Huge win for car owners! All TSBs to be made public. The Center for Auto Safety just made the NHTSA (US Government) make public the full text of all TSBs from now on. They are the same organization that has petitioned the NHTSA & filed lawsuits to protect car owners over exploding gas tanks & other major safety issues. Whenever you drive in your car, you are safer thanks in part to a lot of work over the years by this small but very effective consumer advocacy group.

Please take a moment & say thank you by donating $5 or whatever you can to the Center for Auto Safety.

10.0

really awful
Crashes / Fires:
6 / 0
Injuries / Deaths:
3 / 0
Average Mileage:
18,863 miles

About These NHTSA Complaints:

This data is from the NHTSA — the US gov't agency tasked with vehicle safety. Complaints are spread across multiple & redundant categories, & are not organized by problem.

So how do you find out what problems are occurring? For this NHTSA complaint data, the only way is to read through the comments below. Any duplicates or errors? It's not us.

2005 Toyota Tundra seat belts / air bags problems

seat belts / air bags problem

Find something helpful? Spread the word.
Get notified about new defects, investigations, recalls & lawsuits for the 2005 Toyota Tundra:

Unsubscribe any time. We don't sell/share your email.

2005 Toyota Tundra Owner Comments (Page 2 of 4)

« Read the previous 20 complaints

problem #46

Dec 012015

Tundra 6-cyl

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

2005 Toyota Tundra. Consumer writes in regards to passenger airbag recommended service on vehicle issues. The consumer stated there has been no resolution to the air bag issue.

- Palmdale, CA, USA

problem #45

Dec 022015

Tundra

  • miles
Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #44

Dec 022015

Tundra

  • miles
Takata recall the contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the parts were unavailable to perform the repairs. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall remedy. Th manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Yorktown, VA, USA

problem #43

Nov 152014

Tundra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Buena Park, CA, USA

problem #42

May 052015

Tundra

  • 102,000 miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. While driving at 15 mph, the air bags light illuminated as if a passenger were seated in the seat. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed for the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the failure. The approximate failure mileage was 102,000. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- San Pablo, CA, USA

Search CarComplaints.com for these popular complaint phrases...

problem #41

Jul 072015

Tundra

  • miles
We received the recall notice in June of 2015 and contacted our local dealer in elgin, il. They told me parts are forth coming and would put me on the list. Today 11/23/2015 I called again there is no list and no information on parts being sent. The vehicle can not have riders and is useless to us for the most part! 5 months for parts really!!! can you help us here"?"

- Huntley, IL, USA

problem #40

Nov 202015

Tundra

  • miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Takata recall. The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Update 01/13/16

- Livermore, CA, USA

problem #39

Sep 072015

Tundra

  • miles
Takata recall: TL* the contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) and stated that the part was not available within a reasonable time frame to schedule the recall repair. The dealer did not give a specific date for when the part would become available. The manufacturer could not provide an estimated date for when the vehicle would receive the recall repair. The contact was not experiencing a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 1/14/16

- Burbank, CA, USA

problem #38

Jul 012015

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags) however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Rendondo Beach, CA, USA

problem #37

Jun 192015

Tundra

  • miles
Takata recall: TL* the contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Sandson, VA, USA

problem #36

Jun 162015

Tundra

  • 72,000 miles

A D V E R T I S E M E N T S

Recall states serious injury of death may occur if air bag deploys. This seriously limits the utility of the vehicle since no one can ride in the front passenger seat - limiting the passengers to four. Toyota has made no effort to mitigate this problem - an unknown replacement date is not a good faith effort. Toyota needs to turn off the passenger air bags in the affected vehicles. Two door trucks have switches to turn off the air bag when children are in the passenger seat. Why not simply disconnect the switch so that the air bag will not deploy. To not do so, does not make sense. I know that if involved in a crash, air bags can save lives - except in this case when they will do more harm than good. Toyota has absolved itself of liability by providing notification - but 5 months without taking any kind of action to mitigate the problem is excessive. It is time to remedy the problem or I would suggest that you tell Toyota they need to provide me with a new truck - that would probably get their attention. (is there any other Agency I can contact to register a complaint?)

- Charlottesville, VA, USA

problem #35

Sep 012015

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags); however, the part to do the recall repair was not available. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was not made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. VIN tool confirms parts not available. Updated 02/12/16

- Whitefish, MT, USA

problem #34

May 042015

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags)however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. The VIN tool confirms parts not available.

- Hanover, IN, USA

problem #33

Nov 022015

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • miles
2005 Toyota Tundra. Consumer writes in regards to replacement parts for front passenger airbag module recall notice. Updated 11//17/15.

- Atascadero, CA, USA

problem #32

Jun 252015

Tundra 4WD 8-cyl

  • Automatic transmission
  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags)however, the part to do the repair was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was made aware of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure. Update 01/15/16 MA updated 02/09/16.

- Tionesta, PA, USA

problem #31

Oct 232015

Tundra

  • 104,749 miles
Notified of safety recall on or about 6/16/2015, dealer# D3F, NHTSA id# 15V285 and an interim notice sometime after that for front passenger airbag inflators. As of yet no parts have been available in NJ. And no parts will be available for the foreseeable future"?? are you kidding me?? takata apparently knew about this problem since early 2013 and parts are still not available?" and while my vehicle wasn't added to the list until 6/2015, the company knew there was a problem well before that. Having to wait 4-6 months (if I'm lucky) for a recalled part is unacceptable and I realize there are many, many vehicles involved but really"? some people may actually not have their vehicles fully operational or safe for upwards of 2.5 years" is takata or Toyota going to pay us for the time these vehicles are not fully operational because when I bought my truck I intended on getting full safe use out of it not partial use. Sorry to blow off steam on you but I am very frustrated, disappointed and concerned with this whole situation as I'm sure many others are. In any event, if you have any additional information on when this part will be available in NJ please let me know.

- Manchester, NJ, USA

problem #30

Oct 232015

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received notification of NHTSA campaign number: 15V285000 (air bags ) however, the part needed to repair the vehicle was unavailable. The contact stated that the manufacturer exceeded a reasonable amount of time for the recall repair. The manufacturer was notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Elcajon, CA, USA

problem #29

Jun 162015

Tundra

  • miles
Received a notice from Toyota on June 16 2015 saying that it is unsafe to drive the car with someone in the front passenger seat due to faulty air bag inflator which may rupture and seriousely injure the passenger. Notice said that the dealer would replace the item when they get the parts. It is now October 2, 2015 and the dealer stil not have the part. Toyota says the part is not available and does not know when it will be. This is unacceptable for the largest car manufacturer in the world not to have a part needed to fix a potentially fatal defect over 3 months from notification. In the mean time my use of the truck is severely restricted, I can't sell the truck due to disclosure issues. This is another case of puttng corporate profits ahead of customer's lives. I will not buy another Toyota.

- Santa Cruz, CA, USA

problem #28

May 252015

Tundra

  • miles
The contact owns a 2005 Toyota Tundra. The contact received a recall notification for NHTSA campaign number: 15V286000 (air bags) and stated that the part needed was unavailable to perform the recall repair. The manufacturer was not notified of the issue. The contact had not experienced a failure.

- Roswell, GA, USA

problem #27

Sep 202015

Tundra

  • miles
I received a safety recall notice letter from Toyota company several weeks ago informing me that the passenger air bag in my 2005 Toyota Tundra may explode metal chards when activated which may cause injury or death to the front seat passenger. They advised me that replacement parts are not available now, but will inform me when parts are made available in this geographic area and the local dealer will repair the vehicle. In the mean time they say "until the remedy becomes available in your location, we recommend that you do not operate the vehicle with an occupant in the front passenger seat." When I received the letter, I checked with the local Toyota dealer and they indicate that they do not have replacement parts. Several weeks have passed and I cannot safely use my vehicle. The letter indicated that Toyota would inform me when the new parts had been produced and made available to the local dealer. I haven't heard from them. The Toyota co. Should immediately repair my vehicle or provide me a loaner vehicle so that I may resume my typical everday activities. P.S. there has not been an incident. The air bag is still intact, I only indicated todays date as" incident date" to complete a required field on the form so it can be submitted.

- Proctorville, OH, USA

Read the next 20 complaints »

Not what you are looking for?