Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
2 / 0
Average Mileage:
11,858 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2010 Toyota Tacoma engine problems

engine problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2010 Toyota Tacoma:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2010 Toyota Tacoma Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #31

Nov 212015

Tacoma

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while the driver was operating the vehicle, the rpms would rev excessively and the vehicle would experience unintended acceleration. The contact indicated that the failure had occurred on multiple occasions. The cause of the failure was not diagnosed or repaired and the manufacturer was not notified. The failure mileage was 40,000.

- Niles, IL, USA

problem #30

Oct 202014

Tacoma

  • miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that NHTSA campaign numbers: 14V168000 (air bags), 13V337000 (seat belts), 11V148000 (tires), and 09V388000 (vehicle speed control) exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The dealer stated that the parts were on a nationwide back order. The manufacturer was not made aware of the delay. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Victoria , TX, USA

problem #29

Aug 012014

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 22,813 miles
Were pulling out and smell of gas filled up the cab, jerking occurred. Experiences of intermittent acceleration had been occurring for a very long time as been made aware of recently. Smell of gas has been overwhelming. Vehicle now parked outside and will not drive until it can be fixed or replaced, have been warned of potential air bag failure in Japanese plants found last week in this model. This vehicle is the only car we have, paid on it for a very long time. I have paid a lot of money to local dealership to keep service up to date, they have been difficult with me even though I have an extended warranty on it. I just had the services done, and had to pay for them, and even though I thought they were doing a good job, my battery died and I pulled the hood open and there was corrosion everywhere on battery and under the hood, I am going to look under the engine and drive train in the morning after looking at this new recall and I will report to Toyota financial services in the morning. At this point I am disgusted with the local dealership, I have purchased my last three Toyota there and I will not go back there every again, in fact after these past three years of continual recalls and safety hazards, as well as them not being fixed correctly or not being reimbursed for my time or expenses being lost from this vehicle not being repaired correctly when mine and my children's lives are at stake and my client's that I see in clinical therapy, I will never consider purchasing anything from the Toyota cooperation every again.

- Klamath Falls , OR, USA

problem #28

Oct 122014

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 45,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated while driving at 5 mph, the vehicle accelerated when the brakes were applied. The contact had to turn off the engine in order to stop the vehicle. The failure recurred on several occasions. The vehicle was not diagnosed. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The approximate failure mileage was 45,000. Updated 12/2/14

- Virginia Beach, VA, USA

problem #27

May 162014

Tacoma

  • 42,000 miles
While driving on interstate highway at the posted limit, the vehicle set speed would sag by 2 mph at the bottom of a hill as the road leveled out, then it would start up the next hill with a 2 mph deficit. As T proceeded up the hill, it would downshift to maintain speed, then downshift again to 3rd gear and accelerate over the top of the hill in 3rd gear until it would overspeed, exceeding the set speed by 3 mph as it went over the top of the hill. This would cause the vehicle to accelerate closer to the vehicles in front of it that were maintaining their set speed. I believe this is caused by the slow throttle response of the speed control system. The slow response causes the system to miss its assigned speed, then it overcompensates to "make up for it". I believe this is unsafe as it creates a speed differential in a platoon of vehicles that heretofore have been maintaining a set speed in concert.

- Pittsburg, CA, USA

problem #26

May 212012

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 14,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that once the vehicle was turned on, the rpms increased to 1500 for seven minutes. The contact stated that the vehicle felt as if it were going to suddenly accelerate. The vehicle was turned off however, the failure was recurring. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The dealer was unable to duplicate the failure or generate a failure code from diagnostic testing. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 14,000 and the current mileage was 25,500. Updated 12/30/13 the consumer stated from a cold start, RPM at 1500 did not decrease to a safe RPM 700 for 7 minutes, which caused undue wear and tire to entire drive train, transmission universal joints and rear axle.

- Northwood, NH, USA

problem #25

Apr 142013

Tacoma

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I just about went swimming off the boat ramp when my truck redlined in reverse. I had my foot on the brake to shift in reverse and as soon as I did the accelerator redlined and peeled out in the dirt parking lot. Managed to get it in park and it redlined for a couple more seconds and back to normal. It appears this year and model was part of the recall that may not have been fixed by the dealership. I have owned the truck a little over a year and purchased in late March 2012.

- Raymond, ME, USA

problem #24

Aug 042010

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 300 miles
The pedals on the truck are too close together and the brake pedal depresses almost to the floor. When wearing heavy boots and especially when backing, the accelerator is often depressed when braking with the driver in total alarm as the engine is racing while the brakes are being heavily applied to keep the vehicle from breaking away. I have had several scary close calls as a result of having to quickly apply B rakes due to a traffic situation whereas if you release the brake to stop the engine from racing the vehicle lunges forward. Another problem is that the etc [electronic throttle control] causes the vehicle to lurch forward suddenly when you want to accelerate slowly as you would do in stop and go traffic or when starting after a traffic light turns green. I complained to Toyota who is in denial and even went to arbitration and lost. A simple fix would be to disable the etc when the brake pedal is depressed. I thought that Toyota's smart braking system might remedy my situation. Toyota insists no. Meanwhile I am driving an unsafe vehicle. I hope you can get me some help.

- Mastic Beach, NY, USA

problem #23

Oct 052012

Tacoma 4-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,500 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs after receiving notification of NHTSA campaign id number: 09V388000 (speed control: Accelerator pedal). The contact stated that the dealer refused to replace the floor mats under the recall and that the manufacturer stated there was nothing they could do to assist. The current mileage was 10,500. The contact had not experienced a failure. Updated 7/10/13 the cosnumer stated the florr mat would stick all the time. Also, the accelerator pedal would stick.

- Las Vegas, NV, USA

problem #22

Jun 142012

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 30,500 miles
Shortly after I purchased the above vehicle on June 17, 2010 I was in a shopping center parking lot when suddenly the engine raced to a very high speed and I had to quickly place the transmission in neutral to avoid lunging forward. I called the Toyota dealer where I purchased the vehicle and they told me to bring it in which I immediately did. Without performing any checks on the vehicle the service manager and I went for a drive and he concluded it was the manner I was moving my foot from the accelerator pedal to the brake pedal that caused it to occur. For a while I was satisfied with his answer but on another occasion about a year ago the same thing happened and I thought I had subconsciously did the same thing with my foot to cause the problem. However this past Thursday I was again stopped at an intersection and the engine suddenly went into full throttle and my foot was nowhere near the accelerator pedal. Once again I had to quickly place the transmission in neutral in order to avoid moving into the intersection and causing an accident.

- Sinking Spring, PA, USA

problem #21

Feb 232011

Tacoma

  • 21,500 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated several times that the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The dealer performed the modification to the accelerator pedal under NHTSA recall campaign id number: 09V388000 (vehicle speed control: Accelerator pedal), but the contact stated the failure continued to occur. The VIN was not available. The failure mileage was 21,500 and the current mileage was 26,000.

- Sterling, VA, USA

problem #20

Jun 262011

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 6,300 miles
2010 Toyota Tacoma SR5 spontaneously accelerates when stopped. This has occurred twice since we bought the truck on 5-30-11. After the first incident (6-26) we reported it to the dealer and took the truck in for inspection. Nothing was found. The dealer removed the driver's floor mat. After the second incident (6/29), we called the dealer and the dealer said they would contact Toyota and call us back. As of 7-01-11, we have not heard back from the dealer. Now at a stop, we put the truck in neutral to prevent an accident.

- Vallejo, CA, USA

problem #19

May 022011

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • miles
Ltr on behalf of concerning the safety of his 2010 Toyota Tacoma pickup truck due to mechanical errors with the accelerator and brake pedal; reply attn bilal malik/patchogue district office; dot # 2011-1195 the consumer stated when the accelerator pedal was applied lightly from a stop, the vehicle would sometimes lurch forward enough to throw his head back into the headrest. On slippery road surfaces the vehicle fishtailed. Also, when the brake pedal was applied, it would travel closely to the floor, lower than the accelerator pedal. The consumer stated the accelerator and brake pedal were designed too close together and sometimes his foot would hit the accelerator pedal while attempting to brake.

- Mastic Beach, NY, USA

problem #18

Mar 092011

Tacoma

  • 7,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that while driving 66 mph, the vehicle suddenly accelerated. The contact attempted to apply the brakes as well as the emergency brake but the vehicle continued to accelerate. She then shifted into neutral and park in order to stop the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who was unable to diagnose the failure. The manufacturer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired and the VIN was not available. The failure and current mileage was 7,000.

- Morton , IL, USA

problem #17

Dec 032010

Tacoma

  • 21,238 miles
Whenever slowing down from 25 mph to make a turn or just to slow up, when accelerator is again pushed down to speed up, the truck "hunts" for the proper gear, usually shifting to too low a gear for the speed needed (transmission/computer problem), causing vehicle to pause & not pick up speed. This causes a severe threat of being rear ended or hit in an intersection due to lack of acceleration. Dealers won't fix it or reprogram the computer. I've owned a lot of vehicles & none have had this problem..

- Oakville, MO, USA

problem #16

Apr 052010

Tacoma 4WD 6-cyl

  • 1,000 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact stated that when the vehicle was turned on the rpms increased and the engine made a loud noise. The vehicle felt as if it was going to suddenly accelerate until the contact placed her foot on the brake pedal immediately in order to stop the vehicle from accelerating. The vehicle was turned off. The failure was experienced numerous times. The vehicle was taken to the dealer several times for the failure. The dealer test drove and diagnosed the vehicle; the failure couldn't be duplicated and a diagnostic code wasn't located. The manufacturer sent an engineer to the dealership and was also unable locate a failure code. The failure mileage was 1,000 and the current mileage was 10,000. Updated 02/11/11 updated 08/29/11

- New Windsor, NY, USA

problem #15

Aug 242010

Tacoma

  • 1,207 miles
2010 Toyota Tacoma new vehicle owned less than 2 months with 1200 miles on vehicle. Approaching red light had taken foot off accelerator to slow, upon placing foot on brake, realized, vehicle was not slowing. Standing harder on brake, it held the truck back enough to bump into car infront of me. Truck continued to push the vehicle infront of me, with rear wheels spinning on wet roadway...I jammed shift lever into park position with motor and tires still spinning to finally stop it. Not apparent damage to either vehicle or injuries known. Took truck local dealer to check diagnosis and vehicle. They found nothing, could not duplicate problem and test drive. I currently have truck parked in my driveway. Will not drive it because I feel it is unsafe and have reported the incident to Toyota hqs ref # 1008262334.

- Brandon, FL, USA

problem #14

Jun 042010

Tacoma

  • 2,276 miles
The contact owns a 2010 Toyota Tacoma. The contact was braking from approximately 10 mph and the vehicle abnormally accelerated followed by an unusual increase in engine rpms. The contact shifted into neutral and was able to stop the unintended acceleration and the engine rpms resumed normal levels. The failure occurred four times within the same day. The vehicle was towed to an authorized dealer yet they were unable to diagnose the failure and the vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 2,276 and current mileage was 3,000.

- Imperial, PA, USA

problem #13

Mar 272010

Tacoma

  • 2,065 miles
2010 Toyota Tacoma. Letter from senator on behalf of constituent re their concerns with an unexpected acceleration issue with their Toyota truck. As the consumer was pulling into a parking space, the truck lurched forward with full acceleration which required her/him to use both feet to fully depress on the brake pedal which caused the truck to stop in place while the rear tires continued to spin with full acceleration. The consumer then put the vehicle into park and shut off the ignition. The vehicle was towed to the dealer for an analysis.

- Norwood, MA, USA

problem #12

Apr 082010

Tacoma 6-cyl

  • 7,500 miles
While driving in northern Kentucky on a slight incline in hilly country southbound on I-75, I disengaged cruise control when a vehicle pulled in front of me. When vehicle moved off the highway about 15 seconds later, I re-engaged cruise control (at approx 65 mph) at which point the vehicle accelerated on its own to over 85 mph. I then disengaged cruise control and the vehicle normally decelerated. The exact same thing happened two (2) months earlier while traveling on an interstate in North Carolina under the same circumstances (elevation around 2500-3000 ft on an incline). I reported this to the Toyota dealer last week and they said there is a recall to "reflash the computer" on my 2010 Tacoma V6. I have seen no reference to such a recall on Toyota website for my VIN.

- Meadville, PA, USA

Read the next 11 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?