Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.


really awful
Crashes / Fires:
2 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
1 / 0
Average Mileage:
39,262 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2002 Toyota Tundra brakes problems

brakes problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2002 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2002 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 2 of 3)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #34

Dec 162008


  • 64,000 miles


2002 Toyota Tundra front brake severe front end shimmy when braking, caused me to run off road into guard rail. Toyota refused to admit to front brake problem when in warranty and now out. Well documented problems with these calipers not enough deaths obviously to warrant recall.

- Howell, NJ, USA

problem #33

Jan 062003


  • 30,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. While driving approximately 35 mph or greater, the vehicle and steering wheel vibrated excessively when the brake pedal was depressed. Suddenly, the front end began to shimmy without warning. The failure occurred while traveling at any speed. The vehicle was taken to an authorized dealer for inspection and they adjusted the rotors. The failure occurred seven more times without any resolution. The vehicle is currently being repaired. The VIN was unknown. The failure mileage was 30,000 and current mileage was 110,000.

- Plympton, MA, USA

problem #32

Jul 312008

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 29,034 miles
My 2002 Toyota Tundra limited extended cab 4X4, V-8, has a pulsating brake pedal since I took delivery of it on 2/1/02. Every year when the truck was taken to the dealership for the pa.state safety inspection & emission inspection, I complained of this problem and on several of my dealer invoices this complaint is noted. At one point I took a tsb, (technical service bulletin) into the service manager and showed him that Toyota had a problem with the front brake pads, calipers, and rotors on the Tundra trucks, (2000 thru 2005).the original front brake pads, calipers and rotors were too small for this size truck causing the brakes to heat up and warp the rotors. Toyota was trying to correct the problem by offering an updated front brake kit, which consisted of larger pads and calipers. I was told by the service manager that my truck already had this updated brake kit installed. This was absolute lie on his part because after reviewing the tsb and looking at the pictures of the old style pads and calipers verses the updated pads and calipers, it was obvious that my Tundra had the old style and tsb was dated 9/12/02 and my truck was taken delivery of on 2/01/02. On 7/7/08, I took my Tundra to the dealer for inspection and was told by the service manager that my truck needed brake pads and new rotors because of the pulsation caused by rotors. He told me that Toyota had a problem with these brakes because they were to small for this size truck. My total bill for the pad, rotor, and inspections came to $498.84. When I told the dealership about the brake tsb on my truck they said it did not qualify for the tsb and there was nothing they could do.. have documented proof that indeed my truck did qualify for the tsb. I called Toyota customer assistance and all I got from them was a lot negative attitude and they told me it was a dealer problem. Basically, they told me to"go scratch". this brake problem is going to lead to heated brakes that will not stop the truck.

- Clarks Summit, PA, USA

problem #31

Feb 212006


  • 62,777 miles


Front brake rotors continually warp on 2002 Toyota Tundra. Have had rotors surfaced two times and replaced pads three times. Brought this up to dealer during warranty period and was informed that this was not a warranty issue.

- Stockton, CA, USA

problem #30

May 122008

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 30,000 miles
Brakes wear out prematurely and vibrate when applying the brakes. No accident, just defective materials or bad engineering that should be corrected. Brakes are too small to adequately stop the vehicle. Toyota needs to recall and put larger brakes in to adequately stop the vehicle before accidents happen.

- Union, NJ, USA

problem #29

Dec 212007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 12,500 miles
I have had a problem with the brakes on my 2002 Toyota Tundra pulsating upon brake application since about 12K miles I have had the rotors turned, installed slotted rotors but nothing seems to work. I am at the end of my rope. These brakes shake so violently that they are starting to scare me to even use the truck.

- Granville, MA, USA

problem #28

Jul 212007

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 40,000 miles


Toyota has a design problem with the front brakes on 2002 Tundra. Front brakes vibrate when applied. There are multiple tsbs on this problem, but Toyota will not perform the tsb 092302 without my paying $2310, to fix their design problem!!!!!!!

- Denver, CO, USA

problem #27

Dec 012002

Tundra 6-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 10,000 miles
The contact owns a 2002 Toyota Tundra. While driving 40 mph, the vehicle vibrates when the brakes are applied. The contact stated that the wear on the tires is abnormal and the vehicle fails to remain aligned. The brakes and lower ball joints were replaced, but the vibration still persists. The contact stated that Toyota is not properly repairing the vehicle. The vehicle operates normally every two to three months, but the failure always recurs. He is constantly having to rotate the tires and align the vehicle. The failures have been occurring since the year the vehicle was purchased. The VIN and engine size were unknown. The current mileage is 84,000 and failure mileage was 10,000.

- Los Angeles, CA, USA

problem #26

Jun 042007

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 24,000 miles
When applying brakes at speeds above 50 mph a shaking occurs in the front brakes, stopping distance is increased and controllability is harder to maintain. Took vehicle to Toyota dealer in town, and he said the brake system needed overhauling, and that there were two technical service bulletins BR004-02 and BR003-2 detailing the problem and fix. Due to the fact that the truck was out of warranty, it would cost.

- Abilene, TX, USA

problem #25

Aug 202002

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 11,611 miles
Addendum to my ODI 10150678: My reference TO1/5/2006 Napa "repair" was to no avail. Larger Tundra pads alone do not solve the violent downhill braking problem that so many others also describe. 2/20/2006 mileage 35,800. 3/07/2007 mileage 41850. As can be seen driving in Colorado terrain is being done most reluctantly.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #24

Jan 012003

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles


I own a 2002 Toyota Tundra that has a manufacturer's defect in the braking system. This defect causes the front rotors to warp, which in turn causes my truck to shake violently during breaking and also hinders overall braking ability. After having my brakes serviced several times, I learned that Toyota has issued a technical service bulletin addressing the defect in the braking system of my model truck and detailing how to fix the problem. The cost of said repairs exceeds $2000. I find it absurd that Toyota recognizes the defect but refuses to execute a recall for the braking system. Basically, the consumer is left with three options: 1) pay $2000+ to repair a manufacturer's defect; 2) pay for brake service about every 2 or 3 months; or 3) drive a vehicle with poorly functioning brakes. I, along with many others who have experienced the same problem as I, am currently driving a vehicle with poorly functioning brakes, because I cannot and will not afford the cost of either of the first two options. It remains beyond my understanding how Toyota can get away with recognizing the problem with their vehicles but not atone for their poor craftsmanship. Additionally, many other owners have reported that, while their vehicles were under warranty, their Toyota service facility blamed the brake problem on individual braking habits. However, after their warranty expired, they informed them of the defect and offered to fix it at full cost. Ridiculous.

- Slaughter, LA, USA

problem #23

Oct 262006

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 13,000 miles
2002 Toyota Tundra. Brakes are not big enough for truck. Truck vibrates badly when stopping. This will be my fourth set of brakes in less than 92,000 miles. Toyota knows they have a problem with the brakes but refuse to do anything about it. Sometimes I wonder if the truck will stop when I leave the interstate.

- Jonesboro, GA, USA

problem #22

Aug 202002

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 0 miles
Vehicle purchased 4/22/2002. All of the pulsating, vibration while braking downhill (as described by so many in the preceding 21 complaints under "component" service brakes. Hydraulic), occurred on: 8/20. 2002-warranty week., 5/1, 2003-more warranty work, finally on 1/5/2006 went to Napa auto repair and finally paid for a sensible analysis of the problem and so far a good braking experience. Current mileage is 35,800 miles!! I hope that somewhere in this complaint I will be able to share the reasoned analysis by Napa regarding unsized front pads before I run out of space: Larger pads for sequoia installed. Sequoia has 4 wheel disc brakes-curb wt. 5280. Tundra-curb wt. 4518. Tundra rear brakes-drum. Smaller pads in front than sequoia. Initial problems seemingly develop when rear drum shoes wear down unevenly thereby putting more wear on small front discs. No "failures" or "deaths or "injuries" to report--(sorry) but only because most of us slow down before the inevitable occurs! warranty work on the two described occasions is listed as:"F. disc 1-sd gnd comb:opposite side rear brake drum (one side) R&R opposite side" in may, 2003 at 11,611 mi.: "replaced calipers per tsb, resurfaced front rotors, rear brake drum R&R, strut set (2) parking brake. Replaced rear brake drums". I hope that my experience will generate some manufacturer recognition and admission to their problem. Thank you, I.L. turner.

- Golden, CO, USA

problem #21

Sep 092005

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 103,461 miles
Consumer complaint regarding 2002 Toyota Tundra. The vehicle makes noise when turning left. The vehicle was taken to the dealer who determined that five of the lug nuts were loose due to stress. 5 of the lugs were left loose. One stud broke and one lug nut was holding the wheel in place. The consumer noticed that the tire were worn and asked the service manager to have them checked. It was determined that they were indeed worm and the tires were replaced. After the tires were replaced the consumer notice a problem with the front end that was not there prior to the tire replacement. The dealer replaced all 6 lug nuts, 1 stud and cap which was installed incorrectly. The brakes were replaced at 20000 miles and 90000 miles. About 6000 miles after the last brake service the consumer notice a pulsation when the brakes were applied. The vehicle was taken back to the dealer where they replaced the rotors.

- Floral City, FL, USA

problem #20

Jul 012002

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 6,000 miles
I have had multiple problems with my 2002 Tundra trd 4WD. I have had it in more than 4 times for the brakes vibrating/pulsating and looks like I will be taking it in again as they are starting to vibrate again!! reno Toyota has always done all the maintenance on it and keep trying to say it is my fault the brakes are bad and the rotors are warping. They replaced the rear axles a couple of months ago but I had to pay the $50 deductible. They also had to install a gasket on the crossover for the engine coolant as the factory never installed it. The ac doesn't get cool enough to cool the interior. Whistling noise but don't know where it is coming from...sounds like coming from side mirrors"?" I replace the wheels recently because of vibration because the wheels were warped. Always have excessive brake dust on front wheels. Transmission feels and sounds like it is slipping all the time. Rough idle after warm up. I bought it new in July 2002 and now have 69400 miles on it. Most of which are highway miles with no towing heavy hauling ever. Am too afraid to drive it off-road because of all the brake problems...Nevada=mountains=cliffs=death...I am not ready to risk my life or my grandchildren so will not even let me ride with me anywhere.

- Sparks, NV, USA

problem #19

Jul 012005

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
2002 Toyota Tundra developed problems with the brakes. The consumer stated she had the truck fixed several times for vibration, spongy brakes, extended stopping distance and pulling to the right. The dealer continued to replace the drums, resurface the rotors and replace the pads but the problem continued. The right rear axle seal was leaking for the second time.

- Cocoa, FL, USA

problem #18

Jun 182005

Tundra 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 66,227 miles
Contact complained about brake problems. When the brake were applied they were spongy and it required extended time/distance for the car to stop. The brakes have been replaced several times every 3-4,000 miles. The front and rear brakes were changed in 3/2005.

- Cocoa, FL, USA

problem #17

Apr 132005


  • Automatic transmission
  • 41,000 miles
During a routine service the front rotors were found to be defective, as well as the rear drums.

- Lompoc, CA, USA

problem #16

Dec 012004


  • 59,000 miles
Brakes are defective, the pulsation of the brakes is critical and dangerous. The consumer stated that apparently there was a service alert concerning the pulsating brakes of this vehicle good up to 36000 miles. The consumer had the brakes redone at 59000 miles before he received the alert. At 83000 miles the pulsation of the brakes became dangerous again. The consumer would like to know what recourse to take in reference to the defective brakes.

- Malibu, CA, USA

problem #15

Oct 212004

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • 20,341 miles
Vehicle has excessive vibration/shaking when braking, especially downhill, and most notably at speeds between 40-50 mph. Repair attempts have been made at 20,341 miles and 24,312 miles replacing calipers, rotors and drums, as well as attempts at resurfacing badly warped rotors/drums. Condition still exists at current mileage of 28,128 miles. Fear that this is a dangerous condition that will result in loss of handling, control, traction or may lead to an accident if brakes fail to stop the vehicle. As this also does not appear to be an isolated case, this condition is likely to affect vehicle reputation and (re-sale) value as well.

- Clinton, WA, USA

Read the next 14 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?