Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 2
Average Mileage:
44,109 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2008 Toyota Tacoma suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2008 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2008 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #56

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V60400 (suspension). The parts were not available beyond a reasonable time frame so the contact was unable to determine when the parts would become available. The manufacturer was notified several times and was unable to provide a reasonable time frame to supply the part to the dealer. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Ballwin, MO, USA

problem #55

Jan 192015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Tuscan, AZ, USA

problem #54

Jan 182016

Tacoma

  • 70,000 miles
I have 3 active recalls on this vehicle and Toyota seems unable to supply the parts to fix it. The recalls are for "drive and front passenger seat belt assemblies", "rear leaf spring" and "corrosion-resistant compound application to the vehicle frame". for the seat belt problem, I have made appointments with 2 different Toyota dealers within the last year, have driven 60 miles each way to have it done and have been told when I got there that the parts were on "national backorder". I have also been told by both dealers as well as a Toyota representative that there are no replacement parts for the "leaf spring" problem and that they didn't know when where would be any. As for the last issue, Toyota has put a deadline of 3/31/16 on the recall and based on my experience with Toyota dealers, I doubt that I can find one in my state that will do the work before the deadline. I have already expressed my frustration with both the last dealer and with the Toyota representative. Regards, bruce benoit po box 13 East St. Johnsbury, vt 05838 802-748-9495 benoit218@gmail.com

- East St. Johnsbury, VT, USA

problem #53

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota sent out a recall on their leaf springs (suspension) NHTSA recall id 14V604 on September 29, 2014. Nothing has happened since. Are they not fixing this problem?

- Racine, WI, USA

problem #52

Dec 052014

Tacoma

  • 64,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While reversing the vehicle, an abnormal noise was heard. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where the failure was undetermined. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 64,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Ramsey, NJ, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #51

Apr 012014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While driving at various speeds and driving over a hump or a rough surface, the vehicle would shake. The failure recurred on numerous occasions. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose or repair the vehicle. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Healtton, OK, USA

problem #50

Nov 182015

Tacoma

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the leaf springs were fractured. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The contact was notified that there was no schedule for the release of the parts. The failure mileage was approximately 160,000. VIN tool confirms parts not unavailable.

- Landing, NJ, USA

problem #49

Sep 052014

Tacoma

  • 105,000 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. While driving 45 mph, there was an abnormally loud noise emitting under the vehicle. The contact discovered that the leaf spring and the brake line fractured. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic where it was confirmed that the leaf springs fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 105,000.

- Peoria, IL, USA

problem #48

Sep 292014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 120,000 miles
In June of 2014 I went to get an MA state safety inspection sticker and was told at the sullivan tire auto center in raynham, MA that one of the leaf springs on my 2008 Tacoma was fractured and I could not get a safety inspection sticker. I went to copeland Toyota, in brockton, MA, (where I bought the vehicle) and was told that the broken spring was due to old age. I then went back to sullivan tire and had them replace the leaf springs on my truck. Then on September 29, 2014, I received an interim recall notice from Toyota saying that the leaf springs on my truck could fracture. The NHTSA reference id is 14V604. When I called copeland Toyota to get reimbursed for the replacement of the leaf springs they said it was Toyota's problem. I called Toyota in torrance, ca several times and was told I had to wait for a second notice (remedy) before I could be considered for reimbursement. It has been almost an entire year and I am still waiting for a second notice (remedy) letter to find out how I can submit the documents I have for reimbursement (paid invoice from sullivan tire and cancelled check from my bank for the work that was done). I have waited patiently for the second letter to come and I think 12 months is far too long for me to wait to get some information from Toyota regarding how I can get reimbursed for the replacement of the fractured spring. Any help you can provide is greatly appreciated. Thank you!

- Raynham, MA, USA

problem #47

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension), however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Holden, MA, USA

problem #46

Apr 302013

Tacoma

  • 138,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 40 mph, the vehicle hit a bump in the road. As a result, there was a cracking sound from the rear of the vehicle and the vehicle became unstable. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic. The mechanic replaced the leaf spring on the rear passengers side. The failure recurred on the rear drivers side, and the leaf spring was replaced. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 138,000.

- Starrucca, PA, USA

problem #45

Mar 182014

Tacoma

  • 68,436 miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while at an independent mechanic for routine repair, the technician diagnosed that both rear leaf springs had fractured and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was repaired. The contact then received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part needed to repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer had exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 68,436. MA 10/19/2015

- Willoughby, OH, USA

problem #44

Mar 122014

Tacoma

  • 50,000 miles
March 2014:the rear spring on the toyotat Tacoma broke. Toyota denied responsibility. I paid for new leaf. August 2014: The other spring broke. Again Toyota denied responsibility. I paid for a new leaf. Sept 29, 2014: A recall notice is issued for rear leaf spring. Sept 29 to date: Toyota acknowledges the problem and agrees to reimburse me for my out of pocket expenses and replace the springs. But....no date is available for the replacement. They say they cannot pay me back until they replace the springs. Today: Toyota corporate says they have no information on the availability of parts. Nothing can be done until they are given the information on the parts. Now I cannot believe that Toyota does not have in their logistics system an exact understanding of when the parts will be available. They are delaying this in the hope of customers forgetting about it and to delay the investment necessary to carry out the recall. I believe action by the nhsta is called for both due to the delay and the failure to provide meaningful information.

- Bearsville, NY, USA

problem #43

Oct 092014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time to provide the part for the repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. MA 10/2

- Zanesville , OH, USA

problem #42

Mar 072011

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V604000 (suspension) and 11V148000 (tires); however, the part needed was not available for an extended period of time. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Ogden, UT, USA

problem #41

Sep 142014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number:14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repairs was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Gate City , VA, USA

problem #40

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part needed to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dallas, TX, USA

problem #39

Jul 282015

Tacoma

  • 92,381 miles
Tacoma leaf springs broken and not supporting vehicle. Damaged and replaced shocks and alignment. Vehicle is unsafe due to recall and possible puncture of fuel tank due to defective leaf springs and can also sever the brake lines. Toyota is aware of voluntary recall but has refused to replace leaf springs even after admitting that the vehicle is not supported as required by leaf springs and that the shocks were overused to the point of failure and were replaced due to the lack of support. New shocks and everything except leaf springs installed yet Tacoma still bottoms out due to lack of proper leaf springs even with new equipment installed. Toyota customer assistance center notified and refused first request and second filed on 8/4/2015 with case number 1508031434 assigned. Level two agent peter again refused to replace know defective parts or honor recall after being informed that parts were available at both riverview Toyota. And earnhardt Toyota, both in mesa Arizona. Both dealerships informed me that they are directed by the corporate customer assistance center to not replace any recall items without first getting approval regardless of the known dangers to both person and property, or that the part is broken and does not perform to actions of it's design. Toyota has been made aware of the damages, safety concerns, as well as lost time and costs ($993.41in service repairs plus 5 lost use/work days to date), yet has refused to honor or abide by the requirements to replace the defective equipment.

- Gilbert, AZ, USA

problem #38

May 102014

Tacoma

  • 85,000 miles
I was driving at highway speed on the interstate without a load in the back of my truck. I went over a slight bump in the road and went to apply the breaks. Upon applying the breaks I had no response from them. The leaf springs broke; cutting my brake-line. I subsequently had the leaf springs replaced and the brake-line repaired at a cost to me of approximaetly $1300.

- Pittsfield, MA, USA

problem #37

Oct 012014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2008 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the recall notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension system) was received in October of 2014. After contacting the dealer on multiple occasions, the contact was informed that the parts needed to repair the vehicle were still not available and no estimated time for receiving the parts could be given. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elizabeth, PA, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?