Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,855 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Tacoma suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 2 of 5)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #70

Mar 092016

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part for the repair was unavailable. The contact stated the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The contact had not experienced any failures. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not yet available. Updated 07/27/16 the consumer stated the vehicle was repaired. Updated 07/28/16.

- Grant Pass, OR, USA

problem #69

Jan 182016

Tacoma

  • 50,000 miles
Received letter from Toyota 2 years ago about leaf spring recall. At this point my leaf springs have weakened to the point of not being able to haul anything in the bed. Even driving down the interstate every bump or dip I hit in the road my truck now bottoms out. I contacted Toyota on 1/18/2016 with a complaint about the weakened state of the springs and my concern that they may break at anytime and also the fact of what else will be weakened, wore out or broke by the time the recall is ready. I received an email several days later stating that the recall was not ready and apologized for my inconvenience and frustrations. I believe they have had ample enough time to manufacture the parts and start bringing them in for repair. I was told the recall would be ready in early 2016. We are now into March and I cannot go any longer with the weakened state of the springs. I have asked the dealers and they cannot even tell me any information on this problem. I have already filed a complaint with Toyota about this issue and it is under file #1601210129. This has been an issue with my truck around the 50,000 mile mark and I have just chalked it up as parts becoming weak and wore out over time. I had plans to add a leaf to the rear suspension to bring the ride back to were it once was. Since the recall has came out I gave up that idea and have been waiting impatiently since. Like I said something needs to be done they have had ample enough time to correct this issue.

- Fairview, NC, USA

problem #68

Nov 102014

Tacoma

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension). The part was not available for longer than 14 months. The contact called the dealer and the manufacturer for months, but they could not determine when the vehicle would be repaired. The contact was not experiencing a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Conesus, NY, USA

problem #67

Aug 212013

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part needed to perform the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Marcos, CA, USA

problem #66

Jul 182013

Tacoma

  • miles
The rear leaf springs broke on the Tacoma, I had to pay for new, and was told they intend to replace the remaining when "they come in." For 2 years I have been waiting for the springs "to come in". they will supposedly reimburse me for the broken side ($300), when the new "come in". really" 2 years? whats going on"

- Voorheesville, NY, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #65

Jan 192016

Tacoma

  • 171,000 miles
Toyota seems to be dragging there feet on the leaf spring fix for the Tacoma.its been going on 2 years, whats being done?how many trucks have burned up or crashed because of this problem.

- Groves, TX, USA

problem #64

Jan 082014

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Nederland, CO, USA

problem #63

Nov 302015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Flushing, NY, USA

problem #62

Jan 082016

Tacoma

  • 103,000 miles
My 2009 Toyota Tacoma has been under recall for the rear leaf springs since 2014. I have called the dealership monthly to find out if/when the repairs are going to begin! there is still no resolution to this safety issue on this vehicle! this is unacceptable!

- Peyton, CO, USA

problem #61

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
Toyota has notified me (NHTSA recall number: 14V604) on September 29, 2014 and again in September, 2015 concerning the rear suspension system of my Tacoma Toyota truck. I am very concerned that this safety recall 'fix' has gone on much too long. I have contacted my local dealer to see about this recall but they say they have not received the needed parts from Toyota. I also called Toyota hq and they too did not know when the remedy would be available. In the mean time my leaf springs occasionally make noises described by the dealer as a potential safety problem. My question: Why is it taking Toyota so long to repair what appears to be a simple problem" am I endangering my family and myself by continuing to drive my 2009 Tacoma"

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #60

Nov 012015

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact noticed that the rear leaf spring fractured. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or diagnosed. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact received a notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was unknown. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/12/16

- Friendship, WI, USA

problem #59

Aug 112014

Tacoma

  • miles
No accident or breakage of rear leaf springs, but I was notified in 2014 of the recall notice and it is now 11/2015 and their is still no remedy! this is too long a period for a recall to be on hold, when I haul firewood, a boat, items to the landfill and grandkids and have to worry about a leaf spring breaking and causing an accident or injury to my family. Toyota makes lots of money off of their vehicles and this should be top priority on their list and you can bet it will be the last Toyota I buy. I'll go back to buying american made vehicles instead of imports! I guess that's what I get for buying a Toyota! I do have a case # 1509 from Toyota, but they still will not prepare a remedy, and I think this is bs... you took my money for the truck, now fix it in a timely manner and quit screwing us around. I can see there are lots of unhappy owners with this same issue from the complaints.

- Silver City, NM, USA

problem #58

Nov 102014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The VIN was not provided. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 1/21/2016

- Potomac, MD, USA

problem #57

Oct 162015

Tacoma

  • 67,000 miles
In 2013 our leafspring's broke and we had to replace them. Toyota stared a recall notice but had no solution in 2014. A year letter we received a notice they were still working on it. We requested a reimbursement for the money we paid out to have them repaired and they said no. Just recently they said we could submit all my paperwork for possible reimbursement. We submitted mechanics bill, canceled check and bank statement also current registration and title. I just received a letter telling me again that I needed to submit those items. I called and on the phone they admitted they had the paperwork I sent and they even went as far as calling the mechanic ( while I was on the line ) on to confirm he did the work and now they want a written statement from the mechanic on how my truck was acting when it came in for the repairs what parts and numbers he used along with his remedy and the outcome. This is on the bill I paid ( except the part #) I do not understand why they are asking me for all the paperwork again and neither do their employees I have spoken to. I believe Toyota is just trying to get out of paying for the repairs on their recall. I still remember driving down the road and hearing this god awful noise, worse than a clunk. Took it to the Toyota dealer and they said they leaf spings were bad. I had them replaced at our local auto shop because they wanted almost half of what Toyota wanted replace them. So far the replacements are working.

- Clinton, WA, USA

problem #56

Aug 072013

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V604000 (suspension) and 13V337000 (seat belts); however, the parts to do the repairs were unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repairs. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Clinton, IA, USA

problem #55

Dec 042014

Tacoma

  • miles
Vehicle recall notification received as on date above and to date Toyota has not notified me of any remedy. Believe that this is an excessive wait time for Toyota to get recall fix completed.

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #54

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension). The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The dealer stated that a remedy had not been determined by the manufacturer in order to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the delay. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rock Falls, IL, USA

problem #53

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable, the contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Canterbury, NH, USA

problem #52

Jun 012015

Tacoma

  • 75,000 miles
Approximately 2 years ago, I found that the leaf springs on my 09 Toyota Tacoma had broken so I had them replaced. If memory serves me correctly I had them replaced a second time for the same issue. Since then I have been contacted by Toyota regarding a recall on the 09 Tacoma leaf springs. Researching the internet I found that Toyota had announced in November of 2014 that there was a problem, that they would be seeking a solution and notifying owners. Here it is August 2015 and they still have not found a solution for this very simple problem and I am in the same boat as I was months ago. Each time I contact Toyota I am told that they are working on a solution almost a year later.

- East Fairfield , VT, USA

problem #51

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension). The contact stated that the part needed to remedy the vehicle was unavailable. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- East Fairfield , VT, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?