Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
57,977 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Toyota Tundra brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #29

Mar 142005

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,080 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Due to premature corrosion (vehicle 4 years old) parking brake failed to function, failed nys inspection, was repaired (03/14/2005). Due to premature corrosion, spring broke, was repaired (01/02/2008). Power steering rack rotted, had to be replaced. Approx mileage 150,000. Front suspension links rotted out. Called Toyota (04/15/2009) voiced our concern for rotting frame, no recall at that time. They issued a complaint #.took vehicle to dealer for inspection for three recalls, A0F, B0D, 90M on 05/02/2012. Inspection not properly done, chunks of rust still can be flaked off, possible holes behind, but they sprayed crc over top of the loose scaling, covering over the problems. We had no choice in what they were doing with our property. We took it in for an inspection. After said inspection, if it would not get a new frame, we would have opted to take it home, removed all loose scaling prior to the crc being applied. We were not given any options, our vehicle was already on the way to their collision shop for the work. This would have accomplished two things; the dealership would know without a doubt that there were no holes and the crc would stick directly to the frame minimizing future corrosion (that is the objective of the recall afterall) I called Toyota corporate and voiced my concern with a spray covering over the problem, and the truck not being safe. My case is still pending, but based on the initial call back from the case manager, it is not looking like there will be a resolution in our favor, we will see. My concern is, how many of these Toyota dealers are not thoroughly inspecting these trucks, spraying over the problems and putting these vehicles back on the roads. How safe is that?

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #28

Mar 142005

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,080 miles
Due to premature corrosion (vehicle 4 years old) parking brake failed to function, failed nys inspection, was repaired (03/14/2005). Due to premature corrosion, spring broke, was repaired (01/02/2008). Power steering rack rotted, had to be replaced. Approx mileage 150,000. Front suspension links rotted out. Called Toyota (04/15/2009) voiced our concern for rotting frame, no recall at that time. They issued a complaint #.took vehicle to dealer for inspection for three recalls, A0F, B0D, 90M on 05/02/2012. Inspection not properly done, chunks of rust still can be flaked off, possible holes behind, but they sprayed crc over top of the loose scaling, covering over the problems. We had no choice in what they were doing with our property. We took it in for an inspection. After said inspection, if it would not get a new frame, we would have opted to take it home, removed all loose scaling prior to the crc being applied. We were not given any options, our vehicle was already on the way to their collision shop for the work. This would have accomplished two things; the dealership would know without a doubt that there were no holes and the crc would stick directly to the frame minimizing future corrosion (that is the objective of the recall afterall) I called Toyota corporate and voiced my concern with a spray covering over the problem, and the truck not being safe. My case is still pending, but based on the initial call back from the case manager, it is not looking like there will be a resolution in our favor, we will see. My concern is, how many of these Toyota dealers are not thoroughly inspecting these trucks, spraying over the problems and putting these vehicles back on the roads. How safe is that?

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #27

Jun 172011

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 121,840 miles
Brakes pulsate and go all the way to the floor; you must quickly release and re-apply to stop vehicle then you get a bad vibration and horrible noises before vehicle finally stops. My service mechanic cannot get Toyota to fax him the diagrams he needs to diagnose and repair issue. I have read over 300 complaints online about this same issue from other 2001 Toyota Tundra owners. This is a safety issue and there have been near miss accidents because of this issue.

- Shawnee, OK, USA

problem #26

Jan 012004

Tundra

  • 18,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact own a 2001 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that while driving approximately 45 mph, the steering wheel began to vibrate vigorously. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnostic. The technician stated that the rotors would have to be replaced. The failure continued after the rotors were replaced. The mechanic then stated that the failure may be occurring because the vehicle's weight was too excessive for the braking system. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 18,000.

- Louisville, KY, USA

problem #25

Jul 122011

Tundra

  • 120,000 miles
2001 Toyota Tundra complaint: While I was driving in the city all of a sudden I lost 90% of my braking ability. After pulling over to the side and inspecting my front brakes I notice my left driver's side had fluid on the road and tire. Limping it home and on farther inspection the bracket that supports the flex line from the frame to bracket and the ridged line from the bracket to the brake caliper was rusted off, this caused the ridged line to fracture. After purchasing a new bracket I than needed to look at the passenger side to see exactly how to mount the new bracket, to my surprise the passenger side bracket was also rusted off. I am sure it would have been a short period of time before I loss my brakes again had I not inspected the passenger side. When notifying the dealer about it I was pretty much blown off as the only person with this problem there for I probably just imagined it. So I guess my complaint is recalling these trucks for an inspection of singular rust problem such as the spire tire bracket is a joke. These trucks are just simply road hazards and are going to get a lot of people killed if action is not taken to get these rust buckets off the road.

- Farmington, MN, USA

problem #24

May 312011

Tundra

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated while driving 65 mph, he applied the brakes and the vehicle would not slow down until the contact engaged the brakes aggressively before the vehicle came to a complete stop. The manufacturer was contacted and told him to contact the dealer. The dealer was not contacted. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was unavailable the current mileage was 140,000.

- Slippery Rock, PA, USA

problem #23

Mar 082011

Tundra 4WD 6-cyl

  • 40,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Im on the third set of front brakes for my truck which just turned 60000 miles and it is a 2001 Toyota Tundra. This is totally unacceptable for a vehicle of this mileage.

- Fairfield, CA, USA

problem #22

Apr 142001

Tundra

  • 4 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. The contact received a recall notice for recall 09V444000 (structure: Frame and members:underbody shields). The contact also stated that the vehicle would vibrate rapidly when the brakes were applied and the check engine light would also illuminate. The contact called the dealer and the dealer offered no assistance. The VIN was unavailable. The failure mileage was 4. the current mileage was approximately 84,000.

- Bloomfield, WV, USA

problem #21

Feb 132010

Tundra 4WD

  • 87,000 miles
2001 Tundra brakes failed to stop truck from hitting vehicle in front on a sudden stop on the interstate. Found out later that Toyota knew of defective brakes and issued tsb BR004-002 to replace 191mm front brake calipers with larger 231 mm calipers within the warranty period, but did not notify owners of the defect. Only owners who complained of vibration when braking and early failure of front rotors and brake pads were offered the upgraded calipers, but only after repeated complaints. The upgraded calipers were eventually incorporated into the 2004 and later Tundra.

- New Orleans, LA, USA

problem #20

Dec 102004

Tundra

  • 45,865 miles
My 2001 Tundra vibrated so bad when I went to slow down form highway speeds. The vibration is so bad the truck steering and dash shake I have replaced the rotors and drums I think the problem is the rear drums having to do with the bypass valve sending fluid back to the brake peddle or some thing because it only happens when the 2 drums lop so the auto bake adjust.

- North Hollywood, CA, USA

problem #19

Feb 252010

Tundra

  • 150,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Toyota Tundra brake issue. My truck brakes start to pulse at all speed while attempting to stop. I have inside the last two years replaces three sets of front brake pads and rotors. This is particularly frightening while apply the brakes exiting the freeway on wet roads the brakes don't seem to want to stop the truck in a straight line and the front end has a tendency to jump and drift to one side of the road. I have made several attempts my self having the brakes repaired by qualified mechanic and even to blame the brakes on one mechanic that he did not know what he was doing I have since found that he did know what he was doing he just did knot know about the Toyota Tundra brake issue history as I did not know as well till now. Each time the mechanic blamed it on the driving habits. This is not the case, as the last time I had my brakes worked on was just last year in November and found that the brakes have done the same thing in less time then in the past. In addition the mechanic found that the pulsing of the front end had damaged the front end which cost over $3,000 to fix. Its just now after the Toyota gas peddle issue came to light that I started to do some research and found that this has been happening for over 8 years with the Toyota Tundra all over the country. This is a real issue with the Tundra year 2001.

- Redondo Bech, CA, USA

problem #18

May 012009

Tundra

  • 59,000 miles
My 2001 Toyota Tundra SR5 4WD. Access cab pick-up truck has a rusted out frame. My truck broke down on the highway(May 1st) I towed it to my mechanic shop. My mechanic replaced an oxygen sensor that had rusted away on the exhaust system. Further inspected the vehicle and said it had extreme corrosion (rust) on the frame, brake line connections, suspension mounts, exhaust system...."rust everywhere". he suggested it was unsafe to drive because the brake line connection points were so corroded (rusted away) that they could fail while in operation.

- Gretna, LA, USA

problem #17

Mar 082009

Tundra

  • miles
I have a 2001 Toyota Tundra. It presently has ~80K miles on it. Since I've owned it which was ~40K miles, it has required several brake replacements and towards the end of life of each one the truck vibrates excessively when I brake.

- Albuquerque, NM, USA

problem #16

Feb 212005

Tundra

  • 38,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. When the contact applied pressure to the brake pedal, he felt sporadic pulsations. The vehicle was taken to the dealer twice and they replaced the brake rotor and related components in the braking system. Several months after the repair, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was unable to assist. The failure mileage was 38,000 and current mileage was 80,000.

- Kurkland, WA, USA

problem #15

Oct 102008

Tundra

  • 78,132 miles
Brakes on my 2001 Toyota Tundra began to pulsate violently when coming to a stop. Toyota has a tsb on this brake problem (BR004-02), but with 78,000 on vehicle, they will not fix it, although they know it is a design flaw. Toyota needs a recall on these vehicles. I am the original owner.

- Pensacola, FL, USA

problem #14

May 022008

Tundra 8-cyl

  • miles
Original owner of 2001 Toyota Tundra. Needed new front brake pads at 45K miles, needed front rotors turned at 60K miles, performed by Toyota. Now 6K miles later, it needs rotors turned again due to repeat warpage. Toyota has been aware of this design defect, technical service bulletins have been issued, yet no recalls have been issued. Another bulletin was in place for the defective rear brake adjuster, which will not keep rear brakes adjusted over time, causing additional stress on the undersized front brake system. I contacted the national consumer hotline at Toyota. They will not do anything for this problem. The brake system is unsafe. A recall should be issued before someone is injured.

- Spokane Valley, WA, USA

problem #13

Oct 292006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 143,000 miles
: the contact stated while applying brake pressure at 35 mph, the brake pedal went all the way down to the floorboard. Although brake pressure was applied, the brakes did not respond, and the vehicle drove off the roadway. The contact engaged the emergency parking brake which stopped the vehicle. Upon initial inspection by the contact, it was determined there was brake fluid leaking from underneath the rear of the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The dealer was alerted.

- Nashville, TN, USA

problem #12

Oct 232006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
Brake rotors doesn't seem to be large enough for the vehicle, resulting in excessive wear and trouble stopping vehicle especially going down grades. I have to have brakes replaced at least once a year.

- Carrollton, GA, USA

problem #11

Aug 232006

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 99,000 miles
: the contact stated the brake pads and rotors were too small for the vehicle. The rotors were machined three times. The problem reoccurred after only two months. When the brake were applied, the whole front end wobbled and shook. The dealership was made aware of the problem.

- Castle Dale, UT, USA

problem #10

Aug 042006

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 65,000 miles
I bought a 2001 Toyota Tundra in July of 2004. The truck had 64,000 miles. I have replace my brakes and had my rotors turned many time. The truck continually warps the rotors and has severe shaking when I brake. Toyota sent out a tsb only to cover the warranty vehicles. They know they have a problem but refuse to fix them. I have done my research and there are thousands of people out there with the same problem. The only fix is to install oversized rotors and calipers and new brake lines at the cost of $2,000 plus. Toyota knows there is a problem and will do nothing about it. Please help!

- La Porte, TX, USA

Read the next 9 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?