Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
103,239 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Tundra body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 2)

problem #34

Oct 012016

Tundra

  • 125,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

There is excessive rust across the entire rear end of the truck. The rear axle casing has started to deteriorate to the point that differential fluid is leaking from the casing. I have already had to have the frame, spare tire and fuel tank replaced due to excessive rust.

- Ringwood, NJ, USA

problem #33

Nov 052012

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. Upon taking the vehicle to an independent repair shop for routine maintenance, it was diagnosed that the frame had extensive rust, corrosion, and could fracture. The frame needed to be replaced. The independent mechanic recommended that the vehicle be taken to a dealer. The dealer indicated that a manufacturer recall had been completed in 2012 for the frame of the vehicle, but the contact was unable to confirm if the frame was replaced from the recall repair. The manufacturer also indicated that a recall repair was performed in 2012 and provided no solution. The failure mileage was not available.

- Newark, OH, USA

problem #32

Aug 232016

Tundra

  • 94,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. The contact noticed severe rust on the front cross members and the frame. The dealer informed the contact that the recall expired and the repair cost would not be covered by the manufacturer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The approximate failure mileage was 94,000.

- Chapmanville, WV, USA

problem #31

Aug 102016

Tundra

  • 231,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. Whle the vehicle was being inspected, it was discovered that the tire bracket and the spare tire separated from the vehicle due to excessive corrosion. The contact indicated that the vehicle was previously inspected per NHTSA campaign number: 09V444000 (structure); however, the failure recurred. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 231,000.

- Vieanna, VA, USA

problem #30

Aug 102016

Tundra

  • 82,642 miles
Notified of safety recall on vehicle for rust on frame that will cause structural failure that can lead to loss of control of the vehicle. Took vehicle to Toyota dealer to be repaired. Was told the repair was made. Informed by inspection service center the repair was not effective 8/10/2012, notified Toyota customer care 8/11/2016 of the problem they opened case #1608102651. I contacted them again 8/12/2016 and was informed by the case manager Toyota would not inspect or repair the vehicle. She indicated the recall was listed as limited service and not a safety recall. She indicated this was an on-going issue and several recalls had lapsed for this same problem. Because the recall had expired Toyota was no longer responsible for the defect. They only rust on the vehicle is on the defective frame. A recall repair that does not fix the problem is useless.

- Chantilly, VA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #29

May 142016

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. While the vehicle was at a dealer for service, the technician diagnosed that the subframe was corroded and needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The vehicle was previously taken to the dealer per NHTSA campaign number: 09V444000 (structure); however, the dealer refused to perform the recall repair stating that the repair compound was not being sent by the manufacturer. The manufacturer was notified of the failure and refused to perform the recall repair, stating that they were no performing the recall repair. The failure. The VIN was invalid. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Elma, NY, USA

problem #28

Mar 142016

Tundra

  • 74,298 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. The contact had the vehicle inspected by the dealer and was informed that there was severe frame rust. The vehicle received an undercoating; however, it failed to eliminate further frame rust. The contact was concerned that the vehicle could fracture while driving and caused severe injuries. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The manufacturer was notified and did not assist. The approximate failure mileage was 74,298.

- Hanover, PA, USA

problem #27

Apr 162012

Tundra

  • 171,145 miles
My first issue was 3 years ago when my muffler was so rusted away I felt something dragging pulled over and seen my muffler had fall almost off hanging there. The next year I pulled into my work and all my studs on my tire broke and my tire and rim went one way and me and the truck went other way. Now my brakes keep sticking then they finally just stopped working all together after replacing pads. I have went thur 3 sets of tires in 4 years. I have it in the shop and they are saying my brake lines are completely corroded and falling apart.

- Mt. Pleasant, UT, USA

problem #26

Jan 032016

Tundra

  • 98,000 miles
We have a serious rust issue with our 2002 Toyota Tundra. Toyota replaced a frame but reattached all the already rusted pieces back onto the new frame. The break line has rusted through on several occasions. We have gone through a red light & stop sign. No was hurt, we were lucky but this truck is a death trap. We have hit the side of the garage trying to get it out of gear because everything is so rusted. We have contacted Toyota & have been told it's a maintenance issue not a defect. This truck 100% a defect! it is a pile of metal sitting in our driveway because I refuse to put my family in it. It us irresponsible to drive this vehicles, so in our & the publics best interest it sits in our driveway.

- Westport, MA, USA

problem #25

Oct 072015

Tundra

  • 65,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an independent mechanic for a state inspection and it was discovered that the frame was severely corroded. The contact mentioned that a notice from the manufacturer was received to repair the corrosion for free. The vehicle was taken to the dealer where it was diagnosed that the rear brake lines and the frame were severely corroded. The contact mentioned that a corrosion protection compound was used by the dealer, but the failure recurred. The VIN was not included in NHTSA campaign number: 09V444000 (structure). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The failure mileage was 65,000...updated 02/01/16......updated 04/01/16

- Waterville, ME, USA

problem #24

Sep 012015

Tundra

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. While driving at various speeds, a loud abnormal rattling noise emitted from the vehicle. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the frame had cracked due to corrosion and needed to be replaced. The contact mentioned that the vehicle had been previously repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 09V444000 (structure). The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 120,000.

- Westboro, MA, USA

problem #23

Oct 162015

Tundra

  • 163,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the front end of the frame of the vehicle was rusted and contained a hole. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The failure mileage was 163,000.

- Bristol, VA, USA

problem #22

Sep 042015

Tundra

  • 99,600 miles
I found portions of the frame rusted thru and could not mount step bars. I mentioned this earlier in a report. I also just found my spare tire missing and found the bracket holding it had rusted and the tire was lost while driving. When and where is unknown. Toyota examined the truck 2 years ago for a recall for rust issues and said everything was ok.the tire loss is irritating and dangerous to other drivers.

- Severna Park, MD, USA

problem #21

Jan 312012

Tundra

  • 218,572 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. While parking the vehicle, the parking brake did not engage. The contact observed that there was a fuel leak under the vehicle and the frame was severely rusted. The vehicle was taken to a dealer where it was confirmed that the frame was severely rusted and needed to be repaired. The vehicle was repaired under NHTSA campaign number: 09V444000 (structure); however, the failure recurred. Approximately two and a half years later, the contact observed that the frame fractured. The vehicle was not taken to a dealer or repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The failure mileage was approximately 218,572.

- South Lion, MI, USA

problem #20

Feb 012002

Tundra

  • 5 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. While driving at any speed during inclement weather, water leaked from above and behind the glove box. The vehicle was taken to the dealer. The technician diagnosed that the water leaked from a body seam under the dashboard, which was cracked. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 5.

- Scott Township, PA, USA

problem #19

Feb 022015

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 91,000 miles
Truck needed sensor replaced for safety inspection sticker (check engine light on). Mechanic found frame underneath to be so rusted he was not comfortable working on the truck. I took the truck to local dealer and they agreed the truck is rusted to point of being unsafe. They took pictures to send corporate for frame replacement approval. Request was denied. I then called Toyota customer service several times before they agreed to assign a case number. I was eventually told that although truck is unsafe, there is nothing they will do since campaign is closed. I had the truck sprayed as initial recall stated. I received no other recall or requested service information from Toyota. I now have a truck with low mileage that will not pass inspection and is unsafe to drive and Toyota will do nothing to make sure their customers are safe or care about the safety of other drivers on the road should parts of my frame start falling off while driving. I find this practice very neglectful especially for a large corporation. I have seen that many others are in the same position with their Tundra. I would like to know what can be done to rectify this safety issue. Toyota should be made accountable.

- Acushnet, MA, USA

problem #18

Dec 292014

Tundra

  • 140,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that while having repairs performed, the independent mechanic discovered that the frame reel that connects the leaf springs had completely rusted. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 140,000. Updated 5/28/15

- Brick, NJ, USA

problem #17

Jul 242014

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 68,893 miles
When driving over unequal pavement on road, felt and heard noise at rear of vehicle. Saw wheel tumbling down road behind vehicle. Stopped vehicle and noticed that it was spare tire from vehicle. Placed spare tire in bed of truck and when I got home, noticed that the bracket/plate that was securing the spare tire to the underside of the bed had separated from the cable that was holding it in place. The bracket/plate was so corroded/rusted that when the truck hit the bump, the weight of the spare wheel caused it to collapse and allowed the spare tire to fall onto the road.

- Huntingdov Valley, PA, USA

problem #16

May 102013

Tundra

  • 115,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. The contacted stated that the front and rear frame was deteriorated. The vehicle was taken to the dealer for repairs. The technician diagnosed that the frame failed inspection and needed to be replaced. In addition, the contact was advised that the VIN was included in a manufacturer's safety improvement campaign however, the manufacturer denied repairing the vehicle. The vehicle was not repaired. The manufacturer was made aware of the problem. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 115,000.

- Milton, MA, USA

problem #15

Sep 282013

Tundra

  • 250,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that while driving various speeds, the front passenger's side tire became detached unexpectedly from the vehicle. There was a loss of steering control and the vehicle began to skid 35-40 feet before proceeding to stop. The vehicle then collapsed to the ground. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic and an authorized dealer, in which both informed the contact that the brake lines and the frame was corroded. In addition, the front passenger's side ball joint was defective. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id numbers: 09V444000 (structure) and 05V225000 (suspension) however, the vehicle was not included in either. The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 250,000. The VIN was unavailable.

- Monroe, CT, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?