Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
27 / 1
Injuries / Deaths:
5 / 2
Average Mileage:
26,781 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Tacoma engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 1 of 4)

problem #76

Jun 162016

Tacoma

  • 102,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Toyota Tacoma will suddenly accelerate from a dead stop. I was stopped at a stop sign and the engine sped up; I had both feet on the brakes, back wheels spinning. I put it into neutral and it went back to normal. Another time I was backing into a parking space and it did it again, in reverse! again, neutral stopped it. This has happened 3 times and I'm afraid I'm going to kill myself or someone else! no, I did not have a foot on the accelerator and the brake! this happens after I've had the cruise control on, then turned it off. And again, it happens from a dead stop. I have a complaint number from Toyota. The dealer did diagnostics and couldn't find anything wrong. So Toyota will do nothing. I am contacting you to make public what we are experiencing with my Tacoma in case of a horrific accident. Toyota needs to stand behind what they sell. I have always maintained my truck; this is not due to my negligence. It is due to Toyota's. I need my truck fixed before someone is hurt or killed by it.

- Florissant, MO, USA

problem #75

Feb 262016

Tacoma

  • 103,000 miles
I have recently experienced 2 separate occurrences of sudden unintentional acceleration in my 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The first instance was on February 25, 2016 at approximately 12:50 P.M. I was slowing to stop at a major intersection behind a vehicle. In the last several feet prior to stopping, I began breaking with my foot until the car was within about 10 feet of stopping. Completely out of the blue, the rear wheels started spinning wildly and simultaneously my engine RPM increased tremendously. In order to keep from hitting the car in front of me, I stomped hard on the brake with two feet. When I realized I wasn't going to stop, I quickly shifted the gearshift into neutral. The RPM settled down and the tires stopped squealing. I then shifted to park until I composed myself. When the light turned green, I proceeded to shift back into drive and continued on to work without further trouble that day. The second instance was on February 26, 2016 at approximately 5:10 P.M. I was returning home from work and pulled into the driveway to park the truck. As I pulled toward the end of the driveway, I had slowly accelerated up the slightly inclined driveway, then slowly started to press on the brake pedal to stop. Just as I stepped on the brake to stop, the same thing occurred. My rear wheels started spinning wildly and the engine RPM shot up very high. I put both feet on the brake pedal to stop the truck from entering the back yard, but the tires were laying rubber on the driveway. I quickly shifted to neutral, then into park, and turned off the key. The truck has sat in the driveway since because I am scared to drive it. The truck was purchased for my son to drive after he received his license. Fortunately, I had not yet turned the keys over to him, as an inexperienced driver, he would have possibly been killed in an accident, or killed someone else.

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #74

Jan 042016

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 152,000 miles
Pulled into parking lot, turning right. Had foot on brake. Engine went to full throttle, rear tires spinning, jumped curb. Turned key off. All ok after re-starting. Have three witnesses. This is second time in less than 12 months. See 03/2015 complaint. Reported to Toyota dealership in March 2015, at stone mountain, ga. They kept several days, ran test, and took pictures. They advised problem is now in the hands of Toyota corporation in California." If they are willing to correct, I will hear from them." Have not heard anything. This vehicle will eventually hurt or kill someone. I have done all I know to do. Toyota should install brake override system as requested 03/2015 from dealership. The consumer has since experienced sudden acceleration, for the third time. Updated 08/30/16.

- Monroe, GA, USA

problem #73

Nov 152015

Tacoma

  • 32,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While driving 5 mph, the vehicle accelerated without warning. The contact stated that the brake pedal was depressed; however, the vehicle failed to slow down and caused the contact to crash into two trees. The air bags deployed. A police report was filed. The contact sustained injuries that required medial attention. The contact stated that the vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 32,000. Updated 2/4/16

- Espanola, NM, USA

problem #72

Mar 102011

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated while coming to a complete stop, the brake pedal was depressed and the vehicle accelerated independently. As a result, the contact crashed into another vehicle. A police report was filed and no injuries were sustained. The vehicle was towed to the dealer and repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 09V388000 (vehicle speed control). In 2015, the unexpected acceleration recurred. The dealer had an inspector diagnose the vehicle, who was unable to locate a problem. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 30,000. Updated 4/29/15 updated 11/10/2015

- Lake Charles, LA, USA

problem #71

Nov 152014

Tacoma

  • 95,300 miles
My Tacoma truck experienced an unintentional acceleration issue at an intersection stop sign. The truck went about 8 ft past the stop sign as I pushed hard on the brake. With the vehicle stopped the right rear tire continued to spin for a few seconds and left a black skid mark in the road. As quick as the incident started the truck returned to a normal idle. This was the last of 3 incidents: 1) April 20, 2013 2) Nov. 1 2014 3) as stated above. Toyota claims there is nothing wrong with my truck.

- Knoxville, TN, USA

problem #70

Feb 252009

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 7,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Was coming to a stop at a stop light and the truck surge when the brakes were applied and hit the car in front of me. Truck surge two to three times after that. Toyota fix the surge issue and at the same time created another safety problem / defect. Now when I step on the gas petal to much or give the truck to much gas at one time the truck thinks it is surging and the truck will shut down. In the last couple month I have had three close call from this defect / problem. The technician at the Toyota dealer ship (hilo Hawaii) told me not to punch the gas or step on the gas to hard or the truck will shut down (he was right). I express my concern this was another safety issue, he replied this was Toyota solution to the surge problem. I only drive my truck when needed and don't allow any passenger in fear of having another accident. Please help.

- Cathedral City, CA, USA

problem #69

Apr 222014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 43,202 miles
A car was stopped at a traffic light ahead of me. As I approached the intersection I applied the brakes as I normally would. The vehicle acceleration increased. As I put more pressure on the brake pedal the vehicle continued forward, striking the rear of the vehicle ahead. A police report has been filed. Most damage was to the front of my Tacoma with minimal damage to the rear of the official car ahead.

- Bovina Center, NY, USA

problem #68

Aug 222013

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 56,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle intermittently and erroneously accelerated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the failure could not be duplicated. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was contacted about the failure. The failure mileage was 56,000..... updated 10-17-13

- Mundelin, IL, USA

problem #67

Aug 202008

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 5,000 miles
I have a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The way the brake and gas pedals are configured I frequently hit the gas pedal along with the brake pedal. The brake pedal when depressed goes almost to the floor. The pedals are so close together that the gas pedal is sometimes caught by the edge of my shoe while braking causing the engine to race. This especially happens when backing up and my body is contorted to see out the rear windshield. But it also happens occasionally when driving forward and attempting to stop. I do not feel safe in this vehicle and had numerous close calls almost running into cars or object in front of me. I have referred the problem to the dealer. They say they have no remedy for the problem. I was referred to Toyota corporate national headquarters phone # 1-800-331-4331 and had an investigation case open, case number 1307222061. After the inspection of my vehicle they said that my truck is operating as designed. I still feel that there is a potential for an accident. Another side note is that whenever I brought my truck in to the dealer just about this problem they wouldn't charge for the inspection or brake adjustments and so no paperwork was written up of my complaints which has happen two or three times. So you probably wonżżT see much of any history about this issue. I donżżT know if this was by design to not have a paper record to avoid recalls or having customer complaints documented. I have also mentioned this to the service department on numerous occasions during routine service visits but it was never really written up. I have read on the internet that other Tacoma owners have had the same problem. The last incident that I had a month ago I almost went of a cliff because my foot caught on the gas pedal while braking. It's a poor design to have the brake pedal go below the level of the gas pedal at any time when they are so close to each other.

- Veneta, OR, USA

problem #66

Jul 012012

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 55,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Initially began occurring on highway off-ramps that curved in an arc. Accelerator would die and not respond to being pushed down. Engine would not even rev. Loss of forward momentum would last 5-9 seconds and cause trailing vehicles to take evasive action. Accelerator would then return to being responsive, and engine would rev when accelerator pressed, and speed increase once again. This happened 4 times over a span of 25000 miles; 3 times when turning towards left on a ramp, and then once when turning towards right on a traffic circle. In mid Dec 2012, issue again occurred while passing a vehicle on a straightaway at approximately 60-65 mph. Accelerator became non-responsive, and speed dropped, while in oncoming traffic lane during passing maneuver. In Feb 2013, issue occurred while turning left ninety degrees, in mid-turn, from a full stop at a T-intersection. Have spoken to my local Toyota dealer, who contacted Toyota usa regional office in mansfield MA, and was told that Toyota "was aware of the issue, but had chosen not to issue a service bulletin on it at this time".

- Dover, NH, USA

problem #65

Jan 182013

Tacoma

  • 104,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while driving 20 mph, he applied the brakes but the vehicle accelerated independently. The contact had to apply an immense amount of pressure to the brakes. The contact steered the vehicle onto a curb to avoid traffic and then crashed into a construction sign. The vehicle was restarted and operated as designed. The vehicle had not been diagnosed by a mechanic. The manufacturer was notified and stated they would dispatch someone to inspect the vehicle. The contact was still awaiting the inspection. The vehicle had not been repaired. The failure and current mileage was 104,000.

- Fairfield, CT, USA

problem #64

Oct 032012

Tacoma

  • 16,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that he received notification of NHTSA campaign id numbers: 09V388000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal) and12V092000 (air bags:frontal). The contact stated that he took the vehicle to the dealer for inspection and recall repairs but the dealer would not repair the vehicle because the vehicle was purchased in Hawaii. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified and advised the contact that he would have to have the vehicle repaired in Hawaii. The failure mileage was 16,000.

- Fort Huachuca, AZ, USA

problem #63

Oct 152010

Tacoma

  • 15,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while driving approximately 3 mph the driver of the vehicle removed her foot from the brake pedal when the vehicle suddenly lunged forward. The contact stated the failure occurs while completely stopped as well. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer for diagnostic. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 15,000.

- Saraland, AL, USA

problem #62

May 212012

Tacoma

  • 103,893 miles
There are two separate issues which make a deadly combination. When I stop in traffic on the freeway then attempt to accelerate, the car will rev at a high RPM while failing to accelerate as it would under normal operations. Now this is where it is scary for me. When I let off of the gas pedal under these conditions, sometimes the RPM's will go down as you would expect but sometimes the RPM's will stay very high even after I take my foot off the gas pedal. At that point I step on the brake, turn on my emergency lights, put the car into park and turn off the engine then turn it on again. This is all too reminiscent of the problem with Toyota cars that accelerated without warning. Luckily, the first issue I mentioned, where the car doesn't accelerate properly after stopping, is stopping this car from accelerating at a high speed and causing injury to me and anyone in my path.

- Diamond Bar, CA, USA

problem #61

Oct 062008

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the engine rpms would race abnormally while sitting with the brakes applied at a traffic stop. The contact stated that the failure would recur in succession and the contact would shift into neutral in order to stop the failure. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V388000 (vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal) but the failure persisted. The vehicle was taken to the dealer but the dealer was unable to duplicate the failure. The contact then spoke with the manufacturer but received no assistance. The failure mileage was unknown, but the current mileage was 39,000.

- Mundelien, IL, USA

problem #60

Sep 252011

Tacoma

  • 28,835 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that upon applying the brakes and stopping, the engine attempted to surge forward and there was an increase in engine rpms. The vehicle was shifted into park and shut off. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer and they could not diagnose the failure. An unknown repair was performed on the vehicle. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 28,835.

- Santa Clara, CA, USA

problem #59

Jun 302009

Tacoma

  • 9,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated within a few days of receiving NHTSA recall campaign id number : 09V388000(vehicle speed control:accelerator pedal); she experienced the vehicle lunging forward when she was at a traffic light. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer who advised her that they repaired the recall and would not offer her any assistance. A few months later she received a recall in regards to NHTSA campaign id number 11V148000(tires:pressure monitoring and regulating systems) and was advised by the dealer that she doesn't have the tires specified in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was approximately 9,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Inverness, FL, USA

problem #58

Mar 252011

Tacoma

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact was attempting to enter a parking space with the brakes depressed. As the contact removed his foot from the brake pedal, the engine exhibited an abnormal increase in rpms and the vehicle proceeded to accelerate slowly. The contact applied the brakes but to no avail. The vehicle then accelerated over a curb and crashed into a building. The contact noticed skid marks from the rear driver side tire that indicated that brakes were depressed during the failure. The vehicle was then towed to a dealer. The contact stated that the vehicle was not repaired because the dealer was unable to determine the cause of failure. The failure and current mileage was 39,000.

- Santa Coreeta, CA, USA

problem #57

Dec 222010

Tacoma

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact was driving approximately 5 mph when he engaged the brake and the vehicle continued to accelerate resulting in a crash with another vehicle. The contact was uninjured. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V388000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal) but was advised that his vehicle was not included in the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was approximately 1,000.

- Fresno, CA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?