Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
41,996 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Tacoma miscellaneous problems

miscellaneous problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments

problem #17

Mar 152016

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I have a 2008 Tacoma which had a recall for vehicles in snow and icy weather then frame may need to be treated and sprayed with anti-rust solution. I was told that when the items came in for the job I would receive a call ti set up an appointment but I never go a call. A couple of months past and I went to the dealership and the lady in the service department at greens Toyota in lexington ky told me the material for the job were on back order. I waited a couple of months more and I went back to greens Toyota and was told that the recall was expired and there was nothing they could do. I asked to speak to a service manager and he told me that the material for the job were never on back order and he didn't know why I was told that. He also said that he was sorry but there was nothing he could. I think it is sad that I was lied to about this matter which caused me to miss out on this recall from a manufacture that considers themselves tops in the buisness. To just flat out lie to a consumer like that is really sad and I would expect better from Toyota!

- Lexington, KY, USA

problem #16

May 162016

Tacoma

  • miles
Toyota Tacoma rear suspension leaf springs. I received a recall notice from Toyota and went to a dealership on may,16, 2016 and was told I my leaf springs required replacement, but the parts were on back order. I called one month later and was told the parts were on back order. I contacted Toyota and was told "there is no eta." Repeatedly. I have received E-mails from Toyota to repeat this phone call and was told 'there is no eta." Last week I was told in an E-mail to contact my dealership. They have no idea when the parts are due because " they are on back order". Toyota has told me that the rear suspension on my truck requires replacement. After 7 weeks, and repeated phone calls and E-mails, I have received no information regarding when they will be replaced.

- Arlington Heights, IL, USA

problem #15

Jan 182016

Tacoma

  • 70,000 miles
I have 3 active recalls on this vehicle and Toyota seems unable to supply the parts to fix it. The recalls are for "drive and front passenger seat belt assemblies", "rear leaf spring" and "corrosion-resistant compound application to the vehicle frame". for the seat belt problem, I have made appointments with 2 different Toyota dealers within the last year, have driven 60 miles each way to have it done and have been told when I got there that the parts were on "national backorder". I have also been told by both dealers as well as a Toyota representative that there are no replacement parts for the "leaf spring" problem and that they didn't know when where would be any. As for the last issue, Toyota has put a deadline of 3/31/16 on the recall and based on my experience with Toyota dealers, I doubt that I can find one in my state that will do the work before the deadline. I have already expressed my frustration with both the last dealer and with the Toyota representative. Regards, bruce benoit po box 13 East St. Johnsbury, vt 05838 802-748-9495 benoit218@gmail.com

- East St. Johnsbury, VT, USA

problem #14

Jul 142015

Tacoma

  • 100,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My Tacoma was in the shop for the limited frame undercoating spray back in November 2014, then was rusting through the spray and resprayed in July 2015, now is rusting through yet again. Toyota corporate doesn't want to do anything about it and told me to work with the dealer.

- Joliet, IL, USA

problem #13

Aug 262015

Tacoma

  • 112,671 miles
While stopped yesterday waiting on an automatic gate to open. Truck was in drive, foot on the brake as normal. Without moving, truck accelerated on its on lunging forward, back tires screeching as I applied more pressure to the brake. Had enough sense to throw into neutral to make it stop. Engine continued to rev even after putting it in neutral but quickly returned back to normal. Fortunately, I didn't run into the gate but would have had I not of put it in neutral. I have contacted my local Toyota dealership which are suppose to look at it tomorrow. I was told they would bring in a representative from Toyota to assess the situation.

- Hendersonville, TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #12

Jul 282015

Tacoma

  • 92,381 miles
Tacoma leaf springs broken and not supporting vehicle. Damaged and replaced shocks and alignment. Vehicle is unsafe due to recall and possible puncture of fuel tank due to defective leaf springs and can also sever the brake lines. Toyota is aware of voluntary recall but has refused to replace leaf springs even after admitting that the vehicle is not supported as required by leaf springs and that the shocks were overused to the point of failure and were replaced due to the lack of support. New shocks and everything except leaf springs installed yet Tacoma still bottoms out due to lack of proper leaf springs even with new equipment installed. Toyota customer assistance center notified and refused first request and second filed on 8/4/2015 with case number 1508031434 assigned. Level two agent peter again refused to replace know defective parts or honor recall after being informed that parts were available at both riverview Toyota. And earnhardt Toyota, both in mesa Arizona. Both dealerships informed me that they are directed by the corporate customer assistance center to not replace any recall items without first getting approval regardless of the known dangers to both person and property, or that the part is broken and does not perform to actions of it's design. Toyota has been made aware of the damages, safety concerns, as well as lost time and costs ($993.41in service repairs plus 5 lost use/work days to date), yet has refused to honor or abide by the requirements to replace the defective equipment.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #11

Jul 102012

Tacoma

  • 35,400 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

First the auto door locks stopped working, then the passenger window and finally the drivers window. We were told the actuators needed to be replaced and would cost appx $500 each plus labor!

- Danvers, MA, USA

problem #10

Jun 122015

Tacoma

  • 70,000 miles
Sudden acceleration(engine surge) while waiting (foot on brake) to enter traffic lane; immediately put gear in neutral and turned engine off.

- Brownsville, TX, USA

problem #9

Mar 172015

Tacoma

  • 66,000 miles
First noticed the steering "tightness" shortly after the undercoating recall. Very sporadic in this particular case so I thought it may be a particular stretch of road I repeatedly commute on. Not the case. Looks like another watergate. First a recall for a cord running through the steering column, the a rusted frame recall. Fess up Toyota, you manufactured another sub par vehicle, great engineering. Hopefully someone will listen to the consumer before this problem causes any tragedies. This truck is now 8 years old with 70000 miles and in great shape except for maunfacturing defects not sure if this case is the steering colums seperation from the dashboard (steering column recall"?") or the exposed steering shaft rusting and binding up (rustproofing recall"?") or the power steering rack and pinion being rotted out I will call my Toyota dealer and see what the repair is and the cost of the repair following that I will forward this to the attorney general, better business bureau, and my local goverment officials

- Hudson Falls, NY, USA

problem #8

Apr 222012

Tacoma

  • 57,000 miles
Truck wont start, replace and purchase battery and warranty with non stock battery two times. Sent the truck to the dealer to replicate the situation, both instances gave the truck clean slate. On the second time, dealer replace the alternator due to lower than 14 amps and replace the battery the third time. After three weeks, the truck wont start again, and sent the truck to the dealer to replicate the situation. Again the truck was given a clean bill of health. The dealer keep showing me tape result of test on the battery, accepting the charge, the alternator and charging amps output. The dealer eliminated any parasitic device that eats more power or wakes up when a device are suppose to be sleeping. I need help.

- San Deigo, CA, USA

problem #7

Oct 102014

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

We own a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. It was brought to our attention late October 2014, that one of the leaf springs was broken on the vehicle. Upon further inspection, it was determined that both leaf springs were broken. Fitzgerald Toyota - where we purchased the vehicle, said that the leaf springs were being 'recalled'. we received our notice of a recall from Toyota mid to late November 2014. I have called fitzgerald Toyota several times, and also have been on the phone with personnel from Toyota in the state of California, informing them of our situation - being both leaf springs broken/not functional. In February of 2015, I talked with the California office of Toyota asking when the leaf springs would be available, as we are fearful of it doing more damage to the vehicle. They told me that they were working diligently to fix them problem, however, to date - April 2015...no leaf springs are available. California called fitzgerald Toyota to have them do a short term remedy by placing an 'old set' of leaf springs on the truck, and when the remedied springs were available, they could be replaced. However, there are no old or new leaf springs anywhere!!!! there is no way to fix our problem!!!! Pennsylvania law requires motor vehicles to pass inspection yearly...our vehicle will not pass inspection...what are we to do"? this isn't our fault, it's Toyota's problem, with no remedy. When our truck doesn't pass inspection, what are we to do??? it is coming on 5 months, and I believe that Toyota started to look into the recall in September 2014. How long should a consumer wait?? this is totally unacceptable. There are local companies that make leaf springs...why isn't Toyota doing all that they can do to remedy the situation?" we have even check junk and salvage yards - to no avail. Please make a demand on Toyota that they remedy the situation asap.

- Chambersburg, PA, USA

problem #6

Aug 052013

Tacoma

  • 65,000 miles
I noticed excessive rust forming in inner wheel housing near bolts holding wheel springs. Looking further showed excessive rust forming on other sheet metal which was protected from the weather. I did nothing until I received the recall about rust problems on the truck frame. When I spoke to Toyota about the sheet metal rust, they refused to consider it saying the recall only covered the frame. A call to national Toyota customer service got the same response. I believe that Toyota's problem with applying rust prevention is more extensive than just the frame and affects nearly all of the sheet metal on the truck. Failure to address this sheet metal rust could lead to potential handling and steering problems should the rusted areas breakaway.

- Barre, MA, USA

problem #5

Nov 222009

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 12,000 miles
Referencing my 2008 4.0L six-cylinder Toyota Tacoma with demand 4X4, 5-speed automatic transmission and trd sport package that includes a limited slip rear differential, I experienced an unanticipated unexplainable loss of engine power. Note that the truck does not have a user controllable torque limiting or traction control system. While attempting to slowly traverse a grassy surface while in two-wheel drive the vehicle involuntarily came to a standstill. The engine had lost power and the vehicle refused to move. The rear wheels did not suffer any loss of traction in other words they did not lose traction and spin and could not be made to spin. Applying full throttle did not help; although not misfiring while running smoothly, the engine lacked meaningful power and would not gain any significant rpms under any throttle position. There were no abnormal gauge readings or instrument panel warning lights indicating a problem. After several attempts at working the truck free by going from neutral to drive I was able to move it onto pavement but, while on the road, the vehicle continued to exhibit a gross loss of power and had difficulty attaining even 40 mph. After driving several miles down the road, the fault eventually cleared and the engine returned to its normal energetic self. Because the vehicle's performance returned to normal (and it was Sunday) it was not taken to a repair shop. On arriving at my destination, I connected a obd2 diagnostic tool to the vehicle but no trouble code was indicated. (there was no indication of water in the vehicle's gasoline and the gasoline was fresh and of proper octane; the engine or ignition system were not wet. No possible causes for the power loss were observed.) an unexplained loss of engine power in a moving vehicle can prove disastrous if not dangerous. Attempts at contacting Toyota in order to identify a cause and remedy for the problem have proven futile.

- Elma, NY, USA

problem #4

Jul 072009

Tacoma

  • 18,700 miles
Gas pedal got stuck on my Toyota Tacoma when passing. Reported to Toyota dealership 7/17/09

- Kaaawa, HI, USA

problem #3

Nov 152008

Tacoma

  • 12,226 miles
Driving my 2008 Toyota Tacoma prerunner (odometer 12226). Returned from short trip to visit friend (approximately 1.5 miles away). Turned to pull into double garage. Automatic transmission was in lower gear 2 or 3. braked appropriately to stop in garage. Started to shift towards park. Engine rev'd up to very high RPM. Rear tires started spinning forward. Vehicle started moving forward against brakes. Applied heavy brakes. Engine was still racing. Vehicle continued to move forward, impacting storage cabinets against wall. All this occurred in 2-3 seconds. No time to react. Relatively slow impact (due to brakes). Finally shut off engine with key, but too late.. damage to garage wall and front of vehicle. Never had this problem before. Restarted engine later, and could not duplicate problem in driveway. Had vehicle checked by nearest dealer next day. They could not duplicate problem. They had heard of very few similar problems. Technician said accelerator pedal was sticking slightly... depending on where pressure was applied on pedal. This was not likely cause because foot was off accelerator pedal and engine idling at low RPM before problem occurred. Technician attempted to download program update which (I think) would have eliminated an 'increased RPM to burn off excess waste in catalytic converter'... but did not download because this fix was only for vehicles with super charger. Dealer could not find similar problem in their database... but they'll keep checking. Root cause of problem is not yet known. I consider myself a very safe driver. I was very familiar with the vehicle and the garage entry process was nothing new to me.

- Comfort , TX, USA

problem #2

May 192008

Tacoma

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the color of the vehicle and the color of the front bumper and grill were two different colors. They are all supposed to be one solid color. Toyota's general manager and customer service representative agreed and stated that they would call him regarding the issue. As of June 6, 2008, the contact has not heard back from Toyota. The current mileage was 1,500 and failure mileage was 1,000.

- Butner, NC, USA

problem #1

Nov 102007

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 1,550 miles
Floor jack, when changing a damaged mud flap from the the front driver's side of the truck, I placed the floor jack where the Toyota manual recommends, after the whole (1/4in less than whole) extension of the jack was applied the tire was barely lifted above ground, this was done on my homes drive way a totally flat area with no inclination anyway and all proper security put in place and the floor jack was inclined... no accident occurred, but (big one but), imagine under adverse conditions and nothing else to do around to change a flat tire, wet or uneven ground, traffic, wind or anything else that can really create an accident, for this kind of truck the oem floor jack provided is not a proper one.

- Laredo, TX, USA

Not what you are looking for?