Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
155,755 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2001 Toyota Tundra suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2001 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2001 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #27

Jun 302014

Tundra

  • 75,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I purchased this vehicle new in 2000 and had the entire unit undercoated for rust protection and sound proofing. The truck has been garaged since new and since I travel for business has low mileage. This is my personal vehicle not a work truck. As time went on I began noticing the rust under the chassis and then I received a recall notice for the spare tire bracket. I found out later that Toyota used the spare tire recall to understand the magnitude of the chassis rust problem. A short time later I received the recall for the chassis exchange. When I picked up the truck there was something wrong with the steering, the wheel did not return to straight after a turn. I complained that night and was told it was normal. After a few hindered miles the linkage was worn and had to be replaced. My mechanic told me the cab was not aligned to the rack when they changed the chassis. My complaint is with the rot issue. The rear axle is now rotted to a point where it is leaking though the casing, not through a seal or fitting but through the rotted metal. I do not view a rear axle as a wear/replacement part unless it is abused through the working of the truck. I am 62 years old and have been driving sine 16 and have never ever had to replace a rear axle for rot. The fact that Toyota acknowledged ownership for the chassis rust tells me that they should own the axle rot as well. I have called Toyota corporate with no success and am looking for some relief on this repair. Toyota quoted me approximately $5000 for a new axle (parts and labor). Last month I sent $1500 at the dealership to rebuild my emergency brakes in order to pass our state safety inspection. Emergency brake linkage is not a wear/replacement part. Your thoughts? michael lozy

- North Smithfield, RI, USA

problem #26

Feb 242016

Tundra

  • 268,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. While driving 65 mph, the driver side wheel detached from the vehicle. In addition, the vehicle slid 100 feet into the median after the failure. The failure occurred without warning. The vehicle was inspected by an independent mechanic where it was diagnosed that the front driver side upper ball joint fractured, which resulted in the driver side wheel detaching. The a arm, rim, tire, calipers, and upper ball joint needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign number: 05V22500 (suspension), but the VIN was excluded. The failure mileage was approximately 268,000.

- Morse, LA, USA

problem #25

Jan 232016

Tundra

  • 304,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. While driving less than 5 mph, there was an abnormal noise heard on the front driver side of the vehicle. The front driver side lower ball joint fractured without warning and caused the contact to coast the vehicle off the road. The vehicle was towed to the contact's residence. The vehicle was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 05V225000 (suspension). The manufacturer was notified of the failure and provided no remedy. The approximate failure mileage was 304,000.

- Tucson, AZ, USA

problem #24

Jan 122016

Tundra

  • 205,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The L/F lower ball joint broke while vehicle was being driven, causing a great deal of collateral damage to the following components which need to be repaired and replaced: L/F lower ball joint; L/F knuckle popped out from upper ball joint; rack pinion assembly bind and twisted when left front collapsed; L/F axle shaft popped out and grease out; L/F caliper hose broken; alignment needed as part of repair. Due to failure of L/F ball joint, service tech recommends replacing R/F lower ball joint to avoid another catastrophic failure and danger of injury due to auto crash. Fortunately, the ball joint and all other damage did not occur until driver had exited interstate and was just pulling into a parking lot, otherwise, a serious crash could have ensued with injury to driver. There was no warning with this ball joint failure, truck handled normally until abrupt failure in parking lot. Expense to repair nearly $5000.

- Mitchell, IN, USA

problem #23

Sep 142015

Tundra

  • 164,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. While driving at an unknown speed, an abnormal banging noise emitted from the rear of the vehicle. After inspecting the vehicle, the contact noticed that the rear cross member was completely corroded and the rear shock was fractured. The contact mentioned that the vehicle was previously serviced under an unknown manufacturer customer satisfaction campaign in which the vehicle was treated for rust. The vehicle was not taken to the dealer. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 164,000.

- Spruce Pine, NC, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #22

Jun 272015

Tundra

  • 58,325 miles
Took my 2001 Tundra in for the frame recalls. I had 52616 miles on a garage kept truck. They said my frame would be fine and would have a crc compound applied Apr 2012. After a few weeks I took it back in since the compound was falling off, May 2012. They reapplied the crc. I told them I had concerns over spraying over rust, but said they were sure Toyota would stand behind it. Feb 2014 the technician made a comment about the rust and lack of compound visible. Feb 2015 the technician again said it was clear that the crc was almost gone. He made a note of it on the service report. I asked them to contact the Corp office about it. A few weeks later the dealership said that Corp wouldn't spray it again, but that the dealership would spray it. 27 June 2015 driving home from work on interstate 41, the front strap holding the gas tank broke, mileage 58325. I got the truck to the dealership and had new straps installed. The technician said they actually had to drill and tap and mount the front strap in a different location due to severe rotting of the frame. Afterwards I found out that the straps should have been replaced during phase 2 of ssc 90. I called Toyota Corp case# 1507131315. The first case manager george said right away Toyota would do nothing for me. Then I took my truck to the gas station to fill it up for the first time. Gas started pouring out onto the ground. I basically called every day till I got jeffery moore as manager. He got my straps and tanks replaced but said Corp wouldn't do anything about the frame. I sent pictures and everything. Now Toyota will not respond to any of my E-mails or calls. My frame has holes that I can put my hand threw and has only 6000 miles on it since it was sprayed. I'm afraid that the gas will brake away or the frame will snap at any time. The govt needs to make them fix this safety issue that was in the recall, not mask it.

- Allenton, WI, USA

problem #21

Aug 122015

Tundra

  • 171,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

After having tires placed on 2001 Tundra, the mechanic & his supervisor advised me to go to nearby Toyota dealer due to concerns of rust compromising frame. [in April 2012, the frame received a corrosive resistant compound due to safety recall 90M as Toyota did not feel the frame qualified for a full frame replacement. I was informed that crc would prevent the rusting that initiated the recall]. upon arriving at the toy dealer, the staff immediately requested an inspection as they had several incidences of owners complaining of crc's failure to prevent rusting. The inspector located a hole on the frame's front passenger side. I was advised to contact toy headquarters asap as the frame could fold up upon myself & passengers in a collision. I contacted toy headquarters on 8/12/15 and spoke with shae and then adrina, who ultimately assigned me to case manager, autumn. When autumn contacted me 2 days later, she informed me that I "had participated in the campaign in April 2012 and this campaign expired in December 2012." She explained that "once the campaign has expired, the frame is not covered." She explained Toyota would do nothing to assist further. I explained that toy's crc "remedy" had failed to stop the rust issue which initiated the ODI investigation and subsequent recall. The crc had only managed to mask the problem until the "campaign" expired and Toyota was no longer legally obligated to address the still-existing problem. Research informed me that myself and hundreds of other 2000-2003 Tundra owners experienced continued frame deterioration despite the applied crc. Thus there are potentially thousands of Tundra on the road which are risking the safety of owners and other drivers simply because Toyota can say they "addressed" the problem even though the intervention failed to fix the issue. I hope NHTSA will consider re-opening an investigation.

- Millers, MD, USA

problem #20

Apr 092015

Tundra

  • 370,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the rear driver side subframe perforated due to excessive corrosion. In 2012, the vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 09V444000 (suspension); however, the failure recurred. The remedy consisted of spraying a corrosion protector onto the entire frame, which failed to prevent the subframe corrosion. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 370,000.

- Blairstown, NJ, USA

problem #19

Sep 112013

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 200,000 miles
On April 11 2013 I purchased a 2001 Toyota Tundra. Months later while checking the tire pressures at a gas station, I was shocked to notice that there was a hole in the frame about two inches across. I called my nearest Toyota dealer, woburn foreign motors, and spoke with nicole who ran the VIN number and told me that jaffarian Toyota in haverhill had inspected the truck on 20 April 2012. Therefore, they would not look at my truck. Next, I called jaffarian and explained that the frame looked to me as if it could snap in half, and that I could not see how that much rust could occur from when they inspected it. The service technician then said that if they had inspected and passed the truck then they would have applied a preservative undercoating to the frame. I pointed out there was no such paint or undercoating anywhere to be seen on the frame. He tried to get me back on the recall list, but found out that he could not. Being my only vehicle for use to make a living, I continued to drive the truck until 11 April 2015, when the frame snapped in half as I was entering my driveway. I had been on interstate 95 at 65 mph only minutes earlier, when I expect the vehicle would have lost control and probably rolled over had the frame snapped then. If the vehicle was indeed inspected, then it seems evident that the inspector was negligent in his duties and passed the vehicle knowing that it had severe and dangerous corrosion to its chassis. Under these circumstances, I have contacted Toyota motor corporation and have asked them to cover the cost of towing my truck to a dealer, and repairing it to a safe, roadworthy condition under the terms of their original recall and they have refused. Any help you can give to resolve this issue would be greatly appreciated.

- Woburn, MA, USA

problem #18

Mar 272015

Tundra

  • 128,817 miles
I purchased the vehicle in October 2014 and was informed about a frame corrosion issue causing failures and failure to pass vt state inspections by a family friend in January. I contacted Toyota and provided [xxx], the customer service representative with all VIN information. He looked up service records and informed me that the vehicle had a corrosion application applied in 2010 under the previous owner and there was nothing further required. Under the recall action that was all required based I my VIN number. I did ask if it had issues discovered what was I to do, [xxx] told me to contact Toyota again if that occurred. I took the vehicle to be inspected on 27 March, 2015 at groton garage, in groton vt and the owner [xxx]. contacted me to inform me that it could not be inspected due to multiple frame corrosion issues that are failures. He also knew of the recall issue for frame corrosion and failure and told me to contact Toyota again. On 30 March I spoke with [xxx] who took the information update the data under case # 1503303884 and told me a specialist dealing with this high profile issue would contact me within 1 business day. I was contacted the next day by thorn who pulled up my information and informed me that Toyota had completed the frame application in 2010 and that is all that is required by Toyota to be completed by recall action B0D. I informed him that the vehicle could not be inspected after just purchasing due to the frame being corroded and he stated Toyota recall action was not responsible for this issue with my vehicle. I disagree and currently own a 2013 rav and would never had purchased a Tundra if I would have known about this frame issue. As a recent retired active duty member, I feel that customer service and taking care of known issue is the responsibility of Toyota not those who purchased the vehicles unknowingly. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Orange, VT, USA

problem #17

Jun 182014

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 108,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the cross member was sprayed with a corrosion protection compound according to NHTSA campaign number: 09V444000 (structure); however, the coating was deteriorating. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where the technician diagnosed that the frame needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was 108,000. Updated 3/30/15 the consumer stated the crossmember was replaced and the frame was sprayed. Updated 7/8/2015

- Kingston, PA, USA

problem #16

Oct 262014

Tundra

  • 199,500 miles
Accelerating on an on-ramp to go on the freeway, a massive bump was felt. I lost control of the car using momentum and difficult steering to get me to the side of the freeway. I discovered the wheel was disengaged and was only attached by the brake line. Mechanic inspected the damage and said the ball joint broke off causing the wheel to be disengaged.

- Rowland Heights, CA, USA

problem #15

Oct 072014

Tundra

  • 174,678 miles
My power steering blew out. It began squealing very loudly and losing fluid rapidly. I have had this truck 7-8 years and never had an issue with the steering. Today, a mechanic tells me it's rusted out and I need a new power steering rack, pressure line and bushings. This problem is very similar (identical...) to issues I've read before concerning the Tundra and the recall of the rusted frame. On 1/4/2013 @ 158,495 miles, I had rohrich Toyota address the recall for the frame rust corrosion. The current power steering issue may very well be related to the rust issue that lead to the 2012 recall.

- Pittsburgh, PA, USA

problem #14

Jul 252014

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 164,000 miles
While traveling very slowly down a smooth, dry dirt road my driver's side lower ball joint snapped. Luckily I wasn't going fast in traffic. The truck is at a repair shop right now. I contacted Toyota's customer service, but haven't gotten a reply. On Toyota's offical web site I entered my VIN to search for outstaning recalls and got this answer, " there are no open safety recalls or special service campaigns for your vehicle." After an internet search, I learned very quickly that this is common with first generation Tundra. Why on earth hasn't Toyota addressed this issue. I'm very thankful that I was going slow and nobody was hurt or killed. With the number driver's side lower ball joint failures being reported, there are surely that many more that are not being reported. How can Toyota legally not admit there is a flaw and make these trucks safe for it's customers to drive?

- Hamburg , AR, USA

problem #13

Jan 312014

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 221,808 miles
Was driving home on a 2-lane rural highway when I heard a very loud bang and found my vehicle scraping and skidding down the road for approximately 100 ft. Fortunately, no one was coming from the other direction and no one was behind me. Wound up in the middle of the road. Managed to force the truck onto the left shoulder. After getting out, found the left front wheel flat on the road and jammed up inside the wheel well. Upon further inspection found that the left lower ball joint had snapped off at the bolt holding it onto the A-frame. Out of warranty. Toyota says they won't do anything to help. Looked on internet and found many, many similar experiences with 2001 Tundra. Have scrupulously maintained this vehicle since I bought it new in 2001. This should not be allowed to happen. I could have been killed and I could have killed others. There should be a recall issued re. This problem as has occurred with later year Tundra and Toyota should be held responsible to pay for repairing my truck.

- Forestville, CA, USA

problem #12

Aug 152013

Tundra

  • 141,000 miles
The contact owns 2001 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that while driving 70 mph, the front passenger's side tire detached from the vehicle. The contact was able to safely pull over. The vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for diagnosis where it was stated that the ball joints needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 141,000.

- Mission Viejo, CA, USA

problem #11

May 202012

Tundra

  • 90,000 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that there was corrosion and rust on the frame, rear axle and brake system. The vehicle was included in NHTSA campaign id number 09V444000 (structure: Frame and members: Underbody shields). The vehicle was taken to dealer where the contact was advised that the recall repairs could not be perfomred due to the state in which the vheicle was housed. The dealer then advised that there were no holes in the frame that would require immediate attention. The bumper, grill, hood and fender were replaced. The current and failure mileage was 90,000.

- Laredo , TX, USA

problem #10

May 132012

Tundra

  • 286,911 miles
The contact owns a 2001 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that while driving 60 mph, the front upper ball joint on the passenger side failed and caused the wheel to separate from the vehicle. The vehicle was towed to a dealer for a diagnostic test. The failure occurred due to stress on the ball joint. The contact stated that the driver's side ball joint was replaced at 276,343 miles. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure and a compliant was filed. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure and current mileages were 286,911.

- Vacaville , CA, USA

problem #9

Mar 142005

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,080 miles
Due to premature corrosion (vehicle 4 years old) parking brake failed to function, failed nys inspection, was repaired (03/14/2005). Due to premature corrosion, spring broke, was repaired (01/02/2008). Power steering rack rotted, had to be replaced. Approx mileage 150,000. Front suspension links rotted out. Called Toyota (04/15/2009) voiced our concern for rotting frame, no recall at that time. They issued a complaint #.took vehicle to dealer for inspection for three recalls, A0F, B0D, 90M on 05/02/2012. Inspection not properly done, chunks of rust still can be flaked off, possible holes behind, but they sprayed crc over top of the loose scaling, covering over the problems. We had no choice in what they were doing with our property. We took it in for an inspection. After said inspection, if it would not get a new frame, we would have opted to take it home, removed all loose scaling prior to the crc being applied. We were not given any options, our vehicle was already on the way to their collision shop for the work. This would have accomplished two things; the dealership would know without a doubt that there were no holes and the crc would stick directly to the frame minimizing future corrosion (that is the objective of the recall afterall) I called Toyota corporate and voiced my concern with a spray covering over the problem, and the truck not being safe. My case is still pending, but based on the initial call back from the case manager, it is not looking like there will be a resolution in our favor, we will see. My concern is, how many of these Toyota dealers are not thoroughly inspecting these trucks, spraying over the problems and putting these vehicles back on the roads. How safe is that?

- Hamburg, NY, USA

problem #8

Mar 142005

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,080 miles
Due to premature corrosion (vehicle 4 years old) parking brake failed to function, failed nys inspection, was repaired (03/14/2005). Due to premature corrosion, spring broke, was repaired (01/02/2008). Power steering rack rotted, had to be replaced. Approx mileage 150,000. Front suspension links rotted out. Called Toyota (04/15/2009) voiced our concern for rotting frame, no recall at that time. They issued a complaint #.took vehicle to dealer for inspection for three recalls, A0F, B0D, 90M on 05/02/2012. Inspection not properly done, chunks of rust still can be flaked off, possible holes behind, but they sprayed crc over top of the loose scaling, covering over the problems. We had no choice in what they were doing with our property. We took it in for an inspection. After said inspection, if it would not get a new frame, we would have opted to take it home, removed all loose scaling prior to the crc being applied. We were not given any options, our vehicle was already on the way to their collision shop for the work. This would have accomplished two things; the dealership would know without a doubt that there were no holes and the crc would stick directly to the frame minimizing future corrosion (that is the objective of the recall afterall) I called Toyota corporate and voiced my concern with a spray covering over the problem, and the truck not being safe. My case is still pending, but based on the initial call back from the case manager, it is not looking like there will be a resolution in our favor, we will see. My concern is, how many of these Toyota dealers are not thoroughly inspecting these trucks, spraying over the problems and putting these vehicles back on the roads. How safe is that?

- Hamburg, NY, USA

Read the next 7 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?