Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

CarComplaints.com Notes: You're going to burn through a lot of dinosaurs while chugging around town, and any rear passengers you may have to carry are going to feel real cramped, but at the end of the day this is a solid truck.

1.8

hardly worth mentioning
Crashes / Fires:
0 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
0 / 0
Average Mileage:
89,718 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2004 Toyota Tundra suspension problems

suspension problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2004 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2004 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 1 of 3)

problem #58

Sep 202016

Tundra

  • 120,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Noticed last week the frame of my truck was rotting on my driveway! upon further inspection I discover large holes completely through my box frame. After cleaning out almost 5lbs of rotted frame I can no longer put my family and friends in this vehicle. That would make me irresponsible and negligent like the manufacturer! I purchased this vehicle in Jan 2015 when it only appeared to be a surface rust issue. Recieved notice of the limited service campaign the month after it was over so Toyota refused to even inspect it. Now this year I have holes you can put your hand through and Toyota still refuses the frame is bad. In the limited service campaign Toyota says "the condition is unrelated to and separate from normal surface rust". how could this be S voluntary limited service campaign and not a mandatory safety recall?? sounds like a loophole created by design!

- Berea, KY, USA

problem #57

May 052016

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 17,985 miles
I took my 2004 Toyota Tundra to a local service center because I thought it needed shock absorbers. Once on the lift we found the entire rear section was completely rusted out with several major parts just hanging from the frame. Toyota claims they sent recalls in 2015 however I did not get them. I did receive a very recent recall for an air bag and front coil springs, within a week the truck was taken in for the recall. At no time was I informed of the dangerous issue of the rear suspension. I called Toyota to discuss the matter and was told they would not do anything to correct the problems. I am very lucky I did not have an accident because the rear components could have failed at any time while I was driving. Toyota will not accept any responsibility and they were quite rude when we spoke. Please inform me of any recourse I may have, the cost to repair my truck is in excess of $4,000. I am retired with a limited income and depend on my truck to pickup farm supplies at my home. I live in md and rely on the truck when it snows or the roads are icy. Toyota clearly has a past of not taking responsibility, they knew or should have known the quality of the metal materials were inferior. They waited 11 years before they recalled some of their trucks. I do not wish to be rude however, I firmly believe Toyota has no regard for the quality of their product or the problems associated with their poor engineering. It is my hope you can help me with this matter or direct me to someone if can help me. Thank you for your consideration. [xxx] telephone [xxx]. if you will provide your address I will sent photos. Sorry I do not know how to upload them to you. The date the truck was taken to the service center is 5/6/16, it is still there as it cannot be driven. Information redacted pursuant to the Freedom Of Information Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. 552(B)(6).

- Glencoe, MD, USA

problem #56

Apr 182014

Tundra

  • 85,000 miles
Frame recall- my 2004 Tundra was recalled for the frame rusting out. Toyota deemed that a new frame was not needed and did the crc treatment which is absolute junk and only causes the frame to rust even worse. I want a new frame installed by toyata and any other rusty part- all should be replaced free of charge

- Slatington, PA, USA

problem #55

Oct 092015

Tundra

  • 160,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Frame rot and rust. The gas tank fell out from under the truck while driving down the road (city street), the brackets holding the tank completely rusted in two. This happen after the frame protect spray was applied to the truck by the dealer 2 years ago. The frame is a mess, I'm worried about driving this truck because of it but I also can't trade it in because no one wants it. I'm happy to send pictures if needed.

- Stuarts Draft, VA, USA

problem #54

Sep 292015

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign numbers: 05V254000 (air bags), 07V013000 ( suspension), and 15V286000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Dunlap, TN, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #53

Sep 212015

Tundra

  • miles
Frame rusted through unsafe to drive. Received very first letter in July about a recall. It is September 21, 2015 and the recall ended August 31, 2015.

- Orrington, ME, USA

problem #52

Jul 102014

Tundra

  • 104,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

I am disabled and I keep receiving recall notices about airbags, and frame recalls from Toyota, but the local dealers tell me that they do not have the parts to fix them. I am unable to carry anyone in the passenger seat because of safety advisories and this is affecting the value of my vehicle, and risk of injury to myself and any passengers I may carry, and insurance coverage because of the recall notifications. I suffered diligently to pay for this vehicle and now I find it's an unsafe piece of junk that I cannot use. I really want this vehicle fixed or replaced with one that is not unsafe.

- Pinson, TN, USA

problem #51

Jul 022015

Tundra

  • 96,000 miles
The entire frame and under side of the truck to include brackets, cables, fittings, and exhaust are so rusted and flaking off that I'm concerned that the truck may break apart driving down the road. I bought the truck used from lowe Toyota in warner robins, ga and had no idea that the truck was a rusted out disaster waiting for a place to happen !!

- Warner Robins, GA, USA

problem #50

Apr 162015

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 99,000 miles
Left front ball joint on 2004 Toyota Tundra 4WD failed and pulled out of socket with no warning (e.g. loose steering, noise, or vibration) at approx. 2 mph in parking lot. This caused the left axle to pull out and hit the ground damaging the splines. There was an earlier recall for this same problem and the recall service was performed by installing a "new" replacement ball joint in 2009. Luckily we had just exited a freeway traveling at 65 mph. Since there was no "accident" and no "comprehensive" damages, the auto insurance did not cover any of the $1,200 damage or $200 rental car expense.

- Evans, GA, USA

problem #49

Jun 062013

Tundra

  • 65,526 miles
6/13/13 vehicle did not pass inspection major frame perforation Toyota performed limited frame replacement at their cost after much discussion. Not all severely rusted parts were replaced only the major assembly mounting piece items that were disassembled and couldn't be reused were replaced. No sub pieces of the major assembly were replaced. If the were rusted they were reinstalled. 8/4/14 vehicle did not pass inspection major rust failure deformation and leaking of steering rack housing that was severely rusted and not replaced when frame was replaced. Rack was replaced by owner at owners expense. 4/15/15 rear differential housing rust thru and housing failure. Housing was severely corroded when frame was replaced. Owner was informed it was not part of the frame replacement. Toyota does not have any recall bulletin issued despite the numerous complaints found on the internet. Replacement will be at owners expense. Brake backing plates and axle mounting hardware that were severely corroded when frame was replaced are not salvageable and will require replacement as well in order to replace the rear axle housing.

- York, ME, USA

problem #48

Feb 092011

Tundra

  • 123,360 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

TL-the contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that while driving at approximately 10 mph, the vehicle stalled without warning and the front passenger's side tire dislodged from the vehicle. The vehicle was unable to restart. The vehicle was towed to an independent mechanic where the upper ball joint, the lower ball joint, the control arm, the ABS speed sensor, and rt front brake line leading system needed to be replaced. The vehicle was not repaired. The contact referenced NHTSA campaign numbers: 07V013000 (suspension) and 05V225000 (suspension). The manufacturer was notified of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 123,360. Djr

- Phoenix, AZ, USA

problem #47

Dec 112014

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 132,472 miles
I went over a speed bump in a parking lot and the front drivers side wheel fell off and was wedged under the fender. The mechanic and tow truck drive said that the lower ball joint failed.

- Auburn, CA, USA

problem #46

Dec 312008

Tundra

  • miles
Rust on everything under the truck as well as the rear bumper. Parts that have had to be replaced because of rust and/or rust perforation or need to be replaced: 1) entire frame żż perforation greater than 10mm found on passenger siderail 2) rear differential (leaking from rust perforation) 3) brake lines 4) power steering line (leaking from rust) 5) skid plate (support brackets rusted - fell off while driving) 6) brake calipers (multiple times) 7) coil springs 8) axles (front and back) 9) control arms 10) cv- joint 11) boots 12) hitch receiver 13) exhaust 14) muffler 15) camber bolt 16) multiple sets of tires (unable to align tires properly due to rusted/seized camber bolt) causing premature tread wear. 17) brake drums (warped and pitted) 18) wheel bearing 19) truck tailgate support wires żż wires rusted and broke. Tailgate won't open/close without extreme effort because it is not aligned properly. 20) shocks/struts 21) seals, brackets, nuts and bolts - the parts listed above is not complete. Basically, everything you see under the truck is suffering from extreme rust and/or perforated. *truck has had a horrible shimmy for years that no one has been able to figure out, particularly bad when towing. Steering wheel shakes violently as well as the entire truck. Improved slightly when rear differential and axles were replaced. Most likely related to frame warp or instability. *truck has had issues with getting in and out of 4WD. Inconsistent with how long it takes to get in and out of 4WD. There is a loud and jarring clunk when engaging or disengaging 4WD. *truck feels like it is on the verge of going out of control when a hole or bump is hit. The truck will literally jump sideways. *traction stability control comes on randomly when hitting a bump or hole. Another mystery to mechanic.

- Chagrin Falls, OH, USA

problem #45

Feb 232014

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • 131,758 miles
Noticed that vehicle was pulling to left. Check alignment ok. Noticed that sway bar link had snapped due to corrosion. Replaced with Toyota part and condition corrected.

- Fort Collins, CO, USA

problem #44

Jul 152014

Tundra

  • 45,000 miles
I have recently received a frame recall notice due to excessive corrosion which I addressed at the local dealership. I was informed that the rust had not perforated the frame and that it would be treated to prevent further rusting. When I picked up the truck at the dealership the associate advised me that the recall was done and that a full safety inspection was completed which revealed no other problems. When I returned home I looked under the truck to inspect the frame and noticed that both sway bar links had corroded and broken off. I also subsequently took the vehicle to an alignment shop because I noticed the steering wheel was not straight and was told by the shop that the truck could not be aligned. I was told that the vehicle was very dangerous to drive and to bring it to the dealership immediately which I did. The dealership service department discovered that the steering shaft coupling was so corroded that they needed to replace it and do a wheel alignment. I am concerned that this may become a common safety issue with the Tundra which seems susceptible to excessive rusting and am requesting that this issue is investigated an a recall issued if necessary.

- Denville, NJ, USA

problem #43

Jul 182014

Tundra

  • 35,000 miles
Rust all over the undertruck, even the catalytic converter is rusted. I was part of that recall and the dealer is going to spray the frame to stop the corrosion. Can the corrosion process ends with the spraying?

- Williston, VT, USA

problem #42

May 142014

Tundra

  • 86,000 miles
The contact owns a 2004 Toyota Tundra. The contact stated that the vehicle was severely corroded and affected the power train, rear end, wheel, axle and belt housing. The contact received a notice for NHTSA campaign number: PE09049 (fuel system, gasoline, service brakes, hydraulic, structure, tires) and the dealer was made aware of the failure. The manufacturer was not made aware of the failure. The vehicle was not repaired. The failure mileage was 86,000.

- Blue Hill , ME, USA

problem #41

Aug 012013

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 100,000 miles
Massive generalized rust under vehicle. This is affecting the frame, suspension, all lines, exhaust, all metal fittings, wheels, brakes, spare tire. My mechanic does not know how to proceed and suggested we no longer drive this vehicle. Toyota dealer said this is not included in the rust recall which is in effect for Tundra trucks exactly like this one, but off by a couple months by manufacturing date. Our Toyota dealer did not have a suggestion or answer for how to fix this, other than to ask if we were interested in buying a new car. We bought this truck new and have taken excellent care of it. The inside and upper body looks new.

- Seattle, WA, USA

problem #40

Apr 162014

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 165,000 miles
Had truck in for oil change whole frame, drive shaft parking brake cable is rusting through.

- Bokeelia, FL, USA

problem #39

Nov 132013

Tundra 8-cyl

  • 135,000 miles
Excessive rust on frame, under body, and suspension. Rear axle / differential has large flaking rust so bad that it will not hold lubricant. Filed complaint with Toyota on 11/13/2013 and was given a case # and turned in photos at local Toyota dealer in early December 2013. Contacted Toyota in January 2014 and was told that a recall was going to be issued but it would cover frame only and no other components would be covered for rust. I personally took it upon myself not to drive this vehicle because I feel it is unsafe and not road worthy due to rust. I also feel that a company that I had a lot of respect for because of their reputation for quality and safety has let me down. Vehicle has been parked since 11/13/2013 and will not be driven until properly repaired or replaced.

- Denniston, KY, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?