7/08 updated 11/13/08.

- Orangevia, CA, USA

problem #26

Sep 152008

Tacoma

  • miles
The speedometer will start to jump from your current rate of speed to anything below that. It started on Sunday late after noon on Sep. 15, 2008. Then the cruise control would accelerate on its own when in use. Both have continued to happen since then, accept now the truck is not getting very good gas mileage, the gauges stopped working all together, and the check engine light is now on. The truck is at the dealership as I type this being looked into. There is a serious problem from what I can see when I drive it. Something electrical for sure, and possibly elsewhere internally. I am concerned to have my family in the truck with me at times from the way the truck drives. Another concern is the warranty will be up in a few thousand miles and I am concerned that whatever the electrical problem may be, they could try to sugar coat it so it last a couple thousand miles, then they are not responsible for it. I just want it fixed and safe for my family.

- Mendocino, CA, USA

problem #25

Oct 102007

Tacoma

  • 2,200 miles
Vehicle won't stop. I was coming to a stop at a traffic light trying to stop. The harder I pressed on the brake pedal the faster the engine would race. I had to place the transmission into neutral to stop my movement. That was the first time the second was about the same but not so bad. It was clear day dry streets. I had 2992 miles on the truck. Went to Toyota dealer, they checked brake system, pedal bracketry checked for diag. Codes none found, test drives. Inspect ABS system all systems working. No repairs made.

- Glendale, AZ, USA

problem #24

Jun 102008

Tacoma

  • 58,980 miles
I was pulling out of the parking garage at work and made a right hand turn. In the midst of the turn my Tacoma started to accelerate just the right amount to spin the tires. I did not have my foot on the gas because of the fact there was traffic ahead and I was costing around the turn. I have also seen times when my Tacoma will accelerate at lest 10 mph over what I have had my cruise control set to, and there have been cases will it will jump at a light when my foot in on the brake.

- Castle Rock, CO, USA

problem #23

Mar 212008

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 2,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I was pulling into a parking space when the 4 door Tacoma truck surged ahead hard enough to run over the curb before I got it stopped. I wasn't sure originally what happened but assumed that I must have pushed on the accelerator pedal as I was depressing the brake. But, after reading concerns about other Tacoma problems with sudden acceleration I am rethinking what happened. I am 56 years old with an excellent driving record. I hope Toyota takes this more seriously than it seems they have up to this point.

- East Tawas, MI, USA

problem #22

Jan 182008

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,794 miles
After exiting a freeway, I disengaged but did not turn off the cruise control. The vehicle coasted momentarily, but then began to accelerate. I applied the brake, but the vehicle maintained speed. The harder I applied the brakes, the higher the rpms rose. The anti-lock brakes kicked in, and the brakes began smoking, and the vehicle was still moving at 40 mph, the rpms at 6,000. I shifted into neutral, the rpms pegged the tachometer, but the vehicle stopped. The motor revved until I shut the vehicle down. I took it to victory Toyota, but was told that there was nothing wrong with the vehicle. They had it for 4 days. I took it to them again, with the same results. In March, Toyota sent two engineers to look at it for a day, however I have not been told any results.

- Commerce, MI, USA

problem #21

Dec 242007

Tacoma

  • miles
2007 Toyota Tacoma accelerating unexpectedly. Consumer stated that this defect caused him to lose control of the vehicle and crash. Consumer also states that there are multiple complaints of this problem. See also 10225651 the consumer was injured in the roll over. (lawyer wrote in on behalf of consumer)

- Jacksonville, FL, USA

problem #20

Feb 232008

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I've noticed that my 2007 Toyota Tacoma extended cab will on occasion lurch forward while at a complete stop. It seems to happen when the air conditioner or defrost unit is activated. I assume it is the increase in engine speed when the compressor kicks in. To date I just have to push harder on the brake peddle. I hope it doesn't get any worse. When it happens as it does suddenly, it usually catches you off guard. If your reaction time isn't fast enough or you panic, you could lose control of the vehicle. When it happens, the vehicle will usually move about 6" ahead.

- Harrisburg, PA, USA

problem #19

Dec 232007

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 5,200 miles
I was driving my 2007 Toyota Tacoma down a hill and without my foot on the accelerator the vehicle accelerated without notice...I lost control of the vehicle and ran into a concrete barrier. There is substantial damage to my vehicle and I was also injured. It happened about a month ago for the first time and I didn't think much of it or it was nothing serious.

- Campbell, OH, USA

problem #18

Dec 232007

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Returning home from a short drive of about four miles, I brought the vehicle to a complete stop in front of the garage. All of a sudden without warning the accelerator revved very high. I pushed down hard on the brake but the vehicle still lurched forward hitting the garage door and side wall causing damage to the building and vehicle. I shut off the engine to kill the engine. The oem floor mats were in place and did not affect the pedal. No personal injuries - just a very shaken family.

- Fpo Ae, AE, USA

problem #17

Dec 182007

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,400 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. While driving into the garage and attempting to park with the brake pedal depressed, the vehicle surged forward and struck a table and a wall. The vehicle sustained minor damage. There were no injuries. The dealer was notified and the contact no longer wants to drive the vehicle. The speed was unknown. The current and failure mileages were 6,400.

- Center Conway, NH, USA

problem #16

Nov 082007

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 4,010 miles
Vehicle suddenly lunges forward without warning and an increasingly annoying vibration in the drive train.

- Marstons Mills, MA, USA

problem #15

Nov 102007

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
I was driving downhill on a curvey road when I began to brake the engine surged I applied the brakes and the truck slowed. Approximately 5 miles later I was approaching a stop sign at a usually very busy intersection (route 2 in Massachusetts) I applied the brakes and the engine surged before I could stop the truck I was 10 feet beyond the stop sign in the intersection. Fortunately, no cars were coming otherwise we would have been hit in the side doors. This problem has been occurring intermittently since I purchased the vehicle in June but I had made excuses and it was never rto the extent that occurred this past week.

- West Roxbury, MA, USA

problem #14

Nov 052007

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,525 miles
The contact owns a 2007 Toyota Tacoma. While stopped at a red light with the brake pedal depressed, the engine revved and the vehicle accelerated into oncoming traffic. The contact was finally able to stop the vehicle by shifting from drive into neutral. He then drove directly to the dealer and two different service representatives stated that they never heard of such a thing. The failure was unable to be duplicated. The vehicle has remained parked because the contact believes the vehicle is unsafe to drive. The VIN, engine size, and speed were unknown. The current mileage was 6,567 and failure mileage was 6,525.

- Goodlettsville, TN, USA

Read the next 13 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?