Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

1.6

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
107,024 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Tundra body / paint problems

body / paint problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments

problem #15

Apr 202015

Tundra 6-cyl

  • 158,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I would like to report an unsafe condition discovered on my 2002 Tundra. With 158000 it was discovered that the front half of the frame has rotted out/ several large perforations make the vehicle unsafe to drive. This is even though the vehicle had gone through a previous recall campaign in which the frame was inspected and rust inhibitor applied to rear of frame.

- South Grafton , MA, USA

problem #14

Apr 152015

Tundra

  • 121,203 miles
Vehicle has 121,000 miles on it. The frame has now cracked due to rust perforation and makes the vehicle unsafe to operate. Toyota is aware of the rust issues on their Tundra models years 2000-2003 and has commenced at least 3 different campaigns to address this issue. The truck was brought in for all 3 recalls the last one in 2012. Toyota's solution was to spray them with rust inhibitor and send the customer on their way. This is nothing more than putting a band aid on a hemorrhaging wound. Most of the frames had already experienced frame corrosion. When I spoke to Toyota's customer service center on 4/15/15 they issued me a case number and said I would receive a call back. Toyota called back today 4/16/15 and said they would do nothing for me as the rust corrosion campaign ended in December 2013. I think the government needs to step in and force Toyota to fix or replace these trucks.I am sure many owners have no idea they are driving around with perforated frames that are unsafe. My damaged frame was discovered during a routine oil change.

- Amherst, NH, USA

problem #13

May 012014

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 195,000 miles
After proper maintenance and also being told that this 2002 Tundra was not recalled due to frame rust and disintegration, this vehicle is now deemed unfit by three independent mechanics/welders due to holes in the frame. There is pervasive and extensive damage. When assistance from Toyota was sought, a case manager was assigned (case number 1405021511) and the final ruling was that our Tundra did not qualify for the recall and therefore Toyota was not responsible. It is negligent on the part of Toyota to not offer any assistance in finding a solution to this problem. The frame issue is a direct result of negligent manufacture.

- Banner Elk, NC, USA

problem #12

Sep 252014

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 140,784 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I recently took my 2002 Toyota Tundra to the ralph hayes Toyota dealership in anderson, SC for a repair on the power steering system. While I was there, I was notified that my truck was on recall due to corrosion of the frame. I was told that due to the recall I will be given a rental car, at no cost to me, while my truck was to have the frame inspected and repaired. I agreed to the inspection and was given a rental for the time my truck was at the shop. I received a call on 9/25/14 from the Toyota dealership and was presented with 3 options. My first option was to have the new frame installed at no cost however, if any extra parts attached to the frame need to be replaced I was to go ahead and replace them. I was then presented with the price of around $9,500 that I was going to have to pay if I chose this option. My second option was to have the new frame installed at no cost and attempt to install my current parts onto the new frame. The Toyota representative expressed with the current condition of those parts I will need to have them replaced with the cost still at $9,500. My third option was to decline the recall and drive the truck as is with the truck deemed unsafe to drive by the Toyota dealership. The time frame I was given to make a decision was short of nothing. I had to make a decision by the end of the phone call that meant spending $9,500 or drive with an unsafe vehicle that at any given moment could cause a serious or fatal accident. I was forced into declining the recall because I do not have $9,500 in my bank account. Also, after I concluded my business with the dealership, I proceeded to ask them what the trade in value on my truck was to see if buying another vehicle was an option. Their response was $500 due to the recalled frame thus trading in and purchasing a new vehicle is not a viable option. Would you mind reviewing my case?

- Starr, SC, USA

problem #11

Jan 022012

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 175,000 miles
Toyota Tundra continue to have corrosion and rust on frame, last inspection on 1/1/12 in a Toyota dealership they check for corrosion and did not find any, which is not accurate because as of 9/1/14 rust and a actual hole and crack was found by a certified frame technician..he said this should have been caught in year of 2012 because metal does not rust that quickly.it takes more that a couple years to actually cause a hole and cracks. Toyota just did a visual and did not look thoroughly, they did not want to go to the expense of taking care of the problem leaving a unsafe vehicles on the roads and risking people lives.

- Shavertown, PA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #10

Jul 122012

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the frame and undercarriage of the vehicle were corroded. The dealer confirmed the failure and stated that NHTSA campaign number: 09V444000 (structure) had expired. The contact stated that a recall notification was never received. The contact had the spare tire replaced in 2012, which could have been included with the recall. The vehicle was not repaired and the manufacturer was notified. The failure mileage was unknown.

- Bel Air, MD, USA

problem #9

Aug 192013

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 117,879 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Severely rusted frame. May impact structural integrity. Just learned that a neighbor had their frame replaced recently, and discovered my frame is severely rusted too. Today Toyota dealer said there was a recall (but it ended last year). I never got a notification (letter) of the recall. Dealer could not make the repairs for me.

- Frederick, MD, USA

problem #8

Apr 012012

Tundra

  • 150,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. While parked, the contact noticed corroded holes throughout the frame. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign id number: 09V444000 (structure: Frame and members:underbody shields) however, the manufacturer advised that the vehicle did not qualify for repairs under the recall. The vehicle was not repaired. The VIN was not available. The approximate failure mileage was 150,000.

- Atlantic Beach, FL, USA

problem #7

Jun 262012

Tundra

  • 150,000 miles
Had frame replaced per recall, 5/2012. Had been smelling gas after fill ups so had airport Toyota, vandalia, Ohio - repair while they had truck torn apart- told me the gas tank port was corroded so they put new gasket on. Now I am smelling gas on passenger side. I am taking truck back to Toyota. I am concerned about the corroded gas tank because I had it repaired once before. I believe this problem is just as important as the corroded tank straps that were replaced in 2010. It's not something that is seen easily.

- Ludlow Falls, OH, USA

problem #6

Oct 192011

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 140,000 miles
Steering rack rotted out and all the power steering fluid drained out almost instantly. Thankfully I was pulling out of a parking space and not on the highway. I currently have excessive frame rust, a hole in the gas tank from rust, the rear differential is almost rotted threw, the gas tank straps have already been replaced. I am not sure if this vehicle is even safe to drive anymore. The dealer inspects it regularly for the frame rust but they have never provided a fix.

- Riverdale, NJ, USA

problem #5

Mar 062012

Tundra 6-cyl

  • Manual transmission
  • 74,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for a repair associated with NHTSA campaign id number 09V444000 (structure: Frame and members: Underbody shields). While the technician performed the repair, he noticed both stabilizer links and the parking brake rear wheel mechanism were fractured as a result of excessive rust corrosion. In addition, the rack and pinion was corroded. The vehicle had not been repaired. The manufacturer was not notified of the problem. The approximate failure mileage was 74,000. Updated 4/3/12 the consumer stated the front stabilizer links broke off, due to them being rusted. The driver side emergency brake seized. The steering shaft U-joint was badly rusted. Updated 05/17/12

- Reynoldsburg, OH, USA

problem #4

May 042011

Tundra

  • 39,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the front area of the frame was rusted significantly. The vehicle was taken to the dealer previously for a repair under NHTSA campaign id number 09V444000 (structure: Frame and members: Underbody shields), the technician inspected the vehicle and advised that the recall repair was not necessary. He also noticed that the fuel tank straps exhibited rust corrosion and they were replaced. The failure was not diagnosed or repaired for the most recent frame defect. The failure mileage was 39,000.

- Cincinnati, OH, USA

problem #3

Sep 012010

(reported on)

Tundra 8-cyl

  • miles
2002 Toyota Tundra. Consumer requests reimbursement the consumer stated Toyota did send him a check for $ $61.63. But, they didn't reimburse for his time for installing the fuel support strap that had completely rusted. When he contacted Toyota, he was informed it was their policy to only pay for installation when a business performed the installation not individuals. The consumer stated the dealer was busy and couldn't install the strap, so he and a friend performed the installation.

- La Crosse, WI, USA

problem #2

May 032010

Tundra

  • 87,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. The contact referenced recall 09V444000 (structure: Frame and members: Under body shields) for which he received a recall notice. He took the vehicle to an authorized dealership where the vehicle was inspected and he was informed that the vehicle was fine. The contact stated that the vehicle was rusting and flaking in the rear cross member but the dealer did nothing. While driving at approximately 50-60 mph, the vehicle made a clunking noise and shook from the front end. The vehicle had not been taken to the dealer for the failure at the time of the complaint. The failure mileage was approximately 87,000. The current mileage was approximately 89,000.

- Potsdan, NY, USA

problem #1

Sep 132009

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 57,500 miles
I have had the Tundra and 5th wheel trailer combination since they were both new in 2002 and towing has been excellent. This trip however, I hit a 'bump' on rt. 93 southbound (heavy traffic) in medford, MA and the spare tire broke off of the holder. It proceeded to bounce up into the front compartment of the trailer and then dropped down and lodged between the trailer's axles. At least no one was injured, but the vehicles were damaged. I had about $5,000 in repair bills relating to the 'accident'. my concern is that the spare tire/wheel had never been off of the Tundra and they were 'new' except for their age. It appears that the amount of rust on the tire hanger bracket was a major cause of the wheel dropping. I have pictures and the replaced parts for your inspection if desired; you can see rust-out holes right through the bracket! I am concerned that this could be happening to many other Tundra's of a similar age. I would like to at least offer some form of warning to other owners. After Toyota's email response, basically saying this was never heard of before and calling the holder bracket a 'cover', I sent a second email: My concern now is that you have referred to the rusted-out bracket that holds the tire under the truck's bed (part # 51900-0C010 on my repair invoice.) as a 'cover, I'm hoping that we are speaking of the same piece of equipment. My suggestion involves safety more than warranty or money. If other Tundra's have the same rotting out of that bracket, other tires will fall off of those trucks. By the way, my Tundra looks like new and is in excellent condition; so I'm presuming that others may be even worse and that my vehicle is likely in average or better condition. If this truly is a potential issue for others, at least warning them to evaluate it would be appropriate; I surely would have appreciated it! updated 03/25/10 pictures received. Updated 10/05/10

- Marstons Mills, MA, USA

Not what you are looking for?