Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

3.9

definitely annoying
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
31,855 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2009 Toyota Tacoma suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2009 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2009 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 1 of 5)

problem #90

Sep 012014

Tacoma

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Received recall notice concerning real leaf spring possible malfunction in September 2014. Had inspection done at reliable Toyota and they confirmed repiar need. Still waiting to hear from them as to when I can bring vehicle in for fix. This is November 2016!! rear leaf springrecall notice NHTSA 14V604.

- Stockton, MO, USA

problem #89

Nov 092016

Tacoma

  • miles
NHTSA recall number: Opens new window takes away from VIN lookup section> 14V604 recall date: September 29, 2014 manufacturer recall number: E02 summary: The subject vehicles? rear suspension system contains leaf springs that are constructed of either three or four leaves. There is a possibility that a leaf could fracture due to stress and corrosion. If this occurs and the vehicle continues to be operated, the broken leaf could move out of position and contact surrounding components, including the fuel tank. Safety risk: If the broken leaf contacts the fuel tank repeatedly, it could puncture the tank and cause a fuel leak. In the presence of an ignition source, this could result in a fire. Remedy: Toyota will replace the leaf springs with newly designed ones. Recall status: Recall incomplete manufacturer notes:

- Silver City, NM, USA

problem #88

Jul 062016

Tacoma

  • miles
I am still waiting for a solution to the defective leaf spring replacement issue with my vehicle. Toyota has neglected provide an update or replacement leaf-spring solution to the noted issue.

- Austin, TX, USA

problem #87

Oct 112016

Tacoma

  • 95,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

My 09 Tacoma vibrated at certain speeds and slightly swerved going down the highway causing instability and lack of control. Also heard some clanking in the rear end. Upon examination the rear leaf springs in both sides were broken. According to the mechanic one spring was actually rubbing the tire. Toyota had numerous recalls for Tacoma rear leaf springs because they were breaking. However, when I called Toyota they told me my vehicle came from a different plant and did not qualify. I never abused this vehicle no reason for this issue they should add this plant to the recall list to avoid accident and injury. I should disclose that I had two bad wheel bearings as well which may have resulted from the stress caused by the leaf springs. Just don't know. However, not just a coincidence that both springs broke on a Tacoma that is well known for this problem. Thank you

- Dexter, ME, USA

problem #86

Jun 242016

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect. The VIN was not available.

- Longmont, CO, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #85

Sep 292014

Tacoma

  • miles
NHTSA recall number: Opens new window takes away from VIN lookup section> 14V604 recall date: September 29, 2014 manufacturer recall number: E02 this recall has been ongoing since 9/2014 and nothing has been done. When are you going to force Toyota to do something about this dangerous condition" supposedly they are working on a solution, but, when you live in the West and rely on your vehicle for firewood gathering, etc... traveling down rough country dirt roads, then you need to be sure your vehicle is going to stand up to the test of living in the West. Are you at the NHTSA going to do anything about forcing Toyota to take action on their vehicles, or sit around and do nothing" it has now been over 2 years since this recall was started and still nothing is being done about it. Please respond to my questions and let me know what you plan on doing!!!!!! I did receive a 2nd notice regarding the recall from Toyota, saying they would have the remedy in place in the early part of 2016, but now it is almost September (2 years) and still nothing is done about the rear leaf springs. Please advise!!!!!!

- Silver City, NM, USA

problem #84

Aug 222016

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact took the vehicle to the dealer to be repaired per NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension). The dealer stated that the repair could not be completed due to modifications on the vehicle. The contact was advised to un-modify the vehicle to remedy the recall. Afterwards, it could be modified again at the contact's expense. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elk Grove, CA, USA

problem #83

Dec 012015

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the parts to do the repair were unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- South Burlington, VT, USA

problem #82

Aug 102016

Tacoma

  • miles
I contacted Toyota on 8/10/16 to report a broken leaf spring (currently on a recall list). The rep was friendly, but I was told I had to go to a dealer to have it replaced. The transferred me to the dealer and then to the parts office who told me that it would take 6 weeks to get the part. One of the problems associated with this recall is that there is a chance that the broken leaf spring moves and hits the gas tank and causes a fire. When I asked if I could take it to a leaf spring replacement company, I was told that I could, but Toyota may not reimburse me. Then in the next breath, the rep tells me how important Toyota puts safety. Really? they want me to drive around for 6 weeks and take a chance in causing a fire in my vehicle instead of taking it to a knowledgeable repair company.

- Bruceton Mills, WV, USA

problem #81

Jun 292016

Tacoma

  • 118,000 miles
I received a notice of recall over a year ago, but only got the actual recall notice about a month ago. I scheduled an appointment to have the rear leaf springs replaced at Toyota of poway. When I arrived for the appointment I was told they did not have the recall parts! I called the Toyota customer experience line and despite what the recall letter said, I was told that the dealership would not have the parts and that the dealership would only do an inspection first. I am complaining because of the in accurate instructions in the recall letter and because the local dealership apparently has no idea how to remedy the issue.

- Ramona, CA, USA

problem #80

Feb 142015

Tacoma

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Winnwood, WA, USA

problem #79

May 242016

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the remedy caused the load and tow weight capacity to be reduced. The vehicle no longer met the manufacturer's gross load specifications. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact was concerned of the potential safety hazard. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Easton, PA, USA

problem #78

Apr 012016

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Parts distribution disconnect.

- Selinsgrove, PA, USA

problem #77

Apr 222016

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 107,000 miles
I took my vehicle in for the notified recall repair., ( replace defective leaf springs ). the dealership said my vehicle didn't need the repair. This vehicle had a leaf spring break when it was two years old. Ive had problems with this dealership in the past re: Poor work. The consumer stated the vehicle was repaired, despite being told another dealer had already performed the work. A visual inspection revealed a broken rear leaf spring. Updated 07/05/16.

- Langhorne, PA, USA

problem #76

May 162016

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Muscatine, IA, USA

problem #75

Apr 302016

Tacoma

  • 70,809 miles
Lack of alignment during Toyota safety recall E02 / NHTSA recall id 14V 604 I am concerned with the lack of vehicle alignment as an included part of E02 post replacement of the rear spring packs. When the rear springs are removed from the vehicle, the rear axle often shifts such that is it no longer in the same position as it was previously installed. Thus the vehicle is no longer properly aligned, as front toe is set based on the thrust angle of the rear axle. The thrust angle is derivative of the alignment of the axle relative to the longitudinal axis of the vehicle, and creates a moment about the yaw axis of the vehicle. Re-alignment of the front of the vehicle provides corrective measure by setting front wheel toe to account for the position of the rear axle, thus ensuring the vehicle tracks correctly and is stable during dynamic maneuvers. When the Tacoma first entered the servicing dealer it was confirmed to be correctly aligned. However, the pre-alignment numbers on the hunter expressalign sheet show that the rear axle position after performing E02 has shifted -0.15 [iso] about its vertical axis relative to the position prior to rear spring replacement. Failure to have the Tacoma realigned would have resulted in the need to counter-steer the vehicle to maintain a straight trajectory during normal operation. It is unacceptable that the customer should be expected to bear the burden of cost for the alignment, when it is necessitated by the corrective actions prescribed by Toyota during E02. Failure to re-align vehicles becomes a safety concern, namely due to uneven tire wear and the potential for instability of the vehicle due to misaligned axles causing the vehicle to increase tendencies to over-steer. I am disappointed in Toyota's apparent disregard for owner safety and feel this is an issue that should be addressed with urgency.

- Northampton, PA, USA

problem #74

Apr 222016

Tacoma

  • miles
I received the recall notice for this vehicle. I took the vehicle in for repair. The dealer said I had the proper springs on the vehicle and no repair was needed. I find this hard O believe since rear leafspring broke on this vehicle when it was approx. 2 yrs. Old. How then could it have the proper springs?

- Upper Holland, PA, USA

problem #73

Apr 222016

Tacoma

  • miles
I took the vehicle in for the suspension recall repair. The dealer stated that upon inspection my vehicle has the proper parts. I find this hard to believe as this vehicle had a broken leaf spring when it was approx. 2 years old. If the problem is breaking leaf springs, then how can a vehicle under recall that had a prior broken leaf spring not be repaired?

- Upper Holland, PA, USA

problem #72

Apr 092016

Tacoma

  • 50,500 miles
The contact owns a 2009 Toyota Tacoma. While driving 2 mph, the contact heard an abnormal noise underneath the vehicle. The dealer repaired the vehicle under NHTSA campaign number: 14V604000 (suspension); however, the failure recurred. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic who stated that the subframe and rear passenger side leaf spring fractured due to corrosion. The mechanic diagnosed that the subframe needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 50,500.

- Newport, VT, USA

problem #71

Apr 122012

Tacoma

  • 26,000 miles
I have exactly the same problem with read leaf springs as everybody else- the rear is sagging and and the front end is starting to rise(excessive tire wear) my truck has 66,000 miles and it only carries a 210lb vintage dirtbike 5 or 6 times a year. Do people have to start dying like GM's ignition switch before someone in the federal govt gets off their rear end and actually does their job? also spiral cable recall that could damage driver's airbag(cob (C1B) I have paperwork from Toyota and dealer stating the recall and now they are denying that one exists or ever existed. Also, when transmission shifts at low speeds(usually downshifting, clunk is heard in drive shaft) too much lash in rearend or junk U-joints. I have an aas in automotive technolgy and over 105 credits in automotive engineering. I'm not just blowing smoke. When I lived in nys, I had a vehicle inspection license and I would definitely fail many Toyota with these problems. No inspection sticker-no driving of vehicle.

- Richland, MI, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?