Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
27 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 2
Average Mileage:
26,781 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Tacoma engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 4 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #16

Aug 182009

Tacoma

  • 16,200 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that intermittently he experienced unintended vehicle acceleration. He had to shift the vehicle into the neutral gear to decelerate. The vehicle was taken to the dealer; however, the technicians were unable to identify the cause of the failure. The vehicle has not been repaired. The vehicle identification number was unavailable. The failure mileages were 16,200 and the current mileage were 16,900.

- Port Richard, WA, USA

problem #15

Aug 292009

Tacoma

  • 10,000 miles
2008 Toyota Tacoma trd off-road large, sudden, unexpected increase in engine rpms while stopped at a red traffic light. I had just come to a complete stop at a red light when the engine suddenly began to roar. When this happened, I was not able to keep the truck from moving forward by applying additional braking pressure. A man who was about to cross the street in front of the truck heard the noise and jumped back onto the curb to avoid being hit. The truck proceeded through the intersection and approx. Another 100 feet before the rpms returned to normal and the vehicle came to a stop. I was very fortunate there was no cross traffic at the time this problem occurred. Approx mileage is 10K. Please note the following: 1 - my foot was on the brake, not the gas pedal, and I do not drive using both feet, and my shoe size is 8. 2 - the floor mat was lying flat on the floor when this was happened. 3 - I am very familiar with the slight increase in rpms that happens when the air conditioning cycles, and this was several orders of magnitude beyond that. This is the 5th Toyota pickup I have owned in the past 12 years, and the only one to have this kind of this issue. There is something wrong with the design of theses trucks and it causes an extremely dangerous situation when it occurs. I was well aware of the complaints you have received from others for this very same problem, long before experiencing it myself.

- Coraopolis, PA, USA

problem #14

Apr 052009

Tacoma

  • 8,500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was in neutral, the engine revved highly. The contact attempted to shift into park, but was unsuccessful. He shifted into drive, but the engine still revved and the vehicle accelerated to approximately 25 mph. The contact depressed the brake pedal and the tires squealed. He was finally able to shift back into neutral and then into park. The failure occurred only once. The dealer and manufacturer have not been notified. The current mileage was 9,053 and failure mileage was approximately 8,500.

- Fortson, GA, USA

problem #13

Apr 022009

Tacoma

  • 5,432 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I had to go get dogfood so drove to store 2 miles away, upon returning home pulled into driveway to park in front of garage were I have parked for 14 years. As I applied the brake the truck accelerated forward hitting the garage. It happened within seconds and I applied the brakes as hard as I could.took truck to Toyota to have it checked and they found nothing wrong, so it was off to the Toyota body shop for repairs to the sum of $3300. This is my forth Toyota Tacoma and I love these trucks but now I'm very concerned that the next time someone could get hurt or killed.

- Schenectady, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 242009

Tacoma

  • 11,373 miles
I was coming up to a two way stop my foot was off the accelerator at about 12 miles an hour when the engine started to accelerate I started to brake but engine was revving so high it pushed my truck into the path of a semi before I got the truck put into neutral luckily no car was coming in the opposite direction so the semi driver went into the other lane and avoided a bad accident which might have killed me. Called the dealer said bring it in right a way, will up date with results later.

- Manteno, IL, USA

problem #11

Apr 272008

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 100 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While the vehicle was idling at a complete stop, the rpms increased rapidly. The contact was not depressing the accelerator pedal at the time. The vehicle acted as if it was going to lunge forward. He took the vehicle to the dealer at least four times and they stated that the manner in which the vehicle was driven caused the surges and increased rpms. The failure still persists. The failure mileage was less than 100 and current mileage was 4,515. Updated 4/6/09 the consumer stated the vehicle would suddenly surge on its own. Even when he shifted gears the truck would make a loud noise as well. Updated 06/09/09. Updated 03/19/10.

- San Carlos, CA, USA

problem #10

Mar 072009

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,140 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While driving 65 mph, the contact attempted to pass another vehicle and the speed increased to 80 mph unexpectedly. She depressed the brake pedal with both feet, but the vehicle would not slow down. The contact pulled over to the side of a gravel road and placed the vehicle into neutral. The engine began to rev and she had to turn off the engine to make it stop. The vehicle was purchased in April of 2008 and this was not the first time the contact experienced unintended acceleration. The dealer informed her to have the vehicle towed to them at her expense. The contact was informed that the floor mats caused the acceleration, although they were not in close proximity to the accelerator pedal. The contact does not want to drive the vehicle in this condition. The failure mileage was 12,140. Updated 03/13/09.

- Trafford, PA, USA

problem #9

Feb 272009

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 2,995 miles
This has happened on four (4 ) occasions. The first two ( 2 ) I was not sure that it was driver error, I am now positive that was not the case. Approaching a red light I have removed my foot off the accelerator. As I get closer to the intersection I applied the brake, my vehicle accelerated. I was stopped and my rear tires were spinning ( the pavement looked damp ) I shifted to neutral.the tachometer went to four thousand (4000). I pumped the accelerator a couple of times and the engine returned to normal operations. I am waiting for my day off to return the vehicle for service assuming they can duplicate the problem? 2/22/10 2009 updated 02/24/10. Updated 03/01/10 updated 08/18/10

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #8

Feb 212009

Tacoma

  • 4,980 miles
I was driving in downtown hilo going approximately 10 to 15 mph. There was a truck ahead of me starting to stop for a red light. I also started to brake when suddenly the Tacoma started to surge. I pressed down on the brake with all my might but the truck would not stop. I then pumped the brakes in desperation. I hit the truck in front of me slightly. The same thing happened once before a few months back but fortunately there was no other vehicle involved. I searched the internet and have found other owners of the Toyota Tacoma have had this same identical problem. This happened on Saturday, today is Monday and I was planning on taking it to the Toyota dealership, but from reading what others wrote Toyota will not find or remedy the problem or even acknowledge that there is a problem. So I don't even know if I should bother. The truck is less than 6 months old and I am now scared to drive it. Contemplating trading it in for a Subaru, but the next owner will be driving a dangerous vehicle.

- Pahoa, HI, USA

problem #7

Feb 102009

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 15,000 miles
I own a 2008 Toyota Tacoma 4WD 6cyl ext cab I was driving down the highway and was passing a slower moving vehicle when my track started accelerating on it's own it took me from 60 mph to 78 and would have continued if I didn't apply my brakes as hard as I could it continued to try and pull even with the brakes applied the cruise control was on at the time but was not engaged I got the truck to the side of the road and turned off the key.I took the truck to a Toyota dealer and had it checked out they say they could not find a problem with it they contacted Toyota and gave me a case number for the problem.

- Olyphant, PA, USA

problem #6

Dec 192008

Tacoma

  • 3,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased a new 2008 Toyota Tacoma in September 2008. The vehicle had right at 3000 miles when the malfunction occurred. On December 19th, 2008 I was on the way to work when my vehicle suddenly accelerated and lost control, causing me to rollover. The vehicle was still accelerating after the rollover and I had to jerk the gear shift into park to get it to stop. At that time the vehicle made a grinding noise and began to smoke.

- Tomball, TX, USA

problem #5

Nov 282008

Tacoma

  • 5,100 miles
Was in line at"starbucks" drive through window had sudden acceleration events 2 times in a row. Acceleration was at high RPM and left rubber burn marks on "starbucks" driveway. I stepped on brake fully for both events. I stopped the engine with ignition key for both acceleration events. The third time I started the engine it returned to normal slow RPM. Went to Toyota dealership maintenance supervisor. They had never heard of anything like that happening. Said they could look at the truck but if it did not happen for them I would be charged for their time.

- Kailua=Kona, HI, USA

problem #4

Jul 162008

Tacoma

  • 13,391 miles
I was driving my 2008 Toyota Tacoma home from work. I was about 15 minutes from home when my truck immediately accelerated to 70-80 mph (unintentionally!). I live in a very mountainous region; it was very hard to keep my truck under control in the curves. I was pushing the brake pedal all the way in, but it wasn't slowing my truck down. I began going down the mountain praying the whole time...there is a traffic light with 2 gas stations at the intersection. Fortunately there weren't any cars in front of me and the light was green. I shifted gears (automatic transmission) down all the way to 2nd. My truck wasn't slowing. I was thinking the entire time that I was going to hit someone and there wasn't anything that I could do about it. Not a good feeling to say the least. I finally got my truck stopped right on the side of the road. A lady came running out from a building that works for the atlanta journal constitution to make sure I was okay. She said that she saw smoke and thought that my truck might be on fire. I immediately called my parents. My dad started to drive my truck. I was driving behind my dad and immediately saw my dad take off in my truck...with the brake lights on! I was terrified that my dad was going to wreck. My dad was able to turn it off and get it off the main road. We called milton martin Toyota and they had a tow truck pick it up the next day. They kept my truck for 5 days and gave me a rental car. The service department said that they put 50 miles on my truck and it didn't do anything out of the ordinary. They said that I needed to pick my truck up and return the rental car! there is no way I would drive it again or knowingly let someone else drive it when it will do the same thing when you least expect it! we are talking about peoples lives here. People need to know about this issue so lives aren't lost! so currently I am without a vehicle and my 2008 Tacoma that has 13, 400 miles on it is sitting on milton martin Toyota's lot.

- Hiawassee, GA, USA

problem #3

May 282008

Tacoma

  • 500 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. On May 28, 2008, while pulling into a parking space at 2 mph, the contact depressed the brake pedal, but the vehicle continued to accelerate up an embankment. The vehicle came to a complete stop after seven feet. The vehicle has been with the dealer since may of 2008, but they have been unable to duplicate the failure. As a result, they will not replace any parts. The manufacturer stated that they will send an engineer to the dealer in approximately one month to diagnose the failure. In the interim, the contact must either pay for the rental vehicle the dealer has provided or drive his own vehicle. He stated that he will not drive his vehicle because he may not be as lucky when the next failure occurs. The current and failure mileages were 500.

- Charlotte, NC, USA

problem #2

Apr 232008

Tacoma

  • 7,100 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While attempting to park the vehicle, it accelerated out of control. The vehicle drove through the wall of her garage and into her guest bathroom. The vehicle was towed to the dealer, where it currently remains. The speed was unknown. The failure mileage was 7,100.

- San Deigo , CA, USA

problem #1

Jan 042008

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 919 miles
On 01/04/2008 I was stopped at a red light in traffic. I was stopped approximately 10 feet from the rear bumper of the vehicle in front of me. While stopped my vehicle, a 2008 Toyota Tacoma double cab began to accelerate violently. I proceeded to put both feet on the brake pedal in an attempt to stop the vehicle. I could not stop the vehicle and it rammed into the stopped vehicle in front of me. My 2008 Toyota Tacoma continued to accelerate for approximately 10 feet. The acceleration was violent and the truck was "fishtailing" from side to side due to the fact that it was pushed up against another vehicle and I had both feet on the brakes. The truck eventually shut off but not before I rammed the car in front of me, the impact was so severe I bent the steering wheel with my chest. I suffered injuries to my chest, neck and shoulder. Internet research has shown that my experience is not an isolated one with this model truck, Toyota Tacoma.

- Enfield, CT, USA

Not what you are looking for?