Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
1 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
88,445 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Toyota Tundra body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #26

Jul 252015

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,305 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The Toyota safety recall work done in 2012 to treated my vehicles frame to prevent rust perforation has failed. During nh state inspection areas where the frame had rusted through were identified. These areas had been treated under Toyota's guidance and at their expense. Due to frame rust perforation, and rust issues identified below my vehicle would not pass inspection. Toyota of portsmouth, where the initial recall work was initiated, and Toyota motor sales have both denied to remedy this situation. Many other 2001 Toyota Tundra owners were provided complete frame replacements. I was provided with a rust treatment that has failed to correct this safety issue. The state inspection was requested by me prior to spending $2,776 (and up to $5,000 or more if internal parts were damaged) to replace a rusted through and leaking rear differential case that could have seized up at highway speeds if I had not noticed the leak. This inspection also identified for the second time a rusted through and leaking exhaust manifolds (the left manifold was "starting" to leak on 09/16/2014 when the truck last passed inspection. I heard the ticking sound, characteristic of this leak, since the vehicle was under warranty and told it was normal. The body and bed of my truck was determined by a local body shop to be in good condition with minimal rust. This was determined by visual inspection and the condition of the lower portions of the doors which are frequently a trouble spot in states where road salt is used and the first locations where rust (body rot) appears. Toyota has failed to provide adequate corrosion protection on the frame and rear differential of my truck and created serious safety issues. The frame rust treatment Toyota used on my truck did not work. I do not understand why they have declined to remedy this situation. They have replaced many frames for others.

- Durham, NH, USA

problem #25

Sep 112013

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
On April 11 2013 I purchased a 2001 Toyota Tundra. Months later while checking the tire pressures at a gas station, I was shocked to notice that there was a hole in the frame about two inches across. I called my nearest Toyota dealer, woburn foreign motors, and spoke with nicole who ran the VIN number and told me that jaffarian Toyota in haverhill had inspected the truck on 20 April 2012. Therefore, they would not look at my truck. Next, I called jaffarian and explained that the frame looked to me as if it could snap in half, and that I could not see how that much rust could occur from when they inspected it. The service technician then said that if they had inspected and passed the truck then they would have applied a preservative undercoating to the frame. I pointed out there was no such paint or undercoating anywhere to be seen on the frame. He tried to get me back on the recall list, but found out that he could not. Being my only vehicle for use to make a living, I continued to drive the truck until 11 April 2015, when the frame snapped in half as I was entering my driveway. I had been on interstate 95 at 65 mph only minutes earlier, when I expect the vehicle would have lost control and probably rolled over had the frame snapped then. If the vehicle was indeed inspected, then it seems evident that the inspector was negligent in his duties and passed the vehicle knowing that it had severe and dangerous corrosion to its chassis. Under these circumstances, I have contacted Toyota motor corporation and have asked them to cover the cost of towing my truck to a dealer, and repairing it to a safe, roadworthy condition under the terms of their original recall and they have refused. Any help you can give to resolve this issue would be greatly appreciated.

- Woburn, MA, USA

problem #24

Oct 072014

Tundra

  • 174,678 miles
My power steering blew out. It began squealing very loudly and losing fluid rapidly. I have had this truck 7-8 years and never had an issue with the steering. Today, a mechanic tells me it's rusted out and I need a new power steering rack, pressure line and bushings. This problem is very similar (identical...) to issues I've read before concerning the Tundra and the recall of the rusted frame. On 1/4/2013 @ 158,495 miles, I had rohrich Toyota address the recall for the frame rust corrosion. The current power steering issue may very well be related to the rust issue that lead to the 2012 recall.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #23

Apr 012014

Tundra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2001 Toyota Tundra. Consumer writes in regards to vehicle frame rust recall. The consumer stated the vehicle was known for having defective steel used for the frames that was prone to premature rust. The consumer took the vehicle to the dealer and they kept the vehicle for a week, during which they had a secondary contractor apply a rust proofing material to the frame. When the vehicle was returned to the consumer, he was informed he would never have to worry about the frame rusting again. Recently, he had the tire replaced and while on the hoist, he realized there was rust appearing in spots everywhere on the frame, including where the metal straps were holding the gas tank to the frame. He immediately took the vehicle back to the dealer, where they inspected it and took many photos. The service manager informed the consumer the truck frame definitely needed to re-done, but it wasn't his decision. A Toyota representative informed consumer, they were no longer participating in the recall, as it had ended. The consumer tried to explain, the previous repair, made the problem worse instead of better.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #22

Mar 012014

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 155,000 miles
I took my car back to titus will Toyota in Tacoma, wa. There is a recall for frame damage. They told me my vehicle did not have the problem. I then took it to my local mechanic a few weeks later for other work. He informed me that my skid plate was loose and could not be re-connected because the holes for the screws in the frame are rusted out. This is what the recall is about. So the dealer tried to not do the recall because it is expensive. Meanwhile my truck needs the frame replaced as the recall specified. My truck lived in duluth mn, for 12 years.

- Tacoma, WA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #21

Aug 152012

Tundra

  • 75,000 miles
The vehicle was recalled for corrosion, frame.cross member and gas tank straps were replaced in August 2012 03/16/2014 the gas tank leaked approx. 15 gallons of gas in my attached garage the gas tank was perforated in three spot underneath the new tank straps this vehicle has 85000 miles on it and I believe this issue could have been resolved without endangering people in this manner. Also now the rear differential housing is corroded so bad it is leaking gear oil in several places and I am afraid of catastrophic failure.

- Corydon, IN, USA

problem #20

Oct 012012

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 180,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Originally brought the 2001 Tundra in for frame recall, suspecting it needed to be replaced under the Toyota recall coverage to Toyota of scranton. The dealership service department insisted the frame had passed inspection and was safe, and sprayed a corrosive resistant compound on the frame. I took their word that the compound would prevent/resist against further corrosion and that the truck was safe. A little over a year (and less than 3000 miles) later I could see the frame had actually gotten worse and that the spare tire was beginning to get loose on the cross member. We took the truck back to Toyota of scranton where they did another inspection. This time, they determined that the frame was perferated and therefore failed their frame inspection. We took our truck back and they put in the order for a new frame which they would install in about two weeks, once it arrived. The following week, we got a call from the dealership, telling us that Toyota had denied the dealership's claim to provide us a new frame, based on the fact that the truck had already come in to be inspected the first time, when they sprayed the compound. This leads me to one of two conclusions: Either a) the spray-on compound is completely ineffective and did nothing to protect my truck's defective frame against corrosion, or B) the initial inspection on my truck which found it to be acceptable was in error, missing the perforation spots that were caught the second time around. In either case, I am concerned about my truck's safety and that it has passed through Toyota's inspection without correction to the known safety issue, due to a technicality based on a faulty policy.

- Madison Twp, PA, USA

problem #19

May 012010

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
My brakes line rusted off. I got it replaced. If I didn't notice it I could have gotten into a major accident with no brakes. My frame on the pickup is rusting and I am concerned that it will become another safety issue. I have owned Toyota all my life and now worried to drive them due to rusty frames.

- Carrington, ND, USA

problem #18

Mar 152010

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 71,002 miles
On 3/15/10 my vehicle was inspected by Toyota as part of the recall addressing the frame rusting. The dealership said nothing needed to be done. On May 4, 2012 the dealership stated the frame needed a coating applied to inhibit the frame from rusting. The dealership applied the frame coating. On December 23, 2013 my inspection mechanic informed me that the frame was rusting. I returned the vehicle to the Toyota dealership and they confirmed the frame was rusting but nothing could be done since the recall had expired. My issue is they should still be obligated to fix the frame since it was never addressed properly in 2012. They should have replaced the frame as was the protocol in most cases. In my case they elected to apply a coating over the rust which prevented nothing. The dealership and Toyota claim since the recall has ended there is nothing they can do for me. Again my issue is the recall was never addressed the first time by team Toyota of glen mills.

- West Chester, PA, USA

problem #17

Oct 052012

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 57,356 miles
This is a follow-up with regards to reference number 10479431. I inspected the frame of my vehicle on Aug. 15 and discovered a significant amount of the corrosion resistant compound (crc) had been removed, I spoke to Toyota corporate on August 19 and they informed me they will not do anything to remedy the failure of the product and its application and that I should expect the crc to fall off the frame. However, the warranty for the work that was performed would be applicable for 12 months. In addition, I raised my concerns in Oct. 2012 regarding the effectiveness of the proposed solution to the frame rust and I was assured the crc application would resolve the issues with frame rust. Unfortunately the crc has failed significantly after two applications which will ultimately lead to frame failure without any type of remediation. To clarify, when I originally raised my concerns with the proposed solution of the crc application Toyota assured me the solution would be an effective process. However, Toyota has now stated the application will fall off the frame and they will not warranty the work performed even though I have written documentation stating otherwise.

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #16

Jun 132012

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 130,470 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the vehicle was serviced under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V444000 (structure) however, since the repair the contact had noticed parts of the frame laying in his driveway. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic, who advised that there was an issue with rust and the recall repair had not been performed correctly. The vehicle was not further repaired. The manufacturer was not contacted. The failure mileage was 130,470. Udpated 05/01/14

- Manteno, IL, USA

problem #15

Dec 112012

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 101,000 miles
The 1st generation Toyota Tundra's are rust buckets. I own a 2001 Toyota Tundra w/ approx 101,000 miles. The vehicle was taken to the local authorized dealer for repairs under recall: 09V444000 (structure: Frame and members:underbody shields). The vehicle is being repaired (frame is being replaced). But the dealer also informed me that the steering rack and hose connections are rotted out and in need of replacement -> $1300. Additionally, the dealer informed me that the rear E-brake pivots are rusted/frozen and will also need replacing ->> $450. In a nutshell, the frame, the steering and the brakes are all rusted out - it appears that safety was an afterthought. I feel that Toyota corporation is negligent and that consumers are left holding the bag for poorly engineered products that are prone to early rust-out. On-line forums are filled with threads from other owners experiencing similar issues.

- Westford, MA, USA

problem #14

Oct 032012

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 57,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs under NHTSA campaign id number: 09V444000 (structure: Frame and members: Under body shields). The contact was advised that the vehicle would have a compound placed on the vehicle instead of replacing the frame. The dealer stated that the frame should be replaced but the manufacturer determined that the frame would only be replaced if there were holes in the frame, regardless of whether or not there was visible structural damage. The contact stated that the dealer removed the cab and sprayed a compound solution on the points of the frame that they could reach. The contact stated that the compound was washed away once it rained. The failure and the current mileages were 57,000...updated 11/14/12 updated 11/16/2012

- Indianapolis, IN, USA

problem #13

Mar 142005

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,080 miles
Due to premature corrosion (vehicle 4 years old) parking brake failed to function, failed nys inspection, was repaired (03/14/2005). Due to premature corrosion, spring broke, was repaired (01/02/2008). Power steering rack rotted, had to be replaced. Approx mileage 150,000. Front suspension links rotted out. Called Toyota (04/15/2009) voiced our concern for rotting frame, no recall at that time. They issued a complaint #.took vehicle to dealer for inspection for three recalls, A0F, B0D, 90M on 05/02/2012. Inspection not properly done, chunks of rust still can be flaked off, possible holes behind, but they sprayed crc over top of the loose scaling, covering over the problems. We had no choice in what they were doing with our property. We took it in for an inspection. After said inspection, if it would not get a new frame, we would have opted to take it home, removed all loose scaling prior to the crc being applied. We were not given any options, our vehicle was already on the way to their collision shop for the work. This would have accomplished two things; the dealership would know without a doubt that there were no holes and the crc would stick directly to the frame minimizing future corrosion (that is the objective of the recall afterall) I called Toyota corporate and voiced my concern with a spray covering over the problem, and the truck not being safe. My case is still pending, but based on the initial call back from the case manager, it is not looking like there will be a resolution in our favor, we will see. My concern is, how many of these Toyota dealers are not thoroughly inspecting these trucks, spraying over the problems and putting these vehicles back on the roads. How safe is that?

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #12

Mar 012012

Tundra 4WD 6-cyl

  • miles
2001 Toyota Tundra. Consumer states crc application has proven to be a completely inadequate solution to the long-standing frame and cross member rust problem the consumer stated only one of the gas tank straps were replaced, contrary to the promised replacement of both in the recall notice. The compound was applied over the existing rusty surface, although he was assured that the areas to be treated would be cleaned of rust before applying the compound. A Toyota rep also told the consumer the spare tire carrier assembly would be replaced, but not only wasn't it replaced, but what was left of the assembly, was a small rusted, broken fragment and no spare tire. The mechanic informed the consumer, the frame was unsound and advised against using the hitch for any kind of towing.

- West Creek, NJ, USA

problem #11

Apr 252011

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. The vehicle was being serviced for routine maintenance when the technician noticed a part of the frame was corroded and the steel was chipping. The contact stated that the vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number: 09V444000 (structure: Frame and members:underbody shields) and was repaired prior to the failure. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where the technicians stated the frame was in good condition and was not in need of repairs. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000. Updated 6/8/11

- New Bedford, MA, USA

problem #10

Aug 012009

Tundra

  • miles
2001 Toyota Tundra. Consumer writes regarding rusted frame the consumer stated he only discovered the frame rust when the rear leaf spring broke unexpectedly while driving in August 2009.

- Washington, DC, USA

problem #9

Jul 212005

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 110,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that he noticed rust on the frame of the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealership where pictures were taken and sent to a representative; the representative stated that the rust was not serious enough to act upon. Most recently, the spare tire fell off the rear of the vehicle.. the contact called the manufacturer who stated that someone would give him a call back. The vehicle had not been repaired. The current mileage was approximately 112,000. The failure mileage was approximately 60,000. Updated 01/04/11 updated 01/10/11

- Newnan, GA, USA

problem #8

Apr 102010

Tundra

  • 49,717 miles
The contact owns 2001 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA recall campaign id number: 09V444000 (structure: Frame and members: Under-body shields) on April 10, 2010. The dealer inspected the frame and advised that the frame exhibited slight corrosion and would not need to be serviced under the recall at that time. The manufacturer advised they would contact the dealer to determine why recall repairs were not made to the vehicle. The contact never received a response. The vehicle was not repaired and the contact stated the recall was not being handled within a reasonable time. The failure mileage was 49,717 and the current mileage was 52,447.

- Woburn , MA, USA

problem #7

Jan 202010

Tundra

  • 158,000 miles
The contact owns 2001 Toyota Tundra. While driving approximately 10 to 15 mph over a bump in the road pieces of his frame fell off of the vehicle. He did not take the vehicle to the dealer. He received a NHTSA recall notice, campaign id 09V444000, structure frame and members, underbody shields the second week of June 2010; however, his vehicle was in the dealers possession for approximately three weeks. The dealer had to order a frame for the truck. The contact was unable to provide a VIN. The approximate failure mileage was 158,000 and the current mileage was 160,000.

- Knoxville, MD, USA

Read the next 6 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?