Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
27 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 2
Average Mileage:
26,781 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Tacoma engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Dec 212010


  • 50,000 miles


The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While driving 25 mph and accelerating down a hill the vehicle suddenly accelerated. While applying the brakes the vehicle would not stop or slow down. The gears thrust into park but the rpms continued to increase excessively. The vehicle was driven to her residence but it was not diagnosed by the dealer. The manufacturer was contacted and informed him to take the vehicle to the dealer for inspection. The failure mileage was 50,000.

- Marietta, GA, USA

problem #55

Sep 142010

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 8,360 miles
We have been having trouble with my 2008 Toyota Tacoma truck with the engine revving when we first start it up. We took it to the dealer. They said that this is "normal" last week we took it in due to a safety recall notice for sudden acceleration problems that Toyota claims is due to floor mats. Dealer cut down the accelerator pedal, reprogrammed the computer control system, rotated the tires. Upon pulling out of the dealership the steering wheel vibrated (side to side) and car bucked (front to back) there were loud grinding and banging noises. Car pulled strongly to the left. I took my foot off of the accelerator. Instead of slowing, the engine suddenly revved up. Due to oncoming traffic on both sides of us, I focused on steering us out of trouble by keeping us in our lane. I did not apply brake. I had thought that without gas, the car would gradually slow down on its own. Instead of slowing the engine revved up! truck suddenly lurched 90 degrees to left, jerked steering wheel our of my hands vehicle lurched into the oncoming traffic lane, whole front passenger side tire assembly came off and headed one way and the truck went the other. We were thrown forward, down and to the right. The vehicle kept moving until we crashed into concrete entrance/exit of dealership. I put on emergency brake. Dealer says "simple human error mechanic forgot to tighten bolts on tire" I think this goes way beyond a tire problem. They messed with computer control system and the accelerator pedal. I can't see how tires cause engines to rev up. Updated 01/28/11 updated 02/07/11

- Lakeport, CA, USA

problem #54

Aug 092010


  • 58,200 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated while driving 50 mph the black foot rest pad in front of the vehicle broke and got under the accelerator pedal almost causing a crash. The failure was not repaired. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer nor was the manufacturer contacted in regards to the failure. The contact stated that the dealer will charge him for the repairs which he cannot afford to pay. The failure mileage was 58,200.

- St Augustine, FL, USA

problem #53

Jul 132010


  • 32,575 miles


Since September of 2007, I drove a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. July 13, 2010 at approximately 8:55 a.M., I was stepping on my brake to come to a stop behind a vehicle at a stop sign in a residential area. I started braking slowly as usual. It appeared the brakes were working but not catching as fast as usual so I put extra pressure on the brake. Getting too close than I should be for a stop, I pushed the brake to the floor & my truck dipped a bit appearing to come to a stop but then kept rolling & hit the car in front of me. The car seemed to move froward just before the tap as if it were going to make the turn at the stop sign so the impact was low. The car then stopped but since my truck hadn't, although my foot was still had the brake to the floor, I pumped my brake and stomped it to the floor again and my truck launched out slamming into the car again. This was a low impact collision in a residential area coming to a stop sign in the morning on my way to work. The brakes had failed prior to the acceleration issue that followed. My insurance company & Toyota claim Toyota is the only company able to run any tests on the vehicle to inspect my truck. Toyota writes that it is their understanding my accident was caused when my vehicle accelerated & rear ended another vehicle. That's only a portion of my claim. They overlooked the initial cause of the brake not catching. I understand that in some cases people panic & step on the accelerator. Even if that had happened causing the second hit, the first hit that may have caused any panic was because the brake did not work. The letter regarding my inspection claims my brakes were in good condition. The Toyota recall on my vehicle says safety recalls or service campaigns, "have not yet been completed for your vehicle" and I'll be notified as soon as there's a remedy. I do not feel safe in that vehicle. The police on the scene said I could be held negligent if I continued driving after my brakes failed. I can't afford a new truck.

- Casa Grande, AZ, USA

problem #52

Jul 122010


  • 65,000 miles
Sticking accelerator pedal.

- Stoystown, PA, USA

problem #51

Jun 072010

Tacoma 4WD

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While driving 55 mph the vehicle accelerated and crashed into a ditch. The contact was able to drive the vehicle to his residence. He notified an authorized dealer of the failure and was told that they would call him after obtaining further instructions from the manufacturer. There was no property damage or injuries. The vehicle was not repaired when the complaint was filed. The failure mileage was 38,000. Updated 10/27/10. Updated 11/19/10 updated 11/23/10

- Troutdale, OR, USA

problem #50

May 112010


  • 24,698 miles


I own a 2008 Toyota Tacoma truck. I have had problems with the throttle surging when the air conditioner is turned off. I took it to the dealership and they could not find anything wrong. I still continued to have problems but then, on May 11, 2010, I was going to park the truck behind our motorhome which had a car caddy attached to it. As I turn into the space, the throttle stuck and I ran into the car dolly. I immediately shoved into neutral and turned it off. My car dolly took the impact. I looked down to make sure my foot was on the brake and it was. I then had the truck towed to the dealership on May 12 and it has been sitting there since.

- Fruitland, IA, USA

problem #49

Apr 012008


  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While driving at approximate speeds of 55 and 60 mph, the contact removed her foot from the accelerator pedal and the vehicle continued to accelerate. She was able to bring the vehicle to a stop by applying pressure to the brake pedal. She then noticed that the accelerator pedal was wedged beneath the floor mat. The dealer stated that there were no failures and refused to perform a diagnostic test. The contact confirmed that she had experienced unwanted acceleration on several occasions and assumed it was due to driver error. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 20,000.

- Calexico, CA, USA

problem #48

Feb 062010


  • 10,000 miles
On 02/06/10 I experienced an unintended acceleration problem with my 2008 Toyota Tacoma X. I was in my drive way an putting my truck in the garage when it accelerated unexpectedly and struck the foundation of my home. A claim was initiated with my insurance company (nationwide) and with Toyota. I contacted Toyota and was given a claim number. On talkin to the Toyota representative a statement of events was given and I was told the case would be passed on to another department. Only once did Toyota return my call. As notified after my last contact (03/11/10) the claim is with the legal department and no one has picked up the claim in the 3 weeks. The truck has been repaired thru nationwide and the dealership, but no one can tell me if the vehicle is safe to drive. The dealership has stated that Toyota needs to inspect the truck and nationwide has also requested an inspection. A time frame of 30-45 days has been given.

- Steubenville, OH, USA

problem #47

Mar 112008


  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While the contact was pulling into his driveway with his foot depressing the brake pedal, the vehicle suddenly accelerated without warning. In order to stop the vehicle, the contact had to place the gear shift selector into neutral. The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however the failure could not be duplicated. The current and failure mileages were 16,000.

- Houston, TX, USA

problem #46

Oct 032008


  • 3,000 miles


I want to file a class action law suit cause my husbands life was taken do to his truck having defects and was just now recalled. I will never see the love of my life that I was only married to for 9 months. It hurts and your vehicles should be more safe. My sister has a hybrid prius and I am scared for her safety also.

- Smithfield, VA, USA

problem #45

Mar 052010


  • 35,000 miles
I called Toyota today to file this complaint to no avail after waiting 2.5 hrs. As the dealer has no fix on this problem my 2008 Toyota Tacoma truck. When you stop you have to really bottom the breaks down. Once the air condition compressor engages. The truck moves and hops. To avoid it. I press brake hard. Also when you release the brakes to go. You dont have to step on the gas. It accelerate on its own. Most cars it accelerates very slowly. You need to press on the gas pedal to move that fast.

- Placentia, CA, USA

problem #44

Oct 012008


  • 500 miles
Immediately after purchase, in Oct 2008, during a cold morning, set cruise control, but not in overdrive, hit acceleration pedal, vehicle began to speed out of control. This has happened twice. Resolved by disengaging cruise control. Have not duplicated situation, and no more incidents occurred. I notified capitstrano Toyota in ca, but not on list of vehicles recalled. I tried to email with online form, system won't allow me to submit issue. I tried to call Toyota, not taking any calls.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #43

Mar 042010


  • 17,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that his rpms increased excessively and the vehicle experienced unintended acceleration. When the vehicle accelerated he shifted into neutral gear and drove to the side of the road to turn the vehicle on and off so that it would resets itself. The vehicle was driven to his residence and the dealer was called to retrieve it. The Toyota manufacture was not called. The failure mileage was 17,000.

- Bushwood, MD, USA

problem #42

Jan 272010


  • 34,121 miles
I am a mechanic for 5 years. My wife always drive the truck. Never me. On Jan 27 the problem started when I start entering the freeway or speed up. I have to step on gas to the metal. I noticed there is a electronic or sensor delay on the gas pedal. Causing me to really bottom the gas pedal. By that time I reach ideal speed. I let go of the gas pedal then there is another problem the truck does not stop immediately or decelerate because the sensor has a delay. I have to step on the brakes very hard. I explained this to the dealer few days ago.but told me my truck is not part of this recall. Right now I tried to put some lube on the joint of the pedal but it is electronic-problem compare to cable and spring. Once you release the pedal it will decelerate on its own. Pls help me and have this recalled. The computer or the speed on the throttle sensor should be real time. From the moment you step in the gas the sensor should immediately send to computer to go accelerate. When release it should immediately send to computer split second decelerate. That delay is causing issues of safety. Now I have to tell my wife to give enough space because the truck seemed to be very heavy fighting the deceleration delay process and weight plus brakes. In California drivers will cut you off.

- Placentia, CA, USA

problem #41

Feb 272010


  • 25,500 miles
While moving at a speed of about 25 mph or less on a crowded surface street, a traffic light turned red, and when I took my foot off the accelerator to brake, the engine of my Toyota Tacoma suddenly revved up to a very high RPM. I jammed the brake down to the floor and because of the distance between my truck and the car ahead, I was able to stop my truck before hitting the car, but my rear drive tires were squealing and the truck was shuddering. I shifted into neutral and turned off the ignition, successfully ending the incident. After a few moments, I restarted the truck and, without further incident, was able to drive the truck to a dealer located a short distance away. My Tacoma is not on any recall list. Have other incidents been reported for this truck?

- Dacula, GA, USA

problem #40

Nov 082008

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 26,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle has a 5-speed manual transmission. The vehicles RPM levels increased although the vehicle was not in gear. When the vehicle speed was 70 mph and the contact shifted into 5th gear, the vehicle accelerated to 95 mph without him pressing on the gas pedal. The failure mileage was 15. The current mileage was 26,000. Updated 03/30/10 the consumer stated the vehicle has an electrical problem and the vehicle doesn't go back to idle in between gears; especially between 4th and 5th gear. And a slight to moderate down hill the RPM's don't go to idle. Updated 08/18/10

- Edgewood, NM, USA

problem #39

Feb 232010


  • 32,000 miles
I would like to add my name to the list of people who have Toyota's with acceleration issues. I own a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. I made a complaint with Toyota shortly after purchasing the vehicle that I have felt, on many occasions, while stopped, a sudden surge forward. At times, it feels as though I was bumped from behind. Toyota told me that it was a result of the air conditioner compressor kicking on. The problem is that about 90% of the time, my A/C was not on. I was lucky enough that the only times I have felt this was while stopped with my foot on the brake. There has never been an accident due to this with my vehicle. My complaint is listed on their service record od my vehicle. I will simply put that date of incident as today's date, as this particular surge has happened so many times. I have floor mats that do not slide forward, my pedal is not on the recall list, and I do not drive with both feet. I feel that the issue has something to do with their fuel delivery system.

- Bristol, CT, USA

problem #38

Nov 082007


  • miles
Purchased a 2008 Toyota Tacoma truck in October of 2007. One month later I had an acceleration issue while picking up my son. I was unable to brake the truck to a complete stop. Causing me crush my mother-in-law garage door and the front of my new pickup. In all I was without a vehicle for one week while having the repairs completed, and my insurance premium went up forcing me to find a better rate through another insurance company. My mother in law had to have repairs to her garage after being compensated from my insurance company. I pressed the brake down as hard as I could and yet the truck continue moving forward.

- Stewartsville, MO, USA

problem #37

Jan 062010


  • 19,419 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma purchased brand new less than a year ago. She stated the driver was traveling at speeds of less than 20 mph approaching a parking garage when he released his foot from the accelerator pedal in an attempt to brake. The pedal became stuck in position causing the vehicle to accelerate at speeds of up to 70 mph. The contact attempted to depress the brakes, to no avail. He then reached down and forced the accelerator pedal back into the idle position by yanking it with tremendous force. The vehicle was taken to the local dealer where they advised the vehicle was operating as it was designed and that although the floor mats were installed correctly, they should be removed. The contact did not feel this would remedy the fact that the accelerator pedal became stuck in the open throttle position without any interference from the floor mats. There were no repairs made to the vehicle to date. The failure and current mileages were approximatley 19,419. The VIN was not available.

- Chipeko Canyon, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?